Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Excelsior Roofing Co.

Founded 1906 • With Angi since October 2005

4.9

(77) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1340 Underwood Ave

San Francisco, CA 94124

Description

15 employees. Family owned & operated. Award winning. Mark Powers in company since 1972. Bill Powers in company since 1980. Company founded by grandfather in 1906.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Leo D.
1.0
10/18/2017
Never received an answer from vendor
Description of Work
Flashing above windows
Category
roofing
Andrew R.
5.0
09/26/2016
Worked with Mark to pick the right solution (he shared a good, better, best set of quotes). But the real joy was in the actual installation. We had assumed it'd be messy, take a while, and be a hassle. Couldn't have been more different. His team was fast, was incredibly professional, and did a fantastic job. Even going the extra mile to share photos of their work at the end of the day so we could see the progress. When we wanted to look at specific components (eg thickness of sheet metal being used) there was no complaint, only accommodation. He must have had 7 trucks working the job at one point. Not only where they faster than expected, incredibly well-prepared and professional, but they were one of the more reasonable quotes we got.
Description of Work
Full new roof on three-story single-family home. Modified bitumen along with new flashings, etc.
Category
roofing
Joshua J.
5.0
06/01/2015
They were very responsive. They came out immediately to give an estimate - and given that ours was a smaller job, managed to fit us in to their schedule earlier than projected. They did nice work, were communicative, and professional. I was extremely impressed with their work.
Description of Work
Patched some cracks, removed old gutters and installed new ones. Installed screens as needed.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Ben B.
5.0
03/26/2015
Basically, it all went smoothly, on schedule and completely as planned. It's worth noting that Mark is not a slick salesman who will wow a prospective client with his showmanship. Instead he's a very "straight shooter" who provided us with all the relevant facts, answered all our questions and provided us with a written estimate within a day of his initial visit. The fellows who performed the work were also very forthcoming about what they were doing and invited my partner to go up and inspect things before they wrapped up. We came away with five more years of use out of our roof and with a lot more knowledge about its construction, drainage system, flashing, etc.
Description of Work
Mark Powers, President of the company, inspected our nearly 19-year old roof and determined that, left as is, it would require replacement in roughly five years. He described a process involving spot patching and application of a protective white APOC 252 emulsion surface paint that would add five more years to the roof's projected lifespan. Our HOA approved the outlay and within a couple of weeks, his four person team arrived and completed the work in slightly less than half a day. The quality of work performed and ROI that we achieved by engaging Excelsior were both outstanding. I couldn't recommend this company any more highly.
Category
roofing
Ruth H.
5.0
03/15/2015
The work was scheduled and completed promptly. I can see the work on their Facebook page.
Description of Work
Excelsior has done a new roof before for another house. I contacted them to see if my current house needed a new roof before I had a leak. Mark inspected my roof and told me it needed maintenance and not a new roof yet. He also explained the working of my skylights and told me they did not need to be replaced either. They replaced the rear metal edging on the roof and painted the skylight and vent flues. They even provided a new skylight pole for the bathroom.
Category
roofing, skylights
ROBERT K.
5.0
02/16/2015
The crew came on the appointed day, and began pulling off layers of roofing and flashing that had been applied over the last 112 years, eventually getting back to the original metal roof surface. They pulled out vents and drains that were no longer being used, and re-roofed and flashed the light well. The workers were very professional, and worked with my tenants to make sure everything was cleaned up and put back in it's place. The work is guaranteed for 5 years. So far, so good.
Description of Work
After the deluge of mid December 2014, the light well in my 1903 SF Victorian gave up the ghost, and started to leak into the basement. This has been an ongoing problem since the date I bought the property in 1974. Excelsior was recommended by a friend, and when I called, I was told that they were swamped by calls, and he could not even schedule me until 1/1/15. I called after the first of the year, and scheduled an appointment.
Category
roofing
Daniel C.
3.0
12/17/2014
I called this business based on the positive reviews only to get his answering machine. He has this very unprofessional and cranky message. "Please don't tell me about your leaky roof...every call I get is about a leaky roof". Well what do you expect? You are a roofing company and it is the rainy season. If I were this person, I would change that message to something more professional and less irritating. I will not be sending any business his way.
Description of Work
Irritated me
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

I have read [removed member name]'s review and he certainly was correct. After receiving over 3000 phone calls between Thanksgiving and Christmas I became overwhelmed and I had to find a way to slow down the calls. Is always frustrating to me when some people go on and on about there roof leak and at end of message say there number really fast and I can hardly understand. Some people thought my message was funny. My apologies to you [removed member name]and to any others but as things are still crazy now at least they are manageable. Mark Powers, President, Excelsior Roofing Co.
Rita H.
5.0
06/04/2014
They were punctual in their appointment to inspect the roof. They got the estimate to us in a couple of days. I had lots of questions and they were very good about spending time on the phone with me to make sure I understood what they were recommending. The only reason I didn't use them is I decided to go with a foam roof instead of a tar and gravel roof.
Description of Work
inspected our roof and gave an estimate to replace it.
Category
roofing
Mike P.
5.0
04/03/2014
Couldn't be happier with everything about my experience with Excelsior. They came in at the lowest bid of three bids and honestly about what I thought the job should cost. The other two bids I got were way too high. They were punctual and did fine work - my roof no longer leaks! I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Sealed a leak around my chimney.
Category
roofing, skylights
Michael B.
5.0
02/22/2014
Very prompt and courteous service. Inspection one day, estimate the next day, and work completed the next day. Company owners are very nice.
Description of Work
Roof patching job for a leak
Category
roofing
judy or Jayeson V.
5.0
01/31/2014
Union team, pride in work, very honest pricing... very fair and prompt.
Description of Work
re-roofed composite (rubberized) roof of single family home.
Category
roofing
Diana B.
5.0
11/18/2013
Bill and Mark are very responsive. Fast service, very professional and very nice.
Description of Work
roof repairs and replaced and installed skylight
Category
roofing, skylights
Barbara S.
5.0
10/21/2013
On time for quote and start of job. Completed same day as started. Rental house and tenant says they were nice and very professional. According to tenant Excelsior put tarps down to cover outside front stairs and landing to prevent staining. After job completed: crew leader took off shoes when he went through downstairs flat to sweep yard of small amount of debris from roofing job; tarps taken off front steps & landing and these were swept and rinsed; and welcome mat rinsed and hung to dry on stair railing. According to tenant you could not tell Excelsior had been there when they left. Can't get much better than this. Don't know about the quality of the work since we have not seen the completed roofing job and only time will tell how the roof holds up. Five year guarantee against leaks. Excelsior explained why some companies charge less and offer a "20 year" guarantee is misleading. Union shop.
Description of Work
Completely reroofed "Sunset" style house in SF. Put new roof over metal plated roof.
Category
roofing
Vicky W.
5.0
09/16/2013
Mark was very responsive and came to look at the roof within a week. The quote was comparable to others provided by other roofing company. They were able to do the work within a week once I gave the go-ahead. As far as I can tell the crew did a good job and cleaned up well.
Description of Work
Repaired missing shingles, replaced and resealed chimney top, and cleaned roof and gutters.
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing, chimney caps
Susan G.
5.0
08/24/2013
Working with and the services provided by Excelsior Roofing were excellent. The company was very professional. They responded very quickly to our request for a bid, provided the bid in a timely manner and scheduled the work at a time very convenient for us. The bid was very fair. They were on time when they came to do the work. They cleaned up the area at the end of each day. The staff was professional, polite and did excellent work. The job supervisor and/or the owner check in with us daily to be sure everything was okay and that we did not have any concerns. They managed everything from the permit to parking. They made getting a roof a very easy task. I would and have already recommended them to a friend. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Put a new roof on our house
Category
roofing
Mona I.
5.0
05/17/2013
I contacted Excelsior and Bill Powers made an appointment for that same week. I needed my back porch fiberglass roof replaced. He also went up to the main roof and noticed some repairs that needed to be made. A written estimate was sent to me a few days later The work was scheduled and Eduardo and Jose showed up right on time and were very efficient. It was all very professional. I've used them before and I would use them again
Description of Work
replace fiberglass roof on back porch. Minor repairs on main roof
Category
roofing
Louis C.
5.0
05/13/2013
Mark will promptly send out one of his experienced guys to check out the problem first hand, he'll then send you an estimate. Don't expect much chit chat or information. These guys are efficient pros. They've done two roof repair jobs for me on our old victorian. The last time was a small (but critical) job in the middle of the rainy season. Mark said it might take a month to get a crew on it. They came by a couple days later and knocked it out. No problem with any of their work - it has exceeded expectations in both cases. I can't speak to price by comparison, but it seemed quite reasonable and guys that do good work professionally are worth it.
Description of Work
misc roof repair jobs, fairly complex
Category
roofing
Susan F.
5.0
04/23/2013
Our skylight was leaking. We called Excelsior and they offered to come over and give a free estimate of what it would cost to fix. Mark came on time, diagnosed the problem, explained it to us and we agreed to have him repair it. He put in an easy and inexpensive fix. He pointed out this problem might require another professional to fix it and would be more extensive work. We agreed that the fix he had put in would suffice for this time. He was professional in every way and gave EXCELLENT service.
Description of Work
Fixed skylight leak.
Category
skylights
Marcos E.
5.0
04/09/2013
They were very good. They were the first to respond, came out right away, easy to deal with, direct, no nonsense, and easily accessible. I am not going to use them, but it is not because of anything they did wrong. They do a tar and gravel roof, so they were a little less expensive. I decided to go with a roof that they do not offer. My experience was very good.
Description of Work
I got a quote from Excelsior Roofing.
Category
roofing
Astrid R.
5.0
02/22/2013
Excelsior Roofing came to look at the roof and provided me with a quote, and a approximate date they could replace the roof. Unfortunately, I had left me cell number as contact and I am not much of a cell phone user so their message went unanswered. When I called to double check the work date Mark Powers provided me with a firm date (provided it did not rain). The crew arrived on time, did all their preparation, removal of old roof, put on new roof and did a perfect job of cleaning up. I also asked to have a chimney pan replaced. Since this was after the contract was signed we had to have a different installation date. The work was done in the same excellent manner. I would like to recommend Excelsior Roofing for any roofing need. Astrid Romanini
Description of Work
Old roof removed and new roof put on. Also chimney cap replaced.
Category
roofing, chimney caps
Keith M.
5.0
02/19/2013
Based upon the great reviews on Angieslist, we had contacted Excelsior to inspect our roof to investigate some potential minor issues that had been identified in the home inspection process when we recently purchased an old Victorian home. They were very busy, as were we, so we booked an estimate to occur some weeks later. Estimator Bill Powers came out as scheduled, and confirmed that there were indeed some minor issues, provided photos documenting the problems, and provided a quote at very reasonable cost for the repairs. Although this was a very small job for them, within a week of the estimate they were able to schedule us in to their very busy schedule. The crew showed up on time, were very efficient and professional, and rapidly fixed the various problems. The supervisor Edward was very friendly and professional. I was able to observe first-hand the crew at work on the roof. We are on a very busy street with little parking - the crew was very attentive and responsive to the activities of neighbors coming and going to ensure that their vehicles did not unduly block or delay neighbor access. Everyone we dealt with from Excelsior (Mark, Bill, Edward, etc) were very responsive, prompt, and professional. I talked with various members of the work crew, and learned that they were all long-term employees with many years of history with Excelsior. I understand that Mark and Bill are the third generation of Powers to be running this company. Their grandfather and father would be very proud of their continued attention to customers and quality. Based upon our experience we would certainly use Excelsior in future for other roofing work, and can recommend them to others.
Description of Work
Repair minor issues on the roof of our old Victorian - correct gaskets on various stacks / ducts, repair small area of damaged shingles, reseal edges, etc.
Category
roofing
Norma S.
5.0
12/21/2012
Workers did a superb job. Excelsior deserves their grade A rating. Workers knowledgeable, caring, prompt, and industrious. Willing to do the little extras.
Description of Work
.
Category
roofing
Ann W.
5.0
08/09/2012
The management was really good. If we know them they will give a feedback very fast. The day before the work, the person called me to confirm that they will be there the next day and he told me the foreman's name. They showed up and did their job. After they finished, they cleaned everything. The guy that showed up with the bid didn't talk much. He just looked around and told me that he will contact me later but he knew what to do. He knew his business.
Description of Work
I used Excelsior Roofing Co for roofing.
Category
roofing
Ruby S.
5.0
05/15/2012
Overall they were professional, just could not come to terms on cost. Very nice guy.
Description of Work
General estimate on light well.
Category
skylights
MELANIE D.
5.0
04/10/2012
Not only did I find them on Angie's List but a friend also recommended them. They came out and were very good and honest and told me that the person who previously installed the roof did a good job and that we didn't need a new roof and the one we had should last another 10 years. They were very honest and I appreciate that. They didn't even charge for the service.
Description of Work
They came out and inspected the roof.
Category
roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Robert Jasso Painting

    Robert Jasso Painting is proud to serve the San Francisco Bay Area. With 15 years of experience, I pride myself and lead my team in quality painting and quality products for an excellent customer experience. I have a team of highly-skilled professional tradesmen who work with me. We specialize in exterior and interior painting . My entire team is well-trained and takes great pride in their work, from the smallest job to the largest projects. I will create a detailed estimate and walk through each part of the job so that the specifications and expectations are clear. A lined item detail bid is provided and I am willing to talk you through any questions. Robert Jasso Painting has have all of the tools and resources available for reasonable prices. Call us today for Quality Painting by Quality People!The number of employees is determined by the size of each project .  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Cartwright Painters

    Cartwright Painters is locally owned and operated out of the Bay area. We specialize in exterior and interior painting, cabinet refinishing, as well as staining and drywall repair services and we know what it takes to get your home prep'd and painted to your liking. We strive to give our customers the best service experience possible. We provide attention to detail that our competitors don't offer. Our staff will leave you feeling good about opening your front door every day. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Brannick and Associates Painting Services

    All interior preparation and painting services All exterior preparation and painting services Power washing Small carpentry repairs  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing contractors, gutters, skylight, repairs or removal of debris & flashing repairs. All types of roofing, repairs and new roofs. Roof inspections for real estate and insurance company's. Fully insured for single family, apartments, condos, TIC, etc..

    Services Not Offered

    Carpentry, painting. If needed with our jobs we can organize all contractors.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Excelsior Roofing Co.

    How is Excelsior Roofing Co. overall rated?

    Excelsior Roofing Co. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Excelsior Roofing Co. open?

    Excelsior Roofing Co. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Excelsior Roofing Co. provide

    Excelsior Roofing Co. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Excelsior Roofing Co. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Excelsior Roofing Co. offers free project estimates.

    Does Excelsior Roofing Co. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Excelsior Roofing Co. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Excelsior Roofing Co. offer a senior discount?

    No, Excelsior Roofing Co. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Excelsior Roofing Co.?

    Yes, Excelsior Roofing Co. offers warranties.

    What services does Excelsior Roofing Co. offer?

    Excelsior Roofing Co. offers the following services: Roofing contractors, gutters, skylight, repairs or removal of debris & flashing repairs. All types of roofing, repairs and new roofs. Roof inspections for real estate and insurance company's. Fully insured for single family, apartments, condos, TIC, etc..

    Are there any services Excelsior Roofing Co. does not offer?

    Carpentry, painting. If needed with our jobs we can organize all contractors.