Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Women In Construction

Founded 1992 • With Angi since November 2006

4.9

(106) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1421 Paradise Rd

San Diego, CA 92114

Description

We are Women in Cons­truc­tion, Denise and Molly. ‘Per­fec­tion­ists to a fault’ prob­a­bly best describes us. Cus­tomers are our num­ber one pri­or­ity. After more than 25 years of doing busi­ness in San Diego,we have built up extensive knowledge of the tile indus­try. Com­pet­i­tive Pric­ing,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/29/2019


David N.

Denise was very timely and professional. She was honest, communicative, timely, and reasonably priced. She managed her time well to finish the work in the time window she had estimated for us and stuck to the price estimate she had given us, even when she seemed to expand on the scope of the project and add more work for herself. Denise definitely cares about the quality of the work she's done and works so that the end product will last. She was very knowledgeable about our older house and because of that, there were few surprises when she started demo to begin with the tiling work. Where other contractors would require constant messages to get a hold of them, Denise called every day to give an update on the project. She is an honest, hard worker that is hard to find nowadays and we'd love to hire her again if we ever needed more work done.

Description of Work
Conversion of bathtub to bath/shower combo, tiling of surrounding walls.

Category ceramic tile, plastering, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so Much [Member Name Removed] for the heartfelt review. You were a joy to work for and I really appreciated the extra bonus. I would work for you again anytime.
5.0

10/08/2018


Nancy S.

Excellent. Denise is a perfectionist, making sure every detail is completed. Both showers are totally transformed. All bids were similar, but Women in Construction was the only company to stay in touch with me, offering tile suggestions, helping me select tile. She has her own plumber. Her tile work is exquisite.

Description of Work
Master shower retiled; guest shower retiled & bathtub replaced

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review. It was a pleasure to work with you.
5.0

05/13/2018


Radha C.

Denise was very easy to work with. She did a fantastic job removing our old kitchen backsplash and retiling. What I liked the most about her was how detail oriented she was. She is a perfectionist and takes pride in her work. She was reliable and very clean. I would hire her again should we need more tile work done in the future.

Description of Work
Kitchen Backsplash

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.You and your family were a pleasure to work for.
5.0

10/19/2017


Cynthia S.

Outstanding! Denise was fantastic. She was extremely conscientious and nurtured each part of the project whether it was something she was doing or whether it was another part of the project worked on by a subcontractor. Denise took down the cupboards, did the requisite drywall and haul away. She did a beautiful job on the tile floor, including some necessary repair work left by a previous occupant. Denise is a perfectionist and her work reflects that. Denise’s name in the San Diego construction industry is money! By that I mean her colleagues really respect her and come almost on a moment’s notice if a problem arises and their services are needed. She made sure I was happy each step of the way. She is also neat and leaves a clean site at the end of each day. Overall the kitchen remodel, which included a new floor and new lights, cost less than the estimate provided by the sole source referred by the big box location. All subcontractors were very affordable. I’m very happy. I highly recommend Denise (Women in Construction) and won’t hesitate to use her again.

Description of Work
Denise (Women in Construction) did the demolition of my kitchen cupboards and drywall in preparation for installation of new cupboards. She also installed a new tile floor in the kitchen. Denise served as the project manager (point person) for the overall kitchen remodeling project. She recommended and brought in the carpenter to install the cupboards I had already purchased from a big box location, and also an electrician and a plumber. All necessary for the project and all excellent.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for being such an accommodating person considering space was very limited and your privacy was infringed upon during the project. Projects that require everyone involved to have a little more patience is appreciated when the client is kind and appreciative. Thank you for being one of those clients. I hope you enjoy your kitchen. Thank you again for choosing women in construction. And thanks to the other contractors that worked on the project along with me.
5.0

06/05/2017


PATRICIA L.

Our remodel was completed last week. Women in Construction was rehired after a great experience on a tile floor installation a few years ago. Denise single-handedly demo'd a cast iron tub and the surrounding tile, as well as the orig window. She met me @Dixieline to lend her expertise in ordering the exactly right, though much smaller, custom window (one with with good lines)! She did the re-framing carpentry inside and outside for window install & closed the opening, patched the siding to match the 100-yr-old orig siding. She had to add a (altogether missing!) sub-floor before installing the new tub. Her specialty, however, is custom tile work, at which she's an undisputed master, and how she worked with the subway tile to keep everything looking straight was fascinating, as 90º angles dont exist in our old house. Her recommended plumber (Marcos of All Phase Plumbing) re-routed the water lines and removed the lavatory so Denise could repair the drywall on that side of the room; on the other side, the old (ancient!) plaster was crumbling, so it too had to have new drywall & plaster. This could only be accomplished by removing a light fixture first. For fine/finish carpentry, she works with a master whose work is of quality as high as her own. Our new construction looks flawlessly in sync between the original craftsman windows in adjoining rooms.

Description of Work
The tiled tub area was a mess; the original double hung window frame was inappropriate for its place in the bath area, so was water damaged, & its obscured glass was just plain ugly. The previously painted tile and tub had places that were peeling---altogether not appealing!

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling, title companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for having me in your home to work on your bathroom and for the hospitality of coffee every day throughout the day, food that was amazing and of course the fabulous giant chocolate bars every day along with the peanut brittle before I left for my trip. It was not only a pleasure working in your home but it was a lot of fun. You two are some of the happiest and most fun filled people I've ever met . Thank you for the extra money too. That is always appreciated. Thank you Mark for putting up with my singing while I worked. Your such a good sport. You both really made me feel at home.
5.0

01/17/2017


don T.

1st, Denise, tiled 2 bath floors for us in '09. Excellent job: laid out tile we bought in our back yard, before starting work, divided them into 2 groups of 2 subtle colors differences. Asked if we wanted each bath with one or other color or mixture of both. We went with mixed. Never would have thought of it, but made a difference we love to this day. She also discovered a slab crack in our hall bath that extended out under the carpet at the time - and fixed it! Last Oct., Denise, started demo of our 1980, stand-up, fiberglass shower/glass door. It was cracking and the hot side delivering 1/2 pressure of cold side, we were just waiting for the right time to fix. During demo, some plumbing that needed attention became apparent, so while wall was open, Denise had her plumber re plumb with new copper and at same time replace shower valves, in wall for adjacent bath as well. Well worth the expected, unexpected cost. Denise lived up to every expectation of what would be done and when. She covered our word floors with a professional heavy paper board cover, taped down with painters tape and, daily, washed the cloth tarps that covered a carpeted area. She is extremely detailed and perfect in her workmanship, methods, tool maintenance, work area organization. During the project she used one side of the garage, taped everything in plastic sheeting, floor to ceiling. Her work area was always neat and clean with tools always kept in the same place! Any time a decision needed to be made she called, advised, then took care of each item as promised. It was a treat to have her build a beautiful shower. When the glass door installer put in 1/2" clear glass he said: " Who did your tile work? It is crazy good - my screws never went thru! They are held solid by the thickness of the walls she floated. This is built really solid and the tile finish is excellent." Since the work finished mid Nov., we waited 2-3 weeks on Denise's recommendation to let the walls and grout cure. The shower is awesome and we will always appreciate how beautiful it is. We love the shower and hope to have Denise back to build a shower/tub in the other bath.

Description of Work
Demo 1980, stand-up, fiberglass shower/glass door, build from studs out, new shower valve, floating walls, hot mop basin, tile, install new Moen shower head/control.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the time you spent on that review and the detail that you put into it. I appreciate your business and the extra effort of taking the picture , even if it is a little double exposed and sideways. I guess neither one of us claim to be photographers. I would be happy to take care of your other bathroom when you are ready. Thanks again.
5.0

03/03/2016


Kathy P.

We had the privilege of having Ms. McEwan remodel our master bedroom bathroom. Denise is detail orientated and a real perfectionist! She met us at the tile shop and not only recommended types of tile, but also colors and shower lay out. When my husband, who usually wants no involvement in design, asked about a small inset for shampoo bottles, Denise quickly got him involved in the discussion and planning. We were kept involved and informed every step of the way. When new issues came up Denise gave us options and suggestions. Ms. McEwan is a professional and very open to participation by the customer. Working with her on the renovation was a joy.

Description of Work
Our master bedroom bath was in dire need of a remodel. Denise gave us a detailed estimate that outlined cost and time. We knew exactly what we were committing to. I was impressed with the contract that she sent both in the amount of detail that it provided to the progression of the work required. I learned so much about the process! First day is demolition day. That's important because Denise keeps a VERY clean worksite. During the course of the work Denise corrected two problems, probably done by the original contractor, that will make our shower drain more efficiently. Each day she told us what steps would be done and worked until the steps were completed. I have total confidence that the work was done expertly by a true craftsman! It was a pleasure working with Denise and her apprentice Andrew! They make a great team.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for that amazing review. I really appreciate the thought and time you put into it. Thank you for your kindness and your hospitality during the remodel of your bathroom. You made us feel more like family than workers. It was an absolute pleasure to work for you. It's people like you that make this job worth doing. Denise
5.0

07/10/2015


Susan K.

It was a pleasure working with Denise from Women In Construction! She offered advise and tips before she even had the contract and continued to share information throughout the project. Her input in material selection was invaluable and she made my vision a reality. Denise was professional, timely and on budget! Both Denise and her staff were friendly and respectful of my home - they were delightful and trustworthy. I love, love, love my new bathroom!

Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member name removed]. It was a pleasure working with you too. Thank you for your trust and your business. I'm glad you are enjoying your new bathroom.
5.0

05/18/2015


Tim A.

Denise arrived promptly when expected, and worked diligently until the job was completed. Denise was extremely professional and a true perfectionist, and offered excellent advice on tile selection and other details of the job. The crew set down drop cloths to protect the floor, and cleaned up thoroughly every day. She was a pleasure to work with, and we will be calling on her for another bathroom renovation.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovation: Rebuilt shower, installed new floor, installed new toilet and countertop, patched and painted walls.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you folks for taking time out to write a review. It is very much appreciated. Thank you for the coffee every day at lunch and for your patience having to walk through your office every day several times a day to complete the remodeling project. It was a pleasure to work for you and I hope you enjoy your new bathroom. Thank you for the serenade on the horn. It was delightful.
5.0

04/22/2015


Kristina Q.

See above. I am keeping this company in mind for future projects.

Description of Work
I called the provider to see if they repaired granite counter tops. They did not do this service but they called me right back and left a reference for me to contact. In this world of construction I have to say even a follow-up phone call is much appreciated.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, marble & granite

5.0

12/07/2014


Susan W.

Wow?where do I start? Working with Women in Construction was a true pleasure. We first contacted Denise based on her Angie?s List reviews back in June of 2014. She came to our home at the appointed time as promised to quote our project. She is very matter of fact and knows her business. She began to discuss how she would complete our project and how her process worked. When she started talking about how she would build the shower, plastering the walls, hot mopping with tar for the pan, etc. we were sold. We got the feeling that she did things the right way and decided she was the person for our job. We didn?t even get a second quote. We scheduled our job to start November 1st which worked well for us and to be honest she was booked up until then. Totally worth the wait! Does that tell you something? The morning she and Andrew, her assistant, arrived they knocked at the door with a roll of paper in their hands that they rolled in and taped down from the front door to the bathroom. We have hardwood floors so we were quite concerned about damage. Never a concern! The paper remained in place throughout the process, swept each day before they left. They also spread tarps from the front door to her truck. Extreme care was taken each and every time they entered our home. They showed up at 7:30 each morning and worked all day, some very long days to meet the goal for that day. We have two cats and two dogs which they took the time to get to know which made the process easier for them as well with all the stranger traffic in the house. She is a perfectionist at every turn and expects that of everyone she brings into the job. The electrician, plumber, custom cabinet maker and shower glass installer, we were happy with each of them. In fact Derek also installed canned lights in the bedroom and will be coming back to help with lighting in other areas of our home. Greg the glass guy is also installing glass in a china cabinet for us. They all exceeded our expectations. Then there is Denise. We enjoyed getting to know her, she has a great sense of humor and helps make this process easy. It?s not easy having people coming and going day after day in your home but she and Andrew were very accommodating. Yes, we always had the coffee on for her when she arrived but mostly she just worked. Former reviews mentioned that she has her ideas of what worked best and has strong opinions on how things should be done. Well?Duh?this is her business and she doesn?t want to see you make a mistake with your project. Won?t tell you how long we talked grout! Just have her pick it, she know best. Of course we made some changes after we first met (added a line of small tile on wall of shower, thought it needed a little something) and decided on 12x24 tile but we worked together and it turned out beautiful. There was one 2x2 tile on the wall that was ?just not quite right? according to her. The next day, before grouting she dug it out and replaced it because she just could not leave it. She kept us informed each step of the way. I would not hesitate to recommend Denise, her work is exceptional. In fact she is coming back in the spring to do our other bathroom and we look forward to working with our new friend again!

Description of Work
Remodel of master bath which included tearing out fiberglass shower, toilet and tile as well as vanity in separate area. Built a new tile shower with hot mopped shower pan and plastered wall, tiled shower stall with niche with 12 x 24 tile and extended to behind toilet, installed toilet, tiled floor in 12x4 tile with tile base board as well as new vanity, granite counter top and canned lights. All right on time.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Well that was quite a review. Let me just say that I really, really appreciate the time you took to write it. [Member Name Removed] , [Member Name Removed] were an absolute joy to work with. [Member Name Removed] I really love your sense of humor and [Member Name Removed] thank you so much for trusting my judgment on the grout color. Grout really is an important decision. Sometimes it can get crazy picking the absolute right match. You were so patient and gracious. Thank you so much for the coffee fresh every morning and the gift card. I also want to thank you for giving me the tip on the bed that we later purchased. I know it can be difficult to remodel your home and you were so accommodating by moving your animals around every day so that they would not be in our way. Thank you for sharing your bathroom with us. I look forward to working with you again. You were all so much fun and you made it so nice to come to work every day. Thank you again for all your praises and We wish all of your family a loving holiday full of joy and happiness.
5.0

10/12/2014


Sandra B.

Denise and Molly are like no other contractors we have ever encountered. We have remodeled homes previously with well-known contractors in San Diego and have never experienced anyone with their work ethic and integrity. Denise is the hardest, most focused professional we have ever worked with. We contacted her after reading the reviews on Angie's List. After meeting her, we knew we wanted to work with her and never got another estimate. Denise is in charge and is a perfectionist. She and Molly want the customer to be happy with everything being done. Denise has many years of experience and you can count on her recommendations to be right on. Even when we at first questioned something she suggested, or it didn't seem to be exactly as was our vision, it always turned out, she was right. Save yourself time and just do what she recommends!! :-) We searched and searched for the right floor tile for our downstairs living spaces without success. One day she walked in with the perfect tile and that was it. Her design of our master tub and shower, in a rather small space, is beautiful and gave us more space and a bigger shower than we ever envisioned. She chose all the fixtures which we love. She only does one job at a time setting an exact start date, according to her availability, and finishing when she says she will. They arrive every day by 7:30am and work all day 6 days a week most weeks and sometimes worked 7 days and into the evening to finish on time. Denise hires only assistants who do not smoke as she does not want her employees carrying the smell of smoke into her customers' homes, an example of her work standards and how much she respects you and your space. Because Denise has been in the business so long, she has great subs, when needed, like Greg, who installed our glass shower wall and door, and re-cut and re-installed our old mirrors. As always happens with remodels, things come up that are not anticipated. She would quickly figure out a solution and take care of the issues with no worries to us. She always discussed it with us before proceeding, but there were never the upsets that have occurred during remodels in our past. For example, she demolished the master bath and found that when previously remodeled, the contractor installed a tub that was not appropriate for the space and would have caused extensive water damage had we ever used it as much as most people would have. She had originally planned to remove the old surround and tile around the existing tub. Instead, she went to work calling the appropriate provider for a new tub and took her truck to pick it up at the store when it arrived the next day. Another contractor would have put the job on hold waiting for delivery, but she lost no time getting it herself and continuing the project without any delay. There was a hole in our closet wall where an electrical panel had been removed previously and never repaired-waiting for a contractor to do it. She saw it and patched it with new drywall and finished the surface to match the rest of the wall, without additional charges to us. We had granite countertops installed by a fabricator in all 3 bathrooms during this 3- week project. We would have been without a sink for over two weeks while waiting for the fabricator to install them, so Denise left one of the old countertops in place and she installed the heavy granite top, including making the platform for it herself, when she finished the tile work. She also had to use her tile cutter and skills to smooth off an uneven side of the granite to have it fit cleanly against the wall. No small feat considering the size and weight of the granite! She did not charge us for this additional work that was not a part of the contracted work. After Denise worked 3 weeks remodeling our 3 bathrooms, we decided to have her demolish our tile foyer/hallway and kitchen and remodel most of our downstairs including where the old tile had been, the family room, and the laundry room-another 3 week job. Because of the dust that would be created by the demolition of old tile and sanding of the floor, and the fact that the area was our main living space, we chose to move out and go on a three week vacation, taking our dog, renting a home up the coast. THIS IS A TESTAMENT TO HOW MUCH WE TRUSTED DENISE AND HER CREW WITH OUR HOME. We have never met another contractor we would leave alone with our home for that length of time! She communicated as needed by phone and text, but mostly, we did not hear from her as she knew what needed to be done and we trusted her to do it. In addition to the tile work, Denise and her assistant removed the kitchen appliances and the washer and dryer, and re-installed them when tile work and base boards completed. She installed new baseboards not only in the newly tiled family room, but also in the living room-her suggestion in order to have the rooms match and look complete. Denise and her crew carefully cover everything that will be walked on or might get scratched They clean up every day before they leave. Bottom line-you can count on Denise and her crew to do a beautiful job and take good care of your home in the process. They are easy to communicate with which makes the job so much more pleasant.

Description of Work
Demo 3 bathrooms down to wall studs and remodeled all 3 bathrooms installing two new cast iron tubs, master bathtub, tile shower, tile floors and tub surrounds, installed all new fixtures, installed a granite countertop after using her tile saw to smooth a side left uneven by the fabricator, installed 3 toilets, repaired a hole in a wall from someone else's project, removed large wall mirrors and had them re-cut and re-installed, removed old foyer/hallway and kitchen tile, replaced all the old tile and installed tile in family room, installed floor boards in family room, living room, and dining room. Painted walls and baseboards.

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

As a company we've been very fortunate to work for very nice customers over the years. Mike and Sandy, you two are truly exceptional. It was more than the collection of small kindnesses, like the coffee you kept brewing or the diet coke you kept stocked in the fridge. As volunteers to the wild animal park, you happily gave us your extra tickets so that we could take one of the foster children Denise mentors. You listened thoughtfully to the advice we gave during your project. In the heat of the summer with temperatures in excess of 100 degrees you left your air conditioning on--even if you weren't home. You welcomed us to eat our lunch on your beautiful patio and to enjoy the view. You celebrated our happiness when I learned that I had been hired as a nurse, even buying us a bottle of champagne. You wonderful, incredible people--never once was I made to feel like just the contractor who is here today and gone tomorrow. Thank you. Molly Quillin-McEwan (and Denise) Women in Construction
5.0

08/17/2014


Patricia H.

Everything was perfect - Denise started on the day she designated in the contract, got the work done when she said she would, and has called several times to make sure the frameless shower has been installed, the plumbing installed, the thresholds installed. She has called several times to make sure everything is done and that we are happy. Her work is flawless and I love my new bathroom. This is the third bathroom she has tiled for me and I have recommended her without reservation to several of my neighbors.

Description of Work
Removed shower stall and all tile in master bathroom, repaired water damage, water proofed shower pan, replaced damaged wood, tiled shower, replaced tile around tub, replaced floor tile.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] ,Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. Thank you for your kindness during our stay . The smile and the coffee in the morning and the space in your fridge. Thank you [member name removed] for taping off all your stairs and the floor upstairs before I ever arrived so I did not have to do it and bless your heart. Thank you for sharpening my tools by hand no less and showing me how to see pictures in 3-D. You both made work fun and it was a pleasure doing business with you and watching how you two work together on projects and get so much done. I hope I have half your energy when I retire. Thank you for your trust and your friendship. Denise
5.0

06/21/2014


Greg D.

If you want something done right, call Women In Construction. Our bathtub was rusting out from the inside, which Denise pointed out right away. WIC removed the old tub and replaced it with a beautiful cast iron tub by Kohler. Next, the tile bed was prepared to exceptional precision. Denise's tile work is remarkable. Denise even helped us select a new tile that matched our existing tile floor, and we LOVE it. Denise was upfront about the possibility of additional costs due to unforeseen issues, especially with a house built in 1951. I really appreciated hearing that disclaimer before the work started. As it turned out, we had no major issues with the existing plumbing, which was a concern of ours. The entire job was completed per schedule in a little over a week. Work started on time and the work area was cleaned up at the end of each day. I would highly recommend Women In Construction, Denise and Molly were very nice and personable.

Description of Work
We had a bath/shower with a rusting bathtub. The bathtub was replaced and the area around the tub was tiled with beautiful porcelain tile.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed], We really do appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. It helps us to know that we are taking care of our customers. Thank you for the great coffee.
5.0

05/21/2014


JOHN L.

Couldnt recommend them more highly, they did everything wonderful, they did all the details. Can only be summed up as wonderful.

Description of Work
They were to install porcelain tile in the entry way, and bathroom. (150 sq Ft, more than 30 corners) a lot of cutting and fitting

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review [member name removed] and for your patience in having to disrupt your kitties life. It is a bit of a challenge sometimes with our 4 legged children but you were very accommodating and we appreciate that. Thank you for your trust and for your business.
5.0

05/10/2014


Daniel L.

Basically, if you want your bathrooms to be AWESOME, then hire Women in Construction. Denise is a professional and an artist. She went WAY above and beyond (read: out-of-scope) to complete the work on schedule and to absolute perfection. She used the best materials and techniques. She never missed a day of work. As a bonus she made excellent cosmetic suggestions every step of the way--she helped me decide on plumbing fixtures, tile, and decorative tile liner for the tub and shower surrounds. Since I'm a single dude and otherwise stupid about such things, her suggestions were extremely valuable. Her assistants, Hector and Molly, were wonderful as well. The work took about five weeks and her communication the whole time--so extremely important in construction--was perfect. The price includes a few minor ammendments to cover a few repairs (you need to expect that for any remodel job--especially in my case since the house is 40 years old) and small additions to the tile work. While not included in price, her recommendations for custom vanities and mirrors+glass enclosures were splendid.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of two bathrooms in a small (1250 sqft) house. Guest bath: demolition and clean-up of old vanity, tub, glass, surrounds and drywall. Roughing of new surrond, new tub, plumbing, and installation of tile floor and tub surround. New medicine cabinet. Master bath: demolition and clean-up of old vanity, shower stall, glass, surrounds and drywall. Old vanity was a single--installed plumbing and prepared space for new double vanity. Roughing of new shower surrond, plumbing, and installation of tile floor, complete tile work for new shower (dam, 2x2 floor, tiled walls to ceiling with decorative liner). New medicine cabinet.

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]. I actually think you are a very smart guy about such things. It makes it much easier to work with someone that puts their faith in you and allows you o just get it done. It was also very helpful the few days you spent away. It allowed me the extra time I needed to work late and you never complained when I had to come on the weekend. I know you have a busy schedule so I really do appreciate the time you took to write this review and for all the praise. Not everyone takes the time to give us such attention so we really very much appreciate the ones that do. Thank you for your business and I hope you have many happy years with your new bathrooms. Thank you for your flexibility during the project. Denise McEwan (Women In Construction)
5.0

03/24/2014


Gregory R.

She is awesome to work with and she is dedicated.

Description of Work
They will be re-doing my kitchen, since they did my bathroom a year ago.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/02/2014


Jack H.

Husband comments: A rating of "A +" for Women In Construction would be more appropriate than the standard top tier of just "A". Denise McEwan, the owner of Woman in Construction, was outstanding from start to finish. The start of the project consisted of her and Hector, her helper, laying heavy duty paper and tarps over my wood decking, carpets and work area. She was on time every day and worked the project through to the finish. At the end of each work day they did a very through clean up of the work site. Rip out was completed in the first day which revealed some additional work requiring saw cutting & jack hammering of the concrete floor to relocate the tub drain to a shower drain. This additional work was completed by the next day. Project progressed smoothly with installation of drains, shower pan, plumbing mods, and roughing of shower surround. Denise's real expertise is in the installation of the finish tile work. She took the time to cut, center and balance the tile for the shower surround. The shower pan was done with 1 1/2" pebble rocks and required extensive grouting. The shower dam and surround ends were finished with 1/4" rounds as its these small details that show the quality work she does. The tile flooring required numerous angle cuts as our house is octagon in shape and there are very few right angles. She even went out of her way to install a tile baseboard that was beyond our scope of work and she did not charged for. The final results is awesome and moms bathroom is beautiful and functional. Thanks Denise. Wife comments: The Women in Construction "team" were professional, punctual and exceptionally tidy. We communicated well, and as we got to know each other, we had fun. Yes, an enjoyable renovation! Denise's talent and attention to detail(s) made our bathroom venture successful .

Description of Work
Removed existing 30 year old Jacuzzi tub, surround and linoleum floor and installed new pebble rock shower pan, porcelain tile shower surround with handicap bar and porcelain tile floor for my 81 year old mother's bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for that great review. I really appreciate your time and attention. I also really appreciated the hot coffee which was ready every morning when I arrived even when I showed up a little early. You were both always very up beat and that makes a huge difference during any remodeling project. I felt very pampered and appreciate the kindness. You have a beautiful property and very peaceful surroundings to work in. Thank you for your business. I hope you enjoy many more years up on the hill. Thank you and I will miss chopper bringing the frizbee to throw while I am eating my lunch. Good health and happiness to all of you.
5.0

01/13/2014


Kathleen C.

We have used Women in Construction before and based on earlier excellent service, we hired them again to do a complete remodel of a bathroom -- new shower, vanity, floor window, lighting etc. We also had to make some adjustments to upgrade the electrical. There were lots of special problems with this bathroom remodel and Denise came through for us. She also had to work on a short timeframe and put in long hours to ensure the job was done in time. She is not happy until the job is done to her high standards.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of a bathroom in San Diego, CA.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I know how busy your schedule is with dealing with your property/ tenants and job. Thank you for always giving me the liberty to make decisions and suggestions when doing work for you. Having that trust and ability to make changes based on my knowledge and experience makes things much easier than they would normally be to deal with. We appreciate your business and are always happy to work with you.
5.0

01/06/2014


L P.

We found them to be a smart team and liked them very much. We ended up using someone else for this project because of a family connection. That worked out OK, but not great. We would most likely go with Women in Construction in the future. We will ask for a formal quote when that happens.

Description of Work
They came in and looked at the project and gave us some good, smart feedback. We actually had them in twice on the same project many months apart. They were very patient with us on that. We did not get a quote.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

12/19/2013


Kandace B.

5 years ago, we did a major remodel of part of our home. The contractor we used was fine. He was sometimes late, sometimes didn't show up at all, the cost went up during the project. We figured that was the way things were. This time, we hired Women in Construction, and learned different. Denise is amazing! She was never late. She was clear about what she was going to do. The cost for what she did was extremely reasonable, and she never raised it, even when I knew that her cost was going a little over what she had planned. The tile looks flawless. She took such care with my home - my husband described her as the cleanest contractor in the world! Not only was she a perfectionist about the work she did for us, she went out of her way to fix things that the builder had originally done wrong. The bathroom is beautiful, and we couldn't be happier. When you hire a contractor, look at their reviews, their price, and don't forget to check whether they carry insurance so you won't be liable if someone is injured. Then, hire Denise. You can't go wrong with someone who really knows what they're doing, and cares enough to do a really good job, as if they were working in their own home. I really can't say enough good things about Women in Construction.

Description of Work
re-tiled entire shower/bath, installed a very complicated shower fixture, new bathtub, new toilet, new baseboards, medicine cabinet, light fixture, repaired doors, repaired drywall, paint.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Wow, That was the quickest response I've ever gotten after finishing a job. I just left yesterday. In fact I am still going back this weekend to seal. Let me just thank you for several things. First of all you fed me and your husband gave me coffee on a morning when I really appreciated it. You are one of the happiest nicest people I have ever met. You are constantly on the go doing things for your kids and taking care of your big household and giant two lovable dogs that look like they could eat me but were very friendly. You always have a very upbeat attitude even when things don't go perfectly. That is a gift in itself. You even offered and went and picked up things for me a time or two. Making sure a project flows well has a lot to do with everybody working together to make it happen. I certainly felt like you were one of the team. I just enjoy talking with you. You are a person I would be lucky to have as a friend. Thank you for you business and all of your kind praise. You have a lovely family that you take pride in caring for and do very well. Merry Christmas to you and your family and peace be with you.
5.0

12/17/2013


Steve S.

I have laid tile before and know that it's complicated. I wouldn't want anyone else but Denise to install tile in my house (we plan to have her back next year). She spent time to explain her layout and the various decisions to consider. She gave excellent advice in choosing a good tile, and took great pride in her work. We left our house in her hands for a week while we went on vacation. Everything was in great order when we returned. The tile work is flawless!

Description of Work
Denise installed about 500 sq ft of porcelain tile in my kitchen, den, and hall. Tiles were 20 inch. I ordered the tile at San Diego Marble & Tile (also recommended). She picked up the tile, brought it to the house, provided the grout and materials, and completed the project on time.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for those thoughtful words. Thank you for your trust in leaving your home in the hands of someone you did not know. That trust made it possible to complete your job in the amount of time that we had allocated. Thank you for keeping in touch back and forth with me during the process of finding and ordering the right tile. It is very nice to not have to always chase after someone to return calls or be available to make decisions. It takes a lot of effort on the part of the customer as well as the contractor to make a job run smoothly. Thank you for your input and your flexibility. I would gladly work for you again.
5.0

12/09/2013


Margarita A.

After spending a year in search for a remodeling company that I would feel comfortable I found Women in Construction. Denise helped us navigate the remodeling world with such ease and patiences. I personally was very stressed about having a bathroom remodeled due to a previous bathroom remodel that didn't go smoothly. But Denise took that stress away with her detail contract that stated clearly on what would be done(everything was spelled out)and the time frame, cost and any unforeseen problems. After the remodeling, I can truly say that this experience was painless and everyone that has seen Women in Construction worked have only positive comments. I'm very happy I waited a year to find Women in Construction. I'm looking forward to doing future remodeling with this company.

Description of Work
Replace the tub, tile, and floor tile, and painted

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your patience. It was very easy to work in your home even though I know it must have been difficult for your husband who was trying to sleep in the day time. We too are looking forward to working with you in the future. Women In Construction
5.0

12/07/2013


Mary D.

Denise and her team are masters at their craft and very professional. Women in Construction had done another bathroom remodel for us previously, so I was very familiar with their excellent work. They were very timely from giving us our estimate to completion of the project. Work started promptly at 7:30 Monday through Saturday. Floors were protected from the garage to the bathroom work site. If I had any questions or concerns, Denise was quick to give me any answers or suggestions. She pays attention to every detail and is an artist with her tile. All her subcontractors--ie plumbers, electricians, glass installer, cabinet maker, carpets, etc.--all excellent. Arrived on time and also protected floors, etc. when doing work. Denise even fixed a pipe in my garage that I did not know needed repair! Thank you so much to Denise, Molly and everyone who worked on our bathroom. You are the greatest.

Description of Work
Removed fiberglass tub and shower surround, wall material up to ceiling and around window, vanity, vanity top and flooring. Removed toilet and mirror. Installed a new tub, waste and overflow and Moentrol valve, new ABS trap. Walls around tub and window were prepared in lathe and plaster and tiled on a straight layout. Installed a niche and bathroom floor. Installed a new supplied vanity, faucet and plumbing. Installed the toilet over finished flooring and baseboard. Also installed a liner, recessed soap dish and tile in a hallway outside bathroom. Cracks in the slab in hallway were repaired. Move drain to accommodate new vanity.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for that in depth report of the work performed by us at your house. We really enjoyed working for you. You are a very kind person and your house is very warm and welcoming feeling. We appreciate the time you took to write a report and for your business this time and previously. We are always thankful to work for people that really appreciate our work. I hope you and your family have a nice holiday and we will see you on the next remodel. Please tell your husband that we also appreciate his witty and funny sense of humor and his jokes. Denise and Molly
5.0

09/26/2013


ALEX Z.

From the moment we met Denise we appreciated her professionalism and her straightforwardness. She listened to what we wanted and our hoped-for outcome. She explained what she could do, she followed up with an extremely detailed bid (the best estimate we have seen), and she answered our numerous questions. Her estimate for the job was nearly perfect. Denise is a tile contractor and we had a job that involved plumbing, electric, and cabinetry, so she helped us assemble a team of folks who could do that work. This was fantastic and she was spot on about the people she recommended (Tom, Marcos, Derek -- I will write reviews for all of you). It was very important for us to have the whole team of people here at the beginning of the project to lay out scope, work responsibilities, and timelines. We chose to add to the job; Denise was very clear about what she could and could not do, the costs involved, and how much time she had to commit. This helped us make decisions very quickly. Denise is worth waiting for. My appointment for an estimate on the job was two weeks out, and it took a couple of months for my job to come round. She is busy because she is the best. Denise does her own work and she supervises her crew. She knows the industry inside and out, she is willing to offer help and advice in picking out tile, finding plumbing fixtures and appliances, and she will discuss the pros and cons of particular items with you. Molly, crew leader extraordinaire, explained how and why they did things so I could learn. She helped me pick out paint colors when I was stuck. More than this, both Denise and Molly are subject-matter experts and superb crafts-persons. My bathroom is beautiful and the kitchen perfectly done. I smile when I walk into either room. Denise and her team showed up when they said they would and they stay until the day's work was done. They cleaned up every day before they left. We had a kitchen and bathroom tore up for almost three weeks, and it was hardly a problem. I was so afraid to go into this project, but Denise, her team, and the professionals she connected us to all worked as if my job was the only they were doing. (Of course, this was not the case, but they made me feel this way). Things went so smoothly because of Denise's organizational skills. Her work ethic is extremely strong. I cannot say enough good things about Denise and her company Women in Construction. I will close with a testament to Denise's professionalism. She called us about a month after the job was done to make sure that we were happy with the work that was done. She gave us time to live in and experience the space. I will use Women in construction (Denise) again, no hesitation or doubt. Her prices were fair, the work extremely well done, and her business practices transparent. I could not ask for more.

Description of Work
Remodel bathroom shower and tile floor, and kitchen tile.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Wow, Thank you so much for that amazing review. Thank you for making it easy to work in your home. You were both so quiet in the other room both working for hours on your computers across from each other and always available if we had any questions. Thank you so much for your kindness every day and the coffee and treats that were fresh every day. I know that there were several questions before we started but I appreciate that you asked them and that you just wanted to understand a process that you had never experienced before. The remodeling process. It can be scary sometimes but we try not to make it that kind of experience. We really appreciate your business and the time you took to write a review. Thank you for being such wonderful people to work for. It makes what we do a whole lot easier. Denise and Molly ( Women In Construction)

    Other local Pros in your area

    Arcane Plumbing Service & Repair

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    John Padilla Plumbing

    Have a clog or a leak? We are the winner of the 2022 Best Plumbers in San Diego Award and we are ready to help you. Our professional team has over 12 years of experience and can address any and every plumbing concern you have. We were 1 of 3 companies nominated in 2022 by the San Diego Chamber of Commerce for Customer First Customer Service Award. Call now to schedule your service!  

    Angi Certified

    Olympia Services

    At OLYMPIA Services We are committed to customer service. We have 100% satisfaction guarantees. We are licensed and insured. We are fully train and certify as a restoration specialists. Our reputation is based on fast responses, unparalleled quality, and uninhibited commitment has contributed to our growth as a company. We understand that the need for property restoration services can come at the most unexpected times—which is why we are always ready to help! Olympia aims to exceed the expectations of every customer we work with and restore their property to its pre-damage state.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Ceramic Tile, Porcelain, Natural Stone, Flooring, Showers, Tub Installation & Surroundings, Fireplaces, Patios, Countertops, & Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Cabinet Making & Installation. Room Additions.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Women In Construction

    How is Women In Construction overall rated?

    Women In Construction is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Women In Construction open?

    Women In Construction is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Women In Construction provide

    Women In Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Women In Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Women In Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Women In Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Women In Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Women In Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Women In Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Women In Construction?

    No, Women In Construction does not offer warranties.

    What services does Women In Construction offer?

    Women In Construction offers the following services: Ceramic Tile, Porcelain, Natural Stone, Flooring, Showers, Tub Installation & Surroundings, Fireplaces, Patios, Countertops, & Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling.

    Are there any services Women In Construction does not offer?

    Cabinet Making & Installation. Room Additions.