Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2012

4.9

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5521 Caminito Roberto

San Diego, CA 92111

Description

Doctor Piper is a REPIPE Expert. Copper Repipe has been a standard in California for years, but in August 2008 the California Plumbing Code adopted the use of CPVC and PEX. Now we can offer our Clients a variety of choices - FlowGuard Gold CPVC, CORZAN, PEX. We have been working on repipe projects for residential single family homes and multifamily appartments and condominiums using combinations of those choices. Doctor Piper specializes in TANKLESS Water Heater Installations. We are certified by eight of the major manufacturers - Noritz, Rinnai, Takagi, Rheem, Paloma, Bosch, Navien and Eternal. We are factory Trained Service agents for Bosch, Noritz, and Eternal but we are trained to service and repair all the brands that we install. Residential and Commercial. Doctor Piper installs Solar Water Systems, whether it is for domestic water heating or for a pool heating, for a house, an apartment building, a hotel, a laundromat or for any commercial building. We are factory trained installers of Bosch, SunMaxx, Rheem, Vailland, and Schuco. Doctor Piper is licensed and trained installer of Solar Power Systems. We specialize in small residential projects up to 10kW. Doctor Piper is customer service oriented. Our technicians will show on time and keep your home or business neat and clean....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/08/2018


Joseph W.

Radi did a superb job with a full copper repipe of my 41 year old house in Del Mar 4 years ago (see my previous review), and I was thrilled when he was available to check out a new leak inside my garage wall last Friday. He came over immediately (Friday night at 6:30) He wound up making two small drywall cuts, one in the garage where the drywall was wet, and one above it in our living room. He knows where to cut, so no unnecessary holes. He found a leaking glued joint in 3" PVC drain pipe (old houses settle...), repaired it, and patched and textured the drywall so perfectly that it doesn't need painting! I remember the same after the repipe, where half of the drywall in the house had been opened - I did not need to call a painter when he was finished. Left the garage clean. Reasonable, reliable, pleasant - highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Repair in-wall leak

Category drywall, plumbing

5.0

03/25/2018


Roswell P.

No one wants to re-pipe their home. The idea that it could be done improperly is disturbing. Radi, George and the crew made me confident that it would be done perfectly from the start. They worked hard from day one with great skill. Three days later, the work was done. They fixed the walls and cleaned up thoroughly upon completion. Materials were of the very best quality- no skimping. We even had access to most of the water taps each night so our life wasn't disrupted. I've never written a recommendation before, but am doing so enthusiastically today. I have no doubts about the quality of the work that was done. It is unusual to encounter this level of honesty in business today. I am so happy that my neighbor recommended Doctor Piper to me. -RoswellP, Encinitas, CA

Description of Work
Full re-piping of our home

Category plumbing

5.0

06/05/2017


Edward W.

The house that we bought had old pipes that over the course of the first year of ownership had 4 leaks in the garage alone. In order to not worry about potential problems in areas that I cannot see, i went ahead and got some quotes to repipe the house and also get a new water heater. Radi's quote was a very competitive quote, notably it was the only quote that included dry wall. We selected Radi and his team for the job. A couple of things that i really liked about going with Dr. Piper were as follows, Radi, as the owner, not only came out to do the quote, but he was on the job site doing a huge portion of the work. His team is all in-house, he does not subcontract. Radi is very responsive, punctual, professional, and transparent. there were no surprises with Radi. Be ready to move fast with these guys. Repiping is a big job; it was bigger (more invasive; has bigger holes in my walls) than i expected. But that's probably because i have no experience with this. But the way that they did it, made it so that everything was contained and they were so fast that the inconvenience was minimal. Radi worked with us on scheduling so that it was convenient for us. The job started on Tuesday morning, and in essence was completed thursday night. Friday was reserved for final walk through and inspection. our house is a one story, needed plumbing to 2 bathrooms, kitchen, laundry, and 2 outdoor hose bibs. The job included drywall and texture. We painted ourselves on saturday, and had everything back to the original configuration by saturday evening. After pulling the old pipes out and seeing the condition of them, i'm so glad that we had this done and did not wait any longer. And i'm glad that we went with Dr. Piper. It's rare to see a team work so hard to meet the schedule, and do it with such a good attitude, and quality. Radi's approach to customer service is held by his team members as well. they were all very polite, and very respectful of our home. they cleaned up perfectly after the job as well. the house was cleaner when they were done than what i gave them to start. they dotted all of their i's and crossed all t's. the water situation in our house makes it feel like a new house all together. much better water pressure, hot water comes in faster and hotter, but most importantly, we can sleep well at night not worrying that we'll have a busted pipe over our heads. Without hesitation, i HIGHLY recommend Dr. piper for your re-piping needs! thanks Radi and team!

Description of Work
full house repipe and new water heater

Category drywall, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

04/20/2017


Russ S.

Fantastic. Radi was able to dispatch one of his crew within a day or two of contact. He came in and quickly and efficiently assessed the situation. I then received a call from Radi with some options, and he gave me a great price. He was able to schedule the repipe job the following week. His crew was respectful, hard-working, and efficient. They got the job done, including city inspection, in three days. Furthermore, Radi was a pleasure to work with, and fun to talk to. He accommodated me when I needed some unrelated drywall work, adding it to the bill for a reasonable fee. He didn't bother me with minor stuff, but did call to ask necessary questions and offered good suggestions. I'm really pleased to recommend Dr. Piper!

Description of Work
Replace all polybutylene ("Qest") plumbing in my home.

Category drywall, plumbing

5.0

01/12/2017


Dennis C.

Radi was quick to respond & came out for a quote. His price was reasonable compared to other bids we received & had all good reviews from my research online. His crew (2) sent to complete the job worked relentlessly working long shifts to complete the job in a timely fashion. They were always respectful & professional in my home. Other companies or plumbing services claimed they could repipe homes, but often did not include drywall repair as part of their service or had to refer the job to another sub. This was a red flag that repiping is not their specialty as the drywall repair goes hand-in-hand with a repipe job. All in all I was happy with their services & would recommend to anyone

Description of Work
Whole house repipe; remove piping from the under the house into the walls; drywall repair

Category drywall, plumbing

5.0

05/13/2016


Ed M.

Radi was very quick to respond (same day). It was a very reasonable price for the service performed and he kept me informed all the way as to where we were in the process so I didn't have to chase him to find out what was going on. Billing was easy with PayPal and invoicing by email (my request) so I was able to do everything while being out of state. I've put him in my contacts for approved contractors of our rental units and I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Same day temporary repair of a leaking Navien on-demand water heater. He ordered the needed part and returned to install it all for the very reasonable fee of $145 including the part and the 2 trips.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

3.0

04/26/2016


Karen E.

Description of Work
We saw this company had high ratings and wanted to do business with them. We needed 3 bedrooms re piped. We left a message through Angie's List and got a quick call back from a gentleman in the office. He told me the supervisor would call me to arrange an appointment. I have specific days and times I can be home. Anyway, no call back. HOWEVER, they are located in Mission Viejo, Ca. I'm in Chula Vista. In retrospect, I'm beyond their boundary. It truly didn't occur to me when I called. I looked at the reviews.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/31/2015


ANDREW S.

Radi and his men replaced every pipe in my home due to a slab leak and general age of my home (50 yrs). They treated my home as if it was theirs and went above and beyond to make sure it was done right.

Description of Work
Complete home repipe

Category plumbing

5.0

09/02/2015


Bryan L.

WE have hot water from all faucets now and great water pressure. This was a crew of professional hardworking men under the great leadership of Radi. Efficient, clean, responsive, polite. I can't say enough good about these guys. Then to top it off they bring in a top notch drywall guy to patch and texture. We are very happy! They showed up when they said they would, worked late, and over the weekend to get it done. Finished in 6 days, estimated it would be 8 days. Not only is Radi great at what he does, he's very caring. I had gum surgery while they were here and he checked on me and asked if he could get me anything. I highly recommend Radi and his crews.

Description of Work
Radi and his crew completely re-piped our house with quality copper pipe for hot and cold water. We had previously lined our pipes with NuFlow and it broke down and clogged pipes, faucets, shower heads.

Category drywall, plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

08/03/2015


Kaustuv R.

Radi and his crew did a fantastic job repiping our house. We bought a small home that still had QEST piping and knew they had to be replaced. Many of our neighbors have used Andersen or other well known plumbers in town, but we found their bids to be shockingly high. A friend of ours found Dr. Piper online and we decided to give him a call. Radi, a.k.a. Dr. Piper, was prompt and very personable. He arrived on time and was very knowledgeable about plumbing and repiping in particular. His bid was significantly lower than the other bids. He has less overhead than his pricier competitors so he can keep his prices lower while providing the same quality of service. He and his crew arrived on time and got right to work. They worked quickly, cleaning and carefully. This is a job that requires permits to be pulled and a city inspector to come and inspect the repair. Radi took care of it all for us. Beyond the repiping, Radi helped us with other plumbing needs. Due to some water damage that was discovered during escrow, we were forced to remodel our small guest bathroom. He and his crew offered to do the job for $3600 labor. Again, a very reasonable bid compared to other contractors. In addition to this work, Radi took it upon himself to do several little things for us at no additional cost...incredible. He is an all-around good guy. Super helpful, personable and an expert plumber that cares deeply about his client's happiness and well being.

Description of Work
Replaced QEST pipes with copper in our single story home. Also remodeled a guest bathroom for an additional cost.

Category plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

07/31/2015


Joseph W.

After several water losses from corroded copper pipes in my 37 year old home, and facing being dropped by my Homeowners Insurance carrier for one more claim, I made the decision to do a complete repipe. After some research, I decided on copper. A repipe is a big deal. The contractor has to figure out how to run new pipes in the walls from where water comes into the house to each and every sink, toilet, tub, shower, laundry appliance, and hose bib, without tearing up the house any more than necessary. They have to cut lots of drywall while keeping the dust under control, minimize the amount of time the water is shut off, and maintain the best technique while sweating pipe joint after pipe joint. Scary stuff. Who knows when the bad joint will show up? Stuff to lose sleep over. Our home is about 2600 square ft., with 3 full baths, 3 hose bibs, kitchen, and laundry in the garage. At first, I got some very high bids a local plumber and a general contractor, both recommended by friends. Not only were the bids high, but they did not include any repair of the drywall holes that would be made. The more I read, the more I realized how challenging a job a repipe is; it should be done by someone who does it all the time. Based on Angie?s List and other online recommendations, I called Repipe Specialists, Inc. - so glad I did! They had Rafael come out within 48 hours. He made a very knowledgeable presentation, and gave me a detailed bid on the spot, including drywall repair (paint-ready), that was half of the bid from the general contractor, and the lowest of all. Rafael explained that Repipe Specialists covers a large geographic area, and does not subcontract, but uses a network of partners invested in the program. The San Diego area provider was Dr. Piper. Even before we made the decision to go with the bid, Rafael called and said that Radi from Dr. Piper was in the area and would like to walk through the house, which he did. He is a really nice guy, and again seemed very knowledgeable and competent in answering my questions. After he left, I checked out the online reviews for him, and that clinched it. Work was scheduled for the following Monday. We were asked to clear out cabinets under the sinks, and move a few items of furniture. Pipes (all made-in-USA L Copper) and other supplies were dropped off in our driveway early Monday morning. The crew (Radi and two other men) showed up punctually at 8:20, and spent the day doing a very impressive job of walling off work areas with plastic sheets. They covered all tile and counters in the kitchen, and protected everything that needed protecting. They laid clean canvas cloth runners to cover the stairs, and covered the entire garage, kitchen and living room floors with plastic. They came back on Tuesday and started cutting drywall and installing pipes. Big job, with as many as 5 guys working at one point. They were all very pleasant. They worked hard and long - until 9:45 one night (they asked if they could work late and we said yes - I?m sure they would have respected our wishes if we had not wanted that.) The water was shut off while they were working for two days, but they managed to get us water when they left every night. They finished the repipe late Thursday and called for Inspection, which happened (passed, no problems) on Friday. Then came the drywall repair. This two day process was as impressive as the repipe itself. The teams patched the holes, some very large, with the pieces they had cut out, and applied several coats of mud and texturing. Most of the repairs don?t even appear to need painting - you just can?t see where they were. It?s amazing! To cap it off, the guys worked all day Saturday AND Sunday, until after 9pm both days, in order to get the job done, and not leave us with a mess for an extra day. They finished on Sunday night, removing all the plastic and drapes, vacuuming and washing the tile floors, putting back the few pieces of large furniture they had moved. There was a light coating of white drywall dust in some areas- partly from an additional task of scraping the dated popcorn texture off our living room ceiling we had them do - but all in all, the house was in great shape when they left. Radi was present himself more than half of the time. He came by at least several times a day when not working himself, and was always responsive by text or cell. Everyone was pleasant, cooperative, and hard-working to extreme. We had no concerns leaving them working in the house when we had to go out. Radi and the Dr. Piper crew were great. The peace of mind I got from them was priceless. Use them!

Description of Work
Complete copper repipe

Category drywall, plumbing, home remodeling, drain cleaning

5.0

07/21/2015


Lisa S.

It went great. Radi and his crew were awesome. They cleaned up after themselves. Came on time, finished on time.

Description of Work
Repipe

Category plumbing

5.0

07/15/2015


Scott C.

Late last year, I was told by my insurance company that they wouldn't renew my homeowners policy if I didn't repipe my house to bypass the pipes in the concrete foundation that had sprung two leaks in the past three years ? a very scary and expensive proposition. One contractor shook his head as he toured my 3200 sq. ft. place, noting that its size and complex layout would make a repipe very expensive. He didn't even want to quote the job. But he did me a solid and recommended Radi Mintchev's Doctor Piper service. Cool Thing #1: Radi showed up, was personable and knowledgeable, and promptly sent me a very reasonable quote. I gave him the job the next day. Unfortunately, just over a week before he was to begin, we had an illness in the family and I had to call and ask him to postpone the estimated 10-day project. He was extremely cool and flexible about it, and seemed more concerned about my sick family member than the colossal inconvenience to him. Cool Thing #2: We rescheduled for June. He and his crew showed up on time and spent the first day systematically covering the floors and walls with protective plastic sheeting. The next day they got down to business, moving furniture, opening up walls and ceilings, and installing new high-grade copper pipes. They worked long and hard for several days, each day making sure I was updated on the job?s progress. Several times, I was impressed at Radi and his crew?s innovative solutions for some of the thorny plumbing obstacles my house presented. And Radi doesn?t just supervise ? he gets as dirty as the rest of the crew. These guys work together like a good-humored, well-oiled machine, and they finished a few days ahead of schedule. Cool Thing #3: As a layperson, I know next-to-zip about plumbing, but I had a very good feeling about the work they were doing. For instance, they cut the drywall out in tight, numbered rectangles that allowed them to repair the holes perfectly and efficiently. But the good vibes were clinched near the end of the project when the building inspector arrived to approve their work before they closed up the walls. He made a point to tell me that Doctor Piper is the only company he carries business cards for, in case he?s asked for a recommendation. Then he showed me two examples of the extra care they take. Plastic insulators were installed on both sides of each 16-inch separated wall stud where pipes went through them, and he said they?re only required to install them every four feet. And he pointed out that the pipes had been polished to minimize water noise. His enthusiasm about Doctor Piper was striking and reaffirming. Bottom line: A very grateful and happy customer!

Description of Work
Re-piped house with copper piping.

Category drywall, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

03/26/2015


dan L.

.

Description of Work
Complete copper replumb. They were professional, thorough, prompt and responsible. They were worth the price.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/20/2014


Stacy N.

We were extremely happy with the work done by Dr Piper. Radi and his crew were there everyday except Sunday and it was a big job which took over a week. They were super punctual. I always heard (and read) problems with people having trouble with contractors and plumbers not showing up as expected, but they were there every morning bright and early like clockwork and worked really hard all day long. They very carefully sheeted and protected everything and we were able to stay in the house during the repipe---we were only completely without water for a few hours. We were even having a terrible heat spell and the temperature was crazy hot the whole time--up over a 100 degrees. They all worked through the heat (especially bad with all the plastic sheeting up) with no complaint and I even had to urge them to stop to take refreshment. Radi is a great guy with a wonderful sense of humor and made me laugh even though I was traumatized every time a new hole (and there were many, many holes) was cut in our walls and ceiling. But I shouldn't even have worried because they left no trace of all those holes and in fact the walls and ceiling looked better after they left then before (I almost wished they had put more holes in some of the untouched walls because now the uncut walls don't look as good). They did super nice drywall and texturing work. Dr Piper also used thicker copper pipe than the other quotes I got and the inside work through the ceiling and walls looked to be superb. It's been a few weeks and we've had no problems and the water pressure is better than ever. We had a slab leak under our kitchen before the repair and opted to do the whole re-pipe plumbing job because the price was fair and we now have complete piece of mind and don't have to wonder if that warm spot on the floor is another leak or just the sun. Radi had to run a completely new plumbing schema and he seemed to map it out with optimal efficiency --it's so obvious that he's an expert. The job was delayed because of our schedules but Radi kindly put in a temporary fix to the piping which tided us over for a few months until we could make the scheduling work. For us this was a huge and unexpected expense and is the first "big" thing we've done to our house however it's not often that you can spend that much money and be really happy about it---but we are! So happy with their work. I would highly recommend and now I'm so pleased to have a plumber I can count on and trust--priceless!

Description of Work
complete repipe of a two story house

Category plumbing

5.0

10/04/2014


Magali M.

We called Radi on a Saturday afternoon. He was working in Chula Vista (35 miles from here). We explained the problem and sent him a picture of our broken faucet. He called us back right away, he told my husband what to buy and then drove all the way up to our home and fixed the problem. He was nice, efficient and diligent. Thank you Radi!

Description of Work
He replaced a broken faucet

Category plumbing

5.0

10/04/2014


Magali M.

Our shower faucet broke on a Saturday afternoon. We called Radi and he was in Chula Vista (35 miles from here) doing a job. He gave my husband instructions on what we needed to buy and he showed up later to solve the problem. He was nice, efficient and responsive, and the price very reasonable. Thank you Radi!

Description of Work
He changed our faucet and fixed a leak.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/29/2014


Sean C.

Great service done on time. Cleanup Was Also Well done. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
Complete repipe of the entire house.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

08/10/2014


Larry R.

Radi (owner) and crew, arrived on time each day and meticulously completely re-piped our house over the last week. He explained every step of the process and did a better job (pipe layout, sizing and installing) than the original plumber when the house was built n 1996. Floors and furniture were covered and the rest of the house was protected by plastic sheeting. We were able to stay in the house during the project. It was a relief to have the drywall repair and quality texturing included. After I paint, there will be no evidence of the re-pipe. I am impressed with the work quality and thoughtful solutions Radi proposed for this project. All the reviews I read from Angie's list and other resources were confirmed by the work done by Doctor Piper in my home. Radi is personable, professional, and he brings a strong work ethic to the job. Radi bids the job and does the work with his crew. We had estimates from many plumbing companies for this re-pipe and for the amount of quality work and materials, I believe we paid a fair price. We highly recommend Doctor Piper in San Diego.

Description of Work
Complete re-pipe of 3 bath home with lifetime warranty, drywall repair and texturing. Installed circulation pump, water heater, and utility sink in garage.

Category drywall, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you. I will be happy to help you with anything I can.
5.0

10/24/2013


Jane M.

.

Description of Work
Repiped a 4 bedroom, 2.5 bath home. Included drywall and ceiling repairs. It was our 1st time to use them and Radi did such a great job that since then we have had him work on other rental properties in our management.

Category drywall, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

04/20/2013


Mark V.

The repipe went very well. I ordered replacement shower valves and trim a little late but Radi worked around not having these items until the end.

Description of Work
Radi Mintchev with Dr Piper did a fantastic job on my home copper repipe. He was able to do the kitchen without making any holes, thus saving my wallpaper. The inspector complimented his solder sweats as well as his extensive use of rigid copper tubing instead of the soft flex copper tubing most repipers use. Radi's drywall repair was excellent, much better than drywall work I have had done previously.

Category drywall, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you (deleted member name) for the opportunity

    Other local Pros in your area

    Wilson construction

     

    Frankie's Plumbing

    Frankie's Plumbing is family owned and operated. We are committed to providing outstanding customer service and quality work at an affordable price. Lic#1088782  

    Bright Sol Energy

    Solar systems and roofing services in the Riverside and San Diego Counties.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We also service :Water Heaters,Gas Repiping,Pressure Regulators, Bosch ,Navien,Noritz,Rinnai ,Eternal-Tankless Water heaters,Solar Water Heaters,Hot water recirculation pumps ,General Plumbing Services & Repairs Call 619-337-4411 by Saturday and take advantage of our 20% discount on your entire repiping job We do service and installations in : chula vista,la mesa,san diego,mira mesa,del mar,encinitas,escondido,san marcos,vista,oc

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists

    How is Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists overall rated?

    Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists open?

    Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists provide

    Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offer free estimates?

    Ask Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists for details on free project estimates.

    Does Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offer a senior discount?

    No, Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offer emergency services?

    Yes, Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists?

    Yes, Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offers warranties.

    What services does Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offer?

    Doctor Piper inc , Repipe Specialists offers the following services: We also service :Water Heaters,Gas Repiping,Pressure Regulators, Bosch ,Navien,Noritz,Rinnai ,Eternal-Tankless Water heaters,Solar Water Heaters,Hot water recirculation pumps ,General Plumbing Services & Repairs Call 619-337-4411 by Saturday and take advantage of our 20% discount on your entire repiping job We do service and installations in : chula vista,la mesa,san diego,mira mesa,del mar,encinitas,escondido,san marcos,vista,oc