Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A BETTER TREE SERVICE

Founded 1998 • With Angi since May 2006

Since 1998, A Better Tree Service, a California Certified Small Business has been serving the Sacramento Valley and surrounding communities. Committed to customer service, our business success we owe to you, our clients. Licensed by the State of California Contractors State License Board #1002115, our ISA Certified Arborist WE-9721A is available for consultations and free estimates. With a no pressure approach, we simply present the information needed to choose the service that best suits your needs. Prompt and professional service by our team is our pledge to each and every client. Our desire is to provide A Better Tree Service to our clients and our community while setting the standard for professional tree care.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(28) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
Michael G.
5.0
02/22/2019
This company is highly professional and knowledgeable. They responded quickly to our request for an estimate. We went with them even though theirs was not the lowest price. We were very impressed with their arborists knowledge. They were also able to schedule the removal right away. One other company we contacted needed 3 or 4 weeks lead time. A Better Tree Service took the tree down quickly and returned to take out the stump. They were very careful with structures around the tree and did a great job of cleaning up and hauling everything away. We highly recommend this company and will use their services again in the future.
Description of Work
Removal of tree
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Taking the time to walk through, evaluate health, assess risk & determine a course of action is important. Thanks for taking the extra time to walk through! Regards, Jeff
Cullen S.
1.0
09/17/2017
........................................................................................
Description of Work
......................................................................
Category
tree service
Frank J.
5.0
08/07/2017
I got great advice and demonstration from the Certified Arborist.
Description of Work
Consultation on eliminating Wild Willows in my yard.
Category
tree service
Sarah K.
5.0
06/02/2017
Super job - great crew of 8 for a full day including 3 climbers. Appreciated their focus on safety (one climber went up a 100 foot redwood to remove dead top.). From the initial walk-through and estimate by Lori, to crew supervisor Sean and owner Jeff, everyone was friendly, professional and pleasant to have around. The crew displayed real team work and clean up was amazing. I put this project off for years - if I'd known it would have been this stress free and well executed, I would have done it earlier. Kudos to all at A Better Tree Service for a job well done.
Description of Work
Trimming 15 olives, valley oaks and tall redwoods.
Category
tree service
Jean H.
5.0
03/15/2017
A trust their judgement on my large trees and major shrubs.
Description of Work
Trees and shrub services. Cutting and pruning
Category
tree service
Marshan W.
5.0
12/06/2016
I think they're an excellent company.
Description of Work
I used A BETTER TREE SERVICE once for tree removal and tree trimming.
Category
tree service
ZWayne J.
5.0
09/01/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
tree service
Pat A.
5.0
03/07/2016
Pruned one 60 foot Sycamore tree to improve structural safety. Removed limb end-weight and did corrective pruning up to 25% in order to redirect growth upward and realign and balance tree. Lifted branches hanging over street to 14 feet for truck clearance. Removed dying 50 foot Silver Maple and ground the stump. Redirected traffic and dropped the tree perfectly. Got the street cleared in less than 20 minutes. Originally we were going to have the tree pruned but Jeff pointed out it was dying and strongly recommended removing it instead. A six man crew worked all day. Jeff directed the structural work and dropping of the tree. The branches were chipped onsite and the wood chips left in our yard at our request. Excellent work, good coordination among crew members, and a fair price. Jeff is an ISA certified arborist which was important to us.
Description of Work
Structural pruning on mature 60 foot Sycamore tree and removal of 50 foot Silver Maple.
Category
tree service
Diane V.
5.0
02/08/2016
I selected A Better Tree Service based on Angie's List reviews and I was very happy with the services received. Earlier, the owner Jeffery Strader (Certified Arborist) came to our house and walked the property with us, assessing and discussing each tree and what we wanted done. Jeff is very knowledgeable and passionate about good tree care. We discussed each action wanted and Jeff explained what he could do and how it would affect the tree. He gave us an estimate on the spot and we agreed. Rain and emergency services delayed the work, but communications with the company were excellent and we were kept well informed of all schedule changes and why they were happening -- no problems with their reasons. On Friday Feb 5th a five man crew showed up and went to work. About 15% of our two oaks was trimmed away and they both look much better for it -- and all the branches that were going toward our roof are now well away from it. As requested, the crew removed a 20' crepe myrtle, a 20' persimmon, and a 30' cherry tree and ground all the stumps well below ground level. An old olive stump was also ground out. Three other trees were trimmed. All waste was cleared away and, at our request, the shredded material was left for us to use as mulch. The crew was prompt, polite, and very professional in their work -- and very tolerant of many questions about what they were doing and why. While they worked quickly and steadily, it was obvious that they were very careful in their work and always keeping their own safety well in mind. All told, they worked for about six hours. We think we got great work and excellent value for the $3,550 we paid. We will use this service again in about 3 - 5 years when it is needed and we fully recommend them to anyone needing professional tree services.
Description of Work
Trimmed two large oaks, one of them a Heritage Oak which required a city permit, trimmed three other trees, and removed three trees and grind out the stumps.
Category
landscaping, tree service
Gay C.
5.0
12/08/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Major tree trimming
Category
tree service
Elaine C.
5.0
12/03/2015
.
Description of Work
We had 2 ash trees heavily trimmed, 1 birch tree removed, and broken branches removed from another large tree. My only complaint is that all the mistletoe was not removed from the ash trees. Overall the work was done on time and the clean-up was done very well. The workers were careful with our patio furniture and plants
Category
tree service
Rosalyn F.
5.0
02/13/2015
Of the arborists we got estimates from, it was clear that Jeff is an expert in his field. We had the neighbor's permission to thin, cut back, etc.. on his tree, but not only can that go wrong, but I learned that it can be done in a way that will encourage even -more- growth on our side in both the branches and the roots. That was the cheaper way we had been quoted, but we're convinced this is the -right- way. Jeff took the chance of not getting the bid by having a higher price than the other guys, because he knew in the long run this would serve us better. It won't sacrifice their tree, and will save our property from the ever-encroaching tree. Job well done! The guys arrived on time, were very professional, and took great care to protect our home and property and clean up completely afterward! And man, do they have the tools to get the job done! Last, there were a couple of small things we noticed after they were gone. I emailed about it, and they had guys out the next day to take care of it--so responsive! This neighbor's tree will need a little tweaking from time to time and we will definitely have Jeff's company do the work. Highly recommend. So thankful for Angie's List!
Description of Work
Removed two Bradford Pear trees, thinned and cut back bushes in front yard, planted 3 photinia bushes on tier where trees were removed, trimming back surrounding photinia to allow light for new bushes & gently shaped remaining photinia, and extensively pruned one side of our neighbor's huge water oak that was encroaching on our yard and house.
Category
tree service
David P.
5.0
01/12/2015
They performed the tree removal quickly while I was at work. The tree was cut up into managable sizes for me to dispose of.
Description of Work
They removed an Italian Cypress from the backyard. This tree was 18 inches from the roof, and approximately 70 feet tall. I decided to use a professional, because it was more than a 1 person job.
Category
tree service
Nina H.
5.0
01/05/2015
It took two days with one rain day between them. Everything went as I expected.
Description of Work
Trimmed about 8 trees and removed one
Category
tree service
Phyllis C.
1.0
06/24/2014
I made an appointment a week in advance of they date they were to show up. When I called to find out what was going on, no one answered the phone or returned my call.
Description of Work
This business never showed up or bothered to call on their first appt. to give a bid, when they set up 2 hours to show up.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback on our customer service as it brings the opportunity to improve. Since 1998, my wife and I have pledged to serve our community with honesty, integrity and best service possible. Our field crew believes and practices these same virtues, as we are invited guests at your home. It's apparent you have been offended and I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you and bring resolution to the situation. Please phone me directly at 916-483-3948. Sincerely, Jeffrey D. Strader, CEO ISA Certified Arborist WE-9721A Tree Risk Assessment Qualified
Terry J. C.
5.0
05/15/2014
They did a very good job down here. They also did their job very quick, they are excellent, the did some extra, and were totally impressive. Overall, I am grading them an A. I am going to use them again in the future.
Description of Work
Tree Trimming Services
Category
tree service
Bryon M.
5.0
02/13/2014
We were so impressed with Jeff and his crew! First, Jeff came out to make a survey of the work we wanted done. He had some great insights and suggestions on how we should go about it for the long-term look of our front and back yards. When the crew arrived a few days later, it was like a tightly run military operation. Everyone was involved in cutting, carrying, mulching, climbing, or operating the machinery. The trims and removals they made on our six trees were done elegantly and confidently. My daughter, who hates the idea of cutting out or cutting back on trees, was impressed with the work A Better Tree Service did; it changed how she thinks about big time tree trimming. I really couldn't be happier than I am with these guys. They are communicative, helpful, diligent, and 100% professional in every way! 100% recommended!
Description of Work
.
Category
landscaping
Rita C.
5.0
02/10/2014
They called the day before to confirm the appointment. Arrived on time. Left my yard clean, removing all traces of tree. I received a follow up call to confirm that I was pleased with the service. Lead tree provided was excellent.
Description of Work
Removed very tall redwoods and other miscellaneous trees from a narrow pathway.
Category
tree service
Denise B.
5.0
02/02/2014
Jeff is an arborist and this type of specialized knowledge was exactly what we were looking for. We've only been in the home since October so we didn't even know what some of the trees were. We just knew we had a half dozen mature trees (and at least as many smaller ones) and we needed to know if we had any potential problems on our hands. As we walked the property, Jeff clearly explained info on each tree - what conditions were best, the estimated height/span at maturity, possible pests and structural issues; the guy just knows his profession thoroughly. He gave us a detailed estimate, item by item, so we could prioritize according to our budget. His crew (5 men with loads of equipment) arrived on time on the appointed day of service and spent the next 7 hours cutting, grinding, shaping, pruning and transplanting. Charles was the foreman of the work crew and he was incredibly helpful and responsive whenever a question arose. They had to remove a few items before they began work (small ornamental fountain, wind chimes) and they replaced everything perfectly when they finished. A couple of days afterward, they dropped off 10 yards of wood mulch (as outlined in the estimate) in our front yard, exactly as requested. Everyone connected with this company was timely, polite, professional and very friendly. Worth noting: This company was referred to us by our local nursery, but we used Angie's list to check the reviews before deciding on them. We highly recommend Jeff and company to anyone seeking knowledgeable and proficient pros to manage their tree concerns. These guys take a lot of pride in the way they do their work. Thanks Jeff!!
Description of Work
Jeff came out give an estimate; identified all trees on our property (1/3 acre) and gave expert opinion on what each needed: pollarding, cut-back and correction, transplant, removal. He shared a wealth of knowledge while doing so and provided an itemized estimate for all recommendations.
Category
tree service
Bayford B.
5.0
10/24/2013
I have used Jeff Strader for years and recommend him highly. Jobs with him typically run in the $2,000 range and generally cover a portion of the 100 or so trees on my place. This time it was mainly oaks, plums, maples and liquid amber. These are trees up to 60 ft in height and his climbers are skilled and knowledgeable. His crew arrived about 9:30 and went right to work, working methodically around the property in the order that Jeff and I had surveyed the work on 10/16. They cut the 4and quot; and larger wood into 18and quot; lengths and piled it for later splitting by me. The trimmings were all shredded and dumped and spread along the 20' wide road shoulder I use for that purpose. The property was left clean and neat, sidewalks and drives blown free of leaves. My wife really liked the openness of the tree canopy and how clean the property was left. Jeff came on site about noon having spent the morning with another Penryn resident I had met in the post office the day before who was looking for someone to do her orchard. My next door neighbor had also asked if he could look at the scale on her fruit trees. He looked over the trees and gave her advice on how to handle the problem. I would and do recommend A Better Tree Service. I have spent a lifetime around trees and tree people and Jeff is one of the most knowledgeable arborists I have ever met.
Description of Work
Felled four trees, ground four stumps, flush cut 2 more, did crown cleaning and pruning of about 20 trees on 2.3 acres
Category
tree service
Sandy S.
5.0
07/08/2013
A Better Tree Service did a great job working with us and a neighbor to cut down a large fig tree that was on both properties. They also pruned and trimmed camphor, plum and birch trees throughout our property. They arrived on time with a large crew and completed the job within four hours. Very professionally done. Cleaned site and all debris. Thanks for a job well done!
Description of Work
Cut down large fig tree and pruned and thinned many other trees on property.
Category
tree service
Orville N.
5.0
12/12/2012
They performed excellent work. These trees were large. Jeff had a crew of about 7 people working. The tree was trimmed perfectly and I am very pleased with the way they removed the birch next to my home. They cleaned up all debri and used wook slabs to protect my fence. Very pleased with their work. It only took about an hour and a half. I've had work like this done before and it has taken 2-3 days.
Description of Work
They trimmed a large tree and removed another in the front of my home.
Category
tree service
Candace W.
5.0
10/31/2012
I had great big trees hanging over my new home... not just one I had 3 and everything in the back and front yard was so overgrown ..that everything needed shaping and to be cut back. i learned how to care for all my trees and plants and how to maintain them properly. They had to cut down a tree that my new neighbor wished i didn't have growing over onto their side of the fence. All in all if the previous owners had cleaned up the yard the way and quot;a better tree service and quot; had ..I would have had to pay more for my new home!
Description of Work
" a better tree service "was by far the best service I have ever received ! Not only were they on time the wealth of knowledge they shared with me left me so much more prepared to deal with my new home and all that comes with trees bushes shrubs ect.. I found that no question was to small and between the owner and his wife you couldn't ask for a better service. I highly recommend them and will ALWAYS call on them in the future. Thanks
Category
tree service
Terry J. C.
5.0
04/11/2012
They did a great job. My tree turned out beautifully. They where very knowledgable about what needed to be done, quick, professional and I cannot believe they could fit me in their work schedule that very day. They had all the right equipment with them and you would never have know they had just did all that work so quickly. I have had this tree trimmed many times now by other company's and none of them did anywhere near as good of job. They left nothing on the ground and did not damage a single bush in my front yard like so many other had done. My front yard has no grass only bushes, but with they right crew like they have everything went as smooth as anyone could have wanted. I would differently recommend them! When I go to have the tree in the back yard done I will be calling them to come back to get it done. I should not have to worry about this tree for quite a long time to come. I had ran into the house and checked with this list and the BBB and found they had a good record before I hired them. It just shows it never hurts to ask someone who is working on a neighbors yard or house if you like what you see them doing a few houses away from yours.
Description of Work
This company trimmed up my elm tree. They were working on my neighbors trees and I went over and asked how much to do my tree. My tree is a good sized tree. They raised the canopy, cut out dead limbs and limbs that could become a problem in the future. I had several limbs over my house's roof and neighbors driveway they removed or trimmed it way back.
Category
tree service
Larry T.
5.0
05/04/2006
THIS TREE SERVICE IS VERY GOOD. THEY ARE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT HOW TO CORRECTLY TRIM CERTAIN TREES. THEY MAKE THE TREES LOOK VERY NICE AND NATURAL AFTER THE TRIMMING.
Description of Work
THEY TRIMMED A LARGE TREE IN THE FRONT YARD THAT WAS HANGING OVER OUR POOL. THEY HAD TO BE EXTRA CAREFUL NOT TO DAMAGE ANYTHING. THEY ALSO DID SOME TRIMMING OF SOME BIRCH TREES IN OUR BACKYARD.
Category
tree service

Phone

Address

3117 El Camino Ave

Sacramento, CA 95821

Other Information

Services offered

A Better Tree Service provides 24 hour emergency tree service, tree removal, pruning, thinning, crown cleaning, raising and lifting of lower crown, crown reduction, structural corrections, tree planting, brush chipping, cabling and bracing, stump removal and consulting.

Services not offered

We do not top trees. We do not spray trees for mildew, fungus nor insects.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

A BETTER TREE SERVICE is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

A BETTER TREE SERVICE is open:

Monday: 6:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 6:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 6:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 6:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 6:30 PM - 3:00 PM

A BETTER TREE SERVICE accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, A BETTER TREE SERVICE offers free project estimates.

No, A BETTER TREE SERVICE does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, A BETTER TREE SERVICE does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, A BETTER TREE SERVICE offers emergency services.

No, A BETTER TREE SERVICE does not offer warranties.

A BETTER TREE SERVICE offers the following services: A Better Tree Service provides 24 hour emergency tree service, tree removal, pruning, thinning, crown cleaning, raising and lifting of lower crown, crown reduction, structural corrections, tree planting, brush chipping, cabling and bracing, stump removal and consulting.

We do not top trees. We do not spray trees for mildew, fungus nor insects.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Setare Trees Inc.

4.0

(8)

Angi Certified

 Setare Trees Inc.

Cal Tree Services and Renovations. We specialize in defensible space clearing, tree pruning, limbing and removal plus landscape design. Our Renovations services include patio cover installations, concrete work, build outs and most interior and exterior remodeling. We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Tree services, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

ABOVE IT ALL TREE CARE

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

ABOVE IT ALL TREE CARE

Steven and his crew are trusted Tree Specialists providing top quality tree services with 30+ years of experience in Tree Removal, Pruning & Trimming. Professionals in building clearances, height & weight reductions. Above It All Tree Care assures unparalleled customer service, unmatched workmanship and all for an affordable price. Reach out for a free estimate! Also, available 24/7 for Emergency Services!  

Tree Service

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Tree Service

We are tree specialists with many years of experience, we offer tree trimming, pruning , removals, stump grinding, etc. We have great prices call us for a free quote (559)723-7815, Available 24 hours. License & Insured.