Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ACT General Building Construction, Inc.

Founded 1994 • With Angi since May 2008

4.7

(47) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2912 Diamond Street 300

San Francisco, CA 94131

Description

ELECTRICAL, GENERAL CONTRACTOR. Contact: Email: act@act4construction.com - Tel. 415-225-8094 - GENERAL CONSTRUCTION -, (CSLB) Lic.“B” GENERAL BUILDING CONTRACTOR and “C-10” ELECTRICAL. CEO, Miguel Tolmo, has been in the construction industry since 1974 working in both small and large-scale

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/19/2015


Keith I.

very will. i felt good after the inspection and did not followup with any repair work.

Description of Work
inspected house for energy savings. provided very nice report with recommendations and photos.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/15/2014


Ottilia R.

He was really awesome and did a great job.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $130 for 2 Hours of Electrical Labor.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your consideration, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
4.0

08/14/2014


Karen R.

The contractor didn't think that the project we had in mind was possible to complete.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

New electric circuit needs permission from the city, It is not possible with $ 130. California Electrical Code Section 89.108.4.1 Permits Except as exempted in paragraph (b) of this subsection, a written construction permit shall be obtained from the enforcing agency prior to the erection, construction, reconstruction, installation, relocation, or alteration of any electrical system. (b) Consistent with the requirements of section 17960 of the Health and Safety Code, the local enforcing agency shall enforce the requirements of this code, but shall exempt the following activities from the requirement for a permit or inspection. (1) Listed cord and plug connected temporary decorative lighting. (2) Reinstallation of attachment plug receptacles, but not the outlets therefor. (3) Repair or replacement of branch circuit overcurrent devices of the required capacity in the same location. (4) Installation or maintenance of communications wiring, devices, appliances, apparatus or equipment. Exemptions from permit and inspection requirements shall not be deemed to grant authorization for any work to be done in any manner in violation of any provision of law or this code. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a General Construction company, (CSLB) Lic.“B” GENERAL BUILDING CONTRACTOR and “C-10” ELECTRICAL (General). CEO, Miguel Tolmo, has been in the construction industry “Since 1974” working in both small and large-scale construction projects. Our company has an excellent reputation for customer service and ability to meet deadlines consistently. We guarantee completion of each project with the utmost integrity. Our customers enjoy high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+") award for complaint-free status. It’s a member with the Angie’s list (Rating "A"), and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) in good standing as well. Thank you, Miguel Tolmo Tel: 415-225-8094
1.0

02/25/2014


Derf L.

Waited 30 minutes for someone to arrive. Got phone call later. Can't waste my time on that kind of service.

Description of Work
No show for estimate appointment.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I knocked on the door of your house and no one answered, apparently the doorbell does not work either, I Call your phone several times and you did not answer my calls. After all, who spent their time and gasoline was me. I wish you good luck with your next contractor. God bless you!
2.0

01/23/2014


Kathy D.

They have never responded to my request for a quote. I would at least expect an answer of some sort.

Description of Work
I contacted ACT GENERAL BUILDING CONSTRUCTION, INC.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am sorry about for the confusion, It is the first time I hear about you, You may also spoke with another company, Normally We do not serve the city of San José, or the South Bay. In addition we also have the right to choose our customers. I am personally always answer all clients contact us. WE ARE NOT ON THE LIST OF COMPANIES OFFERING SERVICES IN THE CITY OF SAN JOSÉ. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a company Licensed “B” GENERAL BUILDING CONTRACTOR and “C-10” ELECTRICAL by the California Contractors State License Board, is known by its customers for its high standards, excellent customer service, quality of craftsmanship, and ability to meet deadlines consistently. I hope you have found a company that will provide services in the city of San José. Respectfully, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President ACT General Building Construction, Inc. Tel: 510-532-3957 Tel: 415-225-8094 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
5.0

12/06/2013


Dave J.

I found Miguel to be a true gentleman and a pleasure to work with. He was very helpful in figuring out how to work around issues associated with updating a 100 year old house. He made numerous suggestions that facilitated the work. I found the charges to be reasonable. He has a very hard working crew that did a first rate job. I had gotten another bid on the job and simply stated, Miguel saved us thousands of dollars. If you want a 1st class job, Miguel will do it for you. I might add, that when I was shopping for someone to do the work, I looked for a contractor can do electrical, plumbing and general construction. I didn?t what the work subbed out. This allowed the project to be completed in the time estimated. I was amazed reading the negative comments posted and only assume that the folks either didn?t care about the quality of the work they wanted or simply wanted the work done for free. I might add that I think I am easy to work with and don't have unreasonable expectations. I also believe that folks are entitled to fair pay for a job well done.

Description of Work
Remodel of two bathrooms, addition of electricity to a garage, replacement of old plumbing and remediation of a broken support beam.

Category remodeling

1.0

09/30/2013


Jeannine C.

Horrible. The owner came and first of all, he was extremely arrogant and rude. He kept saying he wanted to build me exactly what I wanted and then when I told him what I wanted, he told me that I did not know what I wanted. Really? He constantly interrupted me and asked things like, "Do you know how much that is going to cost?" (No, I did not know and that was why I was asking contractors to bid on the job.) And then he would proceed to give me astronomical dollar cost amounts. For example, I needed my electrical updated because my house is 60+ years old. He threw out a cost of at least $65,000. Again, really? Why is it two other contractors and an electrician were all under $7500? And no, he did not really mean $6500, because that is what I thought he may have meant, so I asked him to give me the cost once again It was $65,000. Then he quoted putting in a gasline to my kitchen so I could have a gas stove....$20,000! I don't think so. Other two contractors?....$500. He also at one point said we should discuss things with my spouse. Guess what...I am a single woman who owns her own house. I was sorry to tell him that there was no spouse and he could discuss things with me. I have to say, his comments came across as very condescending and arrogant. Maybe he did not mean it that way, but that was how I felt. Towards the end of his visit, he then instructed me to write everything down on an email that I had told him and email it to him. Once again, really? The other two contractors came and actually took thorough notes while they talked to me. Neither asked me to type it all up for them. This man did not take down a single note. Sorry sir, I am not your secretary! His company seemed to have really good reviews on Angie's List. I have no idea why he was so crazy off with me. Perhaps he did not want the business. He kept telling me how his company did large jobs, not small ones. Perhaps a remodel of a kitchen, dining room, laundry room, two bathrooms and a buiding of a deck was not considered a large job to him. In the end, I would NEVER recommend this contractor to anyone, sorry to say.

Description of Work
Begin to estimate a remodel job.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

RESPONSE We welcome the opportunity to respond to Member Comments and in order to best respond, we have addressed each concern individually. Member Comment Horrible. The owner came and first of all, he was extremely arrogant and rude. RESPONSE We lament your interpretation of the confidence and expediency that allows us to provide a thorough and free estimate. Member Comment He kept saying he wanted to build me exactly what I wanted and then when I told him what I wanted, he told me that I did not know what I wanted. Really? RESPONSE To clarify, we don’t ever use the word “build” to refer to remodeling work. Our assumption is that there was a misunderstanding when we informed you that what you wanted done could not be done because of code restrictions. Member Comment He constantly interrupted me and asked things like, "Do you know how much that is going to cost?" (No, I did not know and that was why I was asking contractors to bid on the job.) And then he would proceed to give me astronomical dollar cost amounts. For example, I needed my electrical updated because my house is 60+ years old. He threw out a cost of at least $65,000. Again, really? Why is it two other contractors and an electrician were all under $7500? And no, he did not really mean $6500, because that is what I thought he may have meant, so I asked him to give me the cost once again It was $65,000. RESPONSE It is our recollection that we provided a verbal range of price for the different variations in the scope of the work that you were considering. This work included a complete rewiring of your home according to code that would require opening the walls and ceiling to be able to replace the existing wire for lighting and outlets. This scope of work is more extensive than simply installing new electric wall outlets that may cost $7,500 dollars. Furthermore, because your home is a 1,785 sq ft, 3 bedroom, 2 bath structure built in 1957 that may contain hazardous materials such as asbestos and lead, it must be remediated according to EPA regulations. As a courtesy to you and other members of Angie’s list, we provide the following notice for your consideration when performing some home improvement projects. NOTICE: Older buildings may have lead paint present. Lead paint is a health hazard for both children and adults. New stricter EPA regulations are designed to ensure those contractors that disturb lead painted surfaces or targeted housing where children under 6 or pregnant women are present, due so in such a way that protects themselves and the inhabitants from lead poisoning. Certified renovators must perform any work that disturbs six square feet or more of interior lead-painted surfaces (20 square feet or more on the exterior). The new rule, which became effective in April 2010, requires only EPA certified individuals to perform this work. Contractor is a broad term that could include a number of various trades people that may work on the target pre-1978 built homes and buildings. These may include: pest control operators, plumber, electrician, handyman, renovator, mason, carpenter, painter, HVAC contractor, remodeler and others. Those contractors and trades people not following the new guidelines can face a fine of $32,500. Contractors and property owners need to know that if a residential property was built prior to 1978, there is a good chance it contains some lead paint. Before any work is performed that may disturb painted surfaces, a contractor is now required to provide this pamphlet - www.epa.gov/lead/pubs/renovaterightbrochure.pdf. As of April 22, 2010, all contractors performing work on pre-1978 "target" homes and buildings must be certified by the EPA. On-Site Inspections is a Certified Renovation company and will adhere to EPA guidelines on any work contracted for. This can increase estimates for repair not included in the work authorization contract due to the nature of containment requirement for the safety of exposure to lead. If you are doing any work yourself as a do it yourself project, there is some good information on lead paint hazards at www.epa.gov/lead/pubs/renovation.htm For your information we are Certified as an EPA Lead Renovator Initial#NAT-53123-1. Member Comment Then he quoted putting in a gasline to my kitchen so I could have a gas stove....$20,000! I don't think so. Other two contractors?....$500. RESPONSE As you may remember, we asked for specific information about the gas appliances that would be used in order to determine the BTU’s that would be required and the appropriate gas line to be installed. It is our recollection that because of the ambiguity surrounding the appliances and the relocation of the dryer, the relocation of the water heater and the work related to the gas fireplace, we informed you that the cost could range up to 20,000 depending on the specifics. The relevant codes that apply are the following. California Code of Regulations Title 24, Part 5 California Building Standards Commission 1309.4 Sizing of Gas Piping Systems. Based on the 2009 Uniform Plumbing Code® Systems shall be of such size and so installed as to provide a supply of gas sufficient to meet the maximum demand without undue loss of pressure between the point of delivery and the gas utilization equipment. 1309.4.2 Maximum Gas Demand. The volume of gas to be provided (in cubic feet per hour) shall be determined directly from the manufacturer’s input ratings of the gas utilization equipment served. Where the input rating is not indicated, the gas supplier, the equipment manufacturer, or a qualified agency shall be contacted, or the rating from Table 13-1 shall be used for estimating the volume of gas to be supplied. The total connected hourly load shall be used as the basis for pipe sizing, assuming all equipment is operating at full capacity simultaneously. Member Comment He also at one point said we should discuss things with my spouse. Guess what...I am a single woman who owns her own house. I was sorry to tell him that there was no spouse and he could discuss things with me. I have to say, his comments came across as very condescending and arrogant. Maybe he did not mean it that way, but that was how I felt. RESPONSE It is our policy to address the individual who contacts our company or the individual designated to make decisions, furthermore we commend individuals who can own their own home and we applaud independent living and success. Therefore, we have no recollection of this alleged statement and we attribute the inference to a misunderstanding. Member Comment Towards the end of his visit, he then instructed me to write everything down on an email that I had told him and email it to him. Once again, really? The other two contractors came and actually took thorough notes while they talked to me. Neither asked me to type it all up for them. This man did not take down a single note. Sorry sir, I am not your secretary! RESPONSE We believe that in order to avoid miscommunication, after a verbal review it is best to have the job order from the client in writing to be able to give an accurate estimate in writing. Regarding the need for notes, every contractor has it’s own way to retain the essential information of a project based on their abilities. For example, I can assure you that in your kitchen your range hood is stainless steel and exactly 42 inch wide, your cooktop is 30 inch wide and white in color and your dishwasher is black and you planned to keep it. You mentioned that you may want to change your current double sink with one faucet to a single bowl sink to be able to bathe your pet. Moreover, you were not sure about what to do regarding the corner window behind the sink, we also spoke about the possibility of removing the existing structural wall and installing a kitchen island and painting the existing wood panel throughout the family room. The relocation of the fireplace was another tentative decision that you had not finalized. Regarding the deck, you mentioned that the architect was still working on drafting the blueprint and that consequently other contractors had not been able to give you a definite quote. These are just a few of the reasons why we ask for the job order in writing so that we can provide an accurate and responsible estimate. Member Comment His company seemed to have really good reviews on Angie's List. I have no idea why he was so crazy off with me. Perhaps he did not want the business. RESPONSE We do enjoy good reviews because we provide accurate estimates and quality work based on respectful, realistic and honest interaction with our clients. Unfortunately, we can only be responsible for our side of the interaction. Member Comment He kept telling me how his company did large jobs, not small ones. Perhaps a remodel of a kitchen, dining room, laundry room, two bathrooms and a building of a deck was not considered a large job to him. RESPONSE While our company does perform large and small jobs, we do not perform minor jobs such as only replacing the bathroom floor or only painting existing wood panels, or only repairing 3 small ceramic bricks. As a general contractor, we believe that these minor jobs are usually cosmetic and best performed by handy persons. Member Comment In the end, I would NEVER recommend this contractor to anyone, sorry to say. RESPONSE We hope that you find a suitable company that meets the scope of your home improvement needs. Here is more information regarding ACT. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a company Licensed “B” GENERAL BUILDING CONTRACTOR and “C-10” ELECTRICAL by the California Contractors State License Board, ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is your authorized Generac installer in the San Francisco Bay Area, CA. We are factory trained and certified to work on Generac products.
2.0

08/26/2013


yoshio N.

told me to ask someone else. my job was too small for serious consideration and he was too busy for us

Description of Work
was too busy to do what I needed

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you feel this way, ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects. We explained to you that we were sorry we aren't able to service you now because we are booked at the moment and will not be able to assist you in your project. I wish you good luck with another professional contractor who may be able to help you.
3.0

03/07/2013


Gladys A.

I called the number listed, a nice gentleman picked up the line. I told him what my project was- a conversion of a garage into a room or living space that will add to my square footage to my household. The gentleman told me that I would need to go to my city permits' department to find out what I needed, after that I could call him back with my idea.

Description of Work
There were no services performed, just a phone call

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Still waiting for your answer.
5.0

02/05/2013


Ardy D.

I reached out to Miguel on a Friday regarding some repairs that were recommended by my property inspector prior to my move into my house. I was astounded by how quickly Miguel contacted me, and his availability to come onsite to my house and assess the repairs (the next day). Miguel ultimately determined that the repairs were not required at this time (floor joist metal bracket repairs), and we are good to go. I thought Miguel was very forthright and honest, and also took the time to give me some pointers about other finding on the inspection report. He is very professional and I would definitely reach out to him again in/when necessary.

Description of Work
Quick Contact and Turnaround

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
4.0

12/19/2012


Yumi E.

Very well. Miguel and his crew are prompt, courteous and do a thorough job. We had some challenges with the tub and some lights that we chose, but Miguel worked with me to make sure that everything was in excellent working order!

Description of Work
Complete remodel of 1 bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

09/14/2012


David K.

.We purchased an Angie's list offer for $99.00 for tile work. When we contacted the company we received a very quick response from them. The fellow came out right away and gave me an estimate. We had him do another task which he completed to our satisfaction, in a timely and professional manner .We would certainly use this company again. we were pleased with their work and their quick response.

Description of Work
Our italian kitchen tiles (backsplash) needed re-grouting after granite counter was installed.This company came out and re-grouted the area the installers had left unfinished.I provided the grout mix and he showed up and completed the job.( I cannot recall the date this was done so I entered march 1 2012)

Category ceramic tile, remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
5.0

09/08/2012


Kathleen K.

I rehired ACT General Construction once again after they completed my interior remodel. I had concerns regarding dry rot on the back of my house and it needed painting. This also involved painting the portion of my house which was in a neighbor’s back yard. They completed the work on my neighbor’s side first as I had requested, and cleaned up to my neighbor’s satisfaction. This was important to me as I wanted to continue to have a good relationship with my neighbor. Three pieces of dry rotted board were discovered and replaced. The house was painted and now looks great. They cleaned up the area and finished within the time line. Very professional and excellent work as always.

Description of Work
Painted back exterior of 2-story house. Replaced several pieces of dry rot.

Category woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
5.0

08/31/2012


William F.

Miguel checked the areas in the report and recommended a low-cost treatment we could do ourselves for $20 rather than the thousands the other contractor had estimated. Then he went on to check peeling exterior paint, signs of settling in interior common areas, the condition of the roof, and interior signs of water damage under the roof. In all cases he gave an evaluation of what he found, made recommendations for remedial work, but recommended that we find a specialized contractor (roofer, painter) and keep costs down rather than make it into a bigger project suitable for ACT General Building Construction. He did a thorough job even though he realized early on that he wouldn't make a cent from us. Instead, he made a friend. I'll certainly ask him to look at any significant construction job we may have in the future. As my rating notes, he was slow to return phone messages and I had to follow up a couple of times, but that didn't leave me with a negative overall impression of his professionalism.

Description of Work
We asked Miguel for an estimate on exterior dry rot remediation based on another contractor's inspection report from 11 months ago for our 3-unit condo.

Category remodeling, roofing, house painters

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
5.0

08/14/2012


Kathleen K.

I called Miguel at ACT General Contracting because of the positive experience I had with him and his workers on a much smaller job in November 2011. The review is below. The job described above took a month. We moved out of the house completely, and stored all belongings in the garage. Miguel installed a lock box on our gate for access to the house. We stopped by everyday to see how the work was coming and were very pleased by the hardworking craftsmen that we found at work each day. Miguel was usually at the house overseeing various aspects of the work. Miguel is EXTREMELY responsive to questions and phone calls. Any questions or concerns that came up were honestly addressed. He explained what and how the work was being done and checked with me frequently to make sure that all was as we agreed. Any small details that I noticed and requested correction on were immediatly addressed and fixed. The craftsmanship on the painting, flooring, tile and bathroom remodel was excellent in every way.I had never given my house keys to a contractor previously, but after my conversations with Miguel prior to the work being done, I had full confidence in his honesty and integrity. I was not sorry. Whenever I came to him with a 'worry' he said " That's why you hire a contractor, let me do the worrying"I have to say that this was the smoothest ,most painless experience that I have ever had with a contractor.I would not hesitate to highly recommend him and his company and feel fortunate that I found this company on Angie's list.

Description of Work
Repaired section of dry-rot on front of house. Installed a new drain from roof. Painted front of house.Painted interior of house. Did much work on repairing existing damaged walls to look like new. Installed new ceiling moldings in living room and hallway. Installed shelves in pantry.Pulled up wall to wall carpeting , replaced, repaired and refinished hard wood floors. Installed new hardwood stairway.(13 steps). Installed new handrails and banisters.Remodeled bathroom, refinished existing bathtub. Tiled shower and floor. Installed tile in front entryway of house. Repaired off center doors. Installed all new doorknobs throughout house.

Category contractors, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
5.0

08/09/2012


Jo R.

I am very happy with the quality of work that was done. We were on a very tight schedule to get the work completed, but the schedule slipped several times. This was a major problem as he wasn't the only contractor doing work and there were dependancies. He did finally complete it in time and we were able to move in when we wanted to.

Description of Work
I had used Miguel for a previous bathroom remodel and was very happy with his work. I brought him in as part of an massive rebuild on a house I had just purchased. He was responsible for 1. Replacing all of the electrical systems -- including the incoming panel and all power circuits in the house. 2. Replacing all of the galvanized steel plumbing with new copper pipes 3. Completely tearing out and replacing the entire bathroom with our own custom design. This involved tearing out walls and floorboards that were damaged by the previous owner, and rebuilding the room entirely from scratch.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

08/08/2012


Jo R.

The project took slightly longer than projected due to unanticipated issues found during the work. However, this wasn't unexpected due to the age of the house. Miguel did a great job outlining the issues and providing reasonable and cost effective solutions. At no time did we feel that we were being ripped off or pushed for more money.

Description of Work
He assisted us in redesigning our bathroom. Once we settled on a design, his team gutted our bathroom and rebuilt it from scratch to match our design. They also replaced the flooring, walls and countertop in the kitchen. We also upgraded our main electrical entry point and brought all electric in the house up to code. Every bit of the work was done by Miguel and his team.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

07/19/2012


Beth R.

When I consulted Miguel Tolmo I had no concerns over working w/ him. ACT constructed a deck over patio and remodelled a bath.The deck cracked and splintered immediately. ACT was still working on the bath remodel, saw for themselves the boards were bad. Miguel Tolmo said of course the bad ones would be replaced. As they replaced a few boards here and there it became obvious it was a total mess. Even the replacement boards were bad. Mr. Tolmo said he wasn't going to make his money if he had to replace the whole deck. They left the job, never came back. I called him, he yelled at me and told me I wasn't going to be happy and keep my last payment of &1000. (i already gave him Full payment for the deck; $2500) He yelled, I cried. its a mess***** keep $1000 ***The deck cost $2500.00.****The bath was a whole different nightmare. Mr Tolmo was extremely put out by my purchasing my items at discount on my own though we agreed up front. Ex; Mr Tolmo ok'd my new faucet, his worker says its wrong, need a different kind. Tolmo gets upset and tells me I hold the workers up. I purchased an exhaust fan/light/nitelite -they dedicated one switch, which means even after pointing out the error, they didn't fix it. No nite-lite....no separate fan. One switch.The tile man was stopped by me; the poor guy was so fustrated that he was saying cursing out loud. He was having a very difficult time w/ 1 in. tiles laying flat. I told Mr Tolmo via phone I needed another person to take over. Tolmo insisted that guy had 30 yrs of tile experience. NO The other man took over and did a great job, (secret was they needed him on a bigger job in SF). Mr Tolmo was very unhappy w/ me. There is more but do I go on?I have several photos.

Description of Work
ACT General Building Construction Inc.Lic. # 8577502912 Diamond St #300SF CA 94131415-225-8094510-532-3957Miguel Tolmo CEO Bathroom remodel.Backyard deck.Bad experience.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

04/16/2012


Shawn D.

Superlative workmanship and very trustworthy. Also, Miguel was very responsive and returned calls in a timely manner. His knowledge really helped in the decision making of the design process. I plan on using his services in the future.

Description of Work
Converted an existing bedroom into a bathroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

03/23/2012


A S.

I called Miguel for a bid in December, told him I had a small budget but a lot of "honey-doer" projects around my house. First priority was to install crown moulding in 3 rooms. They did it in 2 days and D*** was I pleased. It was stunning work - nearly flawless (unless you know where to look, and are looking very hard to find the seams, you won't know they exist because it's all perfectly matched). I was so pleased with that project I brought them back for the next big job, the back deck. Again, Miguel took time to evaluate the project, talk over my options with me, and ensure that I got the design for the price and look I wanted. Again, I was absolutely thrilled with the outcome. They started the job the week we had planned, and finished sooner than expected. Overall, they did an EXCELLENT job. They worked efficiently, and the work they did was beautiful. In addition, there was never any mess. They are immaculate workers, respectful of my home and time, and very conscientious about their work ethics. As long as they're want to work for me, I will always call Miguel, first. BTW - I got a bid from another construction company to do the same job and it came in at $10,000 more. In addition, my intuition was screaming at me to stay away from the other company. When I looked at their reviews, they were super shady. As soon as I met Miguel I knew that he would be the right man for the job. I am very glad I chose ACT for my projects.

Description of Work
I had crown moulding installed, they did some "fix it" repairs around the house (re-grouted loose tile, hung a door, fixed some bad wiring) and put in a back deck.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: www.act4construction.com Web: www.actgenerators.com
5.0

02/27/2012


Stacy S.

His name was Miguel. He was really, really good. He was incredibly professional. He was also very, very patient. It was a really long process to get the permits and he was right there with me the entire time to help out. We had to get 13 stamps for the permit for this small project. My downstairs neighbor was very rude to him and his staff. He was very professional even though I think a lot of other people would not have been as professional. He actually didn't even tell me a lot of the things she did until the project was over. He protected me from her which was way above and beyond. He had a couple of people on his staff. His foreman, Jesus, was professional, kind and amazing. They kept my house so clean while they were doing the work. I could barely tell that work was being done. They papered my entire floor and repapered the floor almost every other day to ensure no damage was done to the floor or walls. He did the work correctly and ensured that it was done correctly. He was really open on communication and he stuck to the deadlines. I would use him again for sure. His price was half of somebody else.

Description of Work
I used ACT General Building Construction to build out a closet for a stackable washer and dryer. He also replaced some windows.

Category closet systems, replacement windows, woodworking

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

01/27/2012


Ilan J.

They were punctual, did a great job, and did not disturb the tenants.

Description of Work
Replaced window frames, removed stucco from side of building, replaced termite damage, water proofed a deck, built new flooring on deck, and painted.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

12/30/2011


Anna P.

I could not be more satisfied with ACT General Building Construction. The owner Miguel Tolmo's professionalism and standard of excellence were reflected in every phase of the project. From our first meeting I was impressed by his responsiveness to my needs and clear answers to all my questions. Miguel provided a thoughtful assessment of the remodel offering creative solutions and invaluable suggestions. My old fashioned thirty's kitchen was transformed into a beautiful contemporary space. Taking great pride in his work Miguel paid attention to every detail. I would rate ACT's performance as "outstanding". The project was both on schedule and on budget. Miguel and his team were a total pleasure to work with: reliable, trustworthy and considerate. Communication and accessibility couldn't have been better.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel: < demolition: removal and of old kitchen, including cabinets and appliances. <wall work: reposition of entry into kitchen: removal of existing low wall, reframing and installation of new sheetrock and drywall to create new entrance between kitchen and living room <electrical upgrade: to bring up to code <installation of new cabinets and hardware <new ceramic floor tiles installed <paint kitchen interior Bathroom Remodel: <Removal of all existing wall and floor tile <Install new tile surrounding tub and new floor tile <Installation of new bathroom fixtures and accessories <paint bathroom interior Laundry Room: <remove existing door frame <replace with custom made frame <removal of existing washing machine Deck and Fence: <Removal of existing deck floor <Installation of new redwood deck <replace damaged bottom rails on deck fence

Category ceramic tile, decks, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

12/12/2011


Ilana G.

I had a unique tile mosaic project (detached) in mind and Miguel took on the challenge with a can-do attitude. He did a very good job on the project. Because it was a bit of an odd concept, some of the edges weren't angled 100% perfectly, but I'm sure no one else notices. i would hire Miguel again. *The price was so low because it was an Angie's List deal.

Description of Work
Assemble a mosaic tile counter to be attached to my homemade kitchen island

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com [removed websites]
5.0

11/19/2011


Kathleen K.

All I really want from a contractor is responsiveness, respect for my property, a fair price, and workmen who appear on time and clean up after themselves. Unfortunately this isn't necessarily easy to find. I consider myself very lucky to have found this company on Angie's list. They were the 3rd company I called but as far as I'm concerned should be listed first in the directory. Miguel the owner, came to evaluate the problem the day I called him. He gave me a good idea of what the work would require. He sent me an estimate the next day. He came to the house with a contract 2 days after that, and began work the following week. All together the work took 6 days. His workers were polite, quiet, respectful and came on time. I feel that the price was fair for the work done. I was able to call Miguel anytime I had a question and he was extremely responsive. I would highly recommend this company without hesitation, and would be happy to have them do work in my home again.

Description of Work
An in invasive vine had wedged itself under the exterior wood of my house on a corner and was prying the wood away from the structure. Wood rot was found when the boards were removed. ACT replaced the corner of the house, which was 2 stories high, protected my neighbors side yard in so doing, replaced several boards that also had dry rot, placed flashing along the side of the house that was open to more plant growing through ,sanded and painted the finished product.

Category remodeling, siding

Service Provider Response

We appreciate very much your business, we thank you for your comments. ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is a member of the Better Business Bureau in excellent standing, receiving the "HONOR ROLL”(BBB Rating "A+" since 2001) award for complaint-free status, and Super Service Award with Angie's list. Our customers are clients looking for high quality craftsmanship, trustworthiness and personalized service. We are a company with an excellent reputation in the remodeling business. CEO Miguel Tolmo, who has over twenty years of experience working in both small and large-scale construction projects, building design and general construction including industrial, mechanical-structural, and interior and exterior remodeling, repairs, and alteration projects Thank you, Miguel Tolmo, RMO/CEO/President Tel: 415-225-8094 ACT General Building Construction, Inc. "B" & "C10"Lic. #857750 3906 Allendale Ave. Oakland, CA 94619 2912 Diamond Street, San Francisco, CA 94131 Tel: 510-532-3957 Fax: 480-772-4511 Email: act@act4construction.com Web: act4construction.com Web: actgenerators.com

    Other local Pros in your area

    RS Remodeling & Restoration LLC

    Hi guys! I'm Rodrigo and we are experts in bathroom and kitchen remodeling. We approach projects with a strong work ethic, careful attention to detail, and extensive experience in flooring and remodeling. The remodeling process is transformative work that I thoroughly enjoy. Clients appreciate our skill, reliability, and ability to listen to design needs. I can help you if your project needs. I'm excited about the possibility of working with you. Call me or text me for more information.  

    Angi Certified

    Attic Pros

    Attic Pros is your go-to attic insulation installation and rodent removal contractor in San Francisco Bay Area. We offer a wide range of services for rodent removal, attic cleaning, insulation replacement, and crawl space cleaning to meet all your needs. Our team is dedicated to providing you with the best possible customer service. Contact us today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Glo-Electric

    Family and veteran owned and operated company, professional trained, drug tested, background checked, electricians providing residential and commercial service, repair and new installations servicing the greater bay area with the best service in the industry.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    ELECTRICAL, GENERAL CONTRACTOR, Commercial, residential & institutional, remodeling and room additions, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, carpentry, generator installation and repair, plumbing, drywall, siding, masonry, stucco, decks, painting, tiling, painting,dry rot and termite repairs, epa lead renovator initial.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ACT General Building Construction, Inc.

    How is ACT General Building Construction, Inc. overall rated?

    ACT General Building Construction, Inc. is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does ACT General Building Construction, Inc. provide

    ACT General Building Construction, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Ask ACT General Building Construction, Inc. for details on free project estimates.

    Does ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, ACT General Building Construction, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ACT General Building Construction, Inc.?

    Yes, ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offer?

    ACT General Building Construction, Inc. offers the following services: ELECTRICAL, GENERAL CONTRACTOR, Commercial, residential & institutional, remodeling and room additions, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, carpentry, generator installation and repair, plumbing, drywall, siding, masonry, stucco, decks, painting, tiling, painting,dry rot and termite repairs, epa lead renovator initial.

    Are there any services ACT General Building Construction, Inc. does not offer?

    Ask for details