Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DunRite Heating & Air Inc

Founded 2011 • With Angi since May 2012

4.5

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1758 Junction Ave Unit H

San Jose, CA 95112

Description

We are a family owned Heating & Air conditioning company that has provided reliable, responsive, on time service to homeowners and businesses since 1972. Dunrite Heating & Air Inc. never uses sub contractors, we employ no sales people, just family and employees. We exemplify the meaning of family

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/18/2020


Gio D.

Mike is amazing, he is so well prepared and polite. He made a clear and reliable diagnosis and offered the best option to fix my issue. You can tell that he is not selling you but just providing you the best options. Thanks Mike!

Description of Work
Furnace replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

04/11/2018


Lyn D.

Disabled Sr. .Citizen purchached AC maintenance after 6 month ignored & work never done |I called them & made an appointment; they didn't show up; they never called back; I've been ill or injured several times since then & couldn't cope with trying to reach them again. | |in the meantime; I've had a couple of falls up here on the hill & with instant heat supposedly arriving Sat & Sunday, I STILL REALLY NEED THE SERVICE I PAID FOR. |I will be at home until 10 a.m. this morning: 650/ 851-2745 | |i have physical therapy in Palo Alto from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Description of Work
20-Point Air-Conditioning Tune-Up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

09/06/2016


Todd P.

Went ok. I won't use DunRite again, as I can't trust them to pay attention to the details. Of 3 bids, they were cheapest and they seemed honest and knowledgeable. all seemed to go well but, it wasn't until 9 months later, that "cracks" started to show. Compressors (both units) started leaking oil/coolant. I called and emailed DunRite 6 or more times and never could get a return call from them. Finally I called another Service technician. He came out and found that some caps on both units had not been properly tightened. He also pointed out some improper gas connection and wiring, and a few details the installer (DunRite) could have taken 10 mins to do better. Overall, DunRite did "ok" but, you have to watch them closely. During the house review, before the install, I noticed they were taking no notes about house sizes, number of existing vents, etc and consequently, they almost installed the wrong size compressor in one house. I actually caught it and pointed it out to them. They were very punctual, before and during installation. They were also clean and professional. Installed Payne units, which seem to be working fine.

Description of Work
Two units (duplex). Replace / install new heater and AC in one unit. Dispose of old unit. New AC only in other unit. New Thermostats and wiring.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/30/2016


Vladimir S.

I don't recall a problem, so everything went well. It wasn't the first time I used them. They installed the furnace and the water heater. I found them on Angie's List offering the deal, so I got it. They installed it in 2012.

Description of Work
DunRite Heating & Air Incorporated did an inspection and maintenance of the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/03/2015


Judith Y.

When I called DunRite Heating & Air Inc, Mike Wood, the owner, gave me a lot of excellent information over the phone about the best quality heaters. Mike is very straightforward. He provides an estimate and sticks to it. He does not try to up sale. Mike came out to the house to look at the old heater to make sure the new heater would be the correct one. It turned out that he could install the new heater the same day. Two of the installers, Jesse and Dilbert, came to install the new heater. They were obviously very knowledgeable and very professional. They finished installing the heater in less time than Mike had estimated. Jesse and Dilbert turned on the new heater and it worked beautifully. Mike also installed a new thermostat to go with the new heater. I will do business again with DunRite Heating & Air whenever I have future heating needs. This is why I love doing business with small businesses and/or family owned businesses. They treat customers with respect and consideration. I highly recommend DunRite Heating & Air!

Description of Work
Installed a brand new heater in my home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

09/10/2015


Laukik W.

These guys have too much attitude for a business owner. I called and scheduled an appointment with Dunrite for servicing an air conditioning unit. It was a no-show. When I called to follow up, after multiple back and forth calls, they offered to come next day. Then they went on to warn that we will call and if no one answers they would not show up. I tried to provide a landline home number and the guy started mocking me that I don't have a landline at work. That's none of his business. When I said that "You should be apologizing for not showing up for your appointment today" he said he wouldn't serve us and hung up promptly.

Description of Work
Very poor customer service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/27/2015


esfandiar B.

When the A/C and the furnace for my 38-yr old unit at my rental condo in Campbell, stopped working, I called a serviceman who found cracks in the combustion chamber of the heater. He condemned the heater and shutoff the gas. He also found the A/C unit still operational after he changed the thermostat. He said he would provide me with a proposal for replacing the heater and also one for replacing both the heater and the air conditioner at the same time. The proposal for replacing the heater came after 10 days, but the one I was really interested in (replacing both units) never came. I followed up with the company twice by email and have had no response yet. So I contacted another A+ rated company on Angie?s List: DunRite Heating and Air Inc. Michael Wood, owner of DunRite, came over the next morning to examine the installation. He was very knowledgeable, articulate and explained the details in an easy-to-understand manner. He suggested replacing the air-intake grille so the filter could be replaced easily from inside the house without having to go to the furnace. He quoted a firm, very reasonable price free of contingencies. The installers, James and Clay, came on time and completed the job the same day. They were polite, orderly and efficient. I am very pleased with DunRite and intend to use their services for my other properties and highly recommend it to others in need of heating/air conditioning services.

Description of Work
Installed replacement heater and AC at my rental condo in Campbell.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

06/17/2015


sj S.

pleasant personable lots of talk but little actually done, no cleaning of very dirty fan. no lubricating of any moving parts. lots of discourse re his honesty and longevity. tried to sell his brother's duct cleaning service. definitely NOT WORTH THE MONEY

Description of Work
looked at furnace. checked for leaks. very very perfunctory

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

06/11/2015


Gary K.

I received two referrals for AC repair outside of Angie's list. Did a quick search for reviews and saw that Dunrite had a good rating on Angie's List. I called Dunrite on Tuesday morning to see when I could get our unit repaired. I was told that they could get me on the schedule for Wednesday, but due to the volume of calls they had, they could not be sure when they could make it out. I received a call Tuesday evening and was told that they could be at my home in 15 minutes to take a look at my problem. Within an hour of that call, they came out, diagnosed my problem and had my AC back in working order. Very much appreciated the quick response, especially with warm weather on the way.

Description of Work
AC unit stopped functioning and we needed somebody to fix the problem quickly.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/02/2015


Rita D.

The results were a quick success, considering he had reviewed the schematics / diagram of my electric heater prior and made sure all the wires were in the correct spot, some had to be fixed, so the 2nd time when he came on New Years Day he knew exactly what to do to fix it 100%. We had to wait for him to get the part from the mfg. of my heater first, but that was understandable. It all went relatively quickly considering it was the holidays.

Description of Work
First time came out to review & study the problem(s) with my electric heater. Later purchased part required to fix it. Came out on New Years Day to replace new part and fix the problem. He showed me how it all works and was very informative.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/01/2015


Dan P.

Twas two nights before Christmas, and all through the house, the heat was not working, to h*** with the mouse. Okay, enough stupid poetry. I called 5 furnace repair companies from my research on Yelp and Angie?s List two days before Christmas. Only one, DunRite, even answered the phone. Mike came right over that day and quickly diagnosed that our 10 year old Trane furnace had a bad control card. While at our place, he was able to find the replacement card in Benecia after a few phone calls and with more than a little luck, they had a truck coming down the next morning and could bring it with them. Jesse installed the card on Christmas Eve afternoon and we were back in business. Huge kudos to Mike and Jesse and the whole DunRite organization for a job well done. We were very pleased. (By the way, we learned that Trane furnaces are very very difficult to get parts for, at least on the West Coast, and very few parts are interchangeable. On the other hand, Carrier Furnace Co. parts are very interchangeable between models and the parts distribution center is in San Jose. Keep that it mind if you are buying a new furnace!)

Description of Work
Replaced control card in dead Trane furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/31/2014


ELAINE D.

My furnace stopped working around 4 PM on Tuesday afternoon....temperature very cold in the house. Very cold overnight and woke up to 35 degrees outside. Called DunRite early morning on Wednesday hoping to get service same day but it's New Years Eve. Happily, Mike called me back and said he would get here today. He arrived shortly after noon time and fixed the heating problem and replaced my thermostat with a programmable one. Great service, knew exactly what he was doing and was very pleasant to speak with. Had all completed and was on to his next appointment within 1/2 hour. I will definitely use him for all my future heating and air-conditioning needs and will happily refer him to my friends and neighbors! Thanks so much for such quick and efficient service, Mike!

Description of Work
Replaced an HSI and installed new programmable thermostat

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/25/2014


Elisa C.

Great. He went above and beyond to get my furnace fixed on Christmas Eve. My furnace is so old he didn't have a part for it on his truck, but he called around, found an open store on Christmas Eve and went, got the part and fixed the thing. Start to finish less than 3 hours.

Description of Work
Found and replaced a part on my 25 year old furnace...on Christmas Eve no less!!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/23/2014


Debbie M.

Once again, my Lennox furnace would not come on. This has been an ongoing issue for many years. I was very "turned off" by furnace repair companies from past experiences. My initial thought was "here we go again"! I called a few companies that said that they had "24 hour service" only to be told that they could come out in 3 - 4 days. They also had that "call center" feeling. Then I called DunRite. It was a Sunday morning, and I thought why not give them a call. They do also advertise service all weekend, but I have to admit, I wasn't very hopeful! Within 10 minutes of my initial call the Owner, Mike, called me to ask what the issue was. I told him and he said that he would have his technician there by noon that same day. Jesse arrived on time and was very pleasant and courteous. He got the unit working within 20 minutes. While he could not find an issue with it, just had to open it up, I am just grateful for the furnace working. While I'm not convinced it won't happen again (because of the past issues, nothing to do with DunRite), I am very pleased that I called DunRite, and if it does happen again they will be my first call. I also plan to begin to use them for maintenance of my Furnace and AC units.

Description of Work
Furnace Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

09/12/2014


John N.

He came,did his job and left. He did a good job

Description of Work
Checked out the air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/07/2014


Steven H.

Provided very good flat rate, arrived promptly and quickly replaced the unit. They encountered some unforeseen problems with the flue, but fixed it without any extra charge. A few weeks later, the furnace developed a problem due to a manufacturer defect. DunRite's owner, Mike, came out himself came out the same day, ordered the replacement part and was able to fix it without any hassle or charge. From dealing with Mike, he takes customer service and satisfaction very seriously, would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced very old furnace with new unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/05/2014


Laurie R.

I am so satisfied with the work Mike preformed. Additionally, his knowledge of my air conditioning unit was top notch. For the part and amount of time required to fix it, I'm satisfied.

Description of Work
All of the sudden, no more cool was blowing into my house. This was during a time when my family needed air conditioning. After calling 4 other places, I talked with Mike and he was able to come that day, a Friday. While he didn't have the right part, he did get it on Monday and returned promptly to repair the unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/27/2014


Julie H.

I called DunRite to schedule the tune-up I had purchased and mentioned that my unit is a zoned system. When I mentioned that, Mike from DunRite immediately said he does not work on zoned systems because they usually have issues and he doesn't like to get blamed for it if a problem were to arise. I wanted to know what I should do then. I explained the history on my unit (which came with the house we purchased 2 years ago) and how it has never worked to our satisfaction, even after a number of service attempts by other HVAC companies. My story seemed to intrigue Mike so he agreed to come and take a look. He did mention that it definitely wasn't a tune-up I needed, so to get a refund for the Big Deal. When he came out, we discussed my options. The conclusion was that he would do some research on his end and we'd go from there, which is a story for another review for work he ended up doing. I found Mike to be very straightforward and honest (although a bit harsh on other companies). I appreciate that he didn't just come out and do a tune-up blindly and took the time to actually figure out what was going on.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

07/14/2014


Marca L.

I called and explained the issue and the owner (I think) said that there was definitely a problem, but was busy right then and would call me back shortly. After three hours, I called back and explained that I had called earlier. His reply was basically, "Well if you say so" and not very friendly. I launched into the problem description then and he said "Now I remember you". No apology for never calling back. He said that he would have someone out at 4:00. The technician called an said he was delayed and got there about 5:00. The technician checked and said that there was no longer a clog in the pipe. He was checking the outside compressor and found that a valve had been installed backwards. He told me that we should shut down the air conditioner immediately and not use it and that they would call back the next morning with an estimate. We researched it on the internet and found that yes the valve was installed backwards, but while it wasn't optimal it was not dangerous. DunRite never called back with the estimate.

Description of Work
There was water coming out of the air conditioner overflow pipe, indicating that there was water in the pan under the air conditioner. We blew out the pipe ourselves, but wanted to make sure that there wasn't another problem, so we called DunRite. A technician came out that day to check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/06/2014


Julia T.

I thoroughly recommend DunRite Heating & Air Inc we found them to be a punctual, reputable and honest company. Owner Mike Wood and crew arrived on time and performed the recommended service with a fair price. I would use DunRite again for any future HVAC needs we may encounter.

Description of Work
We purchased a 20-Point Air-Conditioning Tune-Up as a deal on Angie's list. Owner Mike Wood inspected and adjusted our air-conditioner completely as promised. Then histechnicians turned later in the day to finish some repairs he discovered(add refrigerant, replace caps).Dunrite technicians arrived on time and performed the recommended repairs quicky. They even replaced our ancient furnace filter! We purchased a 20-Point Air-Conditioning Tune-Up as a deal on Angie's list. Owner Mike Wood inspected and adjusted our air-conditioner completely as promised. His technicians returned later in the day to finish some repairs Mike discovered during the tune-up(add refrigerant and replace caps). All in all Dunrite arrived on time and performed the recommended repairs quickly. They even replaced our ancient furnace filter, just because! Excellent.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/05/2014


JOHN C.

Did a great job ... showed up on time and price was very competitive. Jesse, the technician, was very thorough and honest i.e. no attempt to sell us more than we needed ... I'll really appreciate that!

Description of Work
Found and removed a foreign object from our furnace which had caused a burning smell. Also replace a broken Thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/03/2014


Eric M.

Wonderful service and response time. Excellent and professional installation of a new heat pump system. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Serivice and Installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/12/2013


Dennis P.

They did an excellent job. The guy that came out is straight forward and honest which I appreciate.

Description of Work
They put in a whole new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/07/2013


Mary D.

Mike Wood, the owner, was very knowledgeable, pleasant and straight forward. The two technicians, Jesse and Josh, .were very professional and did a great job. We will definitely call this company to instal our air conditioning this spring. We were very pleased with the work and the entire experience.

Description of Work
Installed new furnace, thermostat, air conditioning coils and prepped for air conditioning unit. The old furnace was removed and hauled away.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/05/2013


Daniel A.

My 15 year old central air conditioning unit was not producing cool air as designed. I noticed the air cooled condensing unit was inoperable. The unit had shut down and would not come back on line. With the forecast of 100 degree weather coming by the end of the week, we were anxious to have the unit fixed. I called several air conditioning service companies and they either did not return my calls or scheduled me several days or a week away for a service visit. I called DunRite Heating and Air Inc. and they scheduled a visit for that same day. I spoke to Mike, owner, and he scheduled me within a one hour time frame. Mike arrived on schedule and within a minute diagnosed the problem. He discovered that someone had not installed the brass valve cap which would have prevented the refrigerant from leaking. (The refrigerant was almost entirely dissipated.) To try to save me money, Mike called different parts suppliers attempting to locate this brass cap but was told the brass cap was available only as a unit. He purchased the unit and fitted the cap on the valve. He recharged the system with refrigerant and had me turn the thermostat to the desired temperature. The unit cooled the house down immediately--what a relief! In the past, I have had other companies service my unit and not a single technician discovered that a crucial part was missing. Mike is a person that you can count on to make a correct diagnosis of the problem and repair it in a timely, professional manner. I plan to use DunRite for any future heating/ac problems and highly recommend DunRite to others. Kudos to DunRite Heating and Air Inc. and to Mike for a job well done.

Description of Work
Repaired my central air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    AAA Mike Counsil Plumbing and Rooter

    Mike Counsil Plumbing has been family owned and operated from the start. Our customers are our neighbors, and we are proud to be part of the community. We offer the highest quality of plumbing, and friendliest customer service in the industry. When you want it done right, call Mike Counsil Plumbing. Owner operated since 1994. 50 employees. All technicians drug tested and background checked.  

    Offers by AAA Mike Counsil Plumbing and Rooter on Angi
    Dana Waller Plumbing

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Knockout Plumbing & Repipe Inc.

    Knockout Plumbing Repipe Inc. provides residential plumbing services with customized solutions that fit every budget. We are a family owned local company that serves the greater Silicon Valley and surrounding areas. With a combined work experience of 40 years in the industry, our office staff and technicians can knockout any of your plumbing problems, anywhere from, drain/sewer back ups, drain/sewer leaks, drain/sewer clean, faucet replacement/repair, gas system installations, rooting services, water leak repairs, water heater repairs/replacements, whole house repiping, etc. Give us a call to book a free estimate 669-400-9662. We are your community plumbing experts!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Heating repair & installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DunRite Heating & Air Inc

    How is DunRite Heating & Air Inc overall rated?

    DunRite Heating & Air Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are DunRite Heating & Air Inc open?

    DunRite Heating & Air Inc is open:

    Sunday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does DunRite Heating & Air Inc provide

    DunRite Heating & Air Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does DunRite Heating & Air Inc offer free estimates?

    No, DunRite Heating & Air Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does DunRite Heating & Air Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DunRite Heating & Air Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DunRite Heating & Air Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, DunRite Heating & Air Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by DunRite Heating & Air Inc?

    No, DunRite Heating & Air Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does DunRite Heating & Air Inc offer?

    DunRite Heating & Air Inc offers the following services: Heating repair & installation.

    Are there any services DunRite Heating & Air Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details.