Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Key Man

Founded 2005 • With Angi since March 2007

5.0

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Florin Road

Sacramento, CA 95831

Description

The Key Man has been your local expert at residential and commercial locksmithing since 2005. We offer our services for automotive lockouts, residential and commercial doors and locks, plus much more! We do rekeying, lock repair services, lock replacement, key duplication, and more for your auto, home, or business lockout needs! Call today for immediate service. We can guarantee our work and timely service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/29/2020


Ardyth S.

I have a nonstandard front door that wouldn't open because the deadbolt and lever wore out at the same time. Lesley answered my many questions about what new hardware to buy, and she and her father both came out to do the work. Besides the front door, they repaired the frame for a side door, where I was also installing new hardware but the bolt and receptacle weren't lining up straight. They were a pleasure to work with and I'd definitely call them for any future needs.

Description of Work
Replaced several locks in an older house with a nonstandard front door, performed related repairs

Category locksmith

5.0

04/16/2019


Emily D.

Lesly was great. She was friendly, explained what she was doing and went out of her way to get all the locks sorted. I would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
We needed seven locks rekeyed and in some cases repaired/moved.

Category locksmith

5.0

11/27/2018


Ben G.

He fixed the issue and repaired a second door handle mechanism as well

Description of Work
adjusted a deadbolt that wouldn't fully engage

Category locksmith

5.0

10/21/2018


Beryl G.

superb! He accommodated my schedule and efficiently tackled the project. Frankly I expected to pay twice as much!

Description of Work
he replaced malfunctioning door locks (with new locks that I had on hand), rekeyed all exterior locks, and cut new keys, all on a Sunday !

Category locksmith

5.0

09/19/2017


Doug W.

The key man was awesome. Returned call promptly and scheduled an appointment for the next morning. Was prompt, and new what he was doing. Done in about 20 minutes. Excellent customer service.

Description of Work
Had a locked door in bedroom with no key.

Category locksmith

5.0

01/02/2017


Alicia A.

Everything went well. On time, professional and reasonable.

Description of Work
Needed a kryptonite bike lock removed from premises that tenant had left locked on site. The Key Man came out same day, removed it and for a very reasonable charge. I would hire again in an instant!

Category locksmith

5.0

07/26/2016


Jan P.

Carl came out within an hour of contacting him. He had the part needed to do the repair and it took less then 45 minutes. Very professional. I have already recommended him to others.

Description of Work
Our lock on a security door was frozen

Category locksmith

5.0

04/01/2016


Marea F.

Easy. I live out of town and needed my house rekeyed for a new tenant. He was easy to work with and completed the work within 2-3 days of my first contact. Prompt, efficient, and the right price. I would use him again.

Description of Work
Rekeyed 5 locks.

Category locksmith

5.0

01/13/2016


Peter S.

Lesly did the work at our house in a very professional manner. She re-keyed four locks, and installed a new dead bolt on the garage door. She also fixed the front and garage doors that previously did not latch properly. Now everything works fine. I felt that was a lot of work for the price. I was very pleased with her work and the price.

Description of Work
Re-keyed our new house and repaired several doors that did not latch properly.

Category locksmith

5.0

11/17/2015


Thomas S.

Last night I encountered an issue where I could no longer turn the key in my ignition. AAA recommended I look for a local locksmith, and I found The Key Man here. I called him this morning. He was polite and professional, came to my house by early afternoon, and fixed the issue promptly. Would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Cleaned out the ignition on my Ford Focus.

Category locksmith

5.0

10/09/2015


Ginger M.

Excellent customer service. I email through the website contact form and got a response in about 30 minutes. The day and time I wanted were available and book. I received a phone call confirming the appointment on the day of service. Lesley was prompt, professional and showed her ID. My issues were all fixed in about 35-40 minutes and the price was very reasonable. I've already recommended them to a friend.

Description of Work
came to my home and rekeyed and placed two locks. Fixed the other two locks with lubricant spray and cut new keys.

Category locksmith, web designers

5.0

06/12/2015


Casandra M.

Excellent Job. They arrived on time, gave a reasonable quote and provided the service quickly and professionally. Very satisfied, and would recommend and use again.

Description of Work
Re-keyed front door and two other doors with top and bottom locks, total of 5 new locks installed.

Category locksmith

5.0

05/22/2015


Dave C.

Leslie and Carl were very responsive and attentive to our needs, and were extremely professional. They did a great job, were very reasonably priced and even gave us a senior discount. We thoroughly recommend them!

Description of Work
Rekeyed our home and shed locks, multiple key copies.

Category locksmith

5.0

04/07/2015


Janeil S.

I called early Tuesday morning and asked for an afternoon appointment. The time was agreed upon and the technician arrived right on time, explained the process, went right to work, and accompanied us to check all the locks and keys and make sure everything worked smoothly before she left. Very polite and professional, I'd hire them again in a minute.

Description of Work
Re-key three deadbolt locks and refit one, check doorknob locks, make extra key

Category locksmith

5.0

12/30/2014


joanne F.

He was on time and pleasant to work with. He went to work right away and was done in about an hour. He rekeyed 6 locks and fixed one lock that was rubbing against the hole in frame. He did a good job and even gave me extra keys at no cost. I would use them again. I wish they gave Angie coupons but I felt the service was very good.

Description of Work
re-key 6 locks and make copies of keys

Category locksmith

5.0

10/09/2014


KATHY K.

Carl has re-keyed and repaired a lock for me in the past and did a great job, very professional and helpful. I don't recall how much he charged. I called him again yesterday afternoon to repair a door lock that was no longer working. He came out the very next morning, took apart the lock to evaluate it and said I actually didn't need any new parts, that it just needed to be tightened a little which he did as a courtesy, no charge at all! How great is that? I highly recommend the Key Man. He does a great job, very professional, responsive and trustworthy. I will only use the Key Man for future locksmith work and repairs.

Description of Work
He repaired and tightened a lock on the pool house

Category locksmith

5.0

08/19/2014


Jenny A.

Responed to my phone call with 30 minutes. Was able to re-key the house the same day I contacted him. Arrived on time. Provided several new keys and even fixed one of the strikeplates on my dooor at no extra charge. Outstanding service- I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Re-keyed all of the locks on the outside doors

Category locksmith

5.0

07/09/2014


Wendi F.

Unlocked interior office door and made extra keys.

Description of Work
Carl answered his phone right away, didn't have time in that moment to set-up an appointment but called me back quickly once he was available. He arrived on time, quickly evaluated how best to unlock my office, explained what he was going to do, did it and cleaned up nicely. He even made more keys to have on hand since the initial reason for his visit went so quickly.

Category locksmith

5.0

07/08/2014


Theresa M.

Excellent. Carl was responsive to my calls and accommodated his schedule to work me in on the same day. He performed the service and showed me a couple additional options. He was prompt, efficient, and personable.

Description of Work
He re-keyed locks in my home.

Category locksmith

5.0

05/23/2014


Timothy M.

I purchased a new Schlage door handle and deadbolt for a remodeled home. The new hardware didn't fit in the older door, but Carl was able to make the tooling necessary to make the new handle fit. A little jury-rigging was required, but the new handle works perfectly.

Description of Work
Installed new door hardware on an older door.

Category locksmith

5.0

02/28/2014


hawkins .

Very pleased with them. Very efficient worked quickly and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
locks

Category locksmith

5.0

02/05/2014


Beth P.

I'm having my kitchen floor tiled. The contractor was coming the next day to begin the project. He needed access through my side gate. Unlike my usual very organized self, I absolutely could not find the key to the side gate padlock. Rather than panic, I went to Angie's List and found The Keyman. He was able to come over the same day to remove the padlock. He actually called to ask if he could come over early. I was very grateful for that. Carl was able to pick the lock and remove it. The padlock is still intact, in case I ever find the key. In the meantime, my tile contractor has had free access through the side gate.

Description of Work
Removed a padlock for which I'd misplaced the key.

Category locksmith

5.0

01/28/2014


Dave I.

We had a 6 keys for the 8 locks on our home's exterior doors (two security doors and two exterior entry doors and the door between garage and home. The door locks included a combination of both Schlage and Kwiset Locks. the various branded locks we mismatched on the various doors. We learned in calling the Key man that we could have one key for the Schlage lock and one key for kwiset locks. We purchased several Kwiset locks and installed locks so that the security door and the associated entry doors would match. After installation I called the Key Man again on Monday Jan 27. We made an appointment for 2:00 pm on Jan 28 for the Key Man to come out . 110- The Key Man came out right at the scheduled appointed time nd professionally re-keyed all 7 locks so that we now have 2 keys instead of the 6 keys we had previously. The work was completed in less than a half hour. the total fee was $110 ($40 for the visit and $10 per lock)

Description of Work
re-keyed 7 locks - front security door ( front and deadbolt) to match same key as front door, re-keyed garage door (handle & deadboldt) to match side garage door and side security door (both have a deadbolt and handle locks).

Category locksmith

5.0

01/16/2014


ronald B.

quick, prompt, professional, polite, competent, very reasonably priced

Description of Work
rekeyed door

Category locksmith

5.0

12/24/2013


Gary H.

Being new to the area we decided to use Angie's List to help locate various services. Our first encounter was a very positive experience. Carl " The Key Man " showed up right on time. As we walked to each door that needed to be re-keyed, he had tools in hand and removed each lock. I asked if he could just take a look at some other doors that were not working properly and he said he would. He adjusted and repaired loose handles on three sliding glass doors and repaired latches on three other doors that we're not working properly and he did not charge us for this extra service. We will definitely be recommending the " The Key Man " to all of our friends

Description of Work
Re-keyed six locks, adjusted three sliding glass doors, and repaired three doors that would not shut properly.

Category locksmith

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dumpy Hauling

    Hi my name is Angelo Nevotti. I offer my services to remove anything that you need gone Or relocated. I work in the yolo county and Sacramento areas so please call or text for a free quote within minutes. Thank you for your time!  

    Xtra Junk Removal Services

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Haul-a-load

    I haul trash,Green waste,Home appliances,and debris I don't take no chemicals, Fees started at $125.00-$150.00 I also do clean-outs there negotiated on how much needs to be haul away.For small loads $60.00-$80.00 I do all of Sacramento, and surrounding areas call for price out of Sacramento  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Website Design & Development
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Locksmith, Hauling, Web Design

    Services Not Offered

    Walk-in Services

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Key Man

    How is The Key Man overall rated?

    The Key Man is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Key Man open?

    The Key Man is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does The Key Man provide

    The Key Man accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does The Key Man offer free estimates?

    Ask The Key Man for details on free project estimates.

    Does The Key Man offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Key Man does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Key Man offer a senior discount?

    No, The Key Man does not offer a senior discount.

    Does The Key Man offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Key Man offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Key Man?

    Yes, The Key Man offers warranties.

    What services does The Key Man offer?

    The Key Man offers the following services: Locksmith, Hauling, Web Design

    Are there any services The Key Man does not offer?

    Walk-in Services