Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cali Bamboo

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2009

2.6

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6675 Mesa Ridge Road 100

San Diego, CA 92121

Description

Based in San Diego, Cali Bamboo manufactures green building materials for residential and commercial projects made primarily from bamboo -- one of the world’s most durable, sustainable and renewable materials. Founded in 2004, the company has become a model of how individuals, businesses and communities can implement modern design while maintaining structural strength and environmental integrity. Cali Bamboo’s wide range of bamboo products includes fencing, flooring, composite decking, plywood and more. For more information visit http://www.CaliBamboo.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/19/2022


Payam M.

Cali Bamboo delivered one of the worst customer service experiences of my life…and to top it off, they are keeping my money with no response. I had placed an order with Cali Bamboo in February of 2022. The main part of the order never shipped. Two months later, in April 2022, after one month of me chasing them on the phone and emailing them to find out what’s going on, they finally notified me that the material had been damaged in the warehouse. Not only is my project further delayed, now I am left absolutely stuck. I was notified via email that a Cali Bamboo customer service team member would be contacting me within 24 hours. No one contacted me from Cali Bamboo—even after waiting for one week. I then called the customer service line and was told by a specific agent that someone else is handling my case…and so I was transferred to that someone else...then that someone else told me that they are not responsible for my case. That’s right…not responsible. I got transferred many times within the Cali Bamboo “system” and eventually got to a prerecorded message advising me to leave a voicemail. I left a message…of course, I never received a call back. Thanks, Cali Bamboo. So then, I emailed the Cali Bamboo sales rep and received no response—I am starting to think it’s the company culture. After chasing after him with many emails and phone calls, I was able to talk with him on the phone. This is now May of 2022 (the Cali Bamboo horror began back in February). I asked the sales rep to please find out what the damage is and whether I can salvage and use some of the material (since that specific color of material is suddenly no longer produced). He assured me that he would contact the warehouse and have them send me photos to review…you guessed it—he never did. I had to again, call and email this Cali Bamboo sales rep multiple times in order to get an answer. At this time my job has been delayed three whole months. To top off the experience with this unprofessional and unreliable company, Cali Bamboo has now messed with my mind and my time as an added value for doing business with them. At this point, I had Cali Bamboo send me a different material with the same color to improvise and somehow get the job done (since all the aforementioned had occurred with the original order). At the end, Cali Bamboo only partially refunded me for my original order and decided to hold onto the shipping cost amount for a large item that I never received from them. I contacted the well-known shipping company and was provided a quote for what Cali Bamboo had sent me—it is only half the amount that Cali Bamboo is claiming. Yes, half. To say that I am extremely frustrated with Cali Bamboo is an extreme understatement. No one should ever have this experience and it’s so sad that companies like Cali Bamboo can get away with it without any consequences. What I had to go through over the last nearly four months is completely unacceptable. The “team” at Cali Bamboo has no remorse for what they have put me through, and to top it off, I have not received an adequate reimbursement for their gross mismanagement of the order. If you are seeking drama, money loss, and headaches, I strongly recommend doing business with Cali Bamboo.

Description of Work
Decking material

Category decks, fencing, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms, basement remodeling, mobile home remodeling

4.0

08/08/2017


Daniel K.

Our previous wood deck was very hot and a lot of maintenance. The new Bamdeck material from CaliBamboo is a great replacement. It retains much less heat (maybe 30%) compared to our old deck and we can actually enjoy it in the afternoon without the sweltering heat! The deck looks great and all our neighbors keep asking where we found the materials from. We would recommend the material again and again!

Description of Work
Deck Replacement

Category decks

5.0

04/20/2017


Tina C.

They were very nice and sent me samples. They sent me out a heavy sample that is 4' long and 18" wide. You can lay it on the floor and it gives you an idea of what the planks look like. They gave me two actual samples of the products so that you could see the difference between the colors. He didn't charge me to do this. He let me know when they are having a sale on it. I am hoping to purchase it at that time. Their warranty on their luxury vinyl product is 50 years. Anything over 350' is free shipping. Matt seemed to be very knowledgeable. He was very polite. He was very helpful. I was expecting to pay for the samples, but he let me try it out for no charge. I was very surprised about that. He was not trying to rush me. He took his time with me explaining things. He answered all of my questions. If I can come up with a color that works, I am going to call Matt.

Description of Work
I spoke to them about a quote for luxury vinyl flooring.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/02/2017


Damian S.

Description of Work
.

Category hardwood floor

1.0

05/22/2015


Gary M.

The installer did a great job, followed all directions for installation, and were a pleasure to work with. They even put down an upgraded top-of-the-line moisture barrier. I will not mention them, as I think this is not do to the installation, but the product itself. The flooring itself is as durable as they promised. Two big dogs running around and only minor surface scratches that can only be seen if the light and shadows hit them just right. Here is the big problem: After about 6 months, our new bamboo floor started cupping in half of our house. Half of our house sits on a concrete slab, and the other half sits on a wood slab. The half that sits on the concrete slab is noticeably cupping, where as the wood side sits nice and flush. Now there are big ridges where each piece butts up against another. Needless to say, this was a dry year (draught and all). I can't wait to see what happens when we actually have a wet year? I am pretty sure that this is not acceptable for any homeowner to spend this amount of money, and have floors that look this bad, in under a year. Our installer just came out and inspected the floors. He said that they stopped carrying the product due to numerous problems that they have encountered. They followed all the installation directions, and are experienced in the flooring industry. I have now read many of the complaints regarding Cali-Bamboo and am hoping that they can resolve our problem better than they have with others in the past. We are currently waiting for Cali-Bamboo to respond to our complaint. Will update with results and change our ratings corresponding to the resolution that they offer us. Gary Murphy Oceanside, CA

Description of Work
We had Cali-Bamboo installed in our 1500 square foot house in July 2014. About 10 months ago. We stopped by the showroom, and referred to an installer in our area of Oceanside, to purchase and install.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

03/17/2015


Samantha T.

We ultimately chose the mocha fossilized eucalyptus click flooring for our 10? x 11? room plus a very large closet. My friend and I (two, inexperienced 31yo females) laid the flooring in about 7-8 hours when my husband was out of town. This amount of time included using a jigsaw for the length-cuts (this took a while; we used a miter for the short cuts). The battery for the jigsaw was consistently dying. We eventually gave up on the battery and made a trip to Home Depot, charged the new batteries, and had a lunch break. Without all those obstacles, it would have been a much faster process (especially if you have a table saw or circular saw). This entire project was easy ? so easy. They are more than we could even imagine ? we do not have any scratches on them after 8 months. We have been careful, but have had accidents! For example, I recently decided to add quarter-round to our simple baseboards. The existing baseboards? backs were covered in glue and I had to hammer very hard. There were several times the hammer slipped onto the floor with force! We have absolutely no dents. I would not suggest taking a hammer to the floor, but every accident has been without consequence. I have also dripped paint on our brand new floors. Wet, it wiped right up. Later, I found a few drops that I was able to scratch up with my fingernail. None of this paint got in the cracks ? so for that I was lucky; I feel that would be more tricky. None of my statements are suggesting that you should not remain cautious with your floors, just confirming how well they stand up to the life in our household. If it even needs mentioning, I would and do recommend Cali-Bamboo to all my friends and family. The ease of the website, the customer-service, and the product are undeniably a superior package for this kind of project.

Description of Work
Cali Bamboo specialists provided me with excellent customer service after I discovered them online. When I first called, I was extremely indecisive with my project’s direction. My agent sent me several samples and gave suggestions after I described my husband’s and my desires. She took every call and when she had a family emergency, the transition to a new agent was seamless. The customer service is extraordinary, and since they support DIY installation, they take calls for any and every question. They insist it is an easy process and they are 100% correct. They are not only your Cali Bamboo agent, but they provide you the confidence to complete your project. They are confident in the ease of their product because it seems that every agent has had experience laying a floor – if not their own, in some sort of training. They also provide instructions, information, and videos.

Category basement remodeling

1.0

09/07/2011


Cheryl K.

When dealing with this company, I have had to have my floor replaced twice. They were not honest with me about the quality and the environmental conditions needed to sustain this floor, successfully. This floor never really got walked on, and it was cracking within 4 months. I can only imagine how it would have lasted with a busy family with people going in and out of the house.

Description of Work
I had called to inquire about the floor because of a kitchen makeover. I spoke with someone from their sales department. I asked many questions and told her what our weather and winters are like. We were reassured that they sell all over the country and Canada, and that there would be no problems. They told me that there would be no issues of putting it in. I had someone install the flooring in. He did not critique anything, he just installed it. It was officially laid before Thanksgiving, and by late March or early April it had already started cracking. I had two floor inspectors were sent out. The first inspector told us that there were issues with the floor and that the floor was laid right and everything was up to code. The second inspector said that the floor was too dry from a lack of humidity. According the state department of energy, there should not be more than 30% of humidity in the house. The recommendation for a home with this type of flooring should be at 60-70%.

Category flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Ocean Flooring & Construction

    Ocean Flooring & Construction is your best source for hardwood floors. Serving San Diego for over 10 years now, we specialize in providing the best service for your flooring needs. We specialize in hardwood installation, sanding and finishing, and wholesale prices for all hardwood flooring. 100% Warranty Guarantees You The Best Service Hardwood installation is one of our specialties, that is why we are confident in giving you a 100% warranty on our installation. You have no need to worry about any mistakes or shortcuts being done when it comes time to install your hardwood floors. Free In-Home Estimate. We want you to be confident when you choose a company to purchase or install your hardwood flooring. That is why you get a free in-home estimate when you call today.  

    Parthenon Builders Inc.

    Parthenon Builders is a general construction company that specializes in all types of home remodeling. We have 25 years of experience in residential/commercial construction and our employees are well trained to complete your project on time and with exceptional quality. Our services are not limited. Kitchen remodels, bathroom remodels, additions, gates, and fencing. Energy efficient doors and windows  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Parthenon Builders Inc. on Angi
    Shugarman's Bath

    Get a stunning bathroom makeover from the bathroom remodeling contractor with more than 30 years of industry experience. Shugarman's Bath is proud to offer quality acrylic tubs, showers, and accessible solutions, all of which are backed by industry-leading warranties for as long as you own your home! You deserve the best for your home, and that’s exactly what you’ll get—with Shugarman's Bath as your bathroom remodeling contractor. Some bathroom remodeling companies cut costs by using inferior materials, but that’s never an option for us. We do what we can to keep our prices competitive—but never at the expense of quality. Work with us and enjoy an expertly installed, custom-fabricated tub or shower that will provide a lifetime of impressive performance!  

    Offers by Shugarman's Bath on Angi
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Bamboo for flooring, fencing, decking, plywood, poles, and composite decking.

    Services Not Offered

    Installation, building services.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cali Bamboo

    How is Cali Bamboo overall rated?

    Cali Bamboo is currently rated 2.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cali Bamboo open?

    Cali Bamboo is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Cali Bamboo provide

    Cali Bamboo accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Cali Bamboo offer free estimates?

    Yes, Cali Bamboo offers free project estimates.

    Does Cali Bamboo offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Cali Bamboo offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cali Bamboo offer a senior discount?

    No, Cali Bamboo does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Cali Bamboo?

    No, Cali Bamboo does not offer warranties.

    What services does Cali Bamboo offer?

    Cali Bamboo offers the following services: Bamboo for flooring, fencing, decking, plywood, poles, and composite decking.

    Are there any services Cali Bamboo does not offer?

    Installation, building services.