Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sam's Tree Service

With Angi since September 2005

4.9

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

337 Hanson Ave

San Jose, CA 95117

Description

Award winning.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Steve L.
1.0
07/27/2017
No Result. No response. Not Recommend.
Description of Work
not good experience. First call, one lady replied, saying I will get call and see the tree same day around 6:30PM. No call. Then get worst, wait 3 days, sitll no call. Called at least 4 times almost daily, only answering machines. Left message (and phone number). No call returned.
Category
tree service
lorraine L.
5.0
11/11/2010
I had moved into my home over a year ago, I was very apparent that the NINE trees in my backyard had not been taken care of for several years. I had received an estimate, and called Sam for another. I had seen his ad and someone I work with also recommended Sam. Sam returned my call within an hour, set up a time for the estimate, and was right on time. I have 5 fruit trees, apple, orange tangerine, pear, and persimmon. I also had 4 different trees, two maple, and two others. Sam looked at each tree, letting me know what could be done. One reason I felt comfortable with Sam was that he never criticized the way the trees had been taken care of. It was obvious even to me that the trees were not pruned well for some time. Sam was focused on what he could do to take care of them now. Sam gave me a clear written estimate. His crew was right on time and finished earlier than I expected. The cleanup was done very well, I wouldn't have known anyone came by except all the trees looked just like Sam said they would. Sam also told me a bit about how I can care for the trees in the fall and spring. I have a huge tree in the front of my house that I will have Sam work on, probably in the Spring. I have already recommended him to a co-worker and will definitely call Sam for maintenance on all my trees. Believe it or not, I still want to put at least one more tree in my front yard and will call Sam for his advice when it comes time.
Description of Work
Sam trimmed, cut, pruned, nine trees in my backyard that were badly in need of work. Several of the overgrown trees hung over the fences, into neighbors yards, as well as hanging over my roof. One of the trees had to be cut down, as it had died, All of the debris from the work done was cleaned up. Sam even picked up some branches that I had on the side of the house that weren't part of his work.
Category
tree service
Michael C.
5.0
04/28/2010
I obtained multiple bids from other providers. Sam's was the lowest. He was very professional over the phone and on site. The team came on time. I was surprised that a team of four (4) people showed up. I figured this was a one or two person job. (Was I wrong!) It was clear that each person had his own role and that you needed four people to do this job efficiently. One person was the cutter. He'd tie himself to the top of the tree to secure himself. He had a small motorized saw. He cut piece by piece, working from the top down. Two other people were in charge of bringing the cut pieces to the truck. One other person was in charge of shredding the tree at the truck. I live in a townhouse. I have a tiny patio, and I was nervous that cutting a tree in this small space could damage the fence, roof, windows, or siding. However, Sam's team was able to strategically get the tree down in under 45 minutes. No damages. No problems. They cleaned up the mess, and I was tree free! I have no hesitation in recommending this company to anyone who needs the job done.
Description of Work
Cut down one tree in my small patio.
Category
tree service
Lucille L.
5.0
01/24/2010
We called Sam's Tree Service after verifying that he was a licensed, bonded contractor with no complaint against him on the California State License Board website. He trimmed these tress on our rental property and contacted us to meet him there. I will be calling him again when the trees need to be trimmed next year. I would highly recommend him to my friends.
Description of Work
Trimmed two small trees and removed all trimmings. It didn't take him very long, even in the rain.
Category
tree service
susan H.
5.0
01/04/2010
They did a great job. They were here all day with 4 workers. Everything was cleaned up when they left. This is my second time using Sams Tree Service and I will use them again.
Description of Work
We had two huge pine trees trimmed. The trees were between two houses with very large limbs hanging over roofs, decks and fences.The trees are on the side of a hill with with no truck access. All the work had to be done carefully to avoid damaging anything. All trimmings had to be lowered to the ground with ropes and hand carried up to street for chipping.
Category
tree service
HELEN T.
5.0
10/28/2009
Their estimate was lower than others that I received. They were on time and professional. They sent several workers and they completed the work in one day. They cleaned up completely. The price was very reasonable and I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
I used Sam's Tree Service last April to trim more than five large trees and they did some additional work.
Category
tree service
Gail B.
5.0
06/03/2009
They were efficient and clean. I felt that their pricing was quite reasonable. I was pleased that I didn't have to continually check on their progress. They worked methodically and did a good job.
Description of Work
We hired Sam's Tree Service to trim three small trees and one large one as well.
Category
tree service
Thomas S.
5.0
05/29/2009
Quick free estimate. Excellent price, prompt service, no pressure.
Description of Work
Trimming of 4 trees, including 2 large branches.
Category
landscaping
susan H.
5.0
02/16/2009
Tree was close to fence line and was totally removed with out any damage to the fence. The tree took longer to remove than planned, but they came back next the day and finished up. They cleaned up everything and took the entire tree away. I was very pleased with their work and would use them again. Sam is responsive and punctual.
Description of Work
I had a half dead, very large, Pine tree removed from my backyard.
Category
tree service
Bill L.
5.0
02/08/2009
I called Sam's Tree Service in the afternoon. Sam came the same day and gave me an estimate. I approved the plan and the price. Sam and his crew arrived on time the next morning and completed the job in about 2 hours. They solved my gutter problem. Also, both my two tress, my yard and my house look better now. They also cleaned the area well. Another delighted customer of Sam's Tree Service!
Description of Work
I needed the trees trimmed in my small front yard for several reasons. Mainly they were causing my roof gutters to plug up. I also needed some limbs from my back yard hauled away.
Category
tree service
Pam R.
5.0
11/18/2008
Work done as promised. Cleaned up afterward. Would have like the small branches that were left trimmed back to tidy up the presentation, but I wasn't there when he did the work, so I didn't tell him that.
Description of Work
Cut down a large dying maple and ground the stump, trimmed another maple off of the roof and wires, cut down a small pepper tree.
Category
tree service
PETER C.
5.0
10/22/2008
Great! No apparent snafus and professional service provided. My neighbor hired Sam's Tree Service upon seeing the job done at my house.
Description of Work
My family & I appreciated the services that Sam & his crew provided. Sam personally provided the estimate, and arrived for the job with his crew promptly on the appointment date. They did a solid job (trimming a large redwood tree, as well as two others), and were just as meticulous in cleaning up. Estimates and final price were reasonable. Would highly recommend Sam and his crew to friends and families.
Category
tree service
LANAYA D.
5.0
10/09/2008
They were very good; we'll use them again.
Description of Work
They did a tree topping and a tree removal.
Category
tree service
ENRIQUE R.
5.0
07/30/2008
Sam is great. Very friendly. This staff worked fast. They were done in about 2 hours. They cleaned up and removed all their trimmings.
Description of Work
They "skirted" all our trees: 1 large tree in the front yard and 5 trees in the backyard. They trimmed all the trees in the backyard that were leaning into the adjacent property. They also trimmed back the branches that were invading our trees from the adjacent property.
Category
tree service
Linda S.
5.0
06/17/2008
They removed a tree and did stump grinding. I would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Cut down trees and trimmed dead branches.
Category
tree service
Jason L.
5.0
02/11/2008
I found Sam's Tree Service on Angie's List and called them to schedule an estimate. They did not get to do the estimate on the day planned, but made up the next day and left the estimate at my door. When they came in to do the service, Sam led his crew to my home on time. He gave me a good explanation of what they need to do and what the result will look like, and put his crew to work. When all is done, the backyard is significantly brighter. PG&E did some terrible trimming on the half that's close to the powerline, but the previous owner of the home did not do any trimming on the other half. After Sam's crew trimmed the trees, they look much more balanced. Sam's crew also cleaned up the leaves in the backyard and hauled away all leaves and debris.
Description of Work
Trimmed 5 large trees in my backyard. The trees were not trimmed for years and have overgrown. There are PG&E powerlines going through the canopy of the trees.
Category
tree service
NANCY S.
5.0
01/17/2008
Sam came out on a Monday and scheduled the job for Wednesday the same week. They were here on time, worked efficiently and did a fair job of clean up. The trees were all trimmed to my satisfaction.
Description of Work
I had a large shrub that had grown into a tree blown down by the wind along with a large limb from an apple tree. I had them remove the downed debris, remove the stump, trim both apple trees, trim a very large overgrown tree in my neighbor's yard back to the fence and all the way to to top, trim three small round head trees in my front and trim up some tall shrubs. They chipped up and hauled all the debris.
Category
tree service
PAT S.
5.0
01/04/2008
They were willing to do anything for me.
Description of Work
They cut tree away from the wires, they removed one tree, they also did extra trimming.
Category
tree service
Amy B.
5.0
10/29/2007
Excellent experience. I got three different estimates and Sam was the only one who actually went and looked at my tree and told me the tree was rotted, and hollow. He showed up on time and everyone in his company was very friendly. You can't even tell that there was a tree there. I would use them again and recommend them to other people.
Description of Work
Removed a rotting tree.
Category
tree service
DANA A.
5.0
06/18/2007
Sam s Tree Service was a very friendly and courteous company to deal with. I found them to be experienced with their skills and the workers made sure there was nothing left for me to clean up. Everything was done neatly and orderly. I think they are a good company.
Description of Work
Sam s Tree Service cut two trees down for me. One of the trees had to be dug up from the root but the other did not have to be. I also had them trim one tree for me.
Category
tree service
Carol M.
5.0
05/30/2007
Very well. Arrived on time and completed work to schedule. Great job.
Description of Work
Removed very large tree of heavy, heavy pruning to a large loquat tree and light pruning to a lemon tree. Hauled away wood and brush.
Category
tree service
KAREN P.
5.0
05/18/2007
It really shed some light on my yard, as before the sun couldn't come through the widows. The roots were also taking up a large amount of space on my yard. They did a really good job and I like the work they did.
Description of Work
They removed two mulberries trees, took care of the roots and then grounded everything up. They also trimmed one oak and trimmed about 10 bushes. It took a total of two days to complete the work.
Category
tree service
Tiewen H.
1.0
05/01/2007
Scheduled an appointment but nobody showed up. Called them and no one answered the phone. What a waste of my time!
Description of Work
Pruning for one pine tree at my backyard.
Category
tree service
MICHELE W.
5.0
01/28/2007
We have used Sam's Tree Service for over 7 years now. Has removed trees and done stump grinding for us. When we decided to remove this huge palm tree, we knew Sam was the one to call. Very reasonably priced and has all of the newest state of the art equipment. His crew was very professional.
Description of Work
Sam and his crew removed a huge palm tree from our front yard (5' diameter and about 45' tall) and then grounded down the stump.
Category
tree service
KEITH C.
2.0
12/31/2006
For all the positive feedback I was disappointed. Called and talked to Sam. He wanted to come by late afternoon to see and provide an estimate, but it would be dark and would be harder to see the situation, so I suggested he come by the next day. He was to have called in the morning but did not. I called again and left a message but didn't receive a call back.
Description of Work
A tree had fallen over and needed to either have it replanted or hauled away.
Category
tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Skyline Landscapes, Inc.

    Artificial Grass Installation, Brick Masonry, Demolition, Gazebo Design & Construction, Hardscaping, Hedge Trimming, Irrigation Repair, Land Leveling & Grading, Landscape Construction, Landscape Drainage System Installation, Landscape Maintenance, Lawn Care, Lawn Mowing, Lawn Seeding, Lawn Treatment & Fertilization, Masonry, Mulching, Pergola Construction  

    Angi Certified

    2Green Landscaping & Maintenance

    At 2Green Landscaping & Maintenance, we value our relationship with customers. We make it our priority to make sure you are well informed of any landscaping work you may need. Landscaping services should be predictably affordable, and leave lasting results. Furthermore, with 13 years of experience under our belt, you can trust that the job is going to be done right.  

    Angi Certified

    LANDSCAPE PROS ML,INC

    Landscape Pros ML, Inc. was founded by Martin Lemuz in 1994. We have been serving the San Francisco Bay Area and surrounding communities since then. We provide a complete, comprehensive range of landscape services covering all phase of landscape construction, from design, hardscape and woodwork, irrigation, lighting and planting. We pride ourselves in our ability to provide our clientele with a friendly, courteous, fully professional service, able to implement all facets of exquisite outdoor environments and living spaces. Please feel free to contact us with questions and comments. We look forward to the opportunity to share additional information and references regarding our company and our services. Sincerely, Martin Lemuz Founder of Landscape Pros ML, Inc. Office Phone Number: (408) 920-7718  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sam's Tree Service

    How is Sam's Tree Service overall rated?

    Sam's Tree Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    Does Sam's Tree Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Sam's Tree Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are there any services Sam's Tree Service does not offer?

    Ask for details