Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Grout Specialists

Founded 2001 • With Angi since July 2010

4.7

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3490 Scott St Ste 105

San Francisco, CA 94123

Description

We are the San Francisco Bay Area grout and tile experts. Grout cleaning, grout repair and restoration. Servicing the entire San Francisco Bay Area, South Bay and East Bay. We'll beat any competition's written offer. The American Grout Specialist Team is: Committed to Customer Satisfaction,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/23/2021


Mike J.

Called and left a message for a quote. Got a call back and he requested that I send pictures. I indicated that I needed someone to come and look at the grout and advise me whether there was damage to the wall behind/under the tile. They hung up on me. Very unprofessional. Would not recommend.

Description of Work
Grout repair

Category bathtub refinishing

5.0

01/14/2019


Blythe M.

Very well. Pleasant folks, professional and efficient

Description of Work
Scraping of tile and grout and resealing

Category ceramic tile

5.0

09/24/2018


gary S.

It went as well as I would have expected, which is perfectly (I always expect perfection). We have about 840 sq feet of stone floor with extremely dirty grout lines. AGS came in and cleaned the floor and that got the grout back to about half good and then they stained the grout lines and that brought back the original color and the floor is gorgeous. We are really pleased. It was pretty expensive, but the guy spent four days doing it and the result is oh so worth it. We have our new floor back!

Description of Work
Clean the sanded grout lines on our stone floor

Category floor cleaning

5.0

07/06/2018


Amy P.

Very well. I was amazed by the responsiveness of this vendor, and the work was very well done.

Description of Work
I needed to have some grout replaced.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

06/30/2018


Sue S.

He did an excellent job. Our marble tiled master shower was very overdue for a cleaning/regrouting. Very polite and professional.

Description of Work
Master shower tile cleaning & regrouting

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile

5.0

02/19/2018


Don D.

Went very well

Description of Work
Caulking on deck

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/05/2018


Thomas S.

Technician was always late - prompting phone calls to find out what happened to him. His workmanship was excellent!

Description of Work
Regrout shower

Category ceramic tile

5.0

07/24/2017


Tracey C.

Went great!

Description of Work
Grout and caulk repair

Category ceramic tile

1.0

06/28/2017


Ken D.

We hired American Grout Specialists and Zach Levy the owner to take out our old grout and replace it with new grout in our shower. We agreed on the price of $1000.00. Zach sent a person to complete the work. We were surprised that the man finished so quickly, but the shower looked good so we did not question it. Shortly after the work was done pieced of the grout began to fall off. We observed that rather than replacing the grout as our contact detailed the man simply filled in the missing grout and then put a thin layer over the old grout. In the areas where he had to fill in for the missing grout he did not prep work to make sure the grout stayed in place. We contacted Zach the owner and he offered to send someone to our home to “fix it”. Zach then became unresponsive to texts. We finally heard from Zach and he scheduled a new person to come to the house on a Sunday between 5:00 PM and 7:00 PM. Well the person never showed up during the assigned time. We did hear from his guy who told us he would not be able to make it until after 8:00 PM. It was just unreasonable to have a person come to our home after 8:00 PM to re-grout our whole shower. The first guy took hours to do the job and he did it incorrectly so I am assuming the time needed to do the job right would be many hours. We told him that we would have to reschedule. This is when things changed. We were very frustrated. We asked for a refund of our $1000.00 because we would have to have someone come out to do the job correctly. He refused. We filed a complaint with the State Contractors License Board and his insurance company. We learned that at the time he did the job at our house his Contractor’s License was “suspended for failure to provide CSLB (State Contractors License Board) with his current workers comp policy information” Per the Consumer Services Representative we were dealing with. When it was all said and done the State Contractors License Board forced American Grout Specialists and Zach Levy to refund our $1000.00 If anyone questions the validity of what I wrote I am willing to provide all of the emails to and from the State Contractors License Board.

Description of Work
Contract for full regrouting of our shower

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile

5.0

05/14/2016


Helen D.

Description of Work
Professional arrived on time, was personable, gave me advice when I asked for it and did a wonderful recaulking of two tub/showers and 2 bathroom sinks. I would, and have, recommended this company.

Category bathtub refinishing

5.0

03/02/2016


Freya M.

The work was excellently done, speedy and efficient. They didn't know that we have prepaid via Angie's list though...so some work needed on communication between Angie's list and the vendor. We showed them the paypal and they understood.

Description of Work
Regrouted my shower

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/24/2016


Warren S.

We hired American Grout Specialist to install our tile back splash in our kitchen. It was a fabulous experience. They responded quickly to our inquiries. Showed up on time. Left the area clean each night and did a meticulous job on the tile work. I would hire them again in a second.

Description of Work
Install tile back splash.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

09/19/2015


Sekani M.

Very quickly, excellent job.

Description of Work
They cleaned the grout in my bathroom.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

08/10/2015


Linda S.

It was easy to work with them from start to finish. I contacted Zach Levy on one day and my bathroom was transformed by 2PM the following day! In order for this to happen so speedily, Zach used texting of photos to recommend a solution, provide a price, and schedule the job. Zach guided me about which photos to take. I sent him pictures of the entire tub/shower and bathroom sink counter and also provided detailed photos that showed the problems. He got right back to me with an estimate and scheduled the job. It turned out that he had an available slot the following day and that worked for me. The technician arrived on time, handled the contractual side quickly and easily, and got to work after a grout color was selected. He took precautions to keep any dust inside the room and not have it spread into adjacent rooms. The job took 6 hours and the technician asked any decision questions along the way so that the final result was exactly what I wanted. Upon asking, the technician showed me the materials they were using, They use top-notch materials with longevity. For example, the GE caulk has a 7-year no-mold warranty! The results looked great and we let it sit without use for 2 days to let everything set (36 hours was recommended by the technician). After that time the walls and sink counter were wiped down. In doing so, one small spot on the countertop rubbed off, revealing the dark, old grout below. I took an overall and detailed photo and sent it to Zach with a brief explanation. I asked if they could come back and fix this one spot. I got an immediate "yes" and we'll be getting that done shortly. Things happen. It's how it's handled that's important. Their services are expedient and professional. My bathroom is now clean as a whistle; it's a spa experience. I do have one regret - it's that I did not find them sooner! Thanks go to American Grout Specialist.

Description of Work
Grout on walls of tub/shower and bathroom sink counter had losses and was seriously stained. They removed the top layer of old grout, re-grouted, and sealed it. They also caulked the seal between the tub edge and tiled wall.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

08/07/2015


Emily and Adrian Solorio

This was a great service. The date and time of the appointment had to change because someone got sick, but the owner called many times to make sure he would be able to complete the job. Very professional. The job was done quickly and very well. I couldn't be happier with the way it looks now!

Description of Work
Regrout part of the kitchen tile and bathroom tile.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

06/22/2015


Audrey M.

Zach was always very prompt in getting back to me and was able to accommodate a couple of schedule changes due to other vendors not being finished with their work on time. His crew showed up on time, were very pleasant, got right to work and finished a little ahead of schedule. Very professional, very good work!

Description of Work
Grouted and calked the bathroom and kitchen counter.

Category ceramic tile

3.0

06/03/2015


Edith C L.

The worker arrived promptly and completed the caulking around the perimeter of the shower wall and floor in a reasonable amount of time. He said he needed to clean the tile (I wasn't convinced that was necessary since the tile was new and the shower is wiped down daily). Since he used some sort of chemical, I asked him to reseal the tile if he used something that would take that off. I was surprised that he used a sanded caulk around the toilets which is less than ideal because its textured and more difficult to clean than smooth caulking has been. By March a problem developed from the cleaning of the tile in the mater bathroom they did in February. It seems that the seal or whatever was around the chrome escutcheons of the grab bars was removed. I didn't notice it right away, but there was rust dripping from behind the escutcheons (the wall fasteners must have rusted from water getting behind) and it had begun to stain the tile under one of them. I could see what looked like a little clear caulk still on one of them but not all the way around it. I contacted them again, and they said that could be fixed for another $75. The same person came back and put clear caulking around the escutcheons but it's a bit gooey. It bugs me that it's marring the looks of my expensive Grohe fixtures. I also don't think he resealed all the tile...there seem to be patches that aren't sealed.

Description of Work
Re-caulk the shower tile between the wall and floor of the shower (new one-year old tile, but earthquake caused the crack in the grout). Re-caulk around the toilets in the master bath and the guest bath.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

05/27/2015


Steve B.

AGS did a good job. Had to renegotiate a price that I thought had been agreed to on the phone but okay with resolution and price was competitive. The two craftsmen were clean, curteous, and punctual. Was a little disappointed when they told me they had discarded one of the water valve flanges ("because it needed to be replaced") which mean I had to go find a replacement for older plumbing (found at third plumbing store). But overall I think they did great work and the result looks great.

Description of Work
Demo'd and retiled tile walls over bathtub.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

05/13/2015


Elizabeth P.

Wonderful service. Responded to my text message request very quickly. I sent a picture and they gave me a quote with in a few minutes. I was able to schedule next day service, and they did a really amazing job. My shower looks brand new. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Regrout/Recaulk Shower/Bathtub

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile

5.0

04/18/2015


Carolyn P.

Excellent. Zach was super responsive - he called me within 1 minute of my request for service. Once I sent pictures of my bathroom he called within 5 minutes to ask some questions and then gave me an estimate. His employee arrived exactly at the designated time and he was professional and courteous. Even better - my bathroom looks new! Hiring service providers can be really frustrating but this was an amazingly pleasant experience. I highly recommend this company to anyone looking for tile and grout work.

Description of Work
Removed my old grout, cleaned the tiles and replaced the grout and re-caulked.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

03/28/2015


jody M.

Zac the owner was fast, professional, and provided a clear estimate. He sent Israel on his staff to do the work, and when the work was completed it was excellent. I have tile that should not be used in the kitchen and sanded grout--hard to maintain and keep clean. The job was done very well--kitchen looks great, grout clean, the new grout has dried overnight and matches existing grout, and all has been sealed. I will have them come out and do my bathroom next month. I would not hesitate to recommend American Grout Specialists. I am very happy with the quality of the work and the service.

Description of Work
Cleaned, re-grouted and sealed the grout on all my kitchen tile counters

Category ceramic tile

5.0

11/04/2014


Cecilia V.

We were very pleased. They came out the same day that I called which was just amazing because we had been waiting for another person to do the job and he kept putting us off for a month. So, we were very pleased with the prompt service and very good quality of service. They are very efficient.

Description of Work
We did use American Grout Specialists. They did re-grouting and re-caulking.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

01/24/2014


Deborah N.

Very well done- skilled, efficient and tidy.

Description of Work
Regrouted two large shower floors and small section of the walls and resealed.

Category bathtub refinishing, home remodeling

5.0

11/21/2012


Bill G.

I needed a straight-up re-grout on my shower tiles. They're simple 4x4 ones with wide grout so it's a pretty easy job, as re-grouting goes. I called AGS and he was able to give a quote over the phone based on wall dimensions. He got two guys out within a few days. They showed up on time and did a great job on the tiles, the more so as the bathroom is quite small and has no windows. They did upsell me on regrouting the floor tiles, but after seeing the finished job I'm glad I did it. They even got the tricky bits in and around the toilet done properly. I also had them recaulk the shower/tub and run a caulk bead around the perimeter as suggested by my HOA to contain any potential leaks in my unit to avoid damage to ones below. These two guys worked their butts off in that little hot room and the place looked fantastic when it was all done.

Description of Work
* replace grout on shower tiles (14x5 feet of wall) * replace grout on bathroom floor tiles (small bathroom) * replace all caulking on bath/shower * run caulk bead around bathroom perimeter

Category ceramic tile

1.0

10/20/2011


Tony S.

I called AGS to get some estimates on some interior tile work and exterior deck tile maintenance work. During the call the owner high-pressured me to do the deck work on the spot the next day because there was an "immediate opening" for his main guy. I said that I needed time to get the tiles out of storage and wanted to look over the total estimate for all 5 mini-jobs I had. He continued to high pressure me, but finally he agreed to have his guy to call me in 5 mins. to come out the next day for estimates. An 1 1/2 later - no call, so I called back, he contacted the guy, a little more go around & he called back to confirm. Very young kid showed up on time. He spoke minimally from the beginning & in terse sentences when necessary. I felt very uncomfortable asking him any questions because he was obviously bothered when I did. The recap: The 1st thing, replace 3 cracked slate tiles. - $75 for each tile, but said the grout wouldnt match, so I said I would stain the grout (3' x 7' entryway). $500 more. I asked why so much just to stain the tiles. He said because he had to clean it first. I asked if it would make more sense for me to replace the tiles if that was close to the replacement price. Replacement price $2500-3000. Next.Then we went to a kitchenette. (3' x 6'). To replace tile $1600.00, not including the tile, emphasized twice. Then we went to the deck, I simply wanted the grout sealed. He looked at it and said the tile & grout was in good condition so sealing it wouldnt help. (Wouldnt help what?) It needed to be completely replaced?? This didnt make sense to me. Why replaced, I asked? He was obviously perturbed that I asked him a question, and gave me a terse answer 'Mineral deposits'. 'I dont understand', I said. He said 'mineral deposits' shows the waters got under so it could only be replaced. I said that Im not sure Im ready to replace it - wont sealing help? He said 'Im not interested in your job' and abruptly walked out. Wow.Called the owner, thinking he would want to know how his rep. acted. The owner said, 'I told you yesterday he was the expert, you're not. You called us out to get estimates & plan to use some guy from Home Depot'. I said that's not what happened. He said, my guy doesnt lie. F*(! You! and hung up on me. Im glad that I didnt use them and end up in some dispute. I cant imagine how it would've been to deal with them. 1 hour later, another guy showed up recommended sealing the deck, was very nice, and took the time to explain things even though he was an 15-year expert, and got the all the work.

Description of Work
To replace kitchenette tile, replace some cracked tiles, and seal deck.

Category ceramic tile

    Other local Pros in your area

    Realty Builders, Inc.

    With over 25 years of experience, Realty Builders is committed to excellence every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers' interests and make their concerns the basis of our business. Call us today!  

    Angi Certified

    RS Remodeling & Restoration LLC

    Hi guys! I'm Rodrigo and we are experts in bathroom and kitchen remodeling. We approach projects with a strong work ethic, careful attention to detail, and extensive experience in flooring and remodeling. The remodeling process is transformative work that I thoroughly enjoy. Clients appreciate our skill, reliability, and ability to listen to design needs. I can help you if your project needs. I'm excited about the possibility of working with you. Call me or text me for more information.  

    Angi Certified

    MnR Services LLC

    We specialize in all phases of remodeling for your home, business, bathrooms, kitchens, finishing basements, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial mold and mildew removal, re-grouting, grout coloring, mold/mildew removal, cleaning, sealing, tile installation, re-glazing & re-finishing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Grout Specialists

    How is American Grout Specialists overall rated?

    American Grout Specialists is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Grout Specialists open?

    American Grout Specialists is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    What payment options does American Grout Specialists provide

    American Grout Specialists accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does American Grout Specialists offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Grout Specialists offers free project estimates.

    Does American Grout Specialists offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, American Grout Specialists does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Grout Specialists offer a senior discount?

    Yes, American Grout Specialists offers a 15% senior discount.

    Does American Grout Specialists offer emergency services?

    Yes, American Grout Specialists offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by American Grout Specialists?

    Yes, American Grout Specialists offers warranties.

    What services does American Grout Specialists offer?

    American Grout Specialists offers the following services: Residential and commercial mold and mildew removal, re-grouting, grout coloring, mold/mildew removal, cleaning, sealing, tile installation, re-glazing & re-finishing.

    Are there any services American Grout Specialists does not offer?

    Ask for details.