Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Plus Roofing and construction

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2005

4.5

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2173 Froude St

San Diego, CA 92107

Description

We have 15 employees. Additional address - 2173 Froude St, San Diego, CA 92107. Additional faxes - (619) 934-2604, (619) 224-0789. Additional email - aplsquality@cox.net....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/11/2015


JOANIE D.

It went well. The company did a great job.

Description of Work
We purchased a Big Deal $99 for $200 of Gutter Repair or Replacement!

Category roofing

4.0

06/01/2013


Nancy C.

Everything was fine. I am not sure my date is correct since it was a while ago

Description of Work
He did a roof inspection and repair and clean out gutters and returned the following year. Great value. His son did not clean up very well on the gutter cleaning but he came back and did it all correctly.

Category roofing

2.0

01/21/2013


Deborah D.

Heard about family, politics, etc. and talked at me about all the large commercial roofs he has installed. I spoke with him twice via telephone about what I was concerned about (high winds had blown some tiles off of roof - and worried about leaks), which he said he would inspect and easily repair. Upon arrival, he refused to inspect where I was concerned about, but inspected only a very small portion of roof which could be seen from a ladder. Probably because he is overweight and not agile any more. Kept talking about his son doing this kind of inspection and fix, but not him. Why he came out rather than his son was never answered. Bad experience.

Description of Work
Negative experience

Category roofing

5.0

12/17/2012


Shirley H.

Went well. Came first day and gave us an estimate. Also, gave estimate to place a "deflecting edge" along the top of a garden window that protruded out beyond the roof line and was always dirty due to flow of water off the roof. This cost was in addition to the Angie's List offer, but was VERY reasonable.

Description of Work
We were preparing our home for sale. We had no gutters on the house. Two areas were prone to water pouring off the roof and flooding the nearby ground. Each was over an entrance door or porch. We had gutters placed above both entrances.

Category gutter repair, roofing

3.0

12/17/2012


Mark P.

Owner of A Plus came out after asking for a delay while he recovered from back injuries. No problem there. Once he came out, I pointed out where the leak was in the roof, and he told me he found the problem and fixed it. The problem is, it's still leaking in the same spot. While the work needs to be looked at again, the owner was very personable, and I would have no problem having anyone from A Plus coming out to do the workm

Description of Work
Repair of a small roof leak in the master bathroom.

Category roofing

2.0

12/03/2012


AILENE M.

I was never able to get them to return my calls and then once I finally made an appointment they didn't show (car problems). I just decided it wasn't a good fit and decided to use a different company. Hopefully they've got their scheduling problems worked out.

Description of Work
No services performed

Category gutter repair, roofing

3.0

10/09/2012


Naila S.

The man who came out wanted to use the coupon just for the inspection, and would not apply that towards the service even though the coupon covered maintenance work.

Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal coupon from them for 2 hours of roof maintenance and inspection.

Category roofing

5.0

10/01/2012


EDWARD S.

They missed the first appointment date, but after that they quickly and expertly repaired the gutters, and then cleaned them in their extra time.

Description of Work
Repaired sagging and broken gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

08/15/2012


MARYCAY D.

He removed the old sealed tile, and installed new underlayment, flashing, and tiles. He also power washed and put down a coating on the tile. This made the roof look brand new. Their price was for labor as I had to purchase materials.

Description of Work
He re-did my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/14/2012


Roger M.

It went fabulously. I was very impressed with them. I went on the roof with them and they pointed out a few areas where leaks might occur in the future. I was able to prevent these leaks myself. I have determined that if I need to have a complete re-roof I will go with them in the future.

Description of Work
They repaired a leak in my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/14/2012


Leslie G.

It went great. The process was quick and painless. They showed up and completed everything quickly.

Description of Work
They installed gutters on the house.

Category gutter repair

5.0

08/13/2012


Anita F.

It turned out great. We were having a problem with the gutter. They fixed the problem very quickly. They also gave us an estimate for more work the we will need to have done in the future.

Description of Work
They fixed an issue with our gutters.

Category gutter repair

4.0

04/05/2012


Ann D.

Nothing was accomplished as to my original problem. He was nice and did make a good effort, Afterwards, I had my painter seal around the window and haven't had a problem since.

Description of Work
I need an assessment of where a leak was coming into my downstairs window. He did look up in the attic and couldn't find any problem. He suggested it was a plumbing problem from the upstairs bathroom, but that bathroom hadn't been used in over a year, so I knew that wasn't a problem. He did look outside with a ladder, but didn't see anything. He suggested that the pipe draining from the air conditioner overflow was angled incorrectly, but that wasn't the problem for this issue.

Category roofing

3.0

01/31/2012


Mary K.

He was a pleasant man to interact with and he professionally inspected the roof and made the above repairs as requested. My problem with the service was in the lack of followup. He did not have the matching tiles at the time to replace the ones taken from the back of the house (built in 1988) but took samples and said he would look for them and return to replace them for an additional fee. However, despite several contacts made with him following his work, he never did find and replace the tiles.

Description of Work
A special Big Deal offer for 2 hours of roof inspection and repair. Dave inspected the roof and replaced some missing tiles at the front of the house by taking some from the back of the house. I am not sure of the date, but it was sometime between April and September 2011.

Category roofing

1.0

09/22/2011


Tammy P.

We have tried to contact this company for the last month and have not gotten a response. Our impression is that they advertised the deal then collect the money and didn't bother to perform any services.

Description of Work
We bought the deal through Angies' list and tried multiple times to contact the company with no response. I would never recommend this company to anyone.

Category gutter repair

5.0

07/27/2011


Truit T.

I got this deal off of AL where I got a lot of linear feet for a flat fee. I was only suppose to get so many "lots" of linear feet but Dave honored all that I bought anyway so it turned out to be a real good deal. Dave's sons came out on 6/9/11 and did the work and were very professional. Since I have an underground pipe system for gutter water run-off they made sure all the drains were working properly and even spent a lot of time getting one unclogged that wasn't directly on the gutter downspout connection plus gave me advice on how to keep it from getting plugged in the future.

Description of Work
Removed old gutters and installed new ones.

Category gutter repair

1.0

07/26/2011


Rose S.

Because I lost the original paperwork, there was a delay in responding to this overcharge. They were courteous but I don't like being overcharged for work that was not done.

Description of Work
I originally bought three $99 dollar coupons to install rain gutters along a upper deck. When I called I was quoted on the contract that it would cost an additonal $350.00 in 5/13/2011. Dave came by and quoted me and left a contract and said that I would be scheduled in sometime. I misplaced the original quote and he mentioned that he had a copy at this office. When he came by, I told them that I wanted my carport roof repaired along the edge where there was water intrusion. The only repair that was done was laying a few tiles along the ridgeline. I was charged for this. Anyways, he came by and said that I owed them an additonal $800, and then his son came by another day and installed one more gutter and charged me an additonal $75. So, I was overcharged or charged for a roof repair that was not done.

Category electrician, gutter repair, roofing

1.0

06/17/2011


richard C.

They have my money and I had no service...not well!!

Description of Work
I purchased on-line the $149.00 special for a roof inspection and four man-hours of work and called the phone number given to schedule an appointment. As of now, two weeks later, no person has bothered to contact me even though I made a second call to see what was up. It will be interesting to see if I am able to get my money back.

Category roofing

1.0

06/01/2011


Tomas G.

I am very displeased with how non-responsive the service provider is.

Description of Work
He came by the house to look at it, and the next day I called him. I haven't heard from him since despite phone calls to him.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/26/2011


Mark P.

Once I got in contact with Dave, he came over that morning. He climbed up on the roof and found the problem right away. Had it fixed in no time at all. He even gave me advice on how to fix my drywall. I really appreciated Dave's professionalism. Dave is through, honest and approachable. We're talking to him about installing rain gutters and windows. It's nice to have someone you can depend on.

Description of Work
Repair of flashing around skylights.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the good review our family at a plus appreciate it.
5.0

04/09/2011


Leslie & Tom R.

He removed 10 tiles, repaired the flashing, added underlayment, added sealant and then replaced the tiles. All of this in under the 2 hours we paid for! Since he had time left, he inspected our whole roof while he was here. Great job, great personality and service. Definately recommend them!

Description of Work
We bought the special 2 hours for $149. Dave came to look at and repair the leak we had in the garage roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks you for purchasing the big deal and thanks for the review.
3.0

04/01/2011


Judy S.

They came right out. The written quote was a little surprising because they didn?t guarantee or warranty several things that I wanted them to do specifically. The owner?s son came out to see what I wanted. I liked him very much. He did everything and he called my son when I requested him. But, my son was not happy with the owner. He had contacted the owner a couple of different times. They said that they could work on the solar panels where in other companies were not ready to do the job. However, in the bid, they made the solar part separate and it was very high and also did not guarantee for anything on the solar panel.

Description of Work
A Plus Roofing and Solar gave me a quote about three weeks ago.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I’m very sorry we couldn’t come to terms but we don’t guarantee assisting solar thermal panels. They become very brittle being in the sun for long periods of time and the abs pipe can be difficult to work with.
5.0

03/28/2011


Renee C.

I was very happy with them. The owner was very nice when I made the appointment. His son came out and did the work. He was awesome. He pointed out other problems with the roof in more detail than others(who had said it just looks wrong). He said he will send pictures of what it looked like before the tune up. Super happy with this company!

Description of Work
There was a leak over the garage and he fixed it. It rained that week and it didn't leak. The rest of the roof was inspected and certain areas "tuned up" so it should be fine for a few more years. There were tiles up there that were slipping. I'm very relieved he fixed that.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and the work. I’m the owner and am very proud of my son José Words don’t say enough about how proud I am of jose
5.0

02/13/2011


BARBARA H.

They were careful with my mother's roses and cleaned up and hauled away all debris. The work was done professionally and courteously.

Description of Work
They removed a rotting wooden structure and replaced it with a cinder block, rebar, and cement retaining wall.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

from our family to your we thank you. and please tell a friend.
5.0

01/20/2011


BARBARA H.

I had been given an estimate the week before by someone who came highly recommended, but he wanted to do a new roof for $18,550 or non guaranteed repairs for $1500-2000. I checked Angie's list and found three places with good ratings. A+ called that morning, came out right away, and the roof was repaired the following day. One company didn't respond and one called that evening. I believe A+ will make good if there is any problem with the repair. I will wait to see the finished product on my mom's wall, and then may hire them for other work.

Description of Work
Repaired my roof and neighbor's. Very courteous and cleaned up after themselves. I now have them doing a retaining wall for my mom after repairing her roof. I will report on the actual repairs themselves after the next rain, but I was very impressed with their professionalism and knowledge. (date is approximate as I don't have my calendar handy.)

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

A plus family thanks you. and may you and yours stay with good heath god bless

    Other local Pros in your area

    Wilson services

     

    Elements Design & Remodeling

    Our goal at Elements Design & Remodel is to make your home a haven. We work with you to create custom design solutions that are personalized for your individual needs, taste, and style. Yes, we will share our portfolio with you so that you can see our quality, craftsmanship, and completed design but we approach your project from square one designing a remodel that is unique to you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Modern Home Remodeling

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Commercial and residential flat roofs of metal & asphalt, metal buildings, tile restorations, new tile & shingles.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Plus Roofing and construction

    How is A Plus Roofing and construction overall rated?

    A Plus Roofing and construction is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Plus Roofing and construction open?

    A Plus Roofing and construction is open:

    Monday: 5:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 5:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 5:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 5:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 5:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does A Plus Roofing and construction provide

    A Plus Roofing and construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does A Plus Roofing and construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Plus Roofing and construction offers free project estimates.

    Does A Plus Roofing and construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A Plus Roofing and construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Plus Roofing and construction offer a senior discount?

    No, A Plus Roofing and construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A Plus Roofing and construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, A Plus Roofing and construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A Plus Roofing and construction?

    No, A Plus Roofing and construction does not offer warranties.

    What services does A Plus Roofing and construction offer?

    A Plus Roofing and construction offers the following services: Commercial and residential flat roofs of metal & asphalt, metal buildings, tile restorations, new tile & shingles.