Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

On-Site Techs

Founded 2005 • With Angi since August 2006

4.9

(138) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

113 West G Street #311

San Diego, CA 92101

Description

ON-SITE COMPUTER REPAIR AND SERVICE. Going Beyond the Expected. That's what we're all about at On-Site Techs. With over 23 years of experience, On-Site Techs is a quality computer repair and service company serving the greater San Diego area. Est 2005. On-Site Techs provides solutions. Plain and simple. Unlike the "big guys" we don't just stop at the first step and leave you hanging. We want to make your life easier by providing professional, skilled technical services at affordable rates. Services include (but are not limited to) laptop repairs and upgrades, data recovery, virus and/or malware removal, PC or Mac repair, and much more....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/27/2020


Martha O.

Very well. John brought a new keyboard and mouse and updated my pc so it now works perfectly. He also fixed my printer so that I can once again print from my iPhone and iPad. He works quickly also.

Description of Work
My keyboard and mouse were no longer working and my pc was slow

Category computer repair

5.0

01/09/2018


Jeffrey J.

Great! John Airy is the best in the business!

Description of Work
Debugging PCs using Microsoft operating system; also fixed printer connectivity problems

Category computer repair

5.0

11/12/2017


Jonathan M.

We are San Diegan volunteers who consistently use our computers daily. We have used On-Site Techs for three years; they are the most knowledgeable computer techs we have dealt with. Phone calls are returned promptly. Home visits to resolve issues are nearly immediate. Problems are solved right the first time. If John can’t figure out the problem on-site, he’ll take the CPU to his business and work on it until it repaired to his satisfaction. John Airy in our opinion is the best in the business with reasonable rates. We soon will replacr our 8-year old computers. Our strong confidence in John’s abilities and experience allows us to rely on him to tell us the brand, speed, type, and options we will need on the computers to buy where he will then set them up. We also find On-Site Techs website very useful; every from internet safety information to tutorials, data backup and more in plain language. Awesome company and a pleasure to do business with! Truly a 5-Star operation! Thanks John!!

Description of Work
Computer Assistance

Category computer repair

5.0

09/27/2017


CHARLOTTE C.

very well, considering my limited knowledge

Description of Work
help with new laptop

Category computer repair

5.0

09/25/2017


Pamela M.

Outstanding consistently. Responsive and thorough.

Description of Work
problem with email access.

Category computer repair

5.0

09/11/2017


DAVID and Soleil P.

John is very good at returning calls and emails, and quick to get to work on your computer. He is efficient, and wastes no time. John may work on your system by tapping in online or by coming to your home or office as needed. Your computer holds deeply personal information, and often confidential business data – you need to be able trust the technician who is working in this space. John is of the highest integrity. You can trust him. John is skillful with Windows based, Mac, and Linux computers. So whatever your platform, he can help you. In the San Diego area, John Airy of On-Site-Techs is who you go to for technical advice and computer support.

Description of Work
I've used John Airy of On-Site Techs for urgent computer repair three times over the last five years, and recently used his services when moving large amounts of data from an old system to a new platform.

Category computer repair

5.0

07/01/2017


Ronald B.

Excellent. John was very knowledgeable and competent. He was able to resolve all of my problems, check-out my system, install the memory, and give me good recommendations for system upgrades. He arrived on time and was very thorough and helpful.

Description of Work
Repair Bios problems on PC Windows 10, install new memory chips, advise on PC system upgrades, overall system checkup.

Category computer repair

5.0

07/01/2017


Ronald B.

John arrived promptly -- in fact he called and was able to arrive early. He was very courteous and competent. He was able to completely resolve the HP Color Laser Jet issue within 15 minutes. He utilized the remaining time of an hour to address my other concerns. All of my issues were fully resolved. I would definitely hire him again, and highly recommend him to others.

Description of Work
HP Color Laser Jet was not printing documents in color. Had tried to resolve myself and by contacting other PC services, but had not been able to fix the issue. Also wanted recommendation for effective, reliable malware, spyware, and antivirus software products and system backup products. Finally, evaluate and optimize PC system.

Category computer repair

5.0

06/20/2017


KIMBERLY F.

Hard drive was a goner (probably due to power surge.) I bought a new computer and John loaded "old" files that he was able to recover from a damaged back-up drive. John is extremely knowledgeable and fair. Lets you know all your options. Very prompt. and professional. The "at home service can't be beat.

Description of Work
Attempted hard drive recovery.

Category computer repair

5.0

06/19/2017


Karen G.

John came to work on the computer the day after I contacted him. He arrived at the time promised and was able to fix the computer in less than an hour. He also gave us advice on getting a newer operating system and recommended anti-virus programs. John does excellent work and I will call him again.

Description of Work
Our Dell computer wouldn't boot.

Category computer repair

5.0

04/11/2017


Jeffrey J.

Per usual, all went well. John Airy fixed the printer connectivity problems and made a number of other fixes at no charge. We have utilized the services of On-Site Techs for at least half a dozen years. John Airy is the absolute best; he is ALWAYS able to fix our IT problems at a very reasonable price.

Description of Work
Our home computers -- Microsoft and Apple -- lost connectivity with our printers; we asked John Airy to fix this problem.

Category computer repair

5.0

03/20/2017


Meredith E.

We've never had to ask for a solution a second time; John gets it right the first time.

Description of Work
On-Site has been our go-to for computer support for about 5 years now. John is not only very knowledgeable and current,he is honest, honorable and listens carefully to YOUR needs. He always has "a little extra something" that he brings to his appointments too. He's our ONLY choice for computer issues

Category computer repair

5.0

02/15/2017


Claire B.

They listen to the problem you are having. They fix it and if you want him to explain it to you he will. If you don't he just goes ahead and fixes it. If you need a part, he will go get it and come back and puts it in. It is a generally good over all service. Really good customer oriented.

Description of Work
They set up my desk top to get it up and running.

Category computer repair

5.0

02/15/2017


Claire B.

One person came out to work on my computers and it took him about an hour. When I call them, they make an appointment through their business line, but the tech that I work with always calls up to see to find out more about what is going on and to see if he can over faster. They always show up faster and always takes care of things. If something is not done right, he will come back and not charge anything.

Description of Work
They worked on my lab top and my desk top computer. It was for some repair work and connectivity problems.

Category computer repair

5.0

01/30/2017


Deborah D.

All went well. We have used John's services extensively and a number of times over the past several years.

Description of Work
Business use computers problems, new computer set up, and backup set up.

Category computer repair

5.0

01/13/2017


JOSEPH F.

John was available the day I called him. He arrived promptly and immediately started running a bunch of tests to help him diagnose the problem. It ended up being lots of dust inside the computer. He cleaned it out, ran some more tests, cleaned up the hard drive, made a couple of suggestions (new mouse) and my computer is running great. Very knowledgeable and very professional.

Description of Work
My computer had "blue screen" problems for about a month. The day John was scheduled to come it completely stopped working

Category computer repair

5.0

09/08/2016


Jeffrey J.

The PC was properly repaired and works fine now. Comment: The DELL will be our very last computer with a Microsoft operating system. We have multiple APPLE products which are MUCH more reliable. Yes, APPLE products cost significantly more than computers with Microsoft operating systems. In our view, APPLE's superior quality/reliability are well worth the price differential. If you have problems (rare, in our experience) with an APPLE product, you take it to an APPLE store and they fix it at no cost.

Description of Work
Our new DELL laptop PC stopped working properly following on-line installation of Microsoft 10 "upgrade." Technician reloaded Microsoft 10 properly.

Category computer repair

5.0

04/10/2016


Christopher B.

I called On-Site Techs and spoke with someone who informed me she could not specifically answer my questions about the repairs I needed. She was very nice and took a message to have John (Owner) call me when he finished a service visit. I received a call from John a short time later and informed me I most likely had an issue which would either be a relatively simple fix, or one which I would need to contact a data recovery company. I made the appointment for the following week and John showed up at my house early after contacting me to make sure it was okay. John inspected my laptop and determined the issue was different than I had believed, and was confident he could get the data I needed transferred. John took the laptop since it would be a pretty involved process. John contacted me two days later and told me he was successful in retrieving the data. John brought the laptop back to my house and showed me where the data was stored. I was very impressed with John's professionalism and abilities to get the job done quickly and correctly. I would recommend John and his company to anyone. Although the cost is a little (just barely) high, I was able to apply a first-time user coupon which brought it down. And I certainly can't complain because I'm sure his prices are right in line or cheaper than any other company out there, it is just the specialized cost of computer repair. Hopefully I do not need to have repairs done again (I learned my lesson of using a back up drive), but in case I do, I will contact John first.

Description of Work
Recovered data from a broken laptop and transferred to an external hard drive.

Category computer repair

3.0

09/26/2015


Caroline C.

I wrote a review here based on what my mother told me, which is that John had made a house call to transfer their data onto a new iMac, but had done it off site and when they started their new computer, their pictures were missing. I added that my dad had offered their old machine to John and he had accepted it. That did not sit well with the computer's co-owner. I just heard from my father, who says John told him about this review and that I should change it. According to my father there are still some pictures but they are "all jumbled." I don't know what that means, and I have not heard from my mother. It does not sound like they can launch Photos (the new iPhoto) and see what they used to see with iPhoto, but it also sounds like their pictures are somewhere on the hard drive. If I find out, I will update this. I want to remind anyone who works with the elderly that if one half of a couple gives you a computer, you cannot know that the other half, who might be present, but silent, agrees. Do not take working iMacs as gifts from the frail elderly. If you are on a house call to transfer their data from one machine to another, do it on the premises. Do not take the machines offsite for any reason. Make sure they can find the things they care about: Their web browser and bookmarks and any saved passwords it might store. Their Photo viewer, with all photos accounted for. Their contacts. Etc. Anyone over 65 is considered elderly and taking advantage of them carries special penalties.

Description of Work
Something similar to transferring their data from my 80 year old parents' old iMac to a new one. Accepted the old iMac as a gift.

Category computer repair

Service Provider Response

To Whom It May Concern: Most of this is a simple misunderstanding due to second hand accounts. Anyone who reads our reviews will understand these accusations are inconsistent with On-Site Techs' reputation and business practice. As the technician on-site, I will attempt to clarify what took place. June and Dr. Collins (as he preferred to be called) made four on-site appointments with us. At the time Dr. Collins had a broken arm and June was helping him write things down. They had a new iMac and needed the data transferred from the old one. June had also forgotten her email password and they both needed instruction on using their new iMac. June 10th 2015 At the first appointment, I worked with Dr. Collins in selectively transferring all the data from their old iMac. This transfer was done through their old USB hard drive, which I recommended be replaced. The old iMac had major performance issues, which slowed the data transfer. I specifically confirmed each data folder was transferred with Dr. Collins and asked specifically about any additional locations or programs that needed to be transferred. Everything was transferred to his satisfaction at that time. After this was completed, June needed help logging into her email account, but she could not remember her password or the answers to the email account's security recovery questions, so a new Gmail account was created for her. After this, the three of us covered the basics of how to use their new iMac and concluded the appointment. The old iMac was not taken to recycle at this time and they were charged fairly for the service time. June 23rd 2015 At the second appointment, further instruction was given on web browsing and computer basics. They were having a tough time adjusting to the new Mac. Some font size and video resolution settings were adjusted to make it easier for them to see and we wrote down detailed step by step instructions on how to do various important tasks (emailing etc.). At the end, Dr. Collins opted to have the old iMac taken for recycling. Consistent with our business practice, he was told that it was his equipment and asked whether he had anyone else he wanted to give it to first. Having been in business 10 years, we are always sensitive to these situations and work to avoid misunderstandings. And all systems are erased prior to being recycled. July 30th 2015 The third appointment was prompted by Dr. Collins over concerns that his “Stickies” (notes) were missing and that they could not find the pictures. By this time the old iMac had been set aside for recycling. Jumping to action, I had it retrieved so its data could be assessed. The Mac was failing and we had to purchase professional data recovery software for Mac and perform a data recovery scan. The scan ran all night and retrieved 56.70 GB of data. This data was then copied to a new Western Digital USB drive and delivered the next day. At the third appointment, it turned out that his iPhotos icon was simply hidden away in the Applications menu (an Apple organizational decision on new iMacs) and when we opened it, it came up with pictures he recognized. All seemed well except for the missing “Stickies” which could not be retrieved. The various “Stickies” files which were recovered were corrupted. He was charged only $100 to cover the cost of the new backup drive. Additionally the new drive was set up to back up the new iMac using TimeMachine. July 10th 2015 At the fourth and final appointment, I returned again at no charge to help with continued iMac questions. At that time I resolved a minor account issue. It turned out be a false alarm because they had simply had logged into the wrong account and were not seeing what they expected. Over all, every effort was taken to resolve all the issues. Everything that could have been done was done to rescue the data and help with instruction. We have the utmost respect for the elderly and are sensitive to help them get the most out of their computer experience. I often say of computers, “Like with a car, you shouldn't have to be a mechanic in order to use one.” This same respect was shown toward the Collins. Procedure was properly followed. We also take data loss very seriously. This is why we emphasize data backup in our newsletters so often. What could have been transferred, was transferred. Thus, it was an entire surprise to receive such a negative review after all that was done. However, since Caroline didn't know all these details, I completely understand how she feels and encourage her to contact me with any questions. I'll be glad to help in any way I can, and hope she will consider changing her review. I extend our apologies for every dissatisfaction and for the data that could not be recovered. Sincerely, John Airy On-Site Techs
5.0

06/17/2015


Jonathan M.

John's knowledge about computer hardware/software is extensive; clearly he knows what he's doing. John checked out both computers. He corrected the slowness of my computer and gave both computers a thorough examination; correcting problems when necessary. John installed a new security software program. My computer has never operated so quickly on and off the Internet. John was here for a couple hours, fixed everything, and could answer all questions and gave good sound advice on external hard drives and new computers. We certainly will contact John again when problems arise. Thank you, John!

Description of Work
Check slow-running computer and correct as necessary.

Category computer repair

5.0

02/27/2015


Joan M.

No more problems. John fixed it like new. He is a personable, competent, detailed, knowledgeable, person you would be fine with having in your home. He reads a computer screen like a book. I would have him again and recommend him.

Description of Work
Malware had been left in my computer so it couldn't download upgrades such as Explorer 11.The geeks from that big box store got my computer running, but barely. Don't understand all the details but it had to be taken back down to the basics like when it was new and have everything reinstalled. He did both on site and off site repairs. If it needs to be fixed he'll find the problem and fix it.

Category computer repair

5.0

11/20/2014


David E.

Very happy with them. Something else showed up after the viruses were eliminated and they took care of it for no additional cares. We would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They got rid of a Trojan and several other viruses and they installed a new hard drive on our Dell PC.

Category computer repair

5.0

09/24/2014


susan S.

John, the owner, first was very responsive by returning my original phone call over the weekend when I just wanted information, though he does not work on Sundays. My second call was to schedule an appt and his staff was very friendly and efficient. The day of the appt, John called to ask if it would be convenient for him for him to arrive early. He was very friendly, professional, and very knowledgable. He answered all my questions and went through my computer to be sure it was operating at the correct speed and had all the safety protection possible installed, cleared out data that was unnecessary and installed a program. He is a true professional with integrity and honesty and a willingness to be helpful and satisfy his customers.

Description of Work
hooked my printer to my computer, did some computer instruction, installed programs, cleared out unnecessary information from computer, checked operating systems and fraud protection.

Category computer repair

5.0

08/11/2014


Marsha G.

John with On-Site Techs listened to the issues I was having with my PC (screen would freeze) and did diagnostics to eliminate possible causes. Ultimately he identified the issue and also helped with a connecting a printer to the network. John is very knowledgable and helpful.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and provided corrective action for computer issue.

Category computer repair

5.0

07/08/2014


BILL R.

John called 2 hours earlier than the appointment, which i made the day before. Exceptional skills working on our IMAC. He solved problems with our wi-fi extenders and several streaming video devices. All of this less than 2 hours. He was very personable and professional. he also gave good recommendations for changes we can make in the future. We now have a go-to person/company for the future.

Description of Work
resolved several home network issues

Category computer repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    My Computer Works

    When your P.C. , Tablet or Cell Phone has you stumped you need an American based tech team on speed dial: Call Now: 877-378-9258. Remote, online, and in home support from the good old USA. In need of a performance improving tune-up? Have a virus or spyware issue? We have you covered. Have questions about a program, your printer, importing photos, working with websites, working with your computer, or just needing advice on what to buy? My Computer Works membership gives you go to access to the IT support you need, a data-back up solution second to none, and training all in one place.  

    Offers by My Computer Works on Angi
    NETTNUANCE

    NETTNUANCE ..."Transform your Technology" We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Computer Consulting and Repair services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE remote estimate today! Virus/Malware removal Software installations Laptop/ Pc optimization. Computer Training and Consultation Network/Server Installs Remote Support (SOFTWARE & TRAINING ONLY) Data recovery and Backup Cloud Information Services Small Business Consultations (Technology) Excluded services: Broken Keyboards, screens, track pads ect.  

    Mike's Computer Repair

    Please call Mike at 480-580-9648. I opened Mike's Computer Repair (480-580-9648) in 1994 with the desire to provide honest, reliable and friendly computer services in Maricopa County and across the United States. I provide on-site computer repair at your home or office for any problems or upgrade issues you may be having. I am also able to use remote access software to control your computer and address problems without having to visit. Not sure what to do? Call 480-580-9648 and It will always be Mike that answers the phone! 480-580-9648  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Computer Training
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details.
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    On-Site Techs offers a broad array of services. ✦Laptop Repair ✦Home and Office Networking ✦PC and Mac Upgrades ✦Computer Maintenance and Updates ✦Remote Support ✦Fix Security Issues ✦Setup and Update Anti-Virus ✦Fix Software Problems ✦Update and Upgrade Software ✦Computer Delivery & Setup ✦Computer and Software Tutoring

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about On-Site Techs

    How is On-Site Techs overall rated?

    On-Site Techs is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are On-Site Techs open?

    On-Site Techs is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does On-Site Techs provide

    On-Site Techs accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal

    Does On-Site Techs offer free estimates?

    No, On-Site Techs does not offer free project estimates.

    Does On-Site Techs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, On-Site Techs offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does On-Site Techs offer a senior discount?

    No, On-Site Techs does not offer a senior discount.

    Does On-Site Techs offer emergency services?

    Yes, On-Site Techs offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by On-Site Techs?

    No, On-Site Techs does not offer warranties.

    What services does On-Site Techs offer?

    On-Site Techs offers the following services: On-Site Techs offers a broad array of services. ✦Laptop Repair ✦Home and Office Networking ✦PC and Mac Upgrades ✦Computer Maintenance and Updates ✦Remote Support ✦Fix Security Issues ✦Setup and Update Anti-Virus ✦Fix Software Problems ✦Update and Upgrade Software ✦Computer Delivery & Setup ✦Computer and Software Tutoring