Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS

Founded 1981 • With Angi since May 2007

FAMILY OWNED AND OPERATED.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(23) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-23 of 23 reviews
Rodney H.
5.0
11/22/2018
The Colonial team coordinated in an exemplary fashion in selecting the guardrail and in arranging for its timely delivery to our concrete vendor. The end product was of high quality and value priced.
Description of Work
Guardrail for our driveway
Category
wrought iron, metal restoration
Kathy H.
5.0
06/25/2018
Eduardo and his team did a superb job creating and installing our balcony. It's even more beautiful than we had imagined. Eduardo is responsive and professional. This company was terrific to work with from start to finish. When our gate is replaced, we will work with Colonial again. We highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
balcony replacement
Category
wrought iron
Jon A.
5.0
07/12/2017
They were very punctual with both the estimate and the delivery. Price was exactly the estimate and delivery time was spot on. Very professional.
Description of Work
Added security screen to gate and add security plate and ring around lock.
Category
fencing, wrought iron, metal restoration
Conatance E.
5.0
06/01/2017
Beautiful work. They even replaced some decorative trim an the top of an old iron gate that was missing so it would match the other gate. Thank you I am so pleased
Description of Work
fence and gate for my patio
Category
wrought iron
Joseph G.
5.0
11/05/2016
unknown
Description of Work
I needed a stair-rail fabricated and it needed some contouring because the wall did a little bend. They also installed a guard rail with ballistairs. This was an interior installation. I was happy with the fabrication, the product and also the installation. The gentleman who came was very professional and thorough, courteous. They were good about following up with the fabrication and were prepared to do the installation when I was ready.
Category
wrought iron
Lilly G.
5.0
03/24/2016
unknown
Category
wrought iron
Gabriele S.
5.0
08/12/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Provided ornamental grill for sidelight next to front door. Fabricated, painted and installed grill.
Category
wrought iron
Sascha H.
5.0
07/22/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Eduardo came by twice to show us their selection of gate designs. He was super friendly and explained us all the options carefully. He was able to give us concrete price estimates on the spot, which helped us to decide for the right design and material. | |When we ordered, he gave us an installation date roughly 1.5 months in advance. They held the date and arrived on time. | |The guys installing the gate were equally friendly and went right to work. They put in the cables and everything required to connect the door bell and buzzer and were done very quickly. | |Overall, we couldn't be happier with the friendliness and punctuality. However, the quality of the welds on the gate itself is pretty bad. They are very visible from the outside and don't follow and straight pattern. This is something they really need to improve. But otherwise the overall dimensions are correct and they manufactured and installed the gate to our specs.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
Joanne C.
5.0
07/14/2015
They were very good. The service was very good. Everybody was prompt, set up appointments right away and I did not have to wait. They had good contracts and it was a good person to work with. I recommend them. They do a lot of business here in the city. They were very good.
Description of Work
They replaced a security gate in our front door.
Category
fencing, wrought iron
Mary C.
5.0
04/23/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Install hand rail on exterior front stairs
Category
fencing, wrought iron
Jeanne C.
5.0
07/14/2014
Everything went very well.
Description of Work
They installed two big railings for us.
Category
wrought iron
John B.
5.0
05/31/2014
unknown
Category
wrought iron
richard C.
5.0
01/16/2014
not that window grates look all that nice, but they're necessary here in the city. the new ones look much,much better than the old rusted ones.
Description of Work
removed rusted and unsightly window bars(grates) and installed new galvanized iron window grates on 3 windows. one of the windows was large approximately 10 feet x 4.5 feet. included in the price was the removal of a 4th rusted window grate from an upstairs bathroom window which was deemed not to need a window grate.
Category
wrought iron
Jeanne C.
5.0
10/02/2013
They did a fabulous job. They copied the exact same pattern as our other railing which is fairly ornate. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They put in a new railing in front of our house.
Category
wrought iron
Craig C.
5.0
06/25/2013
Eduardo came out and provided us an estimate for fabricating a security gate for our courtyard. This included wiring a new doorbell and buzzer for the locking mechanism. His estimate came out a full $1000 less than others we received, so we decided to use them for the work. In fact, we attempted to contact 2 or 3 other metal workers with no response, which was surprising based upon their reviews and websites, but I guess the work didn't interest them. Eduardo was great. We had a specific design idea in mind and showed him some photos of what we were thinking. He put together some drawings of the gate, and with a minor tweak, settled on the design. We opted for powder coating and wanted a brown, but the color chip that he had was darker than what we were looking for. He gave me the name of his powder coater and I was able to visit their shop to see other color chips. We settled on one and then waited for fabrication to be completed, which took about 4-5 weeks. Installation took one day and the guys they sent over were great. The gate looks better than we'd imagined and the installation job was extremely professional. We were able to leave our old doorbell as a rewired buzzer to open the gate and they installed and wired a new doorbell for us. All in all, excellent craftmanship, good communication and they worked with us to get exactly what we wanted. I'm extremely impressed by the quality of the finished product, it's incredibly sturdy and well made. I highly recommend them. I will try to upload photos of the finished gate shortly.
Description of Work
Fabricated a security gate for our courtyard
Category
wrought iron
John S.
5.0
05/27/2013
Estimator arrived exactly on time, and gave us an immediate quote. It seemed a bit steep, but based on the positive reviews on Angie's list we decided to proceed. On the day of installation, the two men arrived right on time, and worked five hours non-stop. The installation of the finials took a lot more work than anticipated, but they did not ask for any additional money. They had a note from the estimator that we planned on giving one of the old finials to a neighbor, and it turned out that they just went ahead and installed it without even being asked! The overall quality of the work was extremely high.
Description of Work
Added locked wrought iron gate under stairwell and repaired existing garden gate. Replaced missing finials on existing fence.
Category
wrought iron
Janice N.
4.0
08/25/2012
Eduardo showed up on time for the estimate. He gave an estimate that included welding to replace the hinges, although he said that the door may just need repair, they looked like they were missing a ball bearing. The estimate was for $2400. When the estimate was emailed, I asked if the cost would be less if he only had to repair the hinges rather than re-weld them. I did not receive an answer to that inquiry. Since I needed my door fixed, I signed the estimate. When the workers arrived, they had ball bearings in hand and the first thing they did was put them down on the porch. It is clear that they knew that this was the problem, and that it would not require welding. The work was very professional and the door works perfectly now, but I definitely feel I was taken advantage of on the price. Basically I had to pay for the door a second time (actually more expensive than it cost!).
Description of Work
Repair of iron door which was sagging and difficult to close and lock.
Category
handyman service, wrought iron, metal restoration
Brandon S.
4.0
06/13/2012
Everything went great!
Description of Work
Installed a security panel onto our existing metal
Category
wrought iron
David L.
5.0
04/23/2012
Overall, very impressed with quality of work and professionalism. Everything went smoothly from start to finish. I called and set up an in-home consultation for later the same week. Eduardo arrived promptly at the agree upon time and came out to see the scope of the work- a new iron gate for the side of the house. He had useful suggestions to maximize security and aesthetics and was ready with a portfolio of gates that they had made. He took the appropriate measurements and the gate was completed in 3 weeks, as promised. On the day of the installation, the team once again came promptly and the gate was installed in about 3 hours. The gate looks fantastic and is solid in construction. We are planning on having Colonial make another iron piece for the home based on this experience. Pricing is fair when you consider the quality of work.
Description of Work
Side gate for home.
Category
wrought iron
David H.
5.0
04/28/2010
It was terrific. They were very professional and came out and showed me some designs. We settled on one fairly quickly. They fabricated the grill. It was up and painted and installed very quickly and efficiently. They were easy to work with. The price seemed fine, but I didn't do a lot of shopping around. It seemed worth what they provided for me.
Description of Work
I used Colonial Ornamental Iron Works to install a security grill on one of my windows.
Category
wrought iron, metal restoration
Susan G.
5.0
07/25/2009
We had a great experience with this company from the beginning to the completion of the work. They were easy to get a hold of on the phone and came promptly at the scheduled time to make an estimate. We had gotten another estimate, which was three times the estimate that Colonial Ornamental gave us. They were able to come back within a few days to complete the work and they did an excellent job. I highly recommend Colonial Ornamental and will use them in the future.
Description of Work
We had two iron gates that were broken and needed to be repaired and rehung. They also welded an iron bar back into place in front of our home.
Category
wrought iron
LYNN K.
5.0
04/07/2008
Eduardo was very helpful. I got 3 bids that were all within a few hundred dollars of each other. Eduardo was the middle priced bid, but I had the most confidence in him - I was comfortable working with him and he came out several times to do measurements and seemed very eager to make sure everything went well. The railings went in on time, as planned with no surprises. I'm very happy and would work with them again.
Description of Work
They installed about 27' of railing along the front stairway to my house.
Category
wrought iron
BEN C.
5.0
05/21/2007
This job went very smoothly. A quick phone call set up a convenient, no-charge consultation. The company representative arrived on time for both consultation and project. They clearly understood what I wanted and handled all details without hassle. The final result was exactly what I expected.
Description of Work
Welded a metal security screen to an existing entryway gate. A solid metal plate with lock-protector cup was included. They also did me the favor of installing a new lock I provided.
Category
wrought iron

Other local Pros in your area

Great Metal Designs

Great Metal Designs is a custom ornamental iron work company based in Menlo Park, CA. Our doors have been open since 2011 and during this time we have had the pleasure of serving a broad range of clients. As a custom metal fabricator every job we build is unique & tailor made to our customer's specifications, always ensuring their complete satisfaction and using American made materials only. Call us today for any and all your metal fabrication needs.  

Angi Certified

Jim Ford Construction Service

Commercial and residential construction. Superconductor and carpentry. Handyman services.  

Angi Certified

Tim Jackson

Email is the best way to reach me. I can be reached at timjackson1@mac.com. I will email back at my earliest opportunity, usually the same day. If you call and leave a voicemail message it may take a day or 2 for me to return your call. Super Service Award winner for 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015! I offer general handyman services for all sized projects. This includes most areas of home improvement and repair.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1170 THOMAS AVE

San Francisco, CA 94124

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS offers free project estimates.

No, COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS does not offer a senior discount.

No, COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS does not offer warranties.

COLONIAL ORNAMENTAL IRON WORKS offers the following services: GATES WITH EMERGENCY DOOR OPENER, DRIVEWAY GATES WITH AUTOMATIC OPENERS, RAILINGS & HANDRAILS, WINDOW GRILLES, BALCONIES, FOLDING GATES, FENCES, FIRE ESCAPES, STAIRCASES & PRE-CAST STAIRS.