Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Berkley Construction Inc

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2012

4.9

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1520 Dale St

San Diego, CA 92102

Description

Berkley Construction is a full service construction company. Our projects range from small remodels to new construction in both residential and commecial fields. We also focus on high performance construction including energy efficiency and alternative energy sources. We repair foundations, upgrade electrical systems, test homes performance according to Building Performance Institute standards. We are partners with the California Center for Sustainable Energy and the Upgrade California program. We can help you find the right design partners as well. Do not make the mistake of doing all the design before you include some building professionals in that process. Having a team that includes architects, builders, plumbers, HVAC professionals and electricians will save you time and money. We do the majority of our work with our own people and really feel committed to building structures that will perform at a high level for the next century, not the next 5 years!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/17/2020


Jeff B.

Fantastic!!! I cannot speak highly enough of the guys and gals at Berkley Construction. After dealing with some, we'll say, less than competent construction companies, these guys were a god send. Organized, communicative and so easy to deal with right from the start, they made every step of the process so much easier and more smooth than it could have been otherwise. You should at the very least include them in your bid gathering, as I think they will blow you away with their competence, something that is sadly rare in this field.

Description of Work
master bath, kitchenette additions

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, insulation, lighting, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, woodworking, architect, stucco, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, foundation repair

5.0

01/21/2019


Will T.

Berkley construction restored the front porch of my home in Mission Hills to its original 1912 design. The team did a great job. They were courteous, communicated well regarding the timeline and plan, and helped us work through some design considerations along the way. I will hire them again.

Description of Work
Historic restoration of front porch to original 1912 design.

Category concrete repair, decks, picture framing, roofing, woodworking, stucco, house painters, stamped concrete

5.0

05/26/2015


Natalie S.

In October of 2014 my father was involved in a Code Enforcement nightmare. He had been submitting plans to the city for months to no avail. I remembered seeing on Facebook that a former classmate of mine owned a Construction Company and placed a phone call to Keith Berkley. I explained the situation and a meeting at my fathers property was arranged. I was introduced to my project manager Gary Pruett and immediately knew that I was in good hands. After a review of the permit issues and a tour of the units involved they established a game plan and got to work. What started out as a relatively simple project turned into a larger one due to the building being built in 1925. I was updated every step of the way, from the framing and stucco of an exterior wall to the pouring of the new floor. They added a handicap bathroom all of which was under the watchful eye of Code Enforcement. The nightmare is over and I am forever grateful to Berkley Construction. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing work done by a team that is thorough, honest and hardworking- look no more.

Description of Work
Concrete, structural framing, plumbing, electrical, drywall, painting, carpentry and bathroom remodel (handicap accessible)

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

04/20/2015


Janet L.

This project went very smoothly and was handled professionally. Gary came to the house and helped us pick the right size tile for our purpose. The job was scheduled quickly and took only 3 days. The crew, Gary, Roger, and Tim arrived on time every day and worked continuously to complete the work as soon as possible. All three men were knowledgeable, skillful and and friendly. They took the time to point out problems encountered and explained their solution. The end result is beautiful! All grout and stucco match well. I especially like the fact that all demolition material was removed immediately and nothing else at the house was damaged during the work. I highly recommend this team and would definitely use Berkley Construction again in the future.

Description of Work
We asked Berkley Construction to replace decorative but deteriorating saltillo tiles on the front of our house. The replacement tiles are porcelain and should hold up better. Berkley contact info: Phone: 619-981-4582 Email: keith@berkhome.com www.berkhome.com

Category ceramic tile, electrician, stucco

5.0

02/27/2015


Demetrius D.

They were very prompt, responsive and did a great job. The quality of the work was excellent. I'd definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced termite damaged window. Replaced hardware for 13 other windows. Ceiling patch.

Category contractors, electrician, replacement windows

5.0

01/21/2015


Antonette I.

Met wiht Keith Berkley to discuss project. We had estimate within 49 hours. Met with Robert, site manager. Several workers at different times depending on specialty. Problems incurred, discussed with Robert and resolved in time fashion. All workers were friendly but maintained professionalism.

Description of Work
Replace wood siding, windows and doors on east side of house. Fence replaced and sealed on north side of property. Replace fan in bathroom.

Category electrician, fencing, insulation, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, doors

5.0

12/03/2014


Misty E.

Our house was built in the 1950s and it desperately needed a facelift. We had also recently completed a room addition in the back of the house and the designs did not match. The transition between the two parts of the house was blaringly obvious. We needed to have the old siding replaced, a large portion of the stucco re-done or repaired, some electrical as well as various smaller cosmetic changes. We researched approximately 4-5 general contractors on Angie?s list, all of which had excellent reviews. It was a big decision for us and was the first time we had hired a contractor for such a big job. Needless to say, we had several questions and little knowledge as to how the process would go. The project manager, Robert Barnes, became our main point of contact and was always very quick to respond. He patiently and thoroughly answered all of our questions and even met with us after hours on at least a couple occasions in order to accommodate our schedule ? all before even signing a contract. When we were presented with a quote and later a contract we found them to be itemized and very clearly defined, something we did not see with other companies. At least one contractor we talked with wanted a large down payment upfront, which is not in accordance with the laws governing general contractors. With Berkley, the payment schedule was in accordance with the law and very transparent. In fact, a significant amount of work was already completed before we even received the first invoice. While not the lowest bid ultimately Robert?s demeanor along with the professionalism of the company led us to choose Berkley Construction for our project. Upon signing the contract we were given a start time and approximate completion date and as promised our project started on the expected date. The crew showed up on time each morning and worked diligently throughout each day. Robert made it a point to touch base each morning to communicate progress and made sure to continue to answer all of our questions as well as address any concerns or changes as they came up. He really listened to what we said and clearly understood our concerns and priorities for the job. Even without prompting, he demonstrated that keeping within our budget and making efforts to cut costs without compromising quality were on the forefront of his mind. It had been our experience with previous smaller jobs and we had heard from numerous people that it is pretty common for a contractor to be very responsive while trying to gain the contract but then communication quickly becomes less of a priority once they have it. That was not the case at all with Berkley Construction. Robert was just as easy to reach after we signed and if for some reason he couldn?t take our call he was ALWAYS prompt in returning our call. As with any construction project, unexpected problems would sometimes arise. If there were any deviations from the plan, Robert was very proactive in communicating what the issue was and letting us know what his plan was to deal with it. In every interaction it was clear that our satisfaction with the progress and quality of the job was their main concern. Surprisingly, even with the addition of work required, the cost very rarely changed and when it did it was for something that was truly out of their control. Another aspect of working with Berkley construction that we appreciated was their flexibility as the project evolved. For example, about halfway into our remodel we decided that we wanted to add stone veneer to the front of the house. Robert quickly arranged several sub-contractors to come out and bid the job until we found the right fit and ultimately helped with many aspects outside of what we considered to be the scope of the original project. In summary, I am very happy with the experience we had as well as the quality of work completed. I cannot say enough positive things about them and especially the project manager, Robert. I give Berkley Construction my highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Replace old siding, add/repair/re-do stucco, replace windows, replace light fixtures, add stone veneer and various smaller improvements.

Category electrician, lighting, siding, replacement windows, stucco

5.0

07/14/2014


Kathleen O.

Description of Work
they applied stucco to our house. |Have old windows with glaze that had not been redone in 30+ yrs. Adam did an excellant job fising it.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, siding, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

12/18/2013


Patti S.

Overall it was a positive experience. Some of their prices were kind of high and that's why I didn't have them do the rest of the work. Overall they were professional.

Description of Work
Berkley Construction, Inc. did foundation repair, electrical work and cabinet install and the kitchen cabinets for me.

Category electrician, woodworking, foundation repair

1.0

12/13/2012


Masae K F.

I called him to get a quote. He called me back and said he would check his schedule and get back with me and never has. He was very courteous and friendly though, just no response.

Description of Work
Wanted a patio built and solar panels.

Category solar panels, patios

Service Provider Response

Dear Customer, I am very sorry that i could not get back to you two Saturdays ago. I was out of town in a very remote area and did not have access to phone or email. I apologize for the inconvenience and am more than happy to come this Saturday if you would like. I sincerely apologize for not getting back to you in a proper fashion.
5.0

05/15/2012


Jeanice D.

Well there it is – the beautifully restored home (see previous post) that inspired me call Berkley Construction in the first place. (Walking my dog around the neighborhood, I often went by to see the latest developments as the exterior began to shaped up - pleased to see how carefully the home was restored.) Upon meeting with Keith Berkley about my bathroom remodel, I was impressed from the beginning as he seemed very comfortable with the project I put before him. Other contractors I had talked to were leery about my vision for a 1920s-style bathroom & tried to convince me to move forward with a more “updated” treatment that didn’t fit the character of my home. ESTIMATES, STARTUP, & PROCESS - Keith wrote up estimates that gave me options (throughout the process) so I could make informed decisions about the project priorities while staying within my budget. At 'startup', Keith assembled the entire project crew to meet with me for a review of the construction plan which really gave me a confidence that everyone was on the same page going into the project. During the process, the guys all listened well to what I wanted & asked questions along the way to ensure my expectations were being met. Since I only have one bathroom, extra effort was made to keep my toilet working for as long as possible, for which I was especially grateful. FINISH WORK - As for the patch work along the adjacent living room wall, no one can tell there was a huge hole in the wall (with missing picture-rail moulding) unless I tell them. They did a great job of matching the surrounding wall texture as well as the moulding. FAIR & EQUITABLE – As with any construction project, there are bound to be unanticipated issues to address which sometimes involve changes in cost. While this project was no exception, I don’t believe these were used to my disadvantage at all. Before starting into this remodel, I had heard far too many bad-contractor stories to be fully confident about which company to choose. Berkley Construction proved to be a wise choice & I would certainly recommend them without hesitation. Thanks to Keith, Gary, Steve, Tim, Mark, Ricardo, Joe & Jose for a beautiful (& functional) bathroom!

Description of Work
Work included completely gutting & re-constructing a 1920's bungalow bathroom - including installation of a new window & patching a large section of the adjoining living room wall.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, picture framing, insulation, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

03/08/2012


Hector M.

Keith and his workers began right away to prepare the house to be raised in order to replace the foundation. This work is very challenging (and nerve wracking for the homeowners), but Keith, in his very calming and easy-going demeanor, always kept us abreast of all the work involved (and kept us informed of all the inspections) and answered all of our questions. A month or so after that work was completed and the house was lowered, work began on restoring our old wooden windows, replacing the roof, building new eaves, insulating, replacing the shingles and siding, re-plumbing, rewiring, and then finally restoring our old hardwood floors, dry walling, repainting and remodeling the kitchen and bathroom. This was a massive undertaking, but one that Keith and his crew handled very professionally, and more importantly, with love, as if it was their own home. Steve Lewis, Keith's foreman, at one point said, "We are giving the old lady a facelift!" The work began in January 2011 and was completed by August 2011 (a couple weeks after a bank imposed construction deadline). Needless to say, my wife and I are ecstatic with the results! We love our new house, and love even more that we found a company that we could trust, especially since the work at hand was challenging and arduous. Working with Keith and his crew is a very bonding experience, simply because they will love your house as much as you do. Currently, Keith and his crew are doing all the hardscaping, drainage, irrigation, concrete and fence work on our property, and again, we are happy with the service we are accustomed to. We knew when it was time to begin the work outside that we would hire no other company than Berkley Construction. For peace of mind and satisfaction, we highly recommend Berkley Construction for all your remodel/restoration/hardscaping needs.

Description of Work
When my wife and I decided it was time to find a contractor to help restore our 1922 California Craftsman Bungalow, we drove around our neighborhood to look for contractor signs. We found quite a few of them, and spoke to quite a few contractors (one of them even wanted to knock out all our built-ins, crown moldings, windows and doors and start from scratch). Needless to say, we did not go with that contractor. After having interviewed a few more contractors, we finally came upon a Berkley Construction sign. Later that evening, we went online to their website and e-mailed them. We wanted them to come to see our house that required a lot of work from roof to foundation and everything in between. We got a prompt phone call from Keith Berkley, and we set up an appointment for the following weekend. He and his two foremen, Steve and Tom, showed up punctually that morning, and right away my wife and I knew we had met the right people for the job. Keith, Steve and Tom loved our house and instantly talked about how they loved old houses like ours and how much they loved working on them and bringing them back to their original glory. Shortly thereafter, things started to fall into place and we got a proposal from Keith, which we presented to our bank (because we had to obtain a home construction loan), our loan was approved and work begin in January 2011.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters, foundation repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    DP Painting

    Free estimates and unbeatable rates!  

    Backyard Builders SD

    Backyard Builders SD is a locally owned company started by a group of contractors that really care about a whole home improvement. We have narrowed ourselves down to being the best in the business at Turf and pavers. We have the visions to bring back yards and front yards to life. We have putting green experts, we have paver experts, we have sports turf, pet approved turf, and over all best looking turf on the market.. No job is too little or to big for us as we have team that extends up and down the coast of California. Overall our specialist will bring your dream yard to life and that is what we’re here for! We are the Turf Squad!  

    HomeTurf

    HomeTurf is an artificial turf installation company with over 13 years experience in the trade. We pride ourselves on our impeccable lawns and our dedication to a positive customer experience throughout our sales and construction process. We are licensed, bonded and insured. Our sales representatives and support personnel are extremely courteous and professional. We want to work to earn your confidence and exceed your expectations.  

    Offers by HomeTurf	 on Angi
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    General Construction – Carpentry, Concrete, Electrical, Excavation & Grading, Floor Coverings, HVAC, Masonry, Painting, Plumbing, Roofing, Specialty & Custom Projects, Windows & Doors, Steam Rooms, & Saunas. Construction Management.

    Services Not Offered

    Handyman, roof repair, & mold remediation.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Berkley Construction Inc

    How is Berkley Construction Inc overall rated?

    Berkley Construction Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Berkley Construction Inc provide

    Berkley Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Berkley Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Berkley Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Berkley Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Berkley Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Berkley Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Berkley Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Berkley Construction Inc?

    Yes, Berkley Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Berkley Construction Inc offer?

    Berkley Construction Inc offers the following services: General Construction – Carpentry, Concrete, Electrical, Excavation & Grading, Floor Coverings, HVAC, Masonry, Painting, Plumbing, Roofing, Specialty & Custom Projects, Windows & Doors, Steam Rooms, & Saunas. Construction Management.

    Are there any services Berkley Construction Inc does not offer?

    Handyman, roof repair, & mold remediation.