Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Shields Electric

Founded 2003 • With Angi since April 2011

4.8

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

900 57th St. Unit B

Sacramento, CA 95819

Description

Shields Electric is a full service residential and commercial electrical contractor providing solutions for all of your electrical needs...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/05/2016


Eugene F.

We were very happy with their service & would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They rewired on an old building that we own.

Category electrician

1.0

03/31/2016


Evan E.

I sent two messages, both of which went unanswered. So I found someone on Home Advisor.com to do the work. So much for Angier's list. I will not be renewing my membership.

Description of Work
Ignored my request

Category lighting

1.0

04/16/2015


Patrick L.

Description of Work
They never returned my initial phone call???

Category electrician

5.0

04/06/2015


Robert W. H.

.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

5.0

03/03/2015


Diane V.

One morning last week, the lights in several parts of the house flickered and then went out -- but the circuit breakers hadn't opened. Having done some electrical work myself earlier, I was very concerned that some error of mine had caused a short somewhere in the house, with the potential for starting an electrical fire. Based on Angie's List, I selected Shields Electric because of reviews and the fact that they were very close to my house. I called Jeff Shields and talked with him about my problem. Fortunately he was able to come to my house within an hour and start the search for the problem. Jeff first looked at the work I had done, checking to see if I had done anything wrong. While my work was okay, Jeff took the time to show me how I could have done it better (e.g. closer to best practices) and fixed my work as a demonstration. Jeff then tested several circuits around the house and moved out to the main breaker panel. After de-energizing the panel, he systematically checked the circuit breaker connections and the panel wiring. Jeff came to the conclusion that the problem was in the SMUD meter or somewhere "up-stream" of my house panel. He recommended that I call SMUD and have them come check their equipment -- and he suggested what I should say to get SMUD's prompt attention & response. Jeff left to go to other business and I called SMUD -- which had two service trucks at my house by 1 pm. As Jeff requested, I called him and he was able to come back to my house while SMUD was there. SMUD determined that there was a serious problem in the underground transformer vault in my front yard and went directly to repairing the problem. (( Commendations to the SMUD workers -- very timely, communicated clearly & fully to me, and did good work on their repairs.)) While SMUD had the power off to the house panel, Jeff was able to work with the master switch and found a different potential problem that he corrected before it could cause me more trouble. I really appreciated Jeff's work: He came very quickly when I was seriously worried about danger to my house & family, took the time to educate me on my house electrical system, correctly diagnosed the problem and gave me the instructions to get SMUD to deal with it, and then came back later to give an extra effort to make sure my system was going to be more reliable. His charge of $233 was quite reasonable for quick response and quality services provided.

Description of Work
Help locate and correct electrical circuit problems in my house.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

01/29/2015


Richard A.

He was totally professional both times. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
He repaired outlet at furnace. Previously he installed pendant lighting over kitchen island

Category electrician, lighting

1.0

01/02/2015


Katie B.

I did not receive the estimate in the promised time frame. I called three times in the weeks after my consultation to ask for the estimate. I finally received it via E-mail ~2 weeks after consult. It consisted of ~7 lines of text, so couldn't have taken 2 weeks to write. In addition, my biggest concern, the unsafe set up, was not listed on the estimate, although we had discussed a fix for it. I wrote back asking about this issue and received a revised estimate a day later, 9/3/14. I sent an E-mail that I would like to proceed with the work and asked to be scheduled for the month of October. I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM SINCE, EITHER BY E-MAIL OR PHONE. What frustrated me the most was that this company had great reviews on Angie's list. My experience with them had three major problems: 1. It took 2 weeks to receive an estimate, when one was promised within days of the consultation 2. Estimate was missing a key component I needed fixed. 3. They never contacted me to schedule the work. Shields Electric, shame on you for your unprofessionalism!

Description of Work
I bought a 1930 home that needed electrical updates and had an unsafe set up of the electricity to my water heater. I had an appointment in August for consultation. The technician spent about ~30-40 minutes walking through my house, asking questions and discussing my concerns. I have happy with the consultation and thought this was a company I would use. We ended our meeting with the agreement that I would get an estimate within a few days.

Category electrician

5.0

06/27/2014


Daraius T.

Description of Work
My original licensed contractor did not provide enough sockets in the kitchen so we didn't pass inspection. Shields Electric came and installed two new outlets in my newly tiled backsplash and did a fantastic job. It was not cheap but I would use their services again without any hesitation.

Category electrician

5.0

06/16/2014


Lisa L.

Jeff and his guys are very knowledgable. They do cost a bit more than some of the cheaper quotes you will get, but it's well worth the extra money. They are very professional and really now newer technology and energy options. They finish on time, provide accurate estimates up front, and do excellent work. And they always leave your space clean. I would use them again any time I need electrical work.

Description of Work
We've used Jeff for various services both small (replacing outlets and switches) to large (new electrical box, updated knob-and-tube wiring, replaced canned lights with LEDs).

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

05/27/2014


Michael J.

If you want the cheapest, keep looking. If you want the best you found him. A++

Description of Work
Replaced fluorescent can lighting with standard lights/LED and move a light switch. gave estimate on adding more lighting to walk in closets and fixing wiring issue in Gym.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

01/10/2014


Robert D.

We called Shields Electric out to our house twice in 2013, in May and December. Both times, Jeff came out first to survey the job for an estimate. After we accepted the estimate, his crews came out pretty quickly and took care of both jobs in less than a day. Jeff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions about repairs and upgrades to our old house (built in 1939). His crews were competent, fast and very professional. We're happy to have found Shields Electric and will use them for all our electrical needs.

Description of Work
Installed new outlets, replaced old decaying plugs, installed light fixture in pantry.

Category electrician

5.0

07/02/2013


Diane R.

I called Shields Electric and talked to Jeff Shields. He was extremely understanding and helpful and was able to get me help right away. He quoted me a base price since he didn't know exactly what the cost would be. After determining the problem, his team replaced the blown fuses and got the building back on line with 2 hours of our call. He also called me and let me know the new price Now that's fast when the temperature is 110 degrees. My sincere thanks for Jeff and his team and I would definitely call them again!!

Description of Work
Our dental building had an emergency power outage and we needed help quickly. Due to the extreme heat, the building blew both of the 100amp fuses. We needed power back on immediately to take care of patients

Category electrician

5.0

04/12/2013


joe G.

SMOOTHLY EXPERTLY NOTHING LEFT TO SAY

Description of Work
The job wasn't big in dollars but Shields responded quickly, showed up on time, was very professional and did an excellent job. FIRST RATE THE BEST TOPS.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

09/12/2012


Mark S.

Nathan arrived on time. (even a little early but that was refreshing and fine by me) Highly professional and very helpful. Very efficient in time on the task. Moved on to the next task fast and skillfully. Jeff Shields (owner) came by to drop off supplies because of options I had taken from them and Jeff and Nathan were spot on with their recommendations. Highly recommend Shields Electric for all of their electrical needs. Jeff was very helpful in his recommendations when he was giving an estimate too! Thank you Jeff and Nathan, we have more we want done and you will be the only one we will call on to do it.

Description of Work
Connections via new wire for stove fan as well as under cabinet lights for all kitchen counters. Gave options for dedicated circuits for Air Conditioner and to efficiently utilize the current circuits. Which we did, plus he wired to a switch a foyer light we have been wanting to hook up.

Category electrician, lighting

4.0

09/08/2012


Jordan S.

UPDATED REVIEW: There were some bumps along the way (mostly a lack of communication for some time), but Jeff has now replaced the photocell light twice on his own time, so we appreciate that. Customer service was lacking at times and we wish Jeff or his assistant would have been more up front and let us know that Jeff was too busy to schedule a time to come and deal with our issue, but that we would hear from them down the road (with a realistic timeframe). That would have been better than no response at all, which gave us the sense that we were going to be left without a functioning light (that Sheilds installed) until we did something on our own or called another electrician. When we finally got a response from Jeff this last time the issue occurred, things went well. We will still use Shields in the future. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Everyone there is so friendly and competent. Jeff the owner is incredibly friendly knowledgeable and shares that knowledge in a very easy to understand way. He is also very concerned with providing great customer service.

Description of Work
UPDATED REVIEW: The photocell light Shields installed had stopped working several times. Jeff came out a few times to try to figure out the problem, and at some time replaced the light with one that he thought was higher quality. Most recently when it stopped working again, it took some time to get any response from Jeff. Finally, when we heard back, Jeff explained his situation and made good on his promise. Jeff offered to replace the light and gave us the option of using another photocell light whose bulbs are more reliable than the ones he had previously installed, or use a standard light with an on/off switch. Jeff's assistant, Nathan, dropped off the two lights for us to look at before making our decision. We scheduled a day/time, and Jeff was here to replace the light with the one we chose. ORIGINAL REVIEW: They have installed several new GFI electrical outlets, both inside and outside, diagnosed and fixed an original sconce that was inoperable when we bought the house (built 1928), and replaced improperly wired electrical feed to garage. They also installed a new outdoor photocell light which stopped working several times. When we contacted them about the issue they were quick to respond, and worked on their dime to correct the issue.

Category electrician

5.0

07/14/2012


Susan N.

Jeff came in and made some excellent recommendations for this old house that needed some TLC. The whole housefan was a great start, and has been very helpful to keep the house cool at night without running the air conditioner. He then came back and upgraded the old subpanel. His crew was punctual, professional, and their work was flawless. I will have them back to help me with the rewire! Thanks Jeff!

Description of Work
Upgrading the old subpanel, installation of a whole house fan

Category electrician

5.0

06/14/2012


Stefan S.

I had Shields do some major work about 1 year ago when I moved in. I was so pleased with their work that I called them again as we prepared our house for the coming of our new baby. We needed updated dedicated 20amp outlets downstairs, as well as fans. These were all done within a few hours, they look good and function well. The price was very fair. I trust Jeff and he did a good job as I expected. Thanks.

Description of Work
Jeff's team installed: -2 new 20 amp circuits. 1 in each downstairs bedroom. -2 ceiling fans.-checked wiring on a faulty light. -check wiring on outdoor light.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

06/14/2012


Stefan S.

Jeff and his team did an excellent job on my house. We have a 1933 home that had all of the original wiring intact, and no upgrades. As you could guess, lots to do. And to make it more of a challenge, we have lathe and plaster walls that are better to work around rather than to tear up and repair. The work was done well, the areas and walls were cleaned up, and the project was done in less time than estimated (2 days) All of this helped our house perform like a 21st century home, but with classic touches. Oh, and they had a bit of extra time at the end of the project so they installed an outdoor light on my garage for free. Now I can grill into the night..... Thanks guys. Call Shields. They do a good job.

Description of Work
Shields sent a great team over and they: -Removed our Knob and Tube breaker box and updated it. -Installed 3 individual 20 Amp circuits to run our high energy using appliances. (1 in kitchen, 1 in upstairs office, 1 in living room)-updated all of our outlets and switches. -Installed 2 attic fans and 2 whole house fans, and all associated controls and wiring. In talking with Jeff about the project, he sold me on something I had liked in other houses. A whole house fan system. I TOTALLY RECOMMEND these for the hot Sacramento summers. It moves outside cool air into the house very rapidly, and expels hot attic air. In the morning you bring in the cool air, to keep you house cool for the day. In the evening, you turn these on and keep your house from radiating that attic heat back on to you. We had a dual level system installed (as we have two separate roofs) and it works great. The moving air feels very good on still nights. We hardly use the A/C system we spent so much on, and the fans are more efficient (but don't get me wrong, nothing beats A/C when it matters).

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

05/21/2012


Willie G.

We recently purchased an older home with old knob & tube wiring. Originally, we had planned to just spruce up the kitchen but became very aware of the need to upgrade our electric. We found Jeff & his team through a friend (confirmed by Angie's List ratings) and could not be more pleased. They are professional, honest, on-time, thorough, reasonably priced, and straight-forward. They never up-sold us on products and services but provided all available options. When Jeff first came in, knowing that we were on a budget and hadn't expected a need for extensive electrical work, he gave it to us straight - told us the bare minimum we could do but also gave us his recommendation. We are so glad we listened to him. Up in the attic, the old wires were surrounded by blackened insulation! I can't imagine if we hadn't taken care of it and the imminent danger we'd be living in! He provided a very timely and reasonable estimate and worked us in, knowing how anxious we were to get the project done. His team arrived early, were extremely friendly, & got the work done quickly. The outcome was fantastic. Once the work was completed, they sent us an invoice by email which we promptly paid and then they promptly sent a receipt. Additionally, they worked extremely well with the other contractors working on our kitchen remodel. We ended up expanding the project to include the addition of upgraded sockets in two other rooms and redoing the garage and didn't think twice about calling on Jeff. Just as he was with the first project, he was extremely responsive. Shields Electric will become our go-to electrician from here on out and we are delighted to share our positive experience with anyone looking for a good electrician.

Description of Work
- Removed old knob & tube wiring in kitchen (which required re-doing the electric in the attic and working in the basement)- Replaced with GFI protected outlets- Designed & installed ceiling recessed lights- Installed under-cabinet lights- Installed 2 pendants- Upgraded electric in 2 other rooms- Completely overhauled garage electric - added lights, 220 outlets, etc.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

12/22/2011


Joan E.

Nathan arrived early on the day of service, but ended up taking a longer time, since he brought the wrong size ballast for the kitchen light (even though Jeff S. measured for this at the time of the estimate). Troubleshooting did not take long. Overall, I was pleased with the completed job. I would have liked a printed estimate (as opposed to verbal) and printed receipt at the time of completion, but the company made good on its word (estimate=invoice) and this followed via email shortly thereafter. A few days out, I am still awaiting a follow-up reply for an estimate on what it would cost for a patch to the drywall, a job I did not originally contract Shields to do, but they said they could provide.

Description of Work
I had a bathroom wall switch moved from outside to inside the wall, and ballast replaced in a kitchen fluorescent light fixture. The owner/s were responsive, returning my initial call in good time, coming out to provide an estimate, and providing prompt service. Jeff Shields even offered advice on a job I was considering, but did not have him do at this time. Nathan arrived early on the day of service, but ended up taking a longer time, since he brought the wrong size ballast for the kitchen light (this need was measured at the time of the estimate). Nevertheless, I was pleased with the completed job. A few days out, I am awaiting a follow-up bid for a patch to the drywall, something I did not originally contract Shields to do, but they said they could provide.

Category electrician

5.0

10/05/2011


Ginger D.

Our 1950's ranch, like many older homes in the area, had only a few inconveniently located two-prong outlets and not much going on in terms of lighting. We needed to update and make changes to the wiring before proceeding with insulating the crawlspace, walls and attic. After several estimates gone awry, we were weary to continue our search for an electrical contractor. We met with Jeff Shields (owner) not expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised by his professionalism, expertise and eagerness to do right by us and our project. He was very personable. He listened carefully to our needs and returned his bid quickly. Work started within a week of our decision to hire Shields Electric. The crew, Nathan and Sean, were prompt, efficient, courteous, detail-oriented, professional and cleaned up the work area each day. For the scope of work we had done, the bid was competitive. The level of service and quality of products installed were outstanding. We are very happy with our decision to hire Jeff and his crew. Our overall experience was very pleasant, we highly recommend meeting with Shields Electric for your next project. A good electrician is hard to find, especially one with a great work-ethic and amazing follow-thru.

Description of Work
Installed recessed lights in Living Room with dimmer switch. Installed recessed LED lights in Kitchen with 3 way dimmer switch. Installed receptacles in new locations. Added GFI to Bathrooms and Kitchen. Updated and recessed dryer outlet. Grounded existing receptacles throughout house, and provided dedicated circuits for electronics. Installed recessed wire chase way for T.V. and Audio/Video components. Removed overhead power feed to Garage, and installed underground.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

09/29/2011


Sandra R.

This is the second time we have used Shields Electric. My contact has been with Jeff Shields, whom I found to by very knowledgeable in lighting and helpful in completing our project in our guest and master bath. After receiving his bid I went over the list of what he would be installing and where. He gave us helpful information as to the kinds of lighting available. We chose small can lighting for the bathroom and are happy with the amount of lighting we now have in there. Within days of the bid the work was started. His crew was neat and cleaned everything they worked on, they were efficient and very professional. We wouldn't hesitate to call them again.

Description of Work
Our home was built in the 70's and we had small overhead lighting in our master bathroom and the conventional over the mirror lighting in the guest bath. Shields added an overhead recessed light over the tub and added new light switches and up to date GFI plugs. They installed a new overhead recessed can light in the vanity area of the master bedroom, removed the old overhead light in the shower bath area and replaced with new recess can light, also adding a recessed light over the shower.

Category electrician

5.0

05/25/2011


Melody E.

Excellent. Professional, responsive, work done that day. Reasonable. Will call Jeff again!!

Description of Work
I found Shields on Yelp. I called and Jeff (owner) answered. He was very professional and courteous. He called our renters and made an appt. to go out that day. He fixed the breakers and called me back. My renter called as well. Very impressed with the quality, responsiveness, and professionalism. He is our new "go to" electrician.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Huft Home Services

    At Huft Home Services, we want to be the HVAC, electrical, plumbing and insulation company you trust. We take pride in serving the members of our community and strive to exceed expectations with everything we do. Having a reliable heating and cooling system in your home ensures you can stay safe and comfortable. We are the Heroes for the job! Our services are available for any make or model of heating and cooling systems no matter the age. Our NATE-certified technicians work under the Huft Creed and will always do the right thing. Our company has been operating with integrity since 2004, and we’re proud to be both BBB-accredited and NCI-certified. With our expert electrician specialists, rapid response times, and truly heroic customer service, you can feel great when calling on our team. Just as with all of our top-rated and award-winning home services, our electrical department ensures that you get the golden treatment every time we are in your home. From a simple matter like a flickering light to a whole-home rewiring project, we work quickly, safely, and effectively to deliver results that we know you’ll be 100% satisfied with every time. Whatever type of plumbing problem you have, we can address it. Our team can service any plumbing system or equipment regardless of the brand, make, or model. We vow to meet your needs with competence and courtesy to deliver long-lasting solutions. Moreover, our representatives display some important core values on every single visit. These include honesty, respect, integrity, and transparency. We are your home services HEROES!!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Maximum Electric

    Maximum Electric is a full range Electrical Contractor serving Northern California. We have over 10 years of direct experience and a long list of satisfied clients. We provide a full range of services for commercial, residential and industrial projects.Our Mission is to provide quality Electrical service to every job; large or small.  

    Swihart Electrical Group, Inc.

    SWIHART ENTERPRISES AND ELECTRICAL owner operated since 2003 with over 23 years experience design build new construction and remodel work lighting design when needed residential industrial and commercial also lots of retail. billing- we can do bid or t&m and price not to exceed we also are set up with pay pal financing ,we accept all credit cards through square,and checks prefer to be paid as we go for larger jobs progress payments works well.  

    Offers by Swihart Electrical Group, Inc. on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Troubleshooting, Panel upgrades, Whole house fans, Interior and exterior lighting design, Installation of standard, fluorescent, and LED recessed can lights, Partial and complete rewires

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Shields Electric

    How is Shields Electric overall rated?

    Shields Electric is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Shields Electric open?

    Shields Electric is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Shields Electric provide

    Shields Electric accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Shields Electric offer free estimates?

    Yes, Shields Electric offers free project estimates.

    Does Shields Electric offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Shields Electric does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Shields Electric offer a senior discount?

    No, Shields Electric does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Shields Electric offer emergency services?

    Yes, Shields Electric offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Shields Electric?

    Yes, Shields Electric offers warranties.

    What services does Shields Electric offer?

    Shields Electric offers the following services: Troubleshooting, Panel upgrades, Whole house fans, Interior and exterior lighting design, Installation of standard, fluorescent, and LED recessed can lights, Partial and complete rewires