Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rhino Shield

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2006

3.9

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1002 Rawlings Dr

San Jose, CA 95136

Description

It's not paint, It's better! With ceramic coating you'll save thousands in painting expense. Rhino Shield comes standard with a 25-year transferable warranty. It acts as an insulator to help reduce Summer energy bills. It also breaks the maintenance cycle and frees up your time....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

04/07/2016


David R.

Description of Work
I had my house painted with Rhino Shield a number of years back. I have since added an AC unit and needed to have the outside lines painted. They also needed to do some repairs for some paint that was peeling. | |It took a long time to get appointments set up and they cancelled a couple of visits, but eventually the appointment was made and a quote was received at a reasonable price. | |The work was done in a timely manner and professionally.

Category house painters

4.0

04/30/2015


Davos H.

Description of Work
Painted 1/2 home per agreement. Did not complete job in rear due to cost exceeding $20,000 per salesperson. Satisfied w/work done but would be hesitant to use again. Too many delays; change orders, color issues, but kind people.

Category house painters

3.0

04/23/2015


Judith B.

I kept on calling them and complaining to complete the job well, but they finally did it. It took three months to complete to my satisfaction. It is supposed to be a 25 year warranty. It just took too much work on my porch. They weren't very honest at the beginning. They offered a 10% discount and $1000 on the radio and what they did when they gave me an estimate they added 10% and $1000 to the estimate. They were pretty dishonest but I had already signed the contract and couldn't get out of it. They were pretty rough with me when I tried to get out of it. I would choose to avoid them.

Description of Work
I got a paint job for Rhino Shield and they fixed the siding as part of the job. They fixed the siding and got the walls painted.

Category house painters

5.0

11/17/2014


Bonnie K.

This was a lot of money to spend on painting a home. It has been 15 years+ since last painted. It needed a lot of prep work. Because this paint, will be on our home for 25 years or the last paint job we will do, it took my husband and I a long time to pick out the colors. Rhino shield uses the paint swatches from Benjamin Moore. WE must of tried 10, 15 different colors. Because we needed time to get the money together and figure the colors, we did not start right away. So even though the contract was signed mid July we did not start until end of October. When we were ready to start, they were finishing up another job, then it rained. But Jeff always called us to let us know the schedule. Andy and crew came early on October 30th to work, then finished up the following Monday to Wed. doing the powerwash, repairing the wood, stucco on the house. That took awhile because the house need a lot of work. This was figured in the contract. The workers came early at 8 am and worked till 3:30-4. (getting darker earlier now) After the home was was cleaned and ready to go, they did the primer. Which is the Rhino shield protective primer that seals the home. This is what will help wrap the home to keep it warmer in winter and cooler in summer, they say. For more explaining go to their website. The primer was tinted with the base house color we chose. We thought it was going to be thicker, but goes on like regular paint. Jeff came by to drop off more product and showed me the pant drums and what is in it. After the primer, we signed a form (hubby did) and paid another payment. Andy was to take hubby around the house to check if we were satisfied. He did not , end of day, I called Jeff who said he is suppose to do that and talked to Andy. Next day we went around home. I asked why the sun room panels were not primed. Andy said that is going to be last because it has to be hand painted. The rest of the house is sprayed painted. Then after the final coat was done the workers started to do the trim. Now we picked out the colors, but you never know until it is on the house if you are going to like them. The trim is a sage green and looks a lot lighter and softer then I would want. That is not RHINO fault. But I told Jeff and Andy and they added a 2nd, coat to make it darker. (they do not do doors, we will do that later with a color that pops!) They did the shed and hand painted the decorative wood I had over the shed windows. They painted white a fence by our front porch and basketball backboard. These things were thrown in at no cost. The Sun room was painted and what a difference that makes. Plus it will protect the walls of the sun room. After it was all done , we walked around the house and fixed areas we saw that needed more paint. They also did around the door and door jams. Now that it has been a week, I am more used to the color and we both really like it. They cleaned up really great, did not leave a mess. Jeff and Jenna were really good about working us with payments and holding checks. I appreciate that. Over all, this a new product to our area, but has been around for years.We did not want to have to paint again in 5, 7 years. The shield is good for 25 years within the contract. If we had any problems, we could talk to Jeff and he helped us. The house looks good. So think of Rhino shield next time you want to paint and tell them our name. LOL. Bonnie

Description of Work
Del the owner came out to show us what Rhino Shield was and how it would paint, cover and protect our house. Once we signed the contract, we were in contact with Jeff. Jeff helped us with any questions or problems that might happen. He called us to see how we were doing picking out the house colors. He called us to schedule the first step of preparing the home and talked to us when we needed questions answered. Rhino shield prepared the home to be painted, but this is not paint, it is a protective shield. They power washed the home, they cleaned the home and repaired where was needed. The workers and headed by Andy the foreman , applied the primer coat, which had some tint of the color in it. After that dried, they applied the final coat of the color. Then the did the trim. The did the door jams (no doors) They also painted the panels on the sunroom, that were never painted before. Dale had them, do the shed outside, a front fence by porch and a basketball backboard, at no extra cost.

Category house painters

5.0

09/18/2014


Robert S.

It was AMAZING!! From the Sale with Del to the painting with Andy and the ending Walk Through with Jeff, the process was seamless and incredibly easy. We are thrilled with our home, the beautiful paint job and color AND, the idea that we DO NOT have to paint it again for another 25-30 YEARS, which was my BIGGEST PLUS of going with Rhino Shield in the first place. But, then I got to meet and know the people of Rhino Shield, and it became a BIG first reason. They are great to you, as a customer AND, their product is EXCELLENT. If you think about it, this product has been used for years on all of the general Business, Manufacturing sites across Silicon Valley . You really do not see them re-painting every 10 years so, why not use the same product for a home? IT IS A FABULOUS PRODUCT.

Description of Work
They first power washed the complete house to get off all grime and loose wood and dirt. Then they came through and patched up any open spots and sanded any bad looking area's putting putty if needed to make the house ready for paint. They start their painting process which is a thick plastic under coating and then the actual paint. The process was amazing to watch. Our painter, Andy and his Manager, Jeff were fabulous in attending to all of our needs and explaining every thing they did. They answered every question we had. Our house looks amazing and we have had many neighbors stop and tell us how beautiful the house looks. It is all because of the EXTRA care Rhino Shield takes in their preparations and painting details of your home!!

Category house painters

5.0

08/24/2014


linda J.

The crew came in and power washed the house. They repaired areas of dry rot, primed and applied the Rhino Shield paint. The crew was very professional. The Rhino Shield product is awesome, the house almost twinkles it is some bright and clean. It is guaranteed for 25 years!

Description of Work
Repaint the house

Category house painters

1.0

03/02/2014


Jerzy G.

The company manager visited the house and gave me the estimate for the coating work, without inspecting the roof. I accepted the price of $12500.00 for the walls and 3/4 of the roof- subsequently agreed to get all the roof done for additional $3000.00. Work started 1/12 with wall power washing and caulking, followed by priming and final coat. When the forman climbed onto the roof ge asked if anyone had inspected and I said no. He then made a phone call and told me that the garage vent ridge was deteriorated and needed replacing, to which I agreed. Then there were several day of frost delay but when conditions improved the roof was washed and coated by 12/12/2013. I paid the balance of the price and was told that the paperwork would be completed in 6-8 weeks. At no time did the designated Project Manager appear on site. The first major rain after roof completion was on the weekend of Feb.7, 2014 and the whole of the roof started leaking. The previous rain, in mid November 2013 did not produce any evidence of leakage. Whe I called the RhinoShield office on Feb 10th their manager told me they never promised a waterproof roof, and disclaimed any responsibility for the leakage. He recommended I talk to a roofing company.I got six competitive bids, all recommended tearing off the coated shingles and underlay. The selected contractor completed the re-roofing one day before the rainstorm of Feb.26th, they are the Bay Valley Contractors of Walnut Creek, CA. I have photos of the wet roof taken during the removal of the shingles and some shingle samples.

Description of Work
RhinoShield recommended and provided ceramic coating to the roof and southern exposure walls of my single storey house to improve insulation and protection from deterioration. The wall coating appears sound: the roof leaked in all section after the first rainfall following completion of the work.

Category roofing

5.0

01/03/2014


Jerzy G.

.

Description of Work
Shield coating for the whole roof, and prep, wash, caulk and seal, prime and seal with Rhino Shield all south and west facing walls, and fascia beams. All work included masking and cleanup and reinstating all appliances. Work started on a Tuesday with pressure washing roof and walls. Some repairs were found necessary Next day unusually severe night and morning freezing temperatures prevented work for six days. When weather improved the roof coating was completed in one day while wall treatment was started. Sealing cracks and priming walls was done next, and on the last day the wall coating and trim was applied and cleanup done.

Category house painters

5.0

11/20/2013


DOUGLAS S.

It was wonderful! I was surprised at how smoothly everything went. We are very happy with the job and the results. From beginning to end, it was a good experience. We liked the salesmen and the crew. The crew cleaned up after themselves and were even good with my dog. The paint is supposed to have a lifetime guarantee.

Description of Work
They painted the exterior of the home.

Category house painters

1.0

11/20/2013


Becky G.

It was horrible. I would not recommend them. It was pricey and then to find all these things they did wrong was a disappointment. I did contact the owner and he wasn't very responsive. He said they would do the screens over. All the screens would need to be remade and nothing ever came of that.

Description of Work
They were hired to paint the exterior of my home. They didn't do enough caulking so that's pulling apart. They tore off our wooden screens and dripped paint on things. They didn't even finish painting. We had to call them back out to finish the job. I felt there was little to no supervision. The paint is supposed to last 100 years, but we'll be lucky if it lasts 5 years. My home was built in 1901 and the workers were sanding with any protection and lead dust was everywhere. 1They didn't wear masks until I forced them to. They were here for a couple of weeks and they had people everywhere.

Category house painters

4.0

09/12/2013


Eugene C.

All went well until, what they believed was additional repair work which was not specified in the contract. I supplied all the material, tools and fasteners and was charged $400 for 2 hrs of work. I recommend that anyone using Rhino Shield have everything in writing prior to them starting work. The quality of the work diminished as the completion date got closer. The job was completed 7/12/13, I am still waiting for the 25yr warranty documentation from Rhino Shield.

Description of Work
It took 1 week to clean, prep, repair , primer then paint the exterior of my house. The quote was to include all repair, prep, prime, and paint my house.

Category house painters

4.0

12/08/2012


Geoffrey H.

The work was performed by Jose and Alejandro, they were punctual, diligent and proceeded artful results. The paint coating was not as thick as I was lead to believe form the sample that I was given at the time of the estimate and contract signing meeting.

Description of Work
Exterior house painting the house was first primed, then coated with the Rhino Shield paint formula in Atrium White. The trim and gutter were primed then painted with Exotic Fuchsia in the Rhino Shield paint formula.

Category house painters

2.0

09/17/2012


alicia B.

Really liked the owner/estimater. Since it was a lot of money, I asked for references. Went to see a job they'd done 8 years ago, had questions about it and Rhino has yet to get back to me.

Description of Work
Estimate only.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

03/02/2012


Carolyn Z.

I loved them; they were great. It was a permanent shield and the house still looks great. They are a national company. Dell Olsen is the owner. It is a father and son team that owns the company. They are more expensive but I don't expect to ever have to paint my house again. I would recommend them if someone never wants to paint their house again.

Description of Work
I used Rhino Shield to paint my house.

Category house painters

1.0

08/13/2006


MARL P.

The salesperson failed to meet THREE scheduled appointments. Each time he called at the last minute to cancel and gave some excuse for not being able to make his appointment. This was a major inconvenience because I had arranged my busy schedule to meet him. After the 3rd time, I decided that if he could not even make a sales appointment, how much MORE TROUBLE would I experience in getting him to do the job!!? Needless to say, I am NOT rescheduling a 4th appointment. The salesman was unreliable and was unfortunately a bad reflection on the company he represented.

Description of Work
The salesman failed to meet 3 appointments. See next paragraph for details.

Category house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Brian Duff Painting

    Painting Specialists - We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Gruber Painting

    When you are looking for the best professional painter for your home or commercial projects, Gruber Painting is your quality contractor of choice. With over 10 years experience, our painting craftsmanship shows in our quality work. From small painting projects to full interior and exterior painting, Gruber Painting brings your "dream" home or office to reality for you. Call Gruber Painting for your free estimate today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Gruber Painting on Angi
    Two Men and a Brush Painting

    Two Men and a Brush Painting is a small, owner-operated business providing painting and related services across the South Bay and surrounding locales. Established in 1983, we take pride in the fact that 100% of our business comes from satisfied customer referrals and repeat customers--the strongest validations possible. We are also top-rated on YELP.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Exterior Painting.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rhino Shield

    How is Rhino Shield overall rated?

    Rhino Shield is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rhino Shield open?

    Rhino Shield is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does Rhino Shield provide

    Rhino Shield accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Rhino Shield offer free estimates?

    No, Rhino Shield does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Rhino Shield offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Rhino Shield offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Rhino Shield?

    Yes, Rhino Shield offers warranties.

    What services does Rhino Shield offer?

    Rhino Shield offers the following services: Exterior Painting.