Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Clean Solar Inc

Founded 2007 • With Angi since January 2010

4.8

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1445 Koll Cir Ste 109

San Jose, CA 95112

Description

Clean Solar is your solar installation solution with $0 down lease options. Highest ratings from Diamond Certified, 5-Star rated on Yelp, Winner Best of the Bay Solar Installer and Best In Silicon Valley Best Solar Installer. We are the premier energy partner to meet your solar needs. In the solar power industry, we serve residential, commercial, municipalities and agriculture sectors. Our professionally trained service team will offer you competitive and cost-effective packages, combined with one-of-a-kind product and service offerings. Our project managers and customer service are knowledgeable, professional, prompt and most importantly we will go out of their way for you. Our solar installation team installs solar power systems throughout the San Francisco Bay Area; including, Santa Clara County, San Mateo County, Contra Costa County, Alameda County and of course San Francisco. We look forward to working with you. Additional DBAs - Clean Solar Inc, Clean Electrical....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/24/2022


Micah S.

I contacted Clean Solar in April 2020 for Tesla Power Walls and a full solar roof installation. I deposited $2,000 and signed their contracts. In my contract, the scope or work was to be completed in "5 - 7 months" which would take us to November 2020. I responded quickly to any inquiry and kept reaching out to my project manager as time went on. The deadline came and went quickly, citing availability issues with the Power Wall. That's when i found out they never ordered them when they took my deposit. They explained that they don't order them until they're ready, which by then was already too late. Project Manager was fired or quit so I was contacted by someone new and kept getting a delayed ETA, no problem. Mind you these people never contacted me, I was the one who was reaching out for updates. I then found out my new project manager quit or was fired. its now over a year since i paid my deposit and no ETA in sight. May 2021, June....July... finally in August 2021 i reach out to the only people i knew including Art Balaoro who was quite the Customer Service guy at the beginning. My original salesperson finally told me, look, there's no ETA on your project and i wouldn't be surprised if it didn't happen in 2022 either. I appreciated the honestly and told them with no end in sight, and since they overshot the contract by over a year, I'll just take my deposit and do something else. They were ok with this but didn't give me a full refund. They told me they had to take $550 for a permit they applied for which expired back in early 2021. I don't think that's right but that was their stance. I emailed Art again, no reply. They all clearly decided it was better to spend their efforts on current customers. It's really telling when the service you receive changes so abruptly. I opened a case with BBB as well which they let expire without a response. This is just my experience, I hope you do your own research first before getting involved with them.

Description of Work
Tesla Power Wall with full rooftop solar

Category electrician, solar panels

1.0

07/06/2017


Kristin B.

Not well. They must not be interested in business to even tell me sorry we are not interested.

Description of Work
I spoke to a representative at length about my project for solar on a new residential build. Never followed up with me. After 3 weeks I think they don't know who I am.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are so sorry that you did not receive the email quote for the solar installation on the new home you are building. Our records indicate that our outside site analyst called you on the 6/24/17, unfortunately, there are no other details that I can see and obviously we dropped the ball on this. I have reached out to your site analyst as well as our CEO to escalate communications as this is not how we do business with clients at Clean Solar. You will be hearing from someone soon and I hope that you will give us a chance to make this right with you. Thanks for reaching out, we are human and make mistakes, but we are never satisfied with a poor review and will do whatever it takes to try to make this a better experience between you and Clean Solar. Sincerely, Leslie Gaynor Director, Marketing and Inside Sales Clean Solar 888-551-7652 x305
5.0

01/27/2017


Robert S.

Description of Work
.

Category solar panels

4.0

05/18/2016


Jennifer T.

Description of Work
I dealt only by phone with "Morgan" who is based on the SF office. Communications were quick and helpful, really a positive experience. The quote was the best formatted of all the contenders with a worksheet showing alternative system sizes. At one point, however, I asked when they would do the pre-installation visit, having already been visited by several other companies. Apparently they don't usually do this, or maybe the system size was too small to bother? because the guy that showed up seemed a little put out and when I asked if he was going onto the roof he seemed surprised and said he was only supposed to check out the panel. I went with another company that provided me with thorough pre-site inspection as I really value not having surprises later.

Category solar panels

5.0

03/23/2016


Jackie W.

.

Description of Work
.

Category solar panels

5.0

12/30/2015


Patrick W.

Description of Work
complete solar panel install

Category solar panels

5.0

10/26/2015


Jayne H.

Planning options were well played out and complete, unlike many other "one size fits all" companies. One company wanted to place 27 panels on our roof, we settled for 16 with a bit of room to expand in the future. Planning was well communicated. A delay in panel suppliers side was well communicated and installation con performed by courteous professional technicians.

Description of Work
Complete solar system on our house.

Category roofing, solar panels

5.0

08/01/2015


Amy S.

We picked Clean Solar based on reviews and because they are SunPower elite dealers (we wanted SunPower panels), and were not disappointed. Very thorough and smooth process, explained from the outset, with every expected milestone met on time. They accommodated changes in our schedule due to family illness?and even sent get well flowers! Marcia did the initial visit (climbed on the roof for site inspection) and prepared bids for three different panels, and a fourth when we asked for another. Bid selected, our Project Manager went to work, sending a copy of the packet that would go to the city for permits, so we could see and confirm the design and all paperwork. Install date was set and met on time (by two team members who were on the roof in 90 degree weather!). Another team member handled city inspection and painted conduit from the roof to the box mounted outside to match exterior walls and gutters. Clean Solar handled all permits. No problems with PG&E and the system went online shortly after the permit. From our initial inquiry to completion took about four months (includes our delay for family illness)?an entirely painless process. Pricing was on par with estimates from two other companies. We received manufacturer and special rebates, and can take advantage of the federal credit that will expire soon. We installed 15 SunPower SPR-X21-335-BLK modules with a SolarEdge 5000 Single Inverter with power optimizers. System has been generating without hiccup since day one, above expected output, with easy monitoring on iPhone app. We can?t say enough good things about the solar hardware and especially about the Clean Solar experience and the team we had the pleasure of working with?Marcia, Pam, Tina, Shalini, Ron, Rich, Jose, and Gene.

Description of Work
Installed a rooftop solar power system from SunPower and SolarEdge.

Category electrician, roofing, solar panels

5.0

07/22/2015


Skandakumar V.

Chris Ellis is the lead consultant who came out first to inspect the house, roof etc. He reviewed our PGE yearly usage for electricity and also asked about any additions (electric car etc.) which we might be doing in the near future which might consume additional power. He then went on to the roof and measured the light intensity at different spots. He then came back and modeled our required system and made a proposal including a printed quote on the spot. The whole process took about 1.5 hours. Chris was extremely professional and carefully walked us through the whole process, including how much we would save on electrical energy costs and why (based on the current PGE usage models). He took time to explain each type of system and the advantages of the systems as well as the difference in cost. Chris also understood that we were not interested in leasing a system and did not try to sell us on it. He is excellent and we will always recommend him to anybody The installation itself went very smoothly, within 1.5 days. The team was very professional and even painted the conduits in the same color as the room and walls. They then connected the system to the grid. Now we have solar powered electricity and everything seems to be working fine. Based on the output, we are producing more than we use in general, so we expect our PGE electricity bill to be very low in the future. Thank you Clean Solar!

Description of Work
Clean Solar did the complete solar electricity panel installation including connection to the grid as well as all the permits and approvals from PGE

Category solar panels

5.0

07/13/2015


Tanaporn T.

Interaction with this company was great - representatives from sales, to installation, project management, and then monitoring support, have all been very professional, knowledgeable, and responsive. They worked with me to understand my needs, and design the proper system that would fit, without trying to over-sell. I'm very pleased with the process and the result. Would definitely recommend them to anyone, and would go to them if I had future projects.

Description of Work
Installed a 6.37 KW system with 19 panels of SunPower.

Category solar panels

2.0

06/22/2015


Steven G.

It took several attempts to get the bid I was asking for, it kept getting kicked around their organization and I finally did not select them. The did not come out to the property to measure and they proposed a layout that was inefficent and it was on a street view roof which was not allowed in my RFP (request for proposal. They work closely with SunRun which is their leasing arm. I was a cash customer and they tried several times to lease and/or finance which isn't a good model for installing solar on a homeowners roof.

Description of Work
The provider provided me with a quote to install a 3.9kWh DC roof mount system.

Category roofing, solar panels

5.0

04/09/2015


DEBBI AND GEORGE B.

This project went exceptionally well. They handled everything. the permit, install, system monitoring setup and inspection. All told it took about 4-6 weeks to get the permit, install, setup monitoring and get the building inspection. The actual installation happened in 1 day. I was surprised because the 15 panels needed for my system actually went onto 4 different roof surfaces. I thought it would take longer.

Description of Work
Installed a 4.5KW solar system on my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

09/12/2014


William H.

.I chose Clean Solar after interviewing 6 different Solar Companies and I am very glad that I did. One thing that you learn during the interview process is that the Solar industry is still basically in it's infancy and some companies are better prepared to take the time to instruct you on how a solar system works and how all of the components involved work and Clean Solar was the best at this. One of the other salesman that came to my house was a real estate agent who was selling solar systems on the side which wasn't a good sign and he was totally unprepared to answer any of the questions that I had. Again this is where Clear Solar excelled. My first contact with Clean Solar was with Kristina Crooks who made it very easy to feel comfortable with the company and was able to immediately arrange my first meeting with Bill Bright their saleman. Bill came to the house on April 16th, 2014 fully loaded with brochures and manuals and he did an incredible job presenting in an understandable manner how a solar system worked and also how I would benefit from having a solar system installed. Not only did he answer all of my questions but he also also answered questions that I never even thought of. Remember that will receive a Federal Income Tax credit of 30% when you purchase a system which substantially reduces the upfront cost of the system. After I decided to go with Clean Solar I immediately received an email from Edward Stewart who is the Project Manager at Clean Solar who began to plot out a game plan for the installation. Ed then scheduled Ron Launer who is the Project Planner to come out to comfirm how and where the solar panels would be installed so the necessary application could be presented to the county for approval. Once Clean Solar received the approved permits back for the county Ed Stewart then scheduled the installation of the solar system for July 28th and July 29th which was an indication of how busy Clean Solar was which is a very good sign considering that one of the companies I interviewed said that they could come out the following week which is not a good sign. Don Henderson headed up the installation of the system and he was here on the morning of July 28th with 2 assistants and they were able to install the system in 2 days as promised. They were incredibly polite and efficient and after they left you would have never known anyone was here. A few days later, August 5th, Chris Loyd from Clean Solar was here to assist the County with their inspection and that went very smooth. This inspection is critical because it is then submitted to PG&E for review which will allow the system to become operational. Less than week later, 08/11, i was informed that the system was now operational and i was producing electricity and I immediately ran outside to watch my meter run backwards!! I named all of the people that I dealt with at Clean Solar because they are all a group of the most professional, educated and very nice individuals that I have ever dealt with in any other previous purchase that I have ever made. One additional comment worth making is that some of the Solar companies attempt to have you lease the Solar System from them which means that you don't have to come up with the cash upfront to have the system installed and they present you with a schedule of how much you will pay for you Kilowatt hours generated by the system. DON'T EVEN CONSIDER THIS!! It is very expensive plus you do not own the system and therefore you will not be able to claim the 30% Federal Income Tax Credit for the system. I obviously highly recommend Clean Solar should you decide that the time has come to install a solar syatem, you won't regret it for a second.

Description of Work
Install Solar Panels and required Components necessary to run a Solar System.

Category solar panels

5.0

04/01/2014


Nancy F.

They are professional. They came in and I drilled the hole, so they put everything on the ground. It is a pretty big system. They told me how much it would cost and then they thought, perhaps it was too windy. They drilled two more holes and they did a whole bunch of work for free to make sure the thing was going to fixed. I was really impressed with them. It saved me a ton of money on electricity. It is a great company.

Description of Work
Clean Solar Inc came out and installed the solar panels.

Category solar panels

5.0

03/21/2014


GAY G.

They quickly responded to my calls and emails. They were prompt in their arrival and have given me a great price. Our technician Bob was very patient in explaining the technology to us and explaining how it works which completely erased any trepidation we were having going into the project.

Description of Work
They are installing my solar panels.

Category solar panels

5.0

03/12/2014


Arthur N H.

We contacted them when we were about to purchase a plug-in hybrid car so as to add more solar generating capacity. They provided a quick estimate for a 2kW micro-inverter system that fit our budget, and the amount of remaining roof with good exposure on our house. The system was permitted, installed, inspected, and went live within a few weeks. I can monitor daily generator performance on the web, and we charge the car nightly. I waited several months to write this review so that we could let time and weather shake the system out a bit. There have been no unexpected occurrences and we are happy with the system, and with the service that received from Clean Solar. Our only regret is that we didn't have more roof space, so that we could have added a couple more new panels.

Description of Work
They installed an additional solar generator on our roof to provide energy for a new plug-in auto.

Category solar panels

3.0

08/10/2013


Pavlo G.

I wouldn't trust this company to do a job if they can't get organized to return a quote. After spending 40 minutes over the phone going over details for an installation of a solar panel system, a 3 day turn-around with a email quote was promised and never sent. The vendor had a phone number to reach me at along with a email. When I initiated contact in 7 days, I was told they didn't have a phone number and the .com vs .org portion of a email address was incorrect after spelling it 3 times over the phone during the first phone conversation. Upon my second attempt to reach the vendor, I was told my salesperson would get back to me within an hour. They now confirmed they had my cell and email. 3 days later - no response and nothing in the email (even the junk folder). Update: the vendor made contact and I found a email with a quote that was sent a day ago in a non-spam sub-folder of my inbox.

Description of Work
Quote for solar panel installation

Category solar panels

5.0

06/24/2013


Denise R.

They were very nice but right now, I am going to hold off because I had some other expenses up and I wasn’t able to go forward on that. It was a very positive experience, they responded right away and came out gave me a quote in a timely manner, so they were very good. I think it was a fair price but we had some other things to be done on the house on priority.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Clean Solar Inc to put in solar panels for our house.

Category solar panels

5.0

05/05/2013


Tao Z.

We contracted Clean Solar about 1.5 years ago after a competitive bidding. They did a good job from sizing, bidding to constructing. My system has been generating power as planned ever since with no issues at all. I've been powering my house and my electric car ever since. It's great to live guilt-free. I feel comfortable recommending them to prospective PV owners.

Description of Work
PV system design and installation.

Category solar panels

4.0

02/25/2013


Dwight L.

Initial contact was made in mid July 2012. The Clean Solar Salesman made a site visit about a week after that. After getting a couple of other bids we decided to go with Clean Solar and signed the prepaid lease agreement papers mid August. We decided to go with Sunpower solar panels, in that the E20, 327 w panels are the most efficient (20+%) and appear to be very reliable, and through the prepaid lease program very cost competitive. As the Sunpower solar panels wouldn't be available for 8-to 10 weeks (high demand), the installation didn't start until the first of November 2012. The solar panel and associated equipment installation was done quickly and efficiently. But Clean Solar did run into an issue with our main house breaker, they could not tie into our house wiring at the main breaker due to the age and type of the breaker. This was a little aggravating as I had asked clean solar about this issue multiple times in advance, and had sent them pictures of the breaker with the covers removed. We came to an agreement on the cost for replacing the main house breaker with a new one of 200 amp capacity, replacing the old one that was 100 amp capacity. I obtained competitive bids for this upgrade, and their price was reasonable, so I had them proceed with the replacement a week after they had started. Delays with getting PG&E to turn off our power for the breaker upgrade delayed completion of the project until mid December, including the city inspection. It is now Feb. 25, 2013, and PG&E has just installed a new Smart meter that will measure the amount of electricity that the solar panels will put back into the system and has authorized us to operate our system. All and all, it is a very nice and clean system, very cost competitive, and is producing power above the projected amount.

Description of Work
Installed fourteen Sunpower 327 watt solar panels, for a total of 4.58 kW DC. Installed 4000W single inverter, additional controls, wiring and conduit. Installed a new 200 amp main house breaker (replacing old 100 amp main house breaker, 50+ years old). Cost shown of $4115.00 did not include cost of solar panels, those cost an additional $11,740.00 paid through a prepaid lease (including the final early buyout amount.)

Category solar panels

5.0

06/16/2012


William B.

Clean Solar’s proposal was very competitive with the 3 other bidders. In the end, we went with a Roof & Solar company as we required a new roof at the same time and felt it would be easier on us if there was a warranty issue in the future. Overall experience was excellent!

Description of Work
Clean Solar (Justin) came to our home to bid on a solar PV installation. He was very professional, took solar readings on our roof, explained the proposed system and provided Clean Solar’s proposal at the end of his visit. In addition, any questions we had while comparing the bids were quickly answered by Justin. Since we had a little shading on our roof, Clean Solar provided a central inverter option as well as an Enphase micro-inverter option...both using SunPower panels.

Category solar panels

5.0

05/24/2012


Ryan P.

My wife and requested a solar consultation from Clean Solar, and they were very responsive. Within a day, their friendly staff set us up an appointment for a consultation. When the day of the appointment arrived, the courteous consultant arrived on time (which is a big deal to us), and proceeded to climb up on the roof to conduct her measurements and analysis. She proved to be professional and knowledgeable, and presented Clean Solar products (in conjunction with other service providers) that she felt would best suit our family's power needs (based on our historical usage). Overall, it was a painless and beneficial interaction. We will of course be getting other estimates, so it is too early to say whether we will use Clean Solar for the installation, but they certainly made a good case for themselves and their professionalism.

Description of Work
Performed a tailored power analysis and provided a quote for solar panel installation to meet our needs.

Category solar panels

5.0

11/26/2011


CJ F.

We looked into several solar contractors, invited three to come and give us a pitch and we went with Clean Solar. What set them apart from the others was the micro inverter option which would allow us to expand the system at a later date if we wanted without having to buy a new inverter box. The rep who set up the deal with us, Graig Dunkerley, was easy to work with and made all of the options very clear. The office folks kept us in the loop and updated on the schedule. The crew that did the installation completed the job on schedule and with no negative side effects. We have had the system in place for over a year now and it is working great. Our electric bill has almost disappeared. Watching the meter run backwards is a real treat. We heartily recommend Clean Solar to anyone looking to install a photovoltaic system. You will not be disappointed. One final thing, I like how they donate $250 to a charity of your choice after completion and inspection of the job. That is a nice touch.

Description of Work
Clean Solar installed 24 photovoltaic panels at our residence each with its own micro inverter. They handled all of the work themselves and set up and were present for the inspection with PG&E.

Category solar panels

5.0

11/23/2011


Keith R.

These guys offered a significantly better price than their competitors, with a good warranty. We had a little back and forth trying to figure out the details of how the Federal tax credit worked due to the changing laws at the time of the install, and there were some questions about different options that took a while to work out the details on, but on the whole I was pleased with their responsiveness. With the Silicon Valley Power rebate and the tax credit, we only ended up paying about $12K when all was said and done, but I'm sure it's cheaper now. Our system has performed quite well for us, with no issues. We recommended them to a friend who used them, and they sent us a $500 referral fee, which was very nice.The summer after the install we had a party at our house to show off the system, and they sent a representative to explain the economics and details of the installation process to our guests. On the whole, I got a much more personal feel with these guys than I think I would have gotten with a larger company, and they inspired much more confidence than going with an individual contractor would have.

Description of Work
We had a 4 kW system installed: a total of 15 panels on two different roof sections, with an inverter hooked up on the side of the house. They took care of all the rebate details and provided the documentation we needed for our tax credit.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/08/2010


Keith R.

We have been pretty happy with them. They were very tight on the schedule and they finished everything on time. The total cost of the project was $30000. The City of Santa Clara paid half the cost and we also got federal tax benefit for it. We ended up paying about $15000. The solar panel generates electricity and that has basically reduced our electricity bills. $30000 is a big amount but we thought that the price was reasonable for the installation of the solar panel. We are pretty happy about the quality, and I would recommend them to other people.

Description of Work
We used Clean Solar to install solar panels for us.

Category solar panels

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dalcon Electric

    We are an Electrical Contracting Company providing top quality electrical services to South Bay, East Bay, and the Peninsula! Dave Lee, the owner of Dalcon Electric, started doing electrical work in the San Jose area over 30 years ago. Then, in 1993, he started Dalcon Electric in San Jose. With over 30 years of experience in both residential and commercial work, we take pride in our expertise and professionalism. We always give you a fair price and can often recommend ways to save you money on your electrical job. We are family owned and operated company! We are also licensed, bonded, and insured! Give us a call today! You’ll be in good hands! Ask about our Angie's List coupon and senior discounts. Award winning. Certified Copalum Installers.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Dalcon Electric on Angi
    Flores Electric

    Flores Electric is a family run electrical company focused on delivering quality service at an affordable price. We specialize in panel upgrade, lighting, repair work as well as installs. We've been in business since 2018 and have over 30 years of combine experience working in Santa Clara county and surrounding areas.  

    Offers by Flores Electric on Angi
    Fast Handy Electric

    Fast Handy Electric is locally operated and has been serving the Bay Area since 2012. We value our customers and the service that we provide. Our friendly and reliable electricians are experts in electrical systems maintenance, new installs and upgrades for your home, commercial or industrial projects.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Financing Available, Check
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential Solar Power System Installations & Design. Roof & Ground Mounted Systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Clean Solar Inc

    How is Clean Solar Inc overall rated?

    Clean Solar Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Clean Solar Inc open?

    Clean Solar Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Clean Solar Inc provide

    Clean Solar Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Financing Available, Check

    Does Clean Solar Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Clean Solar Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Clean Solar Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Clean Solar Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Clean Solar Inc?

    No, Clean Solar Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Clean Solar Inc offer?

    Clean Solar Inc offers the following services: Residential Solar Power System Installations & Design. Roof & Ground Mounted Systems.

    Are there any services Clean Solar Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details.