Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Affordable Service Appliances, Inc.

Founded 1991 • With Angi since September 2005

3.5

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9921 Caramel Mountain Road Suite 276

San Diego, CA 92129

Description

Contact us at (858) 672-6288 or 760-632-1112 in San Diego, CA, for appliance repair and replacement services for HVAC units, washers, dryers, and more....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/09/2021


Mervin P.

Stay away! Seems like the go to company for insurance companies. Worst experience and service.

Description of Work
Refrigerator

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/18/2017


Virginia H.

Courteous phone contact.

Description of Work
They do not do small appliance repair as listed.

Category small appliance repair

5.0

06/04/2015


Olga S.

Affordable Service Appliances has done great work for both myself and my clients for several years now. They are fair, honest, courtious, prompt, and responsive, they also do excellent work every time.

Description of Work
I have been using Affordable Service Appliances for a few years and am a real-estate broker. I have also used recommended their service to all of my clients. Most recently they had repaired a broken microwave.

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

1.0

12/11/2014


philip S.

My fridge shut off over night. I did 5 minutes of research online followed by 5 minutes behind my fridge and discovered the problem (new controller board required). When the repairman showed up, I told him exactly what the problem was, which he confirmed in 2 minutes. Then he said he could do the repair right then since he had the part in his van. HOWEVER, he wanted $550 for the job. I was shocked because the part is available online for about $130 and the labor is about 15 minutes. When I told him that I had researched the part and job online, and the consensus estimate is about $200 using brand new parts and labor (incidentally I am just going to do it myself for the cost of the part- $127) he said he could do it for $500. So I then gave him the obligatory $45 dollars for coming out and told him to leave. WHAT A JOKE! Essentially, the repairman was asking $420 for labor on a job that would take 15 minutes at most. And since the estimate really was not what would be considered a good faith estimate (he came out to rip me off), legally, I probably did not have to pay the $45 service call. UPDATE: Yep, got the part in the mail today and did the repair myself in 15 minutes. I am anything but a handyman (retired military), but doing this job myself cost me $127 instead of $550 this clown outfit was asking for. Don't use these guys. They will rip you off. The reason I even had them come out was because they are an "authorized LG repair center", and I was under the impression that I had to use them for the repair to be covered by the warranty. Well the repair was not covered by the warranty, so all I did was give them $45 to come out and try to rip me off. STAY AWAY!!!

Description of Work
Nothing, except collect $45 for showing up.

Category appliance repair

1.0

08/13/2014


Ray F.

STAY AWAY....COMPLETE RIP-OFF. We had dirty water coming from underneath the machine during a wash. I got the contact for this business from LG service so I thought they are trust worthy. I was away at work when Steve (Russian accent) came by the house but I asked my wife to call me once he diagnosed the problem. Over the phone he told me that the problem was with the drain hose. I asked him how much it would cost and he told me it would be 150 for labor and 160 for parts. I asked why it cost so much for the part and he claimed that the hose is a "special" part from LG. After the work was completed my wife called me back and told me it took him exactly 5 minutes to replace the hose on the back of the machine!!! There are a lot of other reputable business out there....look elsewhere.

Description of Work
Replaced Washer drain hose on LG machine

Category appliance repair

1.0

09/22/2012


Linda C.

The service was for a/c unit that did not blow cold air.

Description of Work
This company is a rip off. They quoted me 65.00 for a service call and the $$ would go towards the repair. When the repairman came he was sloppy and was rude. He went right to my a/c unit and told me it would be the capacitor for $400.00. I could not believe it was that much and questioned him. He was rude and said then you owe me $65.00 for the call. I told him I could not approve this cost and would have to speak with my husband. I asked him if we decide to do this work, will they credit the $65.00 towards this repair and he said a flat no. He left and we called a local co. who did the repair for $180.00 all out the door. They were polite, on time and did not try to double the cost of the part. I would never use this company.

Category small appliance repair

2.0

07/13/2012


Roger A.

Convenient to have appointments on Saturdays. "Alex" would arrive between 3 and 6PM. He arrived at 4:30PM. I did not see his vehicle, so don't know if it is marked. Alex showed up in a generic denim work shirt and jeans. No identification or company logo on him anywhere. He did not introduce himself, so I had ask him who he was. I explained that the washer was only 3 years old, was expensive to buy, and I did not think it should be normal for it to make a loud squeaking noise. He didn't seem interested. I attempted to show him a video of the machine in operation so he could hear the noise, he didn't seem interested and stopped watching it after about 15 seconds. He manipulated the controls of the machine and replicated the noise. During those few minutes, he stopped what he was doing to attend to his cell phone four times. When he was done making the machine squeak, he told me he did not know what the problem was and would need to call the LG company and have them tell him what the problem was. I asked how LG could advise him on a noise they have not heard and was told "oh, they will know, they know everything!" Despite my asking two more times, Alex would not venture a guess as to the cause of the noise, "it could be anything". This was on Sat - he would try to call LG that day or on Monday and then call me, by Monday, with the answer (and if the there was any warranty service avail) and the cost. Alex did not leave a business card, but did leave a receipt for the $45. He was here for all of 10 minutes. I did not hear back by Weds, so I called the store. Alex was apparently consulted and the receptionist called me back and explained that "it was probably something rubbing on a gasket and you will just need to learn to live with it" She mumbled something about doing a $600+ repair if I wanted but that "probably would not help" (hard to understand all of what she was saying). That was the end of it. Then I called LG and learned they are open 24/7; so Alex could have called anytime over the weekend. LG could not tell me what the squeaking problem is, but they would arrange for a LG employed service person to come to the house ($89 visit) to figure out what is wrong. The $89 visit cost is not applied to the repair cost unless the repair cost is greater than $150. Now I'll end up having to use a LG employee to get the squeak fixed, and I wasted $45 on a washing machine repairman who doesn't even have a guess why a washer is squeaking.

Description of Work
LG front load washing machine. This company is one of the few who would work on LG (most repair stores were not willing to work on LG). They said they were approved by LG for warranty work,etc. $45 fee to come to house to determine what the problem was (so much for the "free estimates" listed in Angies List).

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/14/2012


AILENE M.

Excellent service

Description of Work
Service on my washing machine and Kitchen Aide dishwasher. Diagnosed problem on washer (didn't require a repair) and fixed dishwasher (replacing worn parts).

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/12/2012


Lili M.

I have used them for years. It doesn't seem to matter that my appliances may be older, they are always more than happy to fix them. They are very knowledgable, and seem to be able to fix anything.

Description of Work
They fixed my ice maker. I have also used them for other services in the past.

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

5.0

06/19/2008


AILENE M.

Noticed that the refrigerator and freezer wasn't working at 4PM, contacted the company and they had a repairman at my home by 5PM. Unfortunately he could not repair it that evening as the parts had to be ordered. The parts came in 3 days and the repairman returned to install the parts. He also cleaned coils and completed general servicing. They are excellent and I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Replace compressor and motor on KitchenAide side by side refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

1.0

01/16/2007


JILIAN P.

They need to hire more people if they are backed up a week.

Description of Work
I called on Tuesday January 16 to have my LG frig fixed. They told me they could have someone out Wednesday January 24. A week and a day? I called someone else not from Angies List.

Category appliance repair

3.0

11/27/2006


Richard M.

The fellow who came (twice, once to diagnose and once to repair) did not have a very friendly attitude. When he was done replacing parts, and we noticed the same problem, he told us to have LG replace the refrigerator, there was nothing else to be done. We called a second company recommended by LG, they replaced the same parts, and the problem was fixed.

Description of Work
Came to make a warranty repair to our LG refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/25/2006


NANCY J.

Phone service prompt and efficient. Service person was able to come the same day I called. Minimum charge ($45) seemed very reasonable compared to a few other places called. Service person was professional and polite, and he kept to the original estimate despite there being two parts needing replacement instead of the one that he originally thought. Microwave functioning fine in the 7 days since repair.

Description of Work
Repaired over-the-range built-in microwave oven (GE Profile) that turned on, but did not heat food.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/22/2006


CHRISTOPHER W.

Called early in the morning, the technician came out the same day and on time. The work was carried out quickly and professionally. While the washing machine was not repaired, the technician was very honest about the cost of repair vs a new machine. He also recommended reliable brands to replace it with. Work was done quickly and cleanly.

Description of Work
Asked to repair two appliances: first a side by side fridge which was not cold anymore, and the second a washing machine which was slamming around when it went in to spin mode. The technician diagnosed and fixed the fridge quickly. He also recommended we not fix the washing machine as the repair cost would not be worth it as the machine was fairly old.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/05/2005


MICHAEL T.

I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE OVERALL EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND HAD A LOT OF KNOWLEDGE. THEY WERE FRIENDLY AND KNEW HOW TO MAKE ME FEEL COMFORTABLE.

Description of Work
I NEEDED MY REFRIGERATOR LOOKED AT. THEY CAME OUT AND REPAIRED MY FRIDGE AND SERVICED THE FREEZER.

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Same Day Heating & Air Conditioning

    COVID-19: With the health and safety of our customers in mind, Same Day Heating & Air is taking extra preventative measures and following Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines in the office, traveling and in your home. We are committed to the health and safety of our customers, employees, and all families involved. For in-person consultations and appointments, our team members will forego any customary handshake greeting. They will be wearing gloves and masks. We will continue to wear sanitary booties (as is the standard) and wipe down tables/phones used with sanitary wipes.Always FREE Estimates and Second Opinions on Service Calls!! Welcome to Same Day Heating & Air Conditioning! We are a Family Owned and Operated Residential Heating & Air Conditioning Company. We specialize in partnering with Home Owners to Design and Install the most efficient and comfortable residential heating and cooling systems in San Diego County. We pride ourselves on providing Best in Class Customer Service by not only having our Guarantees and Warranties in writing but also by allowing our employees to love on our clients just like we love on them. This has worked for many years. Our Family at Same Day continue to be the cornerstone of what sets us apart from our competitors. With that we are able to offer you a "100% Right...or 100% Free Guarantee" on any of our services or installations. You have an entire year....365 days to decide if got what you paid for and if for any reason we can not make you happy and satisfied we will provide you with a 100% Refund. Period. We look forward to having the opportunity to meet you and to welcome you into our Family here at Same Day. You wont regret giving us the opportunity to serve you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Same Day Heating & Air Conditioning on Angi
    Bob Jenson Air Conditioning And Heating Inc

    Service, Quality, Comfort. Consistently delivering the best Service and Installation experience in San Diego since 1977. Log in to view what Angie's List Members are saying about us and get exclusive member discounts! Our estimates on a new installation or replacement are always Free! Our Certified Technicians service all brands of equipment. We have COVID-19 Protocols in place for your safety and ours! Friendly, Knowledgeable Staff is here to help! Flexible Financing OAC Available. Call Us Today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Anderson Plumbing Heating & Air

    Need a licensed and efficient plumbing, drain, heating or air conditioning professional? San Diegans have trusted their homes to us for over 40 years! We have the experience, training and tools to expertly detect and fix leaks, clear drains, repair sewer lines, and to repair, service and install all brands of heating and AC systems. We stand behind our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, and "Nobody wows clients like we do!" Before you decide who gets your business, there are a few more things you should know about us: - We are Licensed and Insured - We are a woman-owned, family business. We take pride in our policies and procedures that ensure you get the extra care your family deserves. - We want you to be safe in your home. We conduct some of the strictest background checks in our industry. We even do a personality profile test on every employee... making sure we have the right person for the job. - We offer the strongest guarantees in the industry ... always in writing! - We believe in paying it forward. We support a number of local non-profits such as Susan G. Komen - San Diego, the USO, Girl Scouts and many more. How can we make you smile today?  

    Offers by Anderson Plumbing Heating & Air on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    appliance repair, heating and air conditioning repair and replacement san diego, ca.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Affordable Service Appliances, Inc.

    How is Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. overall rated?

    Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. open?

    Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. provide

    Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. offer free estimates?

    No, Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Affordable Service Appliances, Inc.?

    Yes, Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. offer?

    Affordable Service Appliances, Inc. offers the following services: appliance repair, heating and air conditioning repair and replacement san diego, ca.