Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Modern Lock & Security

Founded 1948 • With Angi since April 2007

Serving San Jose and Silicon Valley for all your locksmith Needs locksmith service for San Jose and Silicon Valley. Modern Lock & Security has been providing the same quality service since 1948. Modern Lock & Security is your friendly neighborhood locksmith. Locally owned and family operated to provide you with the best quality service. Today we offer a mobile service as well as a full service shop. call for an on time appointment or come by the shop today. Accepts payments: cash, check, all major credit cards. Normal service hours Mon-Sat 8:00 AM-6:00 PM. Limited after hours service Mon-Sat 6:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Shop hours Tues-Sat 11:00 PM-5:30 PM (Sunday & Monday by appt only. Additional phone number - (408) 984-0372. Locally owned and family operated.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(49) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 49 reviews
Ceal C.
5.0
05/02/2019
Darrin fixed an increasingly problematic front door mortise lock. Works swell now; it was a toughie. He also fixed two other outside door locks that had been iffy. Prior repairman who had installed the locks and doors didn't do a great job. Now we have working and locking doors. Spiffy. I thought the price was very reasonable. He was professional and knowledgeable. Will hire him again for any lock issues. I wish I had done this over a year ago instead of dreading it (afraid we would have to replace the locks or doors).
Description of Work
Repair three locks in house
Category
locksmith, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you I enjoy fixing problems
Kathy S.
5.0
05/06/2018
He was on time (actually a little early), efficient, quick, pleasant. Good experience. Would use again.
Description of Work
Replace lock and provide a set of keys for mailbox
Category
locksmith
Tony H.
5.0
04/28/2018
Darrin help us re-key door locks two weeks ago and he did an excellent job! I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Rekey locks
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you
Martha A.
5.0
04/17/2018
We have a non standard, extra thick door. He was able to make necessary adjustments where we weren’t able to do so. He was on time and performed the work in a short time.
Description of Work
Replacing a deadbolt on front door
Category
locksmith
David W.
4.0
10/16/2017
Generally well. The locksmith arrived in an unmarked van, so I didn't know it was him until he parked in front of my house. It was obvious I wasn't a locksmith because I made several misinterpretations he had to correct.
Description of Work
install a deadbolt on front house door
Category
locksmith, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]
JENDONG Y.
4.0
09/06/2017
It went well. So, the problem is away.
Description of Work
The front door lock was stuck and not functional. So, the locksmith looked at the problem. Gave me a quote for fixing it.
Category
locksmith, doors
Mary S.
5.0
09/02/2017
Locksmith was flexible in scheduling around me, super-prompt, professional, efficient, and their rates were more than reasonable. Will be our go-to locksmith!
Description of Work
I broke a key in our front door lock...
Category
locksmith
Anna T.
5.0
08/22/2017
Excellent work. Mr. Wicker showed up right on time and was able to re-key our doors quickly. He provided extras too so that if one or more keys got lost, we had some back-ups. Highly recommended, we will definitely use his services again.
Description of Work
Re-keyed four of our interior doors.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you
Lee M.
5.0
07/31/2017
He did the job well and also gave me advice on how to treat and appreciate our 110 year old doors.
Description of Work
Change out locks on front and back doors.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thanks
Lukasz W.
5.0
07/17/2017
It went great! The owner of the business (I believe) showed up on time, with all the required locks appropriately keyed, and got it all done very quickly, right before a weekend. All locks worked great, the price was very reasonable -- I've done this before, but would use this vendor again given the quality, speed, and price. Strongly recommended.
Description of Work
Needed my duplex re-keyed and deadbolt locks installed on 4 doors.
Category
locksmith, doors
Terry G.
5.0
05/22/2017
The service was fast and efficient. Called in the morning and the job was done in the afternoon.
Description of Work
I had 2 doors, 4 locks total, re-keyed.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was my pleasure
Donna O.
5.0
03/27/2017
The locksmith was professional and finished the job quickly and efficiently..
Description of Work
Rekeyed all locks.
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
Clifford J T.
5.0
03/04/2017
I called Modern Lock on a Friday afternoon and Darrin, the owner, offered to come out the following morning! He arrived right on time, determined that the locks could be easily adjusted and proceeded to fix them within a few minutes. We asked him to fix some other doors that were sticking and he dispatched them quickly as well. Darrin is a delight to get to know! He became interested in our new backyard pond and noticed that the water wasn't flowing properly. Ever the problem solver, he suggested opening up the service pod, removing, and cleaning the filters which did the trick! He told us about his Koi pond and warned us about raccoons...in short, best neighborly advice one could ever wish for! Darrin is the BEST!
Description of Work
We had 2 gate locks that stopped opening after the last rainstorm. It looked as though the deadbolts had been sprung or twisted so we thought we would have to replace the locks and possibly have the gates rebuilt.
Category
locksmith, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

Thank you
T J.
5.0
02/10/2017
Darrin was very pleasant to deal with. On time. Reasonable Price. I had an additional lock entirely replaced on the same visit. Work performed quickly. I would recommend to others.
Description of Work
Rekeying of all locks in the house.
Category
locksmith
Donald M.
5.0
01/02/2017
First rate service at a fair price.
Description of Work
Re-key the front door lock
Category
locksmith
Curtis R.
3.0
08/22/2016
I filled out three dates. Did not hear back on my first choice and understood that to mean they would be there. I Waite. They never came. I sent an email they asked for a fourth date as an appointment. For this reason I did not use their services. If they do not respond and then respond after my inquiry with a fourth choice, they never should never chafe been match up with me at the beginning. They already Proven that they are unprofessional.
Description of Work
New keys.lost originals
Category
locksmith

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately the Angies app and e mails sometimes get lost . I never saw your request . I do ask in future you and all members also call the service providers to make an appointment Thank you and I'm very sorry about that
Craig C.
5.0
08/22/2016
Darrin was prompt, friendly, and professional. The price was fair for a service call into the mountains, but since Kryptonite was picking up the tab, I didn't shop around. However, now that I've met Darrin, I would call him again if we needed more locksmithing.
Description of Work
Cut off a broken bike lock
Category
locksmith
Treb R.
5.0
06/21/2016
Timely and punctual. New locks work well. Wouldn't replace some locks he thought were too cheap, but otherwise did a very good job.
Description of Work
Replaced some locks in the office.
Category
locksmith
Alex D.
5.0
02/06/2016
Darrin did an excellent job of replacing my old lock with the new lock that I previously purchased. He did the work quickly and very well.
Description of Work
Replace door lock
Category
locksmith, doors
Hai B.
5.0
01/31/2016
Darrin was very responsive to messages. He showed up on time, did his work with high quality, and demonstrated genuine care for his customer's needs and satisfaction. He's one of the best contractors I've ever hired. Thanks, Darrin!
Description of Work
Fixed and rekeyed multiple locks, and provided new keys.
Category
locksmith
Edward R.
5.0
11/24/2015
The locksmith was great. Though I accidentally sent him to the my previous address on file with my Angie's List, he was very patient and simply drove to the new home without complaint. Then he made quick work of the locks and explained everything to me. He was very pleasant and I'd hire him again.
Description of Work
The locksmith rekeyed my house right after I closed escrow.
Category
locksmith
Edith U.
5.0
11/11/2015
We were amazed at how quickly Darrin was able to come. He had great communication, was pleasant to deal with, and fixed the lock expertly. And the total cost was less than he'd estimated! The next time I need a locksmith, I'm definitely calling Darrin.
Description of Work
Fixed broken deadbolt lock
Category
locksmith
Thu V.
5.0
09/18/2015
I called Darrin in a rush because my elderly mother-in-law in San Jose got locked out. I live on the East Coast but added Angie's List for the Bay Area last month to help her with finding reputable contractors for anything and everything. It happened I was able to use it in an emergency as this. I called and spoke to Darrin not knowing which deal I should get since Modern Lock had 6 specials (coupons) going on. Within 20 min of that call, Darrin had dispatched a locksmith to my mother's house! I could not have asked for better service, response time, and professionalism. Highly recommend!!
Description of Work
Lock-out service
Category
locksmith
Kelvin T.
5.0
09/12/2015
The service called turned out just the way you want it. He showed up on time and completed the job quickly. He also cleaned up al the wood particles left over from installing the peephole. He was a friendly guy too.
Description of Work
Rekeyed locks and installed a peephole.
Category
locksmith
Kenneth H.
5.0
08/21/2015
The person was polite and professional.
Description of Work
Rekeyed two door locks.
Category
locksmith

Other local Pros in your area

Mustang Locksmith

I am doing as a locksmith and taking care of all the issues with the commercial and residential locks. I offer services as follow: - Emergency Lock Services - Re key - House Locked out, Office L/O & Car L/O - Fresh Installation - Master keying System - Lock Installation ( Mechanical & Keypad) - Key Copy - Broken Key Extraction - Lock Repair & so many other services. Satisfaction and quality is my priority.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Ace Fence & Gate

We offer metal, wrought iron, automatic gates and chain link fencing services only. No wood fencing service offered at this time. License No - 744570. Owner operated. Cost is determined by job. No additional travel charges. Contact us today!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

ADT

ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

1615 Westwood Dr

San Jose, CA 95125

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Modern Lock & Security is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Modern Lock & Security is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Modern Lock & Security accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

No, Modern Lock & Security does not offer free project estimates.

No, Modern Lock & Security does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Modern Lock & Security offers warranties.

Modern Lock & Security offers the following services: Re-keying, opening and master keying locks, auto lock outs, deadbolts, electronic locks, ADA hardware, exit alarms, closed circuit TV (camera) systems, access control systems installation, high security auto keys cut, programmed & auto remotes.