Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Natural Aspect Gardenscape

Founded 1969 • With Angi since October 2008

4.9

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 19147

San Diego, CA 92159

Description

Landscape walk through design and installation. Makeovers are a specialty. Educated employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. May contact through email or phone. Free consultation. Additional services: Pavers and concrete. Patio covers, pergolas, railings, decks, stairs & fencing. Water features & lighting. Lawns & artificial sod. Clean-ups & makeovers. Low water use and low maintenance specialist. Semiannual maintenance on pruning, cleanup and irrigation tuning available....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/10/2020


Matt R.

Travis and his team were very easy to work with. From the start he was able to build on our ideas to help with the design aspect and help turned our drab backyard into both pleasing to the eye as well as functional area for us to utilize. The paver designs were lovely and expertly installed and the plants selections were beautiful. I strongly recommend them as they are involved from start to finish of the entire project, including drafting up designs and HOA documents needed for community based projects. My wife and I will enjoy our backyard for years to come.

Description of Work
Pavers, dog run, plants, irrigation, drainage

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

04/29/2020


Lisha S.

Travis and his team transformed my muddy backyard into a beautiful outdoor space we love. With weeks of rain and businesses affected by COVID-19 Natural Aspects still got the job done and done very well! I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Pavers, retaining wall, landscaping, irrigation and lighting

Category awnings, landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

12/12/2019


Nathan R.

Our experience was start-to-finish terrific. Travis is a great communicator; professional, timely, and honest. It's very clear that this team wants to get the job done properly. He overcame some unexpected hurdles in his resourcing, and weather to really shine. They took care to pick up palm tree arrangements weighing several hundred lbs a piece, transport, then install them in our front yard. Loads of extra dirt displaced, and the crew simply loaded it in their trucks, and transported it away. The job was completed quick without a trace of debris left. Our lawn is stunning, and I'll have Travis on speed dial for our very next needs.

Description of Work
pick up, delivery, and in-ground planting of mid size palm trees and plants

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

05/05/2019


Cynthia U.

Travis and his team listened carefully to our design ideas and enhanced them further. They were professional, punctual, hard working, and extremely knowledgeable regarding all aspects of the project, quick to answer questions and generous with their time. They have transformed our yard into a multi-faceted outdoor living space which is both beautiful and functional. We couldn't be more pleased!

Description of Work
Replacing backyard lawn with drought resistant plantings, installing hard scape, drip system, lights

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

03/28/2019


Diane B.

Travis and crew immediately solved the non-functioning irrigation and lighting problems. They listened to what I wanted done on a steep bank. They purchased and planted needed plants. They purchased and installed small boulders, matching those already in place, to better shore up the bank and support plantings. They then covered the entire area with shredded mulch. It looks great!

Description of Work
trouble shoot exterior lighting, irrigation system, shore up and replant steep bank

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, pavers, gravel, outdoor lighting

5.0

03/07/2019


Andrea B.

Our new front yard looks amazing!!! I look forward to driving up to my house, it’s beautiful!! Travis & his crew were awesome! They were so nice, professional & super flexible & open to all my changes. The plants they used were perfect!!! I didn’t pick out anything...I gave Travis an idea of a few things I liked & trusted what he picked out. I’m so glad I did before I love everything!! I definitely recommend it these guys!!! Travis really listens to exactly what you want. They are true to their word, do great work & im so happy for my new front yard!

Description of Work
Our front yard

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

02/24/2019


Theresa G.

Travis and his team did a wonderful job at completing our front yard landscaping vision. They worked with us to come up with a plan that fit our esthetic and budget. They weren’t pushy or upsellers like some of the companies I had previously interviewed. They were knowledgeable about which types of plants to use where and why, they were punctual and completed the job in a very timely manner, they were professional and left the site clean and tidy each day, and they even did little things to go above and beyond (brought our trash cans out on trash day without being asked, refilled our dog’s water when it was low, etc.). We had a very positive experience with Travis and his team and we were very happy with our curb appeal after they completed the job. We would recommend them for a landscaping job.

Description of Work
Front yard landscaping

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service

5.0

02/18/2018


Rebecca L.

It was a very large and difficult project but they arrived daily and were very thorough through to the end. Landscapers that I didn't mind having on my property. Their ideas and input were very helpful.

Description of Work
Entire backyard remodel. Removed old grass and existing irrigation as well as broken concrete patio floor. Over grown plants removed. Designed new plan and implemented.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

01/04/2018


Devon O.

Travis and his crew did an AMAZING job! Our yard went from dried up dirt, weeds and dead plants, we were embarrassed to have family and friends over, to this amazing landscaped yard. Now includes decomposed granite walkaways, different types of pants, a pergola we can sit under during the day or night and a beautiful fire pit we can sit around and just enjoy the transformation that Travis provided. Absolutely love it!

Description of Work
Complete landscape of front yard.

Category decks, landscaping, irrigation systems, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

12/12/2017


Sarah S.

We were thrilled with the result. We’ve done a lot of work to our home and have never had such a positive experience with a company.

Description of Work
We had a pergola built, hardscape, a fire pit and landscaping.

Category awnings, landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

5.0

09/25/2017


Helen B.

Excellent - very professional and gave us exactly what we wanted

Description of Work
Landscaping front and back yard

Category landscaping

5.0

09/25/2017


Helen B.

Travis designed the back yard and we could not be more happy with the turnout. The pavers and landscape are beyond what we could have even imaged. My husband decided to have a putting green set up in one section of our yard versus just artificial grass. It was no problem for them to switch things up for us. The guys, did an awesome job and even designed it similar to a popular golf course to make it a little "tricky" for my husband. These are the nicest bunch of "young" men I have met in a long time and nothing but good to say about them and their work ethic. We will miss seeing them in our yard every day...but when duty calls - they must move on to the next yard and make it just as beautiful as they left ours. We HIGHLY recommend them. Thank you Travis and Team for everything!! Helen and Keith

Description of Work
We bought a brand new home and needed the back yard completely landscaped. Travis and his team were so nice, helpful, professional, punctual and they all worked so hard every minute they were on our property. Prior to them leaving each day they organized the tools and even blew off the driveway and dirt/dust they may have left behind during their day of work.

Category landscaping

3.0

08/28/2017


Gretchen H.

Before we began the project I asked specifically about the warranty. My yard doesn't take to everything firs time, which is why I was finally hiring professionals. So I wanted to know the plan if things didn't work out. I was assured they'd be back to take care of anything that I wasn't happy with or that didn't work out. I agreed and trusted. The project started two months later than scheduled, but once they got started they worked quickly. However, it overlapped with a scheduled family vacation. When we got back, everything was finished. Great! Except we'd been told we'd have a say on what plants went where. Which we didn't. That was the first of a lot of empty commitments. Everything looked really nice at the beginning, though it wasn't what I would have selected if I'd been here. But it was all done, so I worked with it. However, as expected, some of the plants died off or didn't take to their placement. They came once at the very beginning and took care of some that were DEAD. About two others that looked like they were on their way out, I was told 'you can replace those if they don't work out'. That didn't seem like the right answer after a $20,000 bill, but I figured I'd have a chance to address it if I needed to. That chance never came. Because they never came back. I was told repeatedly they'd come back and take care of things but they never did. Then the January heavy rain came and we had a nice little river and gulley formed out of the DG they installed in the front of our house. I arranged my schedule to be at home to meet them. And they didn't come AGAIN. They'd had a flat. Sent me a photo as proof. I haven't heard from him since. That was three days ago. I'm DONE. Now, I need to hire someone else to come back and take care of things that are out of my scope. See photos. Withhold 10% until your warranty period is over.

Description of Work
Install irrigation and landscaping

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

08/28/2017


Gretchen H.

Everything went GREAT! My only complaint was having to wait so long to have it done because they were working on finishing another larger project. Travis was so responsive and professional throughout the whole process. And his crew is great! We loved having these guys around the house. These projects always require monitoring and minor tweaking. Travis has been great there too. I can highly recommend them and would absolutely hire them again for another job.

Description of Work
Travis and the crew at Natural Aspects completely re landscaped our yard which was in a long overdue need of a rehab. They installed subterranean drip to distribute water efficiently to isolated areas for some foliage. They dug a french drain to move water away from our house for the occasional San Diego deluge that puddle badly in areas of our yard. They installed a beautiful paver/patio area in our front, accented by a tree and some potted plants. And they set up and built my requested vegetable garden.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

08/22/2017


Linda J.

Travis and his team are prompt, even going as far to call and tell us they are on their way. They are polite, professional and courteous. They clean up well at the end of each day. They were delightful to work with. These guys worked so hard in the hot weather and they came prepared with all the plants and everything they needed. The end product was above and beyond our expectations and we are currently working with Natural Aspects to do additional work. They are an A++ company.

Description of Work
We needed our side yard planted and parts of the backyard and front yard spruced up, planted and designed. We also needed an underground drip irrigation system. I called Travis and explained what I needed AND that I really wanted it done in time for a special event I was hosting in just a few weeks. Travis and his team were phenomenal. They are experts in the field and made a very special effort to not only do the job, but to have it completed for my event, even working evenings and weekends. They listened to what I wanted, addressed my concerns, it was honestly, among the best experiences we could have had. Natural Aspects is the best in the business and I recommend them with the highest possible ranking. You will be delighted.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

06/20/2017


Gloria G.

I first met Bob in 2015 about landscaping my fixer-upper that was in bad shape. I was very impressed with his plan and knowledge but he was unavailable for a while and being anxious to complete the job, I hired another company that dragged the job on for 7 months and cost much more than bid with all the add-ons. I sure wish I'd waited for Bob! He was kind enough to repair the mistakes of the other landscaper, including a water run-off issue. He knows landscaping and what works and doesn't in our area! I so trusted him that I hired him to re-landscape my daughter's ugly front yard in June, 2016 as a gift. It is beautiful! She, her husband and friends all love it! Bob continues to be available, always professional and on time. He helped me with a mini-orchard, herbs and even when I can't figure out the timer! His crew are equally professional and friendly. They all know my grandson by name and allowed him to "help"; that tells who they are. Bob isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. Unfortunately, I learned the hard way. Bob stands by his work. If you have questions, he's on it by phone or a visit. I highly recommend Natural Aspect Gardenscape!

Description of Work
1) Repair of poorly installed sprinkler system and some plants by another company. $4,100 2) Re-landscaped by daughter's front yard as a gift. $8,000 3) Planted an orchard and replaced plants. $1,500

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, lawn treatment

5.0

04/14/2017


Deborah G.

We couldn't be happier! Travis listened to our ideas then turned them into an amazing reality. Our dead lawn was replaced with a mulch bed of low maintenance plants plus a shade tree and a bench. Pavers accented the property line and also extended the edge of the drive to create a handy pathway. The dog-friendly crew arrive promptly each morning and cleaned the area each night. Work was completed in about a week. They set up the irrigation system and pre-programmed water schedule. Small touches like wrapped all my new plants in chicken wire to protect against gopher damage were signs that this crew is committed to a great long-term landscaping.

Description of Work
Replace a small suburban lawn with drought tolerant landscaping and drip irrigation.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

5.0

03/30/2017


Henry G.

Natural Aspect Gardenscape turned our wish list into a 'dream come true'. Bob Guthrie was extremely knowledgeable and most helpful with his excellent recommendations. He worked side by side with his experienced and professional crew. Every detail was taken care of from the planning, the planting, the carefree and water conserving system installed, to the meticulous cleanup. We can now enjoy our lovely landscaped front yard, our new fountain planter filled with happy plants, an artistic decomposed granite pathway leading to our orchard filled with many types of fruit trees, and a picturesque stone bench resting under our giant Indian Laurel Ficus tree. We feel very fortunate to have found and chosen Natural Aspects Gardenscape.

Description of Work
We had a large grassy area in the front yard and backyard. We needed better water conservation in those areas. The border around the house and down the walkway to the front door needed to be landscaped. There is a fountain in the front yard that sat empty for years. Behind the grassy area in the backyard was a large dirt area. We envisioned a lovely orchard with a variety of fruit trees. We just didn't know where to start to make any of this happen

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel

5.0

03/21/2017


Kelley J.

Bob and crew are amazing. Bob is very knowledgeable about different flowers/plants...he makes it easy for someone like myself who knows nothing about plants and just wants a beautiful yard without putting forth much effort. Bob did just that. My yard looks amazing and essentially runs itself. My yard is very shaded but Bob found shade plants that actually have color, growing vines up the stairs, and beautiful pots with potted plants for added texture and appearance. Bob's crew works hard and nonstop. They were at our house everyday and from 7-4 and ate lunch on the job. They were very active with my 3 1/2 year old and let him help anytime he wanted. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Bob and crew landscaped our entire front yard including: replacing the entire sprinkler system and creating multiple paths throughout the property.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/21/2017


Cheryl M.

It was awesome! Owner, Bob Guthrie, and his crew were incredible- stayed to the time line, courteous, respectful, responsive, hard working, neat and orderly. The design and final results are just what we hoped for! We get tons of compliments on our landscaping. People have even stopped when driving by to comment on how beautiful our yard is now! Please note that the photos submitted were made st job completion in August 2016. Now all of the plants have doubled in size and height and have spread out. Many of the plants are flowering and attract butterflies and humming birds.

Description of Work
We had our mostly dead grass lawns - both front and back yard completely killed, torn out and beautifully landscaped in drought resistant plants and beautiful rock designs. All new irrigation and drip systems were also installed. Old brick work yard borders were repaired and the original design was duplicated to match in the new design. Old raised garden area masonry was repaired. The stucco walls were water proofed at ground level and below.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, masonry, pavers, gravel

5.0

03/14/2017


Maria C.

Bob and his team did a wonderful job. They showed up on time and kept to the schedule. Bob consulted me througout the project, especially on the plant selection. He followed up after a couple of weeks to check on the condition of the plants and adjust the irrigation system. Every time I call with questions he is always very responsive. My neigbors have complimented me on my yard. I think I have the nicest yard in the neighborhood!

Description of Work
Added planting beds with drought resistant plants in front yard. Prior to that the front yard consisted of rocks only. Changed sprinkler system to drip. Reshaped and decreased existing lawn in backyard and increased patio area with decomposed granite. Added additional plants to back hill and border along lawn in back yard.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel

5.0

03/11/2017


DENISE S.

Bob and his crew did an excellent job cutting and installing the railings. When they were finished, the redwood posts and railings blended in perfectly with our landscape! The quality of the workmanship and the expertise of every worker was beyond our expectations!

Description of Work
Installed railings on two steep hillsides.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/09/2017


Steven J.

I was very pleased with all aspects of the process, and I would definitely hire Natural Aspect again for this kind of work. Bob Guthrie is knowledgeable and conscientious. He had good ideas and advice, and he worked with us to make sure the plan fit our wishes. The job wasn't cheap, but he helped us make choices to keep the cost as low as we could. He was open to making changes as the work proceeded. The work was done quickly, and he follows up to make sure everything is going well. Weeks after the job was finished, I email him with questions about maintaining the yard and get prompt answers. Once we had agreed on the general plan, we trusted Bob to fill in a lot of the details. Again, we were very happy with the results. These guys have the skills to do excellent work, and they care about pleasing their customers.

Description of Work
We hired Natural Aspect to completely re-landscape our front and back yards, to improve the irrigation, and to make the yards more drought-tolerant with less water use. They worked with us to come up with a plan that improved the look of the yards while replacing old sprinklers with more efficient drip irrigation.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel

5.0

03/08/2017


Chip W.

From beginning to end, Bob was knowledgeable, communicative, punctual and honest. He was completely willing to answer questions, even on things that didn't directly involve the remodel. We will definitely have Natural Aspect back when we do the back yard.

Description of Work
Bob did a complete revision of our front yard: demolition to final detail lighting.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

03/05/2017


Nancie G.

Absolutely exceeded our expectations. We had quotes from at least 3 other companies and I interviewed several others by phone. We wanted a company that could do it all WELL and after meeting with a few others learned quickly that while they may say they could do it all, the focus was on hardscape (where more money can be made). Bob listened to what we wanted while others didn't listen to our concerns about problems we had faced living in our home for 25 years and what had occurred with prior landscaping, plants and trees as they matured. Key things we liked: -Prompt communication before, during and after project was completed. The highly unusual San Diego rain storms began the day after they finished and Bob called to check to see how everything held up, how the drainage worked, etc. -Down to earth man - no hype, no high pressure - obviously skilled in what he does and highly knowledgable -Very fair price for the work done given the difficulty of our yard's composition, and the quality of the planting and hardscape materials used -Incorporated our ideas into the final project in ways that were even better than we had hoped -Bob, the owner, is on site daily with his crew, working alongside them -They do one job at a time. They are not juggling multiple jobs at the same time, so when they start yours, they work on it until they finish. Ours was a 8 day project but projected to be 2 weeks. That's a HUGE plus in our opinion. -Able to do hardscape, softscape, irrigation, lighting, construction and probably more so no juggling multiple contractors or having inflated pricing -Licensed contractor -Great crew that worked hard and very well together as a team -I appreciated that none of the crew smoked -They started early in the morning and worked thru the afternoon, with a lunch break, and were ALWAYS on time. They brought their lunch so didn't disappear like some other contractors have that worked on our house. -They cleaned up the site daily, and when some dirt got on our neighbor's front sidewalk/porch, they blew it off as part of their end of day clean-up. (This was not requested by us - it was done automatically.) -Bob was so skilled in what he selected and in the layout of our yard that I ultimately trusted him to just DO IT and we were WOWED with the final result. Given my personality, that says a lot. -They even cleaned our first floor windows on the last day of the job due to the dirt from demo and installation. You may have to wait for them to finish a job before they can start yours but we promise, it is worth the wait. Now we are enjoying watching the plants mature and bloom, with more to come. It's already gorgeous - and all who see our yard remark on the transformation and beauty. We highly recommend them, and have recommended them to others already. One small area of the overall project is pictured.

Description of Work
Hardscape, softscape, landscape design, plant selection, irrigation, fence construction (to hide garbage/recycling cans and A/C), some demo of front and back yard. Basically, a complete redo of our yard to make it look better, be water wise and maintenance free (to the extent possible). The only thing we didn't have Bob do was the lighting, which my husband did.

Category fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, woodworking, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Backyard Builders SD

    Backyard Builders SD is a locally owned company started by a group of contractors that really care about a whole home improvement. We have narrowed ourselves down to being the best in the business at Turf and pavers. We have the visions to bring back yards and front yards to life. We have putting green experts, we have paver experts, we have sports turf, pet approved turf, and over all best looking turf on the market.. No job is too little or to big for us as we have team that extends up and down the coast of California. Overall our specialist will bring your dream yard to life and that is what we’re here for! We are the Turf Squad!  

    HomeTurf

    HomeTurf is an artificial turf installation company with over 13 years experience in the trade. We pride ourselves on our impeccable lawns and our dedication to a positive customer experience throughout our sales and construction process. We are licensed, bonded and insured. Our sales representatives and support personnel are extremely courteous and professional. We want to work to earn your confidence and exceed your expectations.  

    Offers by HomeTurf	 on Angi
    Accurate Grading and Demolition, Inc.

    We specialize in all phases of grading, excavation, walls, drainage, pavers, turf and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! We do everything in house and never subcontract out our services. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Full Service Landscape Design & Installation - Softscape & Hardscape, Drains, Overhead & Drip Irrigation, Concrete, Walls, Mow-Strips, Paths, Steps, Pavers, Flagstone, Rock.

    Services Not Offered

    Weekly maintenance

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Natural Aspect Gardenscape

    How is Natural Aspect Gardenscape overall rated?

    Natural Aspect Gardenscape is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Natural Aspect Gardenscape open?

    Natural Aspect Gardenscape is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Natural Aspect Gardenscape provide

    Natural Aspect Gardenscape accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Natural Aspect Gardenscape offer free estimates?

    Yes, Natural Aspect Gardenscape offers free project estimates.

    Does Natural Aspect Gardenscape offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Natural Aspect Gardenscape does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Natural Aspect Gardenscape?

    Yes, Natural Aspect Gardenscape offers warranties.

    What services does Natural Aspect Gardenscape offer?

    Natural Aspect Gardenscape offers the following services: Full Service Landscape Design & Installation - Softscape & Hardscape, Drains, Overhead & Drip Irrigation, Concrete, Walls, Mow-Strips, Paths, Steps, Pavers, Flagstone, Rock.

    Are there any services Natural Aspect Gardenscape does not offer?

    Weekly maintenance