Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

B J's Pool Svc

Founded 2003 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6924 Peck Dr

Sacramento, CA 95828

Description

In ground swimming pool cleaning and repair. We can work on almost anything that is above ground for inground swimming pools.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

06/21/2019


Jeffrey E.

Hired last year and at first service was good. Then in May my pool started turning green. He said he couldn't get to it one week because they were working on road but he could have just gone around the block like everyone else. When I called him about the condition of pool he stated he would be over on Monday to take care of it. Never showed up. Don't know if he ever showed up again. Finally I had to hire someone else. Pool had to be drained because of condition costing be almost $500. Filters were green and had to be replace costing be almost $400. Don't know what problem was with lack of service.

Description of Work
Weekly pool maintenance

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

First let’s clear up about the street issue I did go around every way the streets were closed and oiled to be repaired so that is true however the pool was never “green” and the filters were fine I cleaned them just before stopping service so just because the new pool service sold you filters you didn’t need don’t be mad at me that pool is a nightmare too much time spent on a pool that don’t pay enough it has been a blessing to not do that pool anymore
5.0

07/20/2018


Cheryl I.

I initially made an appointment with another pool service and repair company. After waiting two weeks for my appointment only to "not be on the schedule" i searched for another company to repair our pool equipment. They ended up coming later that Friday afternoon, spent 10 minutes gave me a estimated cost and said the owner will call me to set up an appointment to repair. The owner called on Wednesday. During the interim, I called BJ's pool service on a Friday and Brian came out the next day (Saturday). He spent quite a bit of time diagnosing the problem with our spa and other repairs, returning two days later (Monday) with solution and parts. The pricing for the parts was 1/2 the price the other company quoted me and he went above and beyond to not only fix the problem but fix it right! Brian and his wife Shelley are truly a family business that care about their customers.

Description of Work
Fix spa, replace lights and actuator

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business 😁
5.0

06/25/2018


Jacquelyn C.

Professional quick service which was appreciated as we were leaving on vacation in a few days. Also gave me info on problems I was having with my pool sweep which was not expected but very helpful.

Description of Work
Replacement of part on swimming pool pump

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/27/2018


Glen B.

I explained to Brian what was happening and he explained to me how to perform a simple fix that resolved the issue. He could have, like many would have, made an appointment for a service call, and then charge me $85 for the quick fix. But, he chose to do the honest and professional deed of explaining how to quickly resolve the issue. Any pool problems that I have in the future, I know who will be getting the call!!!

Description of Work
Contacted him because my pool pump was not functioning properly.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

08/09/2017


Kathleen Y.

Found Brian on Angie's List. Pool pump died and I was 5 days away for leaving for over two weeks. He answered the phone on Monday morning at 7:30. Talked to me about options on the spot. Came out Tuesday to look at pumps and actually got broken pump limping along for several hours to keep pool water circulating (when I turned it off the next morning, it didn't start again - it was fried). Installed new pump two days later on Wednesday and Friday. There was something about him that I trusted: his knowledge and kindness. I actually had him install TWO pumps (the broken one and the other old one which was on the verge of dying). He also hooked me up with remote iphone access on two Jandy variable speed pumps. Then walked me through the SMUD website to get rebates on them (which I did). AND, he called me the following Saturday to ask if everything was ok (we left on Monday before he called for two weeks). You know in the old days, when you found a good honest guy to do work? That still exists in Brian. I will only hire him to work on my pool equipment from now on.

Description of Work
Replaced two old pool pumps with two new variable speed pumps with iphone access.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

06/12/2017


Jill R.

Work was done well! We've since hired Brian to provide regular weekly service.

Description of Work
Installed new pool pump

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/06/2017


James C.

Went very well, called him yesterday ane he was here today to complete.

Description of Work
He installed A Booster pump for me.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

04/12/2017


Stephen S.

Left a message in the morning. Received a call later that afternoon. He gave me a quote and scheduled the installation of the new pump in a week. Brian came as scheduled and replaced the pump in about 1.25 hours. He showed me the new pump still sealed in the box at the start of the job. Told me to call him if the piping needs any adjusting once the weather gets warmer. He even cut up the cardboard box that the new pump came in and placed it in the recycling bin. Overall, great experience.

Description of Work
Needed to get my cleaner pump replaced. Was making a loud screeching sound.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

11/30/2016


Jeffrey E.

......................................................

Description of Work
.............................................

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/20/2016


Frank R.

Work was excellent and Brian was always promp and on time.

Description of Work
Completed resteration of a dying pool

Category pool cleaners

5.0

07/19/2016


Maria A.

Brian was able to get us a replacement pump from the company at no cost. Additionally, he came and installed it at no charge. He had to wait for it to arrive from the company, and even came after his regular hours to make sure we didn't have to go any longer without a pool pump and risk algae in our pool. We can't speak highly enough of his professionalism and commitment to his customers.

Description of Work
In March 2014, Brian replaced our broken single speed pool pump with a variable speed pump. It was the best bang for our buck, and we were pleased with the job Brian did as well as the product recommended. Unfortunately, a little more than 2 years later, the electronic control panel completely stopped working and the pump would not power up at all. We called Brian to see what could be done. It was after 6, so we were simply hoping to leave a message to schedule an appointment. Not only did Brian answer, but he came right over to check out our situation. After checking to make sure it wasn't a power surge issue, he let us know that the pump was definitely broken and we'd need to replace it. However, since we were only a few months out of warranty, he told us he would talk with his rep to see what he could do since it was unusual for this kind of thing to happen.

Category wells

5.0

08/01/2015


Myra M.

Brian is proof that customer service isn't dead. Like another reviewer, I contacted Brian on a Sunday night, thinking I'd secure my place in line for a Monday morning call. Not only did he email me on a Sunday, he called and spoke to my husband - did I mention it was Sunday NIGHT? He had mercy on us because we had a looming deadline on the home we were buying. He really helped us out. Then, two hours after moving in, a friend's son turned on the spa without opening the valve and blew up one of our pipes. The local pool companies were amazed at the damage caused and wanted us to wait for a week - which meant no pump for a week. Brian again fit us in and fixed the issue. He was worth twice what he charged us! Brian provides so much knowledge, value and service that you never wonder about whether you got the right information or paid the best price...after one interaction with Brian, you KNOW you did.

Description of Work
He looked at a leak on our spa pump and repaired broken pipe on our pump.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

05/19/2015


Zachary N.

I recently contacted a few pool repair companies because my pump was not working properly. Brian called me back the same day (only one who did) and said he could come out the next day (Saturday) to look at it. He came over and fixed the problem in a couple minutes. Since he was there I told him I was interested in replacing my pool equipment (pumps, filters, plumbing), since it was over 25 years old and very energy inefficient. He inspected our equipment and made some recommendations. He told me that our filter was in great shape and only recommend that we replace the cartridges rather than the filter itself. It was refreshing not having someone try and sell us something that we didn't need. He told us that it would take a couple weeks to get all of the parts and that today's visit (to fix pump) was free. He called later in the week and said he got everything and when he could come and install it. He came the next Saturday. Took him 3-4 hours to get everything changed and cleaned up. My new pumps are really quite and I'm excited to see the difference in my energy bill. Brian took the extra care to install everything very professionally which included painting all the pipes black, securing the pumps to the ground, etc. We also asked him to replace our pool light which had not been working since we purchased our house. Brian ordered a new bulb, but when he was going to install it he noticed the light fixture itself was damaged and so he ordered a new one. When he came to install the new light he discovered that the people who built the pool cemented the power line into the pool deck. Brian tried for 2 hours to try and get the old light out. Although he was unable to, he felt so bad for us that he didn't charge us anything saying "I couldn't get it installed for you, so why should you pay me." One of the most honest people I have ever met. Really terrific guy that I couldn't recommend more. You will not be disappointed by your service.

Description of Work
Replaced main and booster pool pump, filter cartridges, pool plumbing, converted pool from salt to chlorine.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

04/27/2015


Mario V.

It went great I HAVE found my pool guy.

Description of Work
First off I would Like to say that Brian (BJ pool service) is very professional and prompt with his services. He changed a pool pump and heater. He knew what he was doing, also game me a lot of tips on how to maintain my pool and went way be on just changing a heater and pump. I found the guy to maintain my pool. Thanks BJ

Category pool cleaners

5.0

04/01/2015


Kimberly P.

I submitted an online appointment for BJs Pool Service for a service call. My filter motor wasn't priming. I am so HAPPY that I called BJs! Brian called me within 5 minutes of scheduling the appointment online and made arrangements to come out. He arrived right on time, went right to work diagnosing the problem, fixed the problem and checked to make sure it all worked correctly. He was friendly, professional, and very knowledgeable. He recommended a few things I could do to improve the overall performance of my filtering system and explained what needed to be done immediately versus what could wait to be upgraded. Overall, I am exceptionally pleased with the work Brian performed. He disassembled the motor, found the problem and fixed it on the spot! There are many pool service providers on Angie's List, but I am so happy I chose BJs and I will definitely be using them again.

Description of Work
Service call/filter motor repair

Category pool cleaners

5.0

03/30/2015


Susan R.

Brian and his team messaged me the day I purchased the service to get more details. I sent him pictures of what I currently had and we planned a service date. I was called the morning of the service about an hour and a half before he showed up to let me know he was on his way. They were quick, did a full test and discussed maintenance and the equipment thoroughly with me. Wonderful experience! Would absolutely refer this company to someone else. Also, I would (probably will...) use again.

Description of Work
Replaced existing pool filter and pump.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

03/25/2015


Angela C.

Everything went great. Very responsive and helpful, gave great advice and went above and beyond in the work. Will definitely use again.

Description of Work
Installed a new pool pump as well as did a bunch of clean up, fixes and trouble-shooting for my again pool equipment.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/19/2015


ROBERT B.

I sent Brian an Angie's List message on 2/16/15, telling him that my pool sweep was not moving forward. I described the symptoms and listed a few things that I had tried so far. Once I had figured out that the problem was probably inside the Polaris sweep, I knew I needed professional help. I didn't want to start taking the thing apart. (I would probably be the guy who puts it back together and still has 3 parts left over.) Brian responded to my message immediately by phone. That tells me he does review his Angie's List message box, which not all business owners do! I liked that. We set an appointment for just two days later, which was great. With warmer days now, you can't let the pool sweep be dead in the water (literally) for long - algae never sleeps! Brian was right on time, knew exactly what to do, and only charged me a $40 service call. Brian is thoroughly professional, courteous, enjoyable to talk to, very informative, obviously knows his business very well. I enjoyed his company as much as his expertise. I will definitely use his services again. Thank you, Brian!

Description of Work
Brian replaced a worn-out plastic wheel bearing on my Polaris 360 sweep and evaluated other parts, giving me a heads-up as to where the next problem might come from. For example, another wheel bearing looked a little worn to him, but he said it was O.K. for now. He also recommended a couple of other things that I can take care of myself, and answered several questions that I had about pool maintenance.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/08/2015


Brian K.

I left a message with BJ's saying that I wanted to make an appointment to remove a drain plug that had broken off inside the filter base. Brian called back later that day and scheduled an appointment for a couple of days later. About an hour before the appointment time, he called to say that he was on his way, and he arrived promptly. Within minutes, Brian was able to remove the broken drain plug. He replaced the filter and its cover, and then turned on the pump motor. At that point, he noticed that the motor wasn't starting. He removed the small pump filter and attempted to free up the stuck motor, and when that didn't work, he opened the motor housing and freed it up. After that, the motor started and ran normally. He only charged $40, which seems very reasonable. Brian was friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Remove broken drain plug from Sta-Rite 100TX filter. Repaired frozen pump motor.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/14/2014


Theodore C.

Brian did an outstanding job replacing our 1 hp pump and motor for a large waterfall in our backyard. We have lived in our home for13 years and have always had problems with the waterfall. Brian replaced the pump and motor with a more efficient and quiet system and it now works great. Brian responded on the same day, ordered the replacement equipment, and had it working again in the same week. Exceptional, timely, and at a resonable cost.

Description of Work
Replaced 1 hp pump and motor for large waterfall.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/11/2014


Vicki C.

Brian and Shelly were fantastic. Shelly was very friendly on the phone and texting. They were both understanding and accommodating to fluctuating circumstances and scheduling. They were prompt (early actually) and worked as a good team. I felt Brian gave me honest, straight forward information with no pressure. If I ever need a pool service again, I will use Brian. A+

Description of Work
Inspected pool and spa equipment and gave estimate for repairs and replacement

Category pool cleaners

5.0

07/15/2014


Gregory O.

Very smoothly and efficiently. Great work.

Description of Work
replacement of pump and filter system

Category pool cleaners, wells

5.0

07/08/2014


Joel C.

Had a major leak in my booster pump and needed to have it replaced. I called Brian and he came out after dinner to look at it. He was friendly and helpful and gave us a couple of options. Our filter pump needed to be either rebuilt or replaced and again Brian was helpful without trying to "upsell" us. He's so busy he doesn't need pressure tactics, and he's busy because he's good. We ended up with a new, quiet 2 speed filter pump and a new booster pump. Brian also replumbed our water fall, eliminating another energy sucking pump. Super guy. Super work. If you need a pool guy, Brian is the guy to call.

Description of Work
Pool filter pump and booster pump replacement.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

06/26/2014


HENRY P.

My gas pool heater has been working and useable. Im very satisfied with Brians service. I will give him all A plus service review.

Description of Work
Gas pool heater repair

Category pool cleaners

5.0

06/20/2014


lisa K.

Brian was here on time and didn't waste any time while he was here. His skill and knowledge were apparent as he went about his business. I have had people try to sell me on brand new pool equip but Brian understood my needs and fixed the problem quickly. I would highly recommend him for pool repair and service.

Description of Work
Brian diagnosed the problem with my pool pump and fixed it quickly and efficiently. He was courteous and prompt, the quality and cost for the repair was amazing.

Category pool cleaners, wells

    Other local Pros in your area

    Blue Pool Pro

    **We specialize in providing weekly pool cleaning services to residential pools and spas of all sizes.** Mission Statement: BLUE Pool Pro’s mission is to provide customers with professional swimming pool and spa services that are unprecedented in the pool service industry to the greater Sacramento community. Our BLUE Pool Pro trained technicians will ensure that you always receive the best professional pool cleaning service. Our uniformed technicians will always arrive with a full understanding of what cleaning services your swimming pool needs. All BLUE Pool Pro technicians receive extensive training on proper maintenance and service before they are assigned to independently service a swimming pool. Each technician is trained to digitally record your pools; chemistry results, chemicals added, services preformed, and any recommendations for repairs. These recordings are logged and communicated via email with both the BLUE Pool Pro office staff and the customer at the time of service. We offer competitive pricing and professional service that you can depend on year-round. Please call to schedule your appointment today! For those of you who service your own pools and are not interested in our weekly service packages, BLUE Pool Pro’s store is located just off Sunrise Blvd. and HWY 50. We have a large selection of pool chemicals and replacement parts to service your swimming pool.  

    Angi Certified

    Nelsons Pool Service

    Pool service and repairs Commercial and residential  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pool service & repair, motor replacement, filter installation

    Services Not Offered

    tile cleaning, plastering, acid washing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about B J's Pool Svc

    How is B J's Pool Svc overall rated?

    B J's Pool Svc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are B J's Pool Svc open?

    B J's Pool Svc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does B J's Pool Svc provide

    B J's Pool Svc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does B J's Pool Svc offer free estimates?

    Yes, B J's Pool Svc offers free project estimates.

    Does B J's Pool Svc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, B J's Pool Svc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does B J's Pool Svc offer emergency services?

    Yes, B J's Pool Svc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by B J's Pool Svc?

    Yes, B J's Pool Svc offers warranties.

    What services does B J's Pool Svc offer?

    B J's Pool Svc offers the following services: Pool service & repair, motor replacement, filter installation

    Are there any services B J's Pool Svc does not offer?

    tile cleaning, plastering, acid washing