Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

California Carpet

Founded 1989 • With Angi since May 2005

4.3

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

695 INDUSTRIAL RD

San Carlos, CA 94070

Description

With two bay area locations...our mission at California Carpet has been to be the Bay Area's leading floor covering retailer by providing more of what you, our customers, are looking for. That begins with selection, service and price - but it doesn't end there. It has to include trust, and we have

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

04/08/2015


Ryan K.

My experience was good. They did a good job. It was nice, neat and clean. They knew what they were doing.

Description of Work
They installed the carpet for one room.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/25/2014


Dave D.

He was there on time. We talked about what to be done & then we inspected it when he was finished

Description of Work
replace the carpet on my stairs

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

03/24/2014


C G.

The gentleman who came to do the estimate was extremely knowledgeable and professional. Our stairs turn twice, and he was able to explain the different options and the benefits of each. He also explained how we could create a small area rug from the same carpet, which we had not thought of. The gentlemen who installed were prompt, neat, professional, and good. The entire process was done in less than 3 hours.

Description of Work
Installed stair runners

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

12/15/2013


Katherine M.

I purchased carpet for my entry stairs (2 flights) and hall closet. They arrived on time and installed the carpet quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

1.0

12/20/2012


MJ S.

Salesman (Greg) directed me to a carpet he thought I could 'afford' and did not show me other carpets that fell within my specifications so I could weigh my options and set my priorities. This is clearly a problem noted by other women who have written reviews Cal. Carpet on other sites such as YELP. Greg came to my home to measure, but apparently neglected to measure the entire room. This caused the wrong width of carpet. This was not noted until the installer noticed that there was about a 3-4 inch discrepancy (too far to 'stretch' the carpet to cover it) that resulted in the need for a seam in a very vulnerable area between three door thresholds (one of them to the back yard). This was a problem because I specified, and was reassured by Greg, that there would be no seams. Greg first tried to blame the installer, then he tried to blame the company, and then tried to blame their regular carpet measuring person. I told him that he, himself had done the measuring and ordered the carpet. Greg tried to talk me into accepting something I did not want by saying how well there seam-creation was done. I said that if I wanted a poor job that was not as I was promised, I could have paid considerably less money elsewhere. I told them to take it out (multiple calls between the installer and Greg and the so-called manager Maria at the S.F. store), but they seamed it and left it there during a time I had quite a bit of construction occurring that required the workers to access the back yard through that room. After 6 days I had not heard from them so I called Greg who said my case had "slipped his mind". I asked him how things would be resolved. He was entirely unhelpful and did not allow me to speak to the manager. Additionally, he told me that if the painters or construction people hurt the carpet in any way, they would not take it back. I then called the San Carlos store and that manager said she would get a message to the S.F. manager. The S.F. manager did not call me despite the fact that the San Carlos manager reassured me that she had conveyed my message to her. I had to call her and she said that so many people were involved, that she decided to "stay out of it". I told her that Greg was her employee and the buck should stop with her, but Maria had no intention of taking any responsibility for anything. In fact she called my cell phone 2 weeks later and left two messages. When I called her back, she said she never called me. I called her back on a landline and played the messages for her. She then said, "oh, those weren't for you". This place seemed to be a comedy of errors and miscommunications. Eventually I got a call from the head of installation who sent a different employee to measure the room again, this time properly. More than three weeks later, the new carpet arrived and was properly installed-WITH NO SEAMS, as originally requested. However, due to all of the delays, my painter had re-painted the room including the baseboards, as originally scheduled (and he was not available to come later) during the interim. They were all completely marked up by the installation and I now have to pay my painter, when he has time in the future, to come out and re-paint it and I will have to move all of the furniture AGAIN. California Carpet made no effort to reduce the cost of the transaction despite their poor communication within their business and with me. To make matters even worse, they charged the balance to my credit card after I had made it clear I needed to pay the remainder due after the 50 % deposit by check. I had used the same card for the other work that was done at the house, so that amount put me over my credit limit (something that has never happened before in my life of 55 years). Both the first and the second installations were marred by the installers showing up between 2 and 5 1/2 hours late, respectively. Clearly, the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing. If you have a problem, no one wants to take responsibility for their errors. I plan never to do business with them again, and strongly suggest others beware.

Description of Work
Help choosing a carpet type; In-home measurement for carpet for one room; installation of carpet, same one twice.

Category carpet installation

2.0

11/12/2012


Joel S.

The staff at the store were helpful and seemed knowledgeable. They were accommodating with our schedule for measuring the condo and polite. We chose them because they said they could do the install within a short time period. Once the carpet was ordered, the installation was delayed. This was exactly what we were trying to avoid - we went with them because they said they could finish in the time frame we outlined. They offered a very small discount for the inconvenience, but we had no other choice but to continue with them as going to another store would even take more time to finish the job. The installers seemed to have a problem with how the measurements were taken, having to make some adjustments to the installation to make it all work. They also seemed to react surprised (not in a positive way) when they found out how much we paid for the carpet and installation. The installers were polite and professional while they were doing their work. Less than a year later, loops were beginning to come out from the weave and one ended up getting pulled by a vacuum cleaner and creating a run in the carpet about a yard long. This was not in a heavily used part of the carpet. When I called to see if this was covered under warranty, they said that it was considered normal wear and tear and not covered. I showed them my receipt and asked for a copy of the warranty. They replied that they'd have to search by hand to see exactly what carpet I had - that they had switched to a new computer system and it wasn't in there. I asked about repair which they quoted at about $500, after sending a technician to look at it. I asked again about the warranty and the exact name brand and style of carpet and they ignored my requests only giving me options about when a repair could be made. Several more requests were ignored about the name and style of carpet and I finally decided to move on to someone else to repair it.

Description of Work
Measured and gave estimate for installing wall to wall carpeting in condominium. Installed wall to wall carpeting.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/18/2012


Thomas J.

They are great. So far, I would give them an A.

Description of Work
We are in the process right now of using them. They gave us an estimate. They will be installing carpet for us.

Category carpet installation

5.0

01/12/2012


brad S.

We have purchased other rugs at California Carpet and always liked the choice and service. We went back again for our re-carpeting needs upstairs. DJ at the San Carlos store assisted us in finding the carpet to suit our needs. He showed up a wide variety of carpets from many price points. We wanted a good, durable, soft and long lasting carpet. He would have been more than happy to show and sell us carpet from their "roll room" right up to the designer section. We didn't feel like we were steered to any particular style. He listened to our desires and needs and explained the benefits of the various brands. We settled on a Karastan Smartstrand cut pile. It was dense, stain resistant and very soft feeling (which is what I really wanted). It just felt so good to my hand and feet. I love it! It was quite a bit more than a similar carpet (about $15 to $20/yrd) but I can really feel the difference between the two. To me, worth the extra expense. They worked with us in finding a price that we were happy with and so were they. It's a big expense and will last a long time, we felt it was worth getting a product that was exactly what we wanted and it really isn't that much more for the quality improvement. Time will tell. The installation was handled by their "in-house" installers. Installation makes the difference. The carpeting we replaced had seams showing all over the place. When we purchased the house 8yrs ago the seams were already there and the carpet was only 4yrs old. Again, time will tell, but this is a different type of carpet and seams shouldn't be an issue. The installation crew actually installed with less seams than the old carpet, which is good. They sent a three man crew and they installed in one day. Two bedrooms, loft, three walk in closets, hallway and stairs. Also, had to shuffle furniture between two rooms. They showed up before the window given to me and were finished right before 6pm. Transitions to the bathroom tile and to the third bedroom (carpet not changed) look great. They were professional and friendly. I saw that one stair got pulled up and redone when it was not to his liking. They cleaned up when finished and were on their way. Everything seems well installed to me and I have been assured that any problem that might come up in the future will be handled by California Carpet. I don't have any reason to believe it will not. I would definitely recommend California Carpet to anyone looking to purchase carpet.

Description of Work
Purchase and installation of carpeting for entire upstairs of home. Approx 130 yards of carpeting.

Category carpet installation

5.0

11/19/2011


Chris G.

Initially I didn't think this project was going to go very will with them, given that the guy to perform the estimate called 15 minutes before our meeting time to tell me he was going to be late because he got caught up with something at the store. I was also a little annoyed with the estimator since when I made the appointment I was told I would be met by the estimator at a certain time, however the estimator was under the impression that the appointment was at a certain time +/- 30 minutes. So now he could be 45 minutes late. After the estimate was complete and I paid my deposit, the contractor that would be leading the job called to say that during his review he sees that the job is much more complicated...the estimator failed to realize a few things, however in working with the contractor we were able to workout the kinks... The work was done and the floors looked great, although in the process some of the stain dripped on a few areas. However I meet up with the team and they were able to remove the stain and fix one minor issue. I would work with California Carpet again.

Description of Work
CC was asked to refinish my kitchen and living room hardwood floors.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

11/02/2011


Cameron M.

The service was good. The salesperson we worked with was very nice and they were very accommodating. We would work with them again.

Description of Work
We used California Carpet for an installation.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/20/2011


aaron K.

I worked with Michael - he was amazing. I had never purchased carpet before, and he was incredibly helpful, low pressure and the end result was fantastic. I'm really glad that I took the advice he gave me. I also genuinely appreciated that he bent over backwards to be creative to work within my budget (there was definitely NO attempt to "up-sell" me) and to appease my desire to purchase an eco-friendly product. I looked at 10+ different carpet stores in the greater SF area, and I really feel like I received the best service (and product) at CA carpets.

Description of Work
I purchased carpet from California carpets.

Category carpet installation

5.0

01/14/2011


Steve S.

The experience went exactly as described. They finished slightly ahead of time and there were no surprises. A very well planned out and executed job in my opinion.

Description of Work
We replaced our hardwood floors. California Carpets has a huge selection and the staff was very helpful. They did a great job. They aren't cheap, but you get what you pay for. They did an amazing job and the floor looks beautiful. No creaking or gaps at all.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

05/05/2009


Calvin D.

Everything when very well. We purchased a roll end at a great price. There were some questions about quantity and color matches, but our sales person Jason took care of us in every way. I have had carpet installed a number of times in my life and the installation team led by Joe Rivas was the best I have ever had. They were punctual, professional, friendly and did an outstanding job at both installing and cleaning up. I could not be happier with the result.

Description of Work
Provided and installed high grade carpet in 2 bedrooms and 1 hall.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/27/2009


Calvin D.

California Carpet and Rug treated us very well. The installers were some of the best I have ever seen. They were absolute professionals. I have had carpet installed numerous times and these installers were the best. Californial Carpet is very highly rated.

Description of Work
California Carpet and Rug pulled up our carpet, refinished our wood flooring in one of our rooms, and carpeted two of our bedrooms and a hallway.

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/20/2008


Jack F.

I chose California Carpet from among 3 estimates I obtained despite it having few or no reviews here with respect to hardwood floor refinishing-and mixed reviews here and elsewhere about its carpet services-because CC could begin the job almost immediately, which was very important to me, since we just bought the home and were waiting to have the floors refinished before we moved in. They are relatively expensive (in my best estimation, since it is never quite apples to apples, falling in the middle of the 3 estimates, but at the high end), but the work they did was also very good. CC uses the "vortex" system (which you can Google and learn about), which is basically a vacuuming system attached to their sanders. They bill this as virtually eliminating sawdust and making the job cheaper and quicker. They advised me that they would have to use traditional sanders to get in the corners. Indeed, when the job was finished, we found virtually no dust throughout the house, whether on window sills, in vents, or wherever else it might be. The vortex system apparently worked very well, and we were pleased with its cleanliness. A friend had her floors refinished around the same time with traditional sanders and is dealing with a huge mess, so this is a big positive. The vortex, however, certainly did not cut the time and price in half, as claimed. Instead, CC took the same 5-day period to do the work that the other contractors would have taken. One thing I liked about CC is that they use water-based sealers only, which do not off-gas and are more environmentally friendly. They also leave a really nice, natural finish on the floors (we chose to go light and natural with a satin finish b/c we have a dog and a shiny finish would show scratches more). As for the work, I'd rate it an 8.5 or 9 out of 10. It looks excellent in most places, and they repaired all the problem areas very well. They interlaced the area that previously had a tile landing so it looks like the floor was always there-well done. And they added guards/strips at all the doorways and around the fireplace, which really makes a nice finish. Not a 10 because there are a few areas that aren't perfectly smooth (can feel groves b/w boards) or where a board along the border wasn't cut quite right (which won't matter after I install baseboards). All in all, we're very happy. My biggest complaints were that (1) the company representative showed up late to both the estimate and the walk-through and didn't call me either time to let me know (which caused embarrassment when he was doing his estimate and a second contractor showed up and I had to ask him to wait outside); and (2) throughout the 5 days, they never really communicated with me to tell me the status, etc. In fact, the night before work was to start, I had to call the representative to tell him how his workers could get into the house-I don't know what they would have done if I hadn't called.

Description of Work
Repaired and refinished approximately 780 square feet of red oak hardwood flooring in 52-year old house. Approximately 90 square feet in various areas needed repairs. In addition, installed hardwood in area where there had previously been a tile landing upon entering front door, interlacing the new wood with existing flooring. Work included installing matching strips/guards between flooring and various room entrances/doors, etc. My wife and I did the prep work including removing all the tack board and staples from the previous carpet installation and removing all the baseboard (kind of arduous work, but well worth doing it ourselves rather than paying them to do it), and removing the tile landing that we wanted redone in hardwood. CC also left the planks they pulled up for repair, per my request (I'll use them for some sort of project or other-why let them go to waste, there's a lot of beautiful old wood there).

Category hardwood floor

2.0

09/17/2008


Meg S.

This price includes the disposal of the old carpet, which was $80. Their price was less than another quote that I received. The installation went well. I dealt with a very wonderful sales associate, Arlene, that was recommended highly to me. She was great and bent over backwards for me. She even returned my phone calls when she was off the clock. However I knew she was leaving for vacation and thought the job was going to go fine. When she was gone I had to deal with the store manager, Gordon, which was horrific. I used a brand of carpet, Fabrica, because they are known for custom color matching. The carpet that they sent was not even close to the color I picked. The second color match was also wrong. They did not deal with this color mix-up appropriately to get the job moving quickly. The store manager was awful. He was not assertive on my behalf at all, nor would he return my calls promptly. The company knew from the start that I had a moving deadline to hit. The job took so long to get right, that it was finished just two days before my move-in date. It took them 45 days to complete this job, when it should have been completed within half that time. On the other hand, Waldo, a subcontractor, did the installation for me and actually came in on a Saturday and Sunday to get the job done because I was moving in the next day. He was a blessing for me. He was so careful. He took care of my baseboards, which had just been painted. He cleaned up well. He even helped me remove some built-in shelving in the closet, so he could run the caret to the trim. He did not charge extra for that. Although the installation went well, I would not use this company again in the future and would definitely not recommend them.

Description of Work
I purchased about 117 square yards of carpet, including high quality padding, and they installed it in 3 rooms and hallways.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/27/2008


CARINA M.

Extremely well. We are 100% pleased with the carpet and with the way they handled the door in the floor. The edges of the door are barely detectable, and opening and closing the door has caused no problems with the carpet. The installer suggested folding over the edge at the room's entryway instead of putting down a metal strip and I'm very glad he did, it's much nicer this way. The service was very friendly, and I actually was able to have the carpet installed within a week of ordering. Installation took just a few hours. I would highly recommend California Carpet of San Carlos.

Description of Work
They installed wall-to-wall carpeting in our 12' x 20' living room. The job was unusual because we have a large trap door in the floor (it covers stairs to the basement) and it was carpeted over, but with the sides cut out so it could still be opened.

Category carpet installation

1.0

12/05/2007


Rusty P.

The carpet was not sitting tightly against the baseboard and there were gaps. I called to complain, but they would never call me back. I even went to their place of business and spoke with a manager and called the owner, but I still didn't get a response. Finally, they sent someone out to look at it, but the repair didn't seem worth it to me. Their responsiveness was beyond bad, it was nonexistent. The installer for my hardwood floors was very late because they were supposed to have the flooring ready for him, but it wasn't. Also it was the wrong flooring so he had to take it back.

Description of Work
They installed flooring and carpet.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

THE ONLY CUSTOMER WE HAVE BY THIS LAST NAME PURCHASED IN MID 2005. IF IT IS THE SAME CUSTOMER, THEIR CONTRACTOR INSTALLED THE BASE AFTER WE COMPLETED THE CARPET INSTALLATION. THE CONTRACTOR DID NOT INSTALL THE BASE TO THE CUSTOMER'S SATISFACTION AND WOULD NOT REPAIR THE JOB. THE CUSTOMER THEN DEMANDED THAT WE CORRECT THEIR CONTRACTOR'S WORK. SINCE WE DID NOT INSTALL THE BASE, WE COULD NOT ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE WORK. THE CUSTOMER WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THIS DECISION. WE FULLY STAND BY OUR WORK BUT WE CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR WORK COMPLETED BY OTHER CONTRACTORS.
5.0

10/08/2007


PATRICIA M.

This job was a fast turnaround. California Carpets was exceptional at meeting our needs in terms of scheduling. The crew was friendly and efficient. We are very happy with the carpet and the installation.

Description of Work
Installed carpet in five rooms. Removed and hauled old carpet.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/30/2007


BOB B.

We really liked the professional service given to us by this company. They were neat, worked very fast, and installed our new carpet without a problem. We also felt that the price was right around what we thought it should have been for the money.

Description of Work
They installed a standard quality type carpet in a 3 bedroom flat, roughly around 1800 square feet. They took one full day to complete the job and all old carpet was taken out and discarded by them.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

10/23/2006


ANDREA J.

Purchased and installed a new rug on the stairs. They were out of stock on our first choice which was kind of a pain, but the service was pretty good and the price was decent.

Description of Work
Replaced rugs on stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/03/2006


Kathy D.

THEY WERE JUST EXCELLENT FROM START TO FINISH. FROM THE FIRST VISIT TO CUSTOMER SERVICE, TO THE PRICE AND THE QUALITY; THEY WERE GOOD. THEY CAME ON TIME AND DID EVERYTHING RIGHT.

Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED CARPET IN SEVEN ROOMS OF THE HOUSE.

Category carpet installation

4.0

10/13/2005

I RATED THEM AS A (B) BECAUSE I NEVER DID GET A CALL BACK FROM THE GUY THAT SOLD ME THE CARPET. YOU WOULD THINK HE WOULD HAVE CALLED ME BACK TO SEE HOW WELL THAT I LIKED THE CARPETING. THE INSTALLERS WERE GREAT, ONLY TOOK THEM A COUPLE OF DAYS TO INSTALL

Description of Work
INSTALLED WALL TO WALL CARPETING IN 2 LARGE BEDROOMS & HALL

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/13/2005

I THOUGHT THEY WERE A WONDERFUL COMPANY. THE SALESPERSON WAS VERY NICE & KNOWLEDGEABLE. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE COLOR OF CARPET THAT I WANTED. IT DID NOT TAKE THEM LONG TO INSTALL THE CARPET.

Description of Work
INSTALLED NEW CARPET.

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/13/2005


LYNN M.

THEY ARE A GREAT COMPANY. THEY ARE VERY PROFESSIONAL, AND VERY RESPONSIVE. THEIR SELECTION OF CARPET WAS GREAT, AND THE PEOPLE ARE VERY PLEASANT. I ENJOYED THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE.

Description of Work
INSTALLED CARPET.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Floor Pros

    Floor Pros was established in 1980 as a family owned business to provide the San Francisco Bay Area with quality hardwood flooring installation, sanding, and refinishing services for both commercial and residential homes and businesses. We are committed to providing our customers in San Francisco, San Mateo, Marin, Contra Costa, and Alameda counties with exceptional hardwood flooring services. Our new customers are all wondering the same thing, what makes Floor Pros qualified for quality work? We are members of several institutions that set high standards for the hardwood flooring industry. Trained and certified by the National Wood Flooring Association, who sets the benchmark for professional conduct, we guarantee that our technicians are the best in the industry. Also, we are a proud member of USGBC, who sets the standards for environmentally sustainable construction. Believing that providing quality services is a continuous process, we send our technicians to hardwood flooring workshops in and out of the San Francisco Bay Area a few times each year to ensure that they are current with techniques and technologies. This year we have enrolled our technicians for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification by USGBC. Understanding that sustainable business practices are in the best interest of our customers, suppliers, employees, and environment, we are one of the few hardwood flooring companies in based in the San Francisco Bay Area that are pioneering LEED projects. We also believe in using the best product our suppliers can provide us to ensure that the wood flooring is long lasting and durable. Each year, we make three to four trips to our supplier’s headquarters; whether it’s in Canada, Seattle, or Brazil, we go the distance to find the best brands. Some of the prestigious brands we carry are: Mirage, Lauzon, DuChateau, and Oshkosh Designs. Each brand and product we use and carry is hand picked by our current founder and president,  

    Angi Certified

    Camero's Handyman

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in handyman services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    RS Remodeling & Restoration LLC

    Hi guys! I'm Rodrigo and we are experts in bathroom and kitchen remodeling. We approach projects with a strong work ethic, careful attention to detail, and extensive experience in flooring and remodeling. The remodeling process is transformative work that I thoroughly enjoy. Clients appreciate our skill, reliability, and ability to listen to design needs. I can help you if your project needs. I'm excited about the possibility of working with you. Call me or text me for more information.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Two Bay Area Locations - San Francisco and San Carlos. We specialize in Flooring, Carpet Sales, Service & Installation. Rugs, Hardwood, Laminates, Vinyl, Hardwood Refinishing, In-Stock Flooring, Custom Rug Services, Commercial Flooring

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about California Carpet

    How is California Carpet overall rated?

    California Carpet is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are California Carpet open?

    California Carpet is open:

    Sunday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does California Carpet provide

    California Carpet accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does California Carpet offer free estimates?

    Yes, California Carpet offers free project estimates.

    Does California Carpet offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, California Carpet does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by California Carpet?

    No, California Carpet does not offer warranties.

    What services does California Carpet offer?

    California Carpet offers the following services: Two Bay Area Locations - San Francisco and San Carlos. We specialize in Flooring, Carpet Sales, Service & Installation. Rugs, Hardwood, Laminates, Vinyl, Hardwood Refinishing, In-Stock Flooring, Custom Rug Services, Commercial Flooring