Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sunline Energy

Founded 2011 • With Angi since January 2013

4.9

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7340 Trade St Suite H

San Diego, CA 92121

Description

Sunline Energy is the number one choice for residential and commercial solar and electric needs. We work with the best panels in the industry, certified installers with hundreds of installs and years of experience. We back up our systems with an additional 10 year performance guarantee which guarantees the minimum amount of solar you will produce, solar should not be a guessing game and we believe that having a written guarantee of production shows the level of commitment we put into each installation. We offer residential services which in regards to solar can have as little as a 4-6 year payoff, we offer leasing, and accept checks, credit cards, and offer financing up to 20 years. We are experts in commercial installations and can work on systems from a small commercial building to a huge warehouse with commercial financing and leasing, We offer the best overall deal when going solar. From the high efficiency panels warranties for 25 years, our industry leading production warranty, and in depth knowledge we invite you to call us for a free solar evaluation and custom quote based on your electric needs....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/17/2020


Laurie D.

Working with Sunline has been awesome start to finish! Everyone we dealt with--in-person, via phone and online, from initial contact to installation and beyond--has been very personable, helpful and professional. Communication was clear, the process was well delineated and each phase was completed in a timely manner. In total, it was a remarkably pleasant and easy experience. We couldn't be happier and highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Design and installation of solar electric system.

Category solar panels

5.0

06/04/2017


Dean K.

We had a bad experience with another solar contractor and had to terminate our agreement. Then we contacted Sunline. What a difference! They responded immediately and moved fast. The price was lower than the old contractor. They gave us more information and explained it better. They kept us informed, in real time, of all steps in the process and were obviously right on top of things to move them along. As you may know, solar installation depends not just on your contractor, but also on obtaining inspections, permits and approvals from the City and SDG&E. I am convinced that they made the process go as fast as it possibly could. Installation looks great. They also provide a software tool that allows home monitoring of the performance that is pretty cool. We simply could not be more pleased and impressed.

Description of Work
Installation of home solar system

Category solar panels

3.0

07/03/2016


RICH S.

First engaged spring 2015. They quoted a system that included special framing for clay tile roof. Had to call back after not hearing back from them. Original salesman left the company. They did most of the work, but did not provide the tile framing as originally shown in the sales presentation. When I asked why the bait and switch they said, not only was the salesman no longer with them , but also that they were getting rid of the roofer they use, too. They did offer to add some mitigation for ~$800 more. Left us with a bait and swap experience. Would not recommend based on their handling of this.

Description of Work
Install Solar Energy System

Category solar panels

5.0

05/13/2016


Curtis C.

Upon embarking upon our quest for a solar system for our home, we were overwhelmed and intimidated with how much we didn't know about solar energy. We were also amazed at the number of companies selling solar systems. We decided to just jump in with both feet to start the process. We interviewed and received quotes from 5 - 6 solar companies. The proposals ranged from long term leases to an outright purchases. We compared product specification sheets and warranties for the proposed components. We ultimately opted to purchase the system outright in order to directly benefit from the Federal Government's 30% tax rebate and to also not to have to worry about nor deal with the possibility of trying to transfer a solar system lease should we sell our home down the road. Four of the quotes were from large national solar companies and the final two were from local mom and pop companies. We ultimately decided upon Sunline Energy for the three following reasons: 1.) We prefer, whenever possible, to support local companies and the local economy. 2.) Sunline's quote was competitive with the other quotes received. 3.) Finally, Sunline Energy has received by far, the highest percentage of positive reviews on Yelp. The other national companies, not so much. Being a smaller company with far fewer reviews on Yelp, a couple of negative reviews would have a far greater impact than it otherwise would for the big national companies with numerous reviews. Other than a minor initial misunderstanding about the installation timeline which, Sunline Energy promptly addressed and resolved beyond our exceptions, this has been a seamless and very positive experience. The company did an excellent job keeping us in the loop as to installation status, progress and inspections. All of the installers (Da and Keene) and electricians (Tom and Carlos) were prompt in keeping the appointments, professional in their interactions and most amiable. These gentlemen are the face of Sunline Energy to the public and are a credit to Sunline Energy. No question was too trivial or dumb. They were pleasant and patient in explaining the process and answering our questions. Our phone communications with Hayden, Rachel, Kelly and Cal were pleasant and efficient. We received our permission to operate from SDG&E on Friday. It's been exciting and very satisfying to monitor our solar production. We couldn't be more satisfied with our solar system and whole heartedly endorse and recommend Sunline Energy. I am not an employee nor affiliated with Sunline Energy in anyway.

Description of Work
Installed PV solar system

Category solar panels

5.0

04/22/2016


Emiliano A.

Appointments from sales, estimator, surveyors installers, and electricians were on time and professionals. Completed their jobs as described. Overall performances from Sunline Energy team is excellent.

Description of Work
Install solar roof mounted photovoltaic system /aw bldg codes 2013 calif elec / bldg.

Category solar panels

5.0

02/21/2016


Carol W.

I cannot imagine anyone being easy to work with it was a pleasure to work with them. I recommend this company.

Description of Work
Sales man: Dave Nottingham everyone was on time and very professional. they kept me informed.

Category solar panels

5.0

09/07/2015


Richard S.

Review of Sunline Energy (Highly Recommended) System: SolarEdge 5000 inverter and power optimizers with SolarWorld SunModule 320XL panels. We selected Sunline Energy for our rooftop solar after an extensive bid process from 5 different local solar companies. Various factors went into the decision that included ratings, price, choice of components, schedule, installation methods, management and company size. Additionally, we were impressed that the company sent out one of its owners, Hayden Gersen, to evaluate our requirements and provide options while continuing to work with us through the selection process. Although most of the sales personnel from the other companies were quite good, we put more credence in the commitments that Hayden made. We signed the contract in early July and were told the system would be up and operating in two months, worst-case. Six weeks later we were producing electricity and on the grid. During the installation, Sunline had a problem obtaining our panels twice due to distributer problems. Twice they remedied the problem by providing an extra panel to make up for a slight decrease in wattage with the alternate panels. The bottom line was that we received a 4.8Kw system rather than a 4.355Kw system as contracted for, and for no extra cost or schedule delays. We did not ask for any this, it was simply offered when they realized there was a problem. Not everyone will be this fortunate, but it really demonstrated their commitment to the customer. The installation was performed over a three-day period with one day just for roof preparation. The system is working perfectly. Inspection (Carlsbad) and SDG&E approval took about a week. Some notes on Sunline. Their entire staff was easy to work with, responsive and courteous. There is an attitude impressed upon them that the customer is king. We dealt with Jennifer and Hayden during the bid process, Rachel during the build/install phase, Alex in engineering and the installation team led by Cody. If something was needed such as a new quote or a revised engineering drawing, they would work into the evening or on weekends to complete it. Also, the installation team paid a lot of attention to job safety and details such as routing and painting conduit for aesthetic purposes. I had a lot of time to talk to the crew who were a very happy lot working for this company. Sunline commits to their employees as much as their customers. You do not want an unhappy work crew working on your roof. I did find out that a lot of the popular local solar companies (as well as national) use union contract labor on the installs which wasn?t as attractive to me as they do not typically have the loyalty that these employees had. Lastly, if you have ever been in business, you can appreciate the value of ?cash flow?. They do pay attention to this which tells me they are very well run. Make sure you pay your bill when invoiced, because they are on top of it. I was home during the entire installation and the crew seemed to have no problem with that. Being a retired engineer, I paid a lot of attention to what was going on and can say that the installation was done very professionally. Hats off to Cody! There were a few minor fits and starts along the way, but everything was completed in three days. Sunline Energy is a great company and we highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Designed and installed Solar System

Category electrician,solar panels

5.0

07/14/2015


dan C.

Did not use, the gentleman who gave quote no longer works at company and it was weeks later they finally called back. I liked the bid, just not the changes and late call back.

Description of Work
Went with another bid

Category solar panels

5.0

06/27/2015


Kenneth R.

Our solar consultant was very knowledgeable and listened to our concerns and objectives for a low-cost system. The installation progressed as originally planned. The entire process took about 3 months, which included the extra time needed for the service panel upgrade through SDG&E. Coordination and communication during the project was timely and informative. All crews were very courteous, professional and detailed in their explanation of the work to be performed. Workmen were on time, tidy in their work, and pleasant.

Description of Work
Installation of eight (8) 280W solar PV panels with micro inverters, envoy monitoring system, and service panel upgrade on concrete tile roof.

Category electrician,solar panels

4.0

02/05/2015


JEFF B.

Things went pretty well. They were here when they said they would be. There were a few delays in the project that I feel could have been prevented. The workers were fine. The project did take longer than expected.

Description of Work
They installed 21 solar panels on my roof.

Category solar panels

    Other local Pros in your area

    Solar Service Professionals

    Solar Services & Maintenance  

    EverySeasonSolar

    We supply solar panels, back up batteries and roofing services. We are fair priced and have various experts in each field. Several years, as a owner/recruiter/contractor with almost 18 years in these industries I have scene a great deal and have experience to help any customer issues to help them have seamless experience.  

    Offers by EverySeasonSolar on Angi
    Broadstreet Solar

    Free Power Until November with Broadstreet Solar's Exclusive In House Financing for purchase contracts. All Home-Owners Approved. Zero Down. No Credit Check, No Payments Until November for Equipment and Install. $700 off towards solar equipment and install for new 2022 solar purchase contracts. Bundle solar with battery back-up or Ev-charger and extend the 26% in governments credits towards bundled items. We offer competitive pricing while only using top rated manufacturers to guarantee quality and efficiency. Buy or Lease since 2009 our mission is to make solar fast, simple, reliable, and affordable for everyone under the sun. All home-owners approved for the Broadstreet Solar’s Leasing Program. Future options to buy at fair market value. Good or bad credit, all homeowners qualify for lease program. No down payment. No credit check. Start solar payments on next electric bill after install. Average 30% + reduction on electric bill monthly. (Including cost of install and solar equipment) Sit back, relax and let your new solar team take care of the heavy lifting. With 25 years of experience our team of certified professionals will design a personalized solar set-up based off satellite imagery and your annual energy usage. Handle all the paperwork, warranties, permits, government credits, inspections, etc... to make switching to solar care-free and as quick as possible. Install promptly after permit approval so you can start saving immediately and be up to date with California's new energy standard. (Some cases 7 days from contract to install) Start Your Free Solar Analysis Today. Included in solar analysis, required equipment for install, price of equipment and install, Broadstreet Solar's $700 discount, government credits, annual savings forecast, environmental impact forecast, and buy or lease options for comparison. 30 year guaranteed warranty on all Broadstreet Solar's installs and equipment Be proud of your savings. Not ashamed of your bill.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Photo-Voltaic Solar, Thermal (Pool) Solar, And General Remodeling Services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sunline Energy

    How is Sunline Energy overall rated?

    Sunline Energy is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Sunline Energy open?

    Sunline Energy is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Sunline Energy provide

    Sunline Energy accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Sunline Energy offer free estimates?

    Yes, Sunline Energy offers free project estimates.

    Does Sunline Energy offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Sunline Energy offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Sunline Energy offer emergency services?

    Yes, Sunline Energy offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Sunline Energy?

    Yes, Sunline Energy offers warranties.

    What services does Sunline Energy offer?

    Sunline Energy offers the following services: Photo-Voltaic Solar, Thermal (Pool) Solar, And General Remodeling Services.