Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

AAA Mike Counsil Plumbing and Rooter

4.4

(290) Verified Reviews

Founded 1994 • With Angi since June 2005

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
679261
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California State License Board
Trade License Expiration
04/30/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Company Contact

1915 O Toole Way

San Jose, CA 95131

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are an essential business and are following all of the local city and state Covid-19 guidelines for safety.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Sewer Line Replacement

Sewer Line Replacement

plumbers202095050
This job started out as a simple drain cleaning project. The line was cabled and then a camera was inserted into the line to make sure all of the lines were clear of any debris or breaks. A break was found in the drain line and the client was given a choice of repairing the line or replacing the line. The client chose to replace the drain lines in their home. Sometimes when breaks are found in lines, depending on the material of the line it is better and safer to replace the whole line.

Description

Mike Counsil Plumbing has been family owned and operated from the start. Our customers are our neighbors, and we are proud to be part of the community. We offer the highest quality of plumbing, and friendliest customer service in the industry. When you want it done right, call Mike Counsil Plumbing. Owner operated since 1994. 50 employees. All technicians drug tested and background checked....

Verified Reviews

4.4

(290) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

173

4

39

3

24

2

23

1

31

Rating Details

Price

3.9

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

plumbers (272)drain cleaning (45)water heaters (45)sewer cleaning (17)drain pipe installation (11)gas leak repair (9)water softeners (8)excavating (8)home inspection (5)drywall (4)home remodeling (3)woodworking (2)
Showing 1-10 of 290 reviews
5.0

09/12/2021

All went great they rehung the sewer pipes under the house. Replaced the damage sewer pipe. Installed a new fresh water pipe from the water meter to the house installed a pressure regulator and a back flow on the hot water heater. Pached all the holes and even one the didn’t cause

Description of Work
Water and sewer. Work

Category drywall,home inspection,plumbing,water heater repair,woodworking,drain cleaning

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2021

5.0

05/17/2021

Always exceptional workmanship. Once they fix it, there's no need to worry again.

Description of Work
Mike Counsil Plumbing has taken care of our piping needs for over 30 years. From converting to copper (from plastic piping) to the central meter, simple toilet fixes to water heater replacements and small exterior leaks in our own home and even a sewer and water line replacement in a rental property we own, they are THE best. Responsive, accurate assessment of the issue, fair pricing and exceptional repairs and other fixes. They bother to train their service people to a very high standard and you can rest assured they know their stuff. Tried another company once when they were unavailable for a quick fix and lived to regret not just waiting for their exceptional service.

Category plumbing,water heater repair,sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure serving your plumbing needs. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our service and let us know how we are doing. All comments are very valuable to us. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager
5.0

01/25/2021

I use Counsil for the quality of their work and trust them to do it to highest city inspection standards. I had to do two replacement sewer lines. Counsil plumbing did the digging, plumbing and cement work with same people; the other contractor did plumbing, subcontracted sleeving sewer line and subcontracted concrete work. Counsil left the house as he found it. The other contractor left trash, re...

Description of Work
redo sewer line; replace solar hot water heater and gas heater; redo shower;

Category drywall,home inspection,plumbing,water heater repair,sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Our technicians go through extensive training so that they can offer you the best service and professionalism available in the market today. All comments help us to improve. Thank you. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager
1.0

01/16/2021

They are dishonest people. I was told the part costs $125 actually costs $30 dollar. They charged 10 minutes labor and parts for $400. Total rip off. Shop around before you hire.

Description of Work
Cartridge replacement

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We are sorry that you feel that things were overpriced. We do offer the highest quality parts and trained technicians to offer you the best and most professional service. I hope that we can do better for you in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take all comments and reviews seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write this review....
5.0

12/21/2020

My dishwater was not working anymore and the error message showed it was a plumbing issue. Anthony from Mike Council Plumbing was my technician. He did a full check on both the pipes and the dishwater and was able to diagnose that it was the dishwasher not the plumbing. I really appreciated him taking the time to explain the issues in detail. If things break, I will ask to have him back on the job...

Description of Work
Dishwasher broke

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Anthony was very please to read that you are satisfied with his work. All comments help Mike Counsil Plumbing and Rooter and our technicians be the best that they can be. We appreciate you. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager
5.0

12/05/2020

Everything went well. They finished in a short time.

Description of Work
Replace All Drain lines under the house.

Category drain pipe

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your A rating. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can continue to offer excellent service to our clients. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager
3.0

09/02/2020

Convoluted agreement process to get work started. Prices are based on some kind of “book” max that they don’t tell you about until the tech gets there. Just felt like they were out to make as much as possible and were over complicating a simple repair. Concessions were made to reduce price to final amount which was still high in my opinion.

Description of Work
Replace faucet cartridge

Category plumbing

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We offer our clients the highest quality and service in the industry. We hope that we can have another chance to help you with one of your plumbing issues. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager
5.0

07/10/2020

Inspection of plumbing system. Retrofit of the piping, installation of new water heater.

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We appreciate you sharing the positive experience you had with Mike Counsil plumbing and Rooter. All comments and feedback help us to evaluate ourselves and improve to be the best that we can be for our clients. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager
5.0

06/04/2020

It went really well. I called for an appointment on Monday; not an emergency, so a Thursday call was fine. There was a confirmation call the night before and then one in the morning to tell me the plumber would be there in about 20 mins. Mario Q. arrived promptly; very professional, in a mask, gloves, booties. He looked everything over and then gave us a quote. He also suggested that I use the cou...

Description of Work
Replace a toilet and a faucet in the master bath

Category plumbing

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Mario appreciated the feedback on his work. All comments help us improve our service to all of our clients. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate it. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service manager
5.0

02/26/2020

excellent response and quick resolution

Description of Work
leak in the base of the toilet in the hallway bathroom ** per client he has his own shut off valve **

Category plumbing

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We appreciate all feedback and use it to improve our service. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sincerely, Sean Counsil Service Manager

Services Offered

General Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Water Heaters, Gas Lines, Video Sewer Line Inspection, Property Line Clean-Out Installation, Whole House Water Filtration System, Water Softeners, Repipes, Sewer Line Replacement, Water Line Replacement, Trenchless Sewer Lines, Trenchless Water Lines, Faucets, Toilets, Garbage Disposals, Slab Leak Repair, Line Location. We would like to help you with all of your plumbing issues and be your personal plumber. We offer the highest quality with the most professional plumbing team. You're In Clean Hands with Mike Counsil Plumbing and Rooter.

Services Not Offered

Septic Tank Pumping.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check, PayPal
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes