Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Simas Floor & Design Company Inc

Founded 1951 • With Angi since June 2005

4.8

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3550 Power Inn Rd

Sacramento, CA 95826

Description

Welcome to Simas Floor and Design Company. Simas offers friendly helpful service in selecting your home finishes, professional scheduling and expert installation. We work closely with homeowners to select the perfect product, style and color for your home and your lifestyle. Additional email - info@simasfloor.com. Family owned & operated....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/12/2017


Candace A.

Fabulous! I highly recommend SIMAS. They are no pressure, professional, excellent quality. Couldn't ask for more!

Description of Work
Downstairs flooring removal and replacement

Category flooring contractor

5.0

05/01/2017


Brian O.

They came in and completed the job and everything was excellent.

Description of Work
I have solid wood floors and they stripped them and refinished them.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/06/2017


George P.

Description of Work
.......................................................................

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/30/2016


Ellen D.

Description of Work
Workmanship and product are high quality! Hardwood was installed throughout most of the first floor of my home. Marmoleum was installed in the laundry room. Dave Duarte and Mike, the installation team, were very professional and careful. The prep work, which included removal of old hardwood and carpet, was more work than anticipated. Much sanding of the concrete slab was required to remove old glue. The team really worked hard, including all day on a Saturday and Sunday, to get the job done. The floors look great! Dave and Mike paid attention to detail, beginning with our discussion of which direction of placement of the hardwood planks would look best. The finishing detail around the fireplaces looks great. The brick hearth was undercut. Finishing wood trim was installed around the more formal living room hearth. I should also mention the sales rep,David Highfill, as this experience began with his accurate measuring and planning.

Category flooring contractor

4.0

03/09/2016


Elisabeth M.

Description of Work
Simas did our kitchen and bathroom floors, both sheet vinyl. No complaints about the bathroom. The kitchen was supposed to be coved (the sales guy said that it was a simple option, no extra charge). We chose a non-geometric rock-style pattern. It turned out that our style of flooring was incompatible with coving (we weren't told this when we picked it) and we ended up with a great big obvious patch in the middle of the kitchen floor, in front of a butt-out. The corners were sloppy looking. When we discussed this with the owner later, turns out that coving is almost a lost art, not often done anymore, requires a specialist. They gave us a redo and we went with flat floor and trim along the borders. The redone floor is okay, the trim color we can live with but they refused to move the fridge (although that had been promised), crimped the copper water line to the fridge and one piece of trim sticks out 1/2 an inch from an edge, very visible. At that point we spoke to the owner, Craig, who was appalled at what had happened and very anxious to make it right. We elected to simply pay the bill, fix the crimp ourselves and remove the trim piece ourselves--my husband doesn't want to take any more time off work for more re-do's. The owner was great, but the workers, while polite when we complained, treated us like we were excessively fussy customers. Trust me, we aren't. Lesson Learned: research, research, research before you have the floor done and don't expect the flooring company to be proactive in protecting you from your ignorance!

Category flooring contractor

3.0

12/01/2015


Blair L.

The laminate flooring in our kitchen and dining area is approximately 20 years old (if not older). A spill in the kitchen area caused several pieces to curl and separate. We contacted Simas Flooring based on the existence and promise of a "mobile showroom". We scheduled the appointment. David brought the "mobile showroom" to the house and my wife met with him. She showed him the damaged area and expressed our desire to approach this project one step at a time (the damaged area first, then probably replace the dining area later--a decision based on possible cost and whether or not we could get a decent color match). He told her that would not be a problem. At no time did he offer to bring samples in from the "mobile showroom". He did provide a very rough estimate for the work via email, but no other instructions or recommendations. I emailed him with questions regarding next steps, and the response I got was "you will need to come in to the store"--no other communication. This was annoying as this meant the benefit of the "mobile showroom" was negated. We went to the store on a day that we had confirmed David would be there; he was nowhere to be found. Thomas then came to assist, but was brusque, told us (not asked) what we needed, dropped a sample at our feet and vanished. We did get assistance from the other staff in the store, and they listened to our concerns. We took some samples home to color match. Thomas came out to complete the estimate. He was on time, and efficient. He was, however, somewhat condescending and unprofessional in conversation ("easy peasy" is not a term I expect to hear). He confirmed the estimate and took the deposit. Work was originally scheduled to be completed on 11/2, but could not be done as moisture and potential mold was discovered when the old floor was removed. We also had a vacation planned. We took care of the moisture issued and rescheduled the appointment for 11/11. Justin was the installer and was at all times professional, informative and responsive to our concerns. He completed the work quickly and professionally. He was without a doubt the best representative of the company. After the work was completed, we received an invoice for the balance due on or about 11/18 (invoice date was 11/16). I paid the invoice by check on 11/30. The company called us on 12/1 about our unpaid balance, which I believe is just a bit aggressive in terms of collection if you're not going to collect payment at time of service. Up until this point, we had considered using Simas in the future for other flooring projects (since we were very happy with the installer and the installation) but given the poor performance of the sales staff (David and Thomas) and the avariciousness of the billing people it is highly unlikely that we would consider or recommend this company. It's not just the work performed that generates good will and returning business.

Description of Work
Replaced wood laminate flooring in the kitchen area (approximately 50 square feet).

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

11/06/2015


Greg R.

.

Description of Work
.

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/08/2015


SARAH A.

Although we did not go with Simas, David was very punctual, business like and courteous. He also explained the procedure in detail.

Description of Work
David came out and gave us a bid on refinishing some old hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

02/17/2015


Cortney B.

They did great. I've used them on and off for twelve plus years.

Description of Work
I used Simas Floor & Design Company. They provided hardwood and carpeting.

Category carpet installation,hardwood floor

5.0

02/17/2015


Cortney B.

They did great. I've used them on and off for twelve plus years.

Description of Work
I used Simas Floor & Design Company. They provided window coverings.

Category window treatments

5.0

01/13/2015


Harry R.

Description of Work
replaced vinyl flooring in our kitchen. They did an excellent job.

Category flooring contractor,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review about the work Simas Floor and Design Company performed in your home. We're always pleased to hear that our customers are happy with our products and service.
4.0

10/28/2014


Jennifer B.

Some of the worst customer service I have ever encountered! If fact, I don't usually take the time to write reviews, but feel very compelled in this situation. I had heard bad things about their price and customer service from neighbors and friends, but didn't think much of it until our experience. We ordered wood from them after being told that we "had better hurry because it wasn't going to last". It was a discontinued product, and we expected color and grain differences compared to our current floor (same product and manufacturer, but bought 6 years apart). However, they did not tell us that the flooring would be completely milled differently (different mill completely and no resemblance to current product) and could not be used with our current floor. They refused to exchange or take the product back. It was a significant investment, and they gave us the run around for over a month. They were rude, did not return calls, and had overall abhorent customer service. I would never recommend this company, even to my worst enemy! They are unprofessional and have no interest in the well-being of their customer. I simply cannot understand when people don't have any consideration or desire to perform their job well. I will do whatever I can to spread the word that this is a company not worth doing business with! ******Update as of 12/29/14****** After I posted this review, Mark Simas himself came out to our home, took at look at the product, and remedied the situation himself. He was professional and gracious, and replaced our wood with a product we were happy with. As it turns out, the problem in customer service lied more with the manufacturer than with Simas, and they were waiting to see how Mannington would address the issue before they stepped in. Once it was clear that Mannington was not going to help in any way (that is a separate issue), Simas stepped up and went above and beyond to make us happy. Therefore, I have altered my review above to reflect how Simas ultimately addressed the situation to ensure we were happy customers.

Description of Work
Sold us wood flooring

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed], Thank you for updating your review on Angie's List. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience that Simas caused you. Simas Floor and Design Company is a locally owned company and has been in business over 60 years. The opinions and reviews from our customers are very important to us and it's always our goal to perform in a way so that our customers will recommend us to their friends and family. It was disturbing to read your first review, but I do hope that it has made us a better company by looking closer at your circumstances and doing all that we could to make sure you were happy with the product that your ended up purchasing. All the best to you and your family. We appreciate and value your opinion.
4.0

08/11/2014


Lenard S.

The estimator took about twenty minutes to decide the cost. He used a laser measure, so it didn't take long. He was professional. He told me where to go on the internet to select the linoleum that I wanted. My kitchen is a "L" shape. I don't like that I have to pay for the extra linoleum that gets cut off for the "L".

Description of Work
They were going to replace the kitchen floor with linoleum.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review of Simas Floor and Design Company regarding our estimator's professionalism. We are limited to working with the measurements of standard vinyl rolls which are normally 6', 12' or 13'2" wide. It's best practice to order enough product so that there are minimal seams in a floor and sometimes that means there's left over product. We discuss this with the customer at the time of estimating to avoid surprises or misunderstandings. Thank you again for considering Simas Floor and Design Company and we hope to be able to do business with you in the future.
5.0

07/12/2014


sharon S.

David, a salesman for Simas Floors, visited my home before the work was done to see exactly what my hardwood floors needed to be pretty again. He is very personable and professional. Jay, Chris, and Robert, who refinished my hardwood floors, did an excellent job; they were prompt, professional, thorough, and stirred up an incredibly small amount of dust. They explained the advantages of using a water or an oil-based finish; I opted for a water-based polyurethane because a catalyst can be added to the last coat (in this case, the fourth coat) that will extend the life of the finish to 25-40 years. Although I could have hired someone else at a lower cost, I am confident that I now have the best refinish money can buy, and I won't be moving the furniture out of the rooms for the rest of my life!

Description of Work
Refinished hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review regarding David, our estimator, and the Simas hardwood crew. It always makes us happy to hear that our customers are satisfied with our work and that they would recommend us to others. That means a lot.
5.0

02/03/2014


Nancy T.

Everything went exactly as it should. They came when they said they would and finished when they said they would. ALL of their employees, install and removal people were FANTASTIC!!! My sales lady suggested hickory for my hardwoods because I have dogs. She was right! They are holding up GREAT! I won't have anyone else do my floors again (if I ever need them).

Description of Work
Removed old flooring and put down new flooring.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

11/18/2013


Margie T.

Simas' salesman, David Highfill, was impressive. One of the reasons we elected to use Simas was based on his low-key, no-pressure personality, product knowledge, advice, availability, and prompt response to all our inquiries. We were also pleased with the quality of product that Simas offered. Over two days, a stellar crew of installers (Marty, Darrell & Thomas), moved furniture, removed existing carpet and pad, and installed approx. 2,000 sq. ft. of new carpet and pad. This was labor-intensive and they knocked themselves out. They didn't watch the clock. Each day, they stayed until that portion of the job was finished. They were courteous and professional. Their workmanship is outstanding. We couldn't be more pleased with the finished result.

Description of Work
Removed Existing Carpet and Installed New Carpet.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

02/11/2013


Michael M.

Floor refinishing included, handrail, trim and toilet removed/re-installed, the floor re-finishers are the best. The floors were beautiful, detail finish work was difficult but much attention and time finished it off perfect. Carpets was fantastic, and the stairs are bar none the best job I've seen. Thank you!

Description of Work
Hardwood floors refinished, kitchen, hall, dinning room, bath, sanded, stain coat, 3 finish coats. Carpet & pad replaced, family room, stairs and hallway.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

01/07/2013


Carol S.

We, the homeowners, removed all the previous flooring (carpet, linoleum) completely from the home. This was a tough job because the floors had some uneven spots due to 36 years of the house settling. The Simas crews were the BEST!! They were professional, timely, friendly, and hard-working. We were extremely impressed by their knowledge and skills, and would love to hire them back when we are ready to remodel our kitchen area. Thanks to all the Team at Simas Flooring & Design for making this experience a positive one!!

Description of Work
All new flooring throughout the house; this included engineered-wood floors, porcelain tile floors, and bathtub tile work. This included a staircase, two full-baths, laundry room and half bath, plus 2,000 additional square feet of flooring.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

02/27/2012


Kristine L.

A sales rep answered my call promptly and gave me a quote quickly. The appointment was scheduled quickly and the technician came out on time and finished the job. Everyone was very professional and our options were given to us on what we could do to fix a couple of areas that had a lot of stains.

Description of Work
Had a patch of carpet repaired. Sigmas installed the carpet when the house was built so we called them to come out and quote the patch. Price was reasonable and the technician they sent out to repair the carpet was great. Would do business again with Simas if we needed to.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

02/10/2012


Susan D.

Very attentive to making us happy with everything. There was a difference in level of floor between the parquet and vinyl flooring which was dealt with excellently. And they made sure that our 1929 Steinway grand piano was moved very carefully--didn't even go out of tune! I would definitely recommend Simas to anyone.

Description of Work
Engineered hardwood installed over slab floor and old parquet floor.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

12/16/2011


Kevin M.

He was on time. He was very professional. He gave us a lot of information. He gave us some samples to keep for a while and take a look at to get the color right. We would consider using him again in the future.

Description of Work
Simas Floor & Design Co Inc gave us an estimate in early November of 2011. It was for replacing carpet in one room of 52 yards.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

10/12/2011


Michael M.

Sanded and refinished original Oak Floors with two coats of urethane, (next time I'll do 3 coats). Replaced vinyl floor in Bathroom. I asked for full coving in Bathroom, they only installed a coved to kick in the cabinet base. Then they left with out giving me the option of baseboard? They responded very quickly to my complaint, and corrected the problem with installing vinyl baseboard. Just make certain on any vinyl floor installation to say complete coving. I was told nobody does coving anymore and they were confused because of that? Everything looks wonderful, and I would use them in a heartbeat !

Description of Work
Sanded and refinished original Oak Floors, replaced vinyl floor in Bathroom. I ask for full coving in Bathroom, they only installed a coved to kick in the cabinet base. Then they left with out giving me the option of baseboard? They responded very quickly to my complaint, and corrected the problem with installing vinyl baseboard. Just make certain on any vinyl floor installation to say complete coving. I was told nobody does coving anymore and they were confused because of that? Everything looks wonderful, and I would use them in a heartbeat !

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

04/27/2006

THEY DID A VERY GOOD JOB. THEY HAD THE EXACT COLORS THAT I WANTED FOR MY ROOMS. THE CREW THAT THEY SENT WERE WONDERFUL WORKERS. THEY WERE VERY FRIENDLY AS WELL. THE CARPET LOOKS GREAT.

Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED CARPET IN MY LIVING ROOM AND ONE BEDROOM.

Category carpet installation

5.0

11/05/2005


MIKE Y.

I WENT TO THEIR STORE AND THEY HAD A LARGE SELECTION AND PHOTOS AVAILABLE FOR LOOKING. I ALREADY HAD SOME IDEAS IN MIND, BUT WANTED TO LOOK AT OTHER OPTIONS.

Description of Work
I ORDERED SPECIAL ORDER TILE FOR MY HOME TO UPGRADE WHAT I HAD IN THEIR FROM BEFORE.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

06/26/2005


WENDY H.

SIMA'S ENTIRE STAFF WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL. THEY DID A WONDERFUL JOB ON THE REMODEL OF OUR KITCHEN. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THEM AGAIN TO ANYONE.

Description of Work
WE HAD THE KITCHEN FLOORING REDONE. WE HAD SIMAS INSTALL WILSON ART LAMINATE IN THE ENTIRE KITCHEN.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    California Exteriors Inc

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Just Hardwood Floors

    Just Hardwood Floors is a father/son team with excellent work ethic that has been in the business for over 42 years! Comparing to our competitors, our quality of equipment and our attention to detail is truly what separates us from our competition. Our billing process: For ALL Installations: Material cost due upon delivery. All Jobs: Progress payment due upon completion of installation Final Payment due the last day of the job We accept Check or Cash ONLY. SPECIALS every MONTH 10-20% OFF regular PRICE .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Just Hardwood Floors on Angi
    RP CONCRETE

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work.As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New home, property management, hardwood flooring, flooring products, hardwood flooring, engineered wood flooring, ceramic and porcelain tile, kitchen remodeling, kitchen and bath counter tops and backsplash tile & natural stone installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Simas Floor & Design Company Inc

    How is Simas Floor & Design Company Inc overall rated?

    Simas Floor & Design Company Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Simas Floor & Design Company Inc open?

    Simas Floor & Design Company Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Simas Floor & Design Company Inc provide

    Simas Floor & Design Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Simas Floor & Design Company Inc?

    Yes, Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offer?

    Simas Floor & Design Company Inc offers the following services: New home, property management, hardwood flooring, flooring products, hardwood flooring, engineered wood flooring, ceramic and porcelain tile, kitchen remodeling, kitchen and bath counter tops and backsplash tile & natural stone installation.