Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Build 4 Less Construction Inc.

Founded 2009 • With Angi since May 2012

2.9

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

88 South 3rd St. Suite 171

San Jose, CA 95113

Description

With many years of experience in all phases of remodeling, Build 4 Less is a leader in remodeling and new construction. Throughout the LA and surrounding area, we transform your desires and ideas into reality. Our courteous staff provides you with up to date information on the latest designs and most economical ways to improve your home at the most reasonable cost. Call us for a free estimate. Please visit our website for further details all of the services we provide to our satisfied customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

04/30/2020


Mark A.

Trust them with the rough stuff. Find someone else to finish. Good sales, average follow thru, with the salesman getting too busy to help you when you need things sealed up.

Description of Work
Foundation, kitchen, bathroom, lighting, painting.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

09/09/2017


Brian P.

We were promised that there would be a work crew at our home everyday, that's the only thing that went right. Unfortunately the work crew didn't know how to build or fix much of anything. The project was supposed to take 8-10 weeks, more like 7 months. The one positive in the entire experience was the cabinet maker, which was a sub. He did everything we asked, cabinets are beautiful! I ended up installing all the appliances as I was afraid the work crew would damage them. The cutout made by the cabinet maker were unbelievably accurate! Great work!! 9 weeks weeks without running water downstairs! We had a gas stove top put in which required a new gas line, we had a trench through our kitchen for 3 weeks that we had to cover ourselves so we didnt step into it. We had 4 different crews working on the hardwood floors. They left a significant amount of glue where the floor sat on the concrete slab, which I removed over 2 days. The stairs had to be rebuilt 3 times because the steps were different lengths, wife feel twice. There are gaps in various locations. There is also an area that the floor dips 3/8", very noticeable. The contract stated they would reasonably clean up each day. They left trash all over in front of my house to the point my neighbors complained. They were supposed to hook up water for the refrigerator ice and water, they solder in a new line...to the hot water! I fixed this, took 4 hours under the house. They failed inspection 3 times, once for the master bath, and 2 for the kitchen. They didn't finish the master bath because they only wanted to pay for one inspection so our bathroom took 12 weeks to finish because of the failures. I was concerned when I found a "how to tile" book in my master bedroom. When I asked I was told it was for reference on the job. Well the tile work in the mater bath visibly sloped. When I showed the contractor his initial response was, looked great. When I asked if he'd want this in his house he told the foreman it needed to be redone and they'd use a different tiler. The bathtub drain is exposed as it's a standalone soaking tub, which is stainless steel, the tried soldering it, burned the SS, looks terrible. They broke a drain pipe under the kitchen sink, draining under the house. When I called they came out and said, yes it leaking, we'll fix it in a couple of days. I fixed it, took me 5 hours with the trips to the store. It was broken in a place that was very difficult to fix. To top everything off, when the contractor came for final payment, which I negotiated a lower price, I said the quality of work overall was bad. His response to me, could have been worse. I would not recommend this company to do anything.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel and hardwood floors throughout entire downstairs and upstairs landing including stairway. Master bathroom complete remodel. Downstairs bathroom remodel.

Category ceramic tile, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

08/13/2017


gary M.

General contractor that hires a bunch of subs, or should I say sub-par contractors that do crap work and most couldn't speak English. Most of the subs were called back several times. Decks were done wrong, he didn't listen to directions and I had to come up with a solution. The kitchen was a mess, put the doors of the cabinets on with the wrong face out. The pull out drawers scratch the inside of the cabinet doors, one shelf was too small, when I put pans on it and it moved, it fell (20x40 inch shelf) the wood under the new Cherry Cabinets were pine color and stood out like a sore thumb, I had to fix this issue. I finally signed off on most everything because I didn't want to chance a "Mechanics Lean" on my house, which is serious time and money to get removed. "F" Build for Less and their crappy crew! There is no way I'd recommend this Company "Build for Less" the lead "Noam Israeli" or their Subs to build a Dog House for Fido let alone touch my house again. Build for less... Less Quality, Less Communication, Less Satisfaction, Less Ability to Reach the Project Manager! In the end, Build For Less sucks air!!!

Description of Work
What started as a 1/2 bathroom reno turned into Bathroom, kitchen, dining room, and 3 decks.

Category ceramic tile, decks, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

3.0

12/15/2015


Carol P.

Description of Work
.

Category home remodeling

4.0

08/03/2015


MARGARET G.

Tile is great. Painting is unfinished in my opinion. Painted ceiling (that I did not want painted) and left areas unpainted around grates in ceiling. Overall job is good. Finishing leaves a lot to be desired.

Description of Work
tiled bathroom and laundry room; patched some drywall and painted three rooms; installed vanity, toilet, mirror in bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

2.0

10/03/2014


CONNIE S.

They have been working on my project since the middle of September. when they started the driveway and walkways. They send people who do not speak English and I find it difficult to speak enough Spanish to communicate well. People arrive later than promised, or not at all, so I cannot plan out my days. A week ago they broke a window and promised to fix it. I slept in my house with a hole in my plate glass window large enough for a man to crawl through for a full week. Yesterday they fixed it, but no one cleaned up the mess. The contractor was here yesterday, and fast-talked me into agreeing to having him put in the artificial grass I wanted for the back yard, but I told him I wanted work to start next Monday, and he insisted it had to start today. Today 3 workers arrived, but no foreman, and brought no tools! The worker who speaks English called the foreman for instructions. The brick-work that was started yesterday still waits for someone to come finish it. It's half finished, sort-of. I loaned the lawn workers my pick axe, so that makes 2 tools and 3 guys. I have tried and tried again to reach their office and get no-one today. It's noon now and there is still no foreman here. Each time the contractor convinces me that I should add to the work, it's like what they have been doing already has suddenly ground to a halt. I really feel stupid for hiring these people and would most sincerely not advise anyone to hire them. If you start to talk to the manager, he will talk you into spending way too much money and have no respect for your time or energies. This week the driveway and walkway that was promised to take less than a week and was contracted on the 15th of September, was finally finished--mostly. (October 3rd.) He told me less than a week. The planter box brickwork was part of that job, and it is still not done. I will be more than happy to modify this review if and when they ever complete the work. The artificial turf is promised to be finished by Monday, October 6. I will tolerate completion no later than October 7.

Description of Work
driveway, walkways and fake grass

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/22/2012


tal G.

I am so excited about our new kitchen! It turned out to be exactly what I had envisioned-warm and welcoming but still exquisite with lots of bells and whistles. The design really popped out, addressing a few problem areas in our previous kitchen layout that I wanted to change-location of the major appliances, comfortable work space and a balanced, sophisticated look while maintaining the traditional feel of our house, not a transplanted showroom. The Build 4 Less team took extraordinary steps to meet our needs from start to finish. Measurements were checked and re-checked, custom cabinets were ordered and received along with new floor tiles, granite counter tops, and appliances before any demolition began in order to minimize construction time. Minor issues such as missing molding pieces were dealt with swiftly and efficiently. The most impressive thing, though, was the personal service we received. The were very attentive and spent a lot of time with us pick out all the materials we needed like the tile, granite, back splash, kitchen lighting and all the other items i envisioned in my kitchen, including the built in television for when I am cooking. These things were above what we expected, but it was the type of service that made us feel like our kitchen was as important to our contractor as it was to us. Our experience was all positive. And the result speaks for itself!

Description of Work
Kitchen Layout 3-d designed providedLayout remodeled (taking out a wall and installing island)New custom cherry wood cabinets were installedNew kitchen granite counter tops and backslash was installedNew flooring tile was installedNew floor molding was installedAppliances were relocatedEntire kitchen was paintedNew built in television was installed

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gruber Painting

    When you are looking for the best professional painter for your home or commercial projects, Gruber Painting is your quality contractor of choice. With over 10 years experience, our painting craftsmanship shows in our quality work. From small painting projects to full interior and exterior painting, Gruber Painting brings your "dream" home or office to reality for you. Call Gruber Painting for your free estimate today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Gruber Painting on Angi
    Ace Painting Co

    Established in 1985, Ace Painting Co. has been providing customers with beautiful lasting paint jobs for commercial, industrial and residential properties. We have withstood the test of time by growing year after year though satisfied customer referrals. Ace Painting Co. is a fully licensed in accordance with Contractors State License Board (CSLB) regulations. Bonded and insured full-service contractor. Our California General Contractor License Number is 693381. We are also certified by the EPA (environmental protection agency) on lead safety for Renovation, Repair and Painting (RRP Rule). This rule addresses activities that disturb lead-based paint in target housing and child-occupied facilities. It requires: Renovators to be certified through training Firms to be certified Training providers to be accredited Lead-safe practices during renovation Pre-renovation education in housing *This ruling will take effect on April 22, 2010, firms working in pre-1978 homes and child-occupied facilities must be certified and use lead-safe work practices during renovation.  

    El Gato Painting & Restoration Inc

    29 employees. No sub contractors. Specializing in residential and commercial painting. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. License # 711537. Additional phone #: (925) 838-4460 & (650) 965-3692. We are local residential and commercial painting contractors; we work only in the Bay Area. We not only make it a point to know our products and their applications inside and out, but we only use top-of-the-line materials. We stay current with the painting industry by continually updating ourselves about new products, by attending trade shows and by talking with scores of manufacturer’s reps. They tell us we are one of their most knowledgeable customers when it comes to residential and commercial painting.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Specialties: -Planing and design services. -Kitchen and Bathroom remodeling. -Complete interior/exterior remodeling. -Room additions. -Custom cabinetry (kitchen, Bathroom, Home and Office) -Roofing. -Custom Decks -Driveways. -General Contracting. -Restoration.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Build 4 Less Construction Inc.

    How is Build 4 Less Construction Inc. overall rated?

    Build 4 Less Construction Inc. is currently rated 2.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Build 4 Less Construction Inc. open?

    Build 4 Less Construction Inc. is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Build 4 Less Construction Inc. provide

    Build 4 Less Construction Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Build 4 Less Construction Inc.?

    Yes, Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offer?

    Build 4 Less Construction Inc. offers the following services: Specialties: -Planing and design services. -Kitchen and Bathroom remodeling. -Complete interior/exterior remodeling. -Room additions. -Custom cabinetry (kitchen, Bathroom, Home and Office) -Roofing. -Custom Decks -Driveways. -General Contracting. -Restoration.