Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service

Founded 2000 • With Angi since April 2005

4.9

(127) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7280 Mission Gorge Rd

San Diego, CA 92120

Description

I.S.A. Certified Arborists with over 35 years of experience serving SD County. Proud super service award winner 2006-2012, 2014!!! I.S.A. Certified arborist WE-6180A. State Comp. Insurance fund no. 1945000, LIC. NO. 775662...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/28/2018


KEN R.

Great - it stretched into one and a half days. The Dad bids the job, the son in law (?) leads the crew, then the Dad comes back to check up on things.

Description of Work
trim out a large Italian Stone Pine

Category hauling services, tree service

5.0

10/16/2017


Trish W.

Highly recommend Roy Schwartz Tree Service!

Description of Work
5 reviews 5.0 star rating 10/16/2017 We bought a home in Crown Pointe five years ago and within a few months the majestic coral tree in our backyard "failed." It literally broke in half due to the weight of the branches. I hired Roy Schwartz and he saved our tree. He now prunes it back annually in the fall and it grows back gorgeous in the spring and summer. His crew does a thorough job of cleaning up and they are all really nice people.

Category tree service

5.0

08/11/2017


max F.

excellent. work done quickly , cleaned up nicely.

Description of Work
remove tree and stump

Category tree service

1.0

04/10/2017


Ruth T.

Two other arborists came out free of charge to look at my trees and gave me written proposals containing more information than the "report" I received for $210 from this vendor. He ultimately refunded the fee and I would not recommend.

Description of Work
Visual inspection and written report containing recommendations for care.

Category tree service

5.0

03/04/2017


Arvid S.

I went with Roy's company because he is an arborist and so very knowledgeable about how a tree should be reduced, laced, or removed. He also has a truck/crane with a basket for the trimmer to stand in reaching the tops of all the trees. They also placed tarps over my garden so that the sawdust didn't pile up on my plants. When the crew arrived on Monday, January 16, 2017, I found out that the main tree guy, Justin Coppola, is also an arborist and very knowledgeable. There was a cleaner, Terry Thiel, who kept up with all the debris and when they finished at the end of the day, the place was so clean! These were very professional tree trimmers and I was so pleased!

Description of Work
Tree trimming and removal.

Category tree service

5.0

02/01/2017


Becky A.

Came out quickly, was professional and friendly. Estimate was very straight forward.

Description of Work
Estimate for tree trimming service

Category tree service

5.0

10/11/2016


Sandra S.

In at 8am, cleaned up and gone by 12:30!

Description of Work
Removed a large Mellaluca tree, trim, fed and shaped a Japanese Black Pine, trimmed and shaped two large Mellaluca trees and one other tree.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, It was a pleasure to work for you. Please call if you need the trees in the back yard looked at again. I am here for all your tree service needs. Sincerely: Roy Lee Schwartz ISA CERTIFIED ARBORIST WE-6180A
2.0

02/09/2016


BARBARA M.

I would have hired the son. The father was rude and a terrible businessman.

Description of Work
Last year Brian Schwartz provided a written estimate for having our trees trimmed. Since it was the end of March (and too late in the year to trim my pine trees) he instructed me to "hold onto the written proposal and that they would honor it the following year." Today the father, Roy Schwartz came to my home, looked at the same trees and at first wanted me to have an open ended cost for the job.."let's just see how much 2 men for 2 days can get done" . When I pressed him further to give me a total cost for the job..not "we'll see what we can get done" he gave me a price $4500 more than the original estimate.! When I showed him the signed proposal he said "I won't honor that my son did that. I rescind that proposal." Huh? Is the son not a representative of the company? Then he proceeded to be rude and when I said I would review the company on ANgie's list he said "Go ahead..and don't call us again." NO PROBLEM. The son seemed to be very polite, helpful and courteous person. I would have had praise for the son..the father Roy...not so much. Just as an aside, the son's original proposal was in line with other estimates I have received for the same job (even those by other certified arborists).

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Yes in the past 40 that I have been in business This some times happens jobs are under estimated, in this case not by me my 20 year old son. When you see the best deal in the world pass you by you get upset. I understand am guilty of this my self, but nobody likes to be taken advantige of. I tried to bow out respectfully, Sincerely: Roy Lee Schwartz ISA CERTIFIED ARBORIST WE-6180A An American Tree Service with American workers.
5.0

11/12/2015


Kathleen D.

Have used this company before, and again had great service from them. Contacted Roy on a Tuesday, he came out on Saturday to give me an estimate, and did the work on Tuesday. All work as requested, cleaned up and hauled away all trimmings and wood. Will use him again in the future, and have recommended him to others in the area.

Description of Work
Pruned and trimmed several trees in both my front and back yard, removed small dead birch tree that had fallen in recent storm.

Category hauling services, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the opportunity to take care of your tree service needs, it was a pleasure to work for you. please call if you need any trees taken care of. Thank you again, Sincerely Roy Lee Schwartz ISA CERTIFIED ARBORIST WE-6180A an American tree service with american workers.
5.0

09/09/2015


JoAnne O.

Roy and his son trimmed (basically restructured) this same Chinese Elm for me 3 years ago. They did an excellent job, so I called them again. Roy's son, Brian, did all of the trimming this time and Roy provided the estimate and checked in each day. It took 3 days to complete the work - most of 2 days were spent on the elm. They are both very professional and so are their workers. Always there on time and worked hard throughout the day. Brian was the only person in the tree this time, where 3 years ago, there was a 2nd cutter so it took a bit longer. For the elm we focused on safety as it is overhanging the roof and a couple of large branches had fallen (from about 40 feet up) because of the recent rain and wind. The two trees taken out were basic, taken out and stumps ground. The Olive trees are being hit by the drought and the glass winged sharpshooter that is killing olive trees and oleanders. Roy/Brian will only trim dead branches from Olive trees at this time for these reasons. Topping and Trimming live branches would let the bug in. These guys explain this type of stuff to you and do their best to protect the trees and help the homeowner. They answer any questions that I have and keep me informed on what is going on at all times. They may be a bit pricey but they know their business both being certified arborists. If you want someone to just cut & slash with no regard to what is good for the trees, you can find someone cheaper elsewhere. If you care about your trees and want the best for them, these guys will do that.

Description of Work
They trimmed a huge Chinese Elm, cut down and ground the stumps of a Chinaberry and Magnolia, trimmed 5 Olive trees.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

I drove by and looked at the tree, looks great.Thank you very much for the opportunity to take care of your tree service needs, it was a pleasure to work for you. please call if you need any trees taken care of. Thank you again, Sincerely Roy Lee Schwartz ISA CERTIFIED ARBORIST WE-6180A an American tree service with american workers.
5.0

07/15/2015


BEVERLEY H.

I like that they don't use cleats to climb trees, They are very professional and all are certified arborists. I like everything about their work.

Description of Work
They put some mite poison around a few trees and cleaned up yard.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/22/2015


Richard E.

I can not emphasize how pleased I am with the work done by Roy Schwartz and Son. From my initial contact with them throughout the entire process, everything was done in a professional manner. This began with the answering service who set up the initial appointment for a "free" estimate after hours on a Sunday evening. I really appreciated the free estimate, as I had noticed some other companies, who had lesser credentials actually wanted to charge to come out for an estimate. With regard to credentials, I will note, this is extremely important to me. The trees I had trimmed are approximately 60 years old and shade a pole barn on the property providing much needed shade for this structure. Because of their age, I wanted them to be trimmed and thinned correctly by someone who knew what they were doing. I've seen trees that have been "lion's tailed" that are ruined forever and did not want that to happen to these trees. Roy and his son, in addition to being certified tree workers, are also certified arborists. In other words, they have the training to to the job correctly and actually enhance the natural beauty of the tree. In addition, they took their time to explain to me what and why they were going to do and they gave me a written price quote for the work, which Roy also told me would not change even if it took more time than he estimated to complete the job. I will also note, they were extremely punctual, articulate and polite. Roy showed up to conduct the estimate exactly when he said he would and he and his crew showed up on time as well. They were also extremely considerate of my property and their equipment was clean, up to date and in excellent working order. They were very careful as they moved several large pieces of equipment around the property in some pretty tight quarters around the barn and surrounding orchard taking great care to not damage anything. I will also note, they are fully insured, including workman's comp, which I definitely appreciate. In closing, I will just note again how pleased I was with the entire experience. My trees look beautiful...better than I even hoped for. I will definitely have them come back to do additional work on some other trees. The bottom line...If you have trees you care about, let Roy and his son trim them. You will not be disappointed in my opinion!

Description of Work
Trim and thin large pepper trees

Category tree service

5.0

05/26/2015


Aubrie H.

They are seriously amazing. Super professional. Good price.

Description of Work
About 2 years ago we had them remove 2 GIANT trees, grind the stumps, clear away the debris, etc.. I think it was about $1600. We were so impressed with them. Fast forward to now, we hired them again to do some more removal. They are sooo professional, good pricing, high quality. Will use them for anything we need in the future.

Category tree service

5.0

04/14/2015


Marilyn S.

They were good. They left the area fine and the staff was fine. I think it was the father and the son. They were nice. The work didn't take long at all. They came when they said they would come, plus they answered my call pretty much right away. They also came out pretty much right away.

Description of Work
They did stump grinding.

Category tree service

5.0

03/25/2015


Byron C.

They showed up on time with a team of 5 men. They did a very careful job of tying off limbs. Nothing fell in neighbor's yard. It was all cleaned up and they were done in 6 hours total. I could not ask for more.

Description of Work
Removed a large dead pine tree leaning over neighbor's yard.

Category hauling services, tree service

5.0

03/18/2015


Jay A.

Brian, the son, arrived on time and went right to work. Both trees were removed quuickly, efficiently and safely. I was very impressed by the focus on doing the job the correct and safe way. I would recommend this company very highly.

Description of Work
They removed two Mexican Fan Palms

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much, Sincerely Roy and Brian
5.0

02/26/2015


Bill L.

They were expensive but, they were very good. Best performance on angies list. I have never seen a group work that hard.

Description of Work
I had a 10 trees thinned and also thinned out a quarter acre of shrubs.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure, Thank you.
5.0

12/30/2014


Beth A.

Roy promptly responded to my request for a quote. He was able to schedule me in within just a few days. Roy's son, Brian and another worker came out to do the job at the time promised. Both worked non-stop carefully trimming and lacing out our trees. After they were done they did a thorough cleaned up of all trimmings. I hired Roy first because both he and his son are certified arborists which is critical if you want the job done right. I was extremely happy with his service and there was a noticeable improvement to shape of our trees. I highly recommend them and will use them again.v

Description of Work
Trimmed three medium sized trees on property.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to take care of your tree. The health of your tree is very important to us.
5.0

10/30/2014


Jack W.

I left a message at the Schwartz number asking for a tree-work estimate and received a call back early the next morning from Roy Schwartz. He offered to do a free estimate right away. Within a few minutes he was at my door. After sizing up the job, he wrote me an estimate on the spot. I had made up a list of likely competitors to call before making a deal, and that is what I told Roy. But after he left I changed my mind. I had so appreciated Roy's professional approach and his price, which seemed super-reasonable to me, that I called him again and told him I wanted to go ahead. Then he told me he could do the work the next day, which was great. Roy and his crew arrived sharply at 8 the next morning. The morning crew consisted of Roy's son Brian and two helpers. Roy explained the job to them and got them started and was on-site off and on throughout the work. Brian did all the climbing and cutting, and did a masterful job, avoiding any damage to the chain-link fence that was one foot away on one side and landscaping piping that was two feet away on the other. The tree's trunk measured 3 feet in diameter at its widest part at ground level, holding up some very large limbs. All this was cut into sizes that the helpers could carry by hand down a 52-step bank that makes up much of my back yard. I'm guessing that each helper made at least 100 trips up and down. In the afternoon Roy added an additional helper to the crew. All-in-all, the work couldn't have gone better. The whole Schwartz company team did a superb job, and I will definitely call them on any future need for tree removal or trimming.

Description of Work
Took down one 50-year-old eucalyptus tree that failed to make it through this year's heat and drouth, cut the trunk and limbs into pieces that could be individually hand-carried from the very back of my 130-foot lot to the chipper in the street, cleaned up, and hauled away all debris.

Category hauling services, landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

We are here for you when you need us [MEMBER], it was nice talking to you thank you. Sincerely Roy and Brian
5.0

10/06/2014


MARYLOU J.

I have 3 Large (taller than house) Ficus trees in the front yard. Have not done any work in years as far as trimming, other than small reachable limbs. Dropping leaves and berries all over the place, limbs growing into phone/cable lines & way over the roof. I made an appointment to get a quote. Roy arrived on time and listened to what I wanted: trees cut back from cable/ electrical lines, limbs trimmed/ cut that were growing over next door neighbors yard, and all three thinned out. I liked what I heard about how carefully all that would be done, especially since the neighbors front yard has many potted plants. I made an appointment for the next week. Roy, his son Brian and another person (I have forgotten his name, I 'm sorry!) arrived on time & ready to go. Roy went over everything with Brian & the other person, & shared opinions about how to best go about it, such as shaping of the trees, how far back to cut the overgrown limbs, etc. He left after a while, & the work continued. Every so often I would go out & look, & if I had any questions Brian answered them right away. Limbs were put through the shredder as they went, so no big pile a the end. They worked very carefully & my neighbors yard & plants remained intact! Roy came back in a few hours, helped finish up the job & made sure everything was done to my satisfaction. They cleaned up all the branches, swept, cleaned the street that had trimmings as well as anything that fell on my neighbors "sidewalk" which is actually dirt. Best of all the trees are looking better than they have in many years! It takes a lot of knowledge to know how much of a tree you can remove, which limbs, & leave a pleasing shape & healthy tree. These guys know their stuff & I will never call anyone else but them!!! I was also pleased that the price quoted was actually lower with the Angie's List discount. Can't beat that!

Description of Work
Trimmed, laced 3 Ficus Trees

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure thanks.
5.0

09/17/2014


Richard S.

This is the second time we have used this company and we can't say enough about how good they were. They responded right away when we explained the damage a storm had caused and managed to work us into their schedule to get the tree off the wires. They were able to reduce (trimmed) some damaged limbs to save the tree. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Removed a very large fallen tree branch from wires, and reduced damaged limbs.

Category hauling services, tree service

5.0

09/16/2014


Doug G.

I searched Angie's List for a tree trimmer and found Roy L. Schwartz Tree Service just about a quarter of a mile from my house. I called him on Tuesday and his secretary set an appointment for the next day at 10:00 am. Roy was right on time, inspected the tree and gave me a good estimate ($575). I told him I found him through Angie's List and he said I would get a 5% discount; so the cost was only $546.25. He said his son (Brian) would be out to do the work tomorrow at 8:00 am. Brian was there right at 8:00 am with a big rig and chipper. He and his co-worker introduced themselves and got right to work. Brian climbed the tree and did the topping and trimming and his co-worker did the hauling and chipping. They were done in a couple hours and did a very good job. I was well pleased. During the job, Brian kept checking the see if I approved. I appreciated that. After the job we had a nice chat and he thanked me for the business. He and Roy (his father) were very nice and friendly and it would be my pleasure to recommend them to anyone that is looking for tree service.

Description of Work
They topped and thinned out a large Brazilian Pepper tree on my side yard.

Category hauling services, tree service

5.0

07/21/2014


Flora D.

This company was phenomenal! There is no other word for it. Roy came and gave me a very fair estimate and we scheduled the appointment for a few days later. The monster tree was situated on a slope in the back yard of a narrow lot. They made it all look so easy. They arrived on time. They slowly and carefully backed their massive truck with chipper trailer up the sloping front yard through the narrow passage into the back yard to the awaiting tree. They quickly and neatly setup for what I saw as a Herculean endeavor. However, to this well oiled machine it was just another Monday morning at work. The owner's son strapped on his gear and jumped into the bucket. Although the truck had to be parked close to the house it was never a problem. They were so careful every minute they were here. The crane arm lifted the bucket into the tree and so it began. Limb by limb they skillfully chiseled away at the giant nuisance. The chipper quickly devoured each and every bit of the tree and the mulch filled their giant truck. They methodically cut the massive trunk into chunks that the chipper could manage and cleaned all the residue from the top of the old shed and around the truck. I will absolutely use this company in the future and you should feel good about having them do work for you.

Description of Work
They removed a 55 year old, very overgrown, Pepper Tree. The tree was located near the property line on a slope in the back yard. The tree had enveloped an old shed and was difficult to get to but they made it look easy.

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

04/29/2014


Jessica M.

I sent Roy an email explaining what I wanted done and asked to schedule an appointment for an estimate. He responded through email that he got my message and would call me asap. And he did, got a call from him the next day and we set up an appointment for Monday between 9a and 10a. He arrived right at 9. Looked at both trees and gave me an estimate on the spot. It was competitive with another quote we had received (slightly cheaper) and he said he would honor an angie's list coupon. Made an appointment for Wed at 8am to complete the work. Got a call on wed around 730 that his son would be there at 8 but he got called away for another appointment. Totally fine. His son and partner arrived right on time took a look at everything and got right to work. Took them about 6hrs to complete everything including clean up and they checked in with me before cleaning up to make sure everything was as I wanted it. They did a great job removing the tree in the front, you would never know that a tree had been there, didn't even damage the grass around it and I didn't even think to ask that they be careful about that they just automatically did it. And they did just what we wanted with the back tree and the ridiculous root system that was spreading through our backyard. If you need tree work done I highly recommend using Roy and his team!

Description of Work
Removed an entire tree from front yard including stump and removed large branch of tree hanging into our property and the roots.

Category tree service

5.0

04/10/2014


ERIC D.

Right form the beginning I was impressed with the way Roy ran his company, specifically by having everyone there so he could introduce them to me by name. They are smart about what they do. They work as a team. They mean business. They are extremely down-to-Earth and easy to deal with. Every one of them knows what respect is all about. They treated me, my neighbors, my property, my neighbor's property, and the sidewalk and street in front of my house with respect. Before they started the 2nd tree they made sure I was happy with the first one. The two tall ones are approx. 50 feet tall and the beard of dead leaves was out of control because I had not had them trimmed in a long time. I still can't believe the price. And while he was here he showed me how to trim the Windmill Palm in my front yard. I appreciate that. It's time consuming to manicure that specific palm species and to have it done right costs money that I don't have right now. He actually showed me how to do it. At one point I asked him to take a look at my Grapefruit tree because I was having issues with it, pitiful fruit that drops early and yellowing of leaves and these brown spots with a yellow halo around it. He said he was 98% sure what the problems were, but before he told me he went to his truck to look up something. A short while later he told what it was. Citrus canker and I can't remember what the other issue was, but he was spot-on. I had not been on the internet regarding the grapefruit tree issues, but after they left on went on the internet and googled the symptoms and he was 100% correct on all counts. He nailed the issues, didn't miss anything. Copper fungicide treatment, fertilizer, and something else that he wrote down for me. After this review, I'm going to go but the stuff. I'm happy with the sick diagnosis, because now I can address it. The last thing each of them did before they left was thank me for my business. His son Brian thanked me for the opportunity for them to earn a new customer. I'm glad I called several other tree companies first. I appreciate what he did for me. I'm posting some pics.

Description of Work
I hired Roy and his company to trim 4 Mexican Fan Palms in my backyard. Two of them are very tall, and are planted on a steep hill along the fence, which makes it very tough for anyone to do. Roy knew the challenges, and was on-scene the entire time. Everyone showed up together and on time. I went Roy to the neighbor's house because they had some outdoor items that might've been broken from the falling debris. From start to finish the entire team knew what they were doing, cleaning up as they were working, paying attention to the way they were cutting. They impressed the tree sap out of me.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed] you are a awesome customer. Take Care.

    Other local Pros in your area

    River Rock Outscape

    In House Construction Crews. No Outsourcing. We own our own equipment. Free Estimates. 30% off entire project. We're a locally owned company, knowledgeable and experienced, in our second decade of servicing Southern California homeowners.  

    Lion Landscape

    With 10 years of experience in the field, we specialize in all phases of landscaping, hardscaping, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today! All phases of landscaping, hardscaping, and more! -- Don't see your need on our list of services? Give us a call to further discuss your needs! Don't see your need on our list of services? Give us a call to further discuss your needs!  

    California Smartscape

    At Cal Smartscape - San Diego Landscape & Design, our number one goal is to be the top-rated resource for your outdoor custom design and build projects. We specialize in the design and build of medium-to-large sized projects in the $80,000 to $500,000 range, providing superior customer service through the entire process, from concept to completion. Our team’s passion is to partner with you to turn your dream landscape into a reality. From patios and decks to barbeques and fire pits, we can do it all. Are you imagining yourself and your family dining al fresco under a cabana? Having fun contests on your very own custom putting green? Are you trying to save water without sacrificing beauty? Let us show you what we can do! Call us at 619-913-2350 for a complimentary consultation. We look forward to speaking with you! (CAL SMARTSCAPE is fully licensed, bonded and insured in the state of California).  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Recuring Maintenance, Cabling & Bracing, Tree Pruning, Logging & Land Clearing, Tree Planting, Shrubs, Hedges & Bushes, Brush Chipping, Insect Management, Tree Removal, Landscaping Services, Stump Removal, Tree Transplanting, Disease Management, Emergency Services, Palm Tree Services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service

    How is Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service overall rated?

    Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service open?

    Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service provide

    Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service?

    Yes, Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offers warranties.

    What services does Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offer?

    Roy L Schwartz & Son Tree Service offers the following services: Recuring Maintenance, Cabling & Bracing, Tree Pruning, Logging & Land Clearing, Tree Planting, Shrubs, Hedges & Bushes, Brush Chipping, Insect Management, Tree Removal, Landscaping Services, Stump Removal, Tree Transplanting, Disease Management, Emergency Services, Palm Tree Services.