RKM Heating & Air Conditioning

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since September 2010

RKM heating and air conditioning is a full service contractor for your heating, cooling, air conditioning and air quality needs. Our technicians are continually trained to ensure top level performance in all areas of service, repair installation and design. Our specialist can help insure your

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

RKM heating and air conditioning servicesA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(365) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

311

4

28

3

7

2

7

1

12

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (345)air duct cleaning (45)dryer vent cleaning (21)home energy audit (8)insulation (3)appliance repair (16)
Showing 1-25 of 365 reviews
5.0

09/29/2022


Gail R.

Went well. Called on Tuesday eve. Came out Wednesday morning. Very satisfied with the work Ron did. Performed in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Need a capacitor. Also purchase maintenance warranty’s for both AC units

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2022

5.0

09/21/2022


Linda S.

RKM is a great company. We have used them since 2016 when they installed our heating and air conditioning system. We have them maintain the system twice a year. They are always reliable. The system works great and we've never had a problem. Even on the hottest days of the year, we have great AC. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Heating and AC maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $170

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2022

5.0

10/29/2020


Debra N.

Let me start by saying that we have a home warranty service. We noticed water leaking from under our furnace and didn't like the company our warranty service selected. (We suffered in 90° weather for several days.) We decided to look at Angie's List & Yelp for another company. We found rave reviews for RKM. The person who answered the phone was friendly, knowledgeable & helpful. It was refreshing. We were going to pay their service fee to have their technician come out & diagnose our problem. Ron was the technician who came to our house. He was personable, very knowledgeable, & did a great job explaining each step he took. He mentioned the Comfort Care maintenance program & explained how it worked. We purchased this service, which covered the work that he did, plus maintenance on our HVAC system for one year. He took lots of pictures of the work he did on our unit (which he included in his report). He checked our A/C compressor & cleaned it thoroughly. Ron taught us a lot about our HVAC system. The professionalism, knowledge, & experience of RKM was head over heels above that of other companies we've used in the past. We would definitely recommend RKM!

Description of Work
HVAC malfunction

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

5.0

10/15/2020


kim S.

We managed to get an appointment next day after the S.C. went out. Richard showed up in time frame promised and easily diagnosed the problem. We asked him to charge up the Freon since it was low. He was very nice and followed Covid protocols.

Description of Work
Replace a part in the AC blower/recharge Freon

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2020

3.0

09/23/2020


Chris B.

Tech arrived on time, replaced the A/C capacitor and inspected A/C system. However, the $425 charge to replace a $20 dollar capacitor was high, in my opinion. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of not asking for a quote on the phone when I requested service. Also, none of the other Angie's list providers contacted me, therefore I was desperate to have my A/C fixed since we were in a heat wave.

Description of Work
Repair A/C Compressor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $425

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2020

5.0

09/16/2020


David G.

RKM has provided excellent service and advice. There recommendations on equipment has provided us with a cool home through this record setting summer heat AND we have experienced a 50% reduction in our monthly energy expenses as a result of the new much more efficient HVAC system.

Description of Work
Periodic Scheduled Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

5.0

09/08/2020


Flo S.

RKM did a great job! They came out very quickly, despite a heat wave and I'm sure a high volume of calls, and assessed and fixed my air conditioner at a reasonable price. I felt very confident with the services provided and would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Installed Furnace and Coil

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $2,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2020

5.0

08/04/2020


Alejandro T.

Very professional. They got it done quick. It was good.

Description of Work
I had a broken air conditioner and they fixed it for me. I think the compressor had gone out

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to rate our service. Taking care of our customers is our #1 Priority and we appreciate you using RKM Heating and Air Conditioning for your HVAC and Indoor Air Quality needs RKM Customer Service
5.0

06/26/2020


Robin C.

RKM made this almost a pleasure. We started with a service call to evaluate/fix the old A/C. Richard was on-time, skilled and helpful. RKM phoned to confirm appointments and sent email messages to keep us updated re: arrival times. When new equipment was needed - Robert helped us navigate the choices and design a system that was a more efficient Energy Star rated unit that met our needs at a price we could manage. We didn't need financing but, that was available as a reasonable option. Proposals, invoices and equipment brochures were all sent in detailed & easily understood email messages. Installation of the new system (furnace & A/C) went smoothly as scheduled. The installation team - Jonathan, Brian and Julio - were on-time, friendly and knowledgeable. They took care to protect our homes interior and yard. All of the old equipment was removed and new installed, tested, etc in one day. The new a/c compressor, made by Gorman is QUIET; It's only been 24 hours but, the house is COOL and we can't hear anything in the house or yard.

Description of Work
New HVAC in our home

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2020

Service Provider Response

Service is our Upmost Focus! It was a pleasure being of service to you and your family and we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to being of service to you in the maintenance of your new equipment.
5.0

11/02/2018


Alan D.

As always, we felt it was perfection

Description of Work
check our furnace operation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2018

5.0

07/21/2018


Shana G.

He had everything he needed in his van to fix the unit and did so promptly and in a very friendly and helpful manner. I joined the membership club also, because it gave me reduced prices on the parts as well as free maintenance for the year on the unit, as well as priority when I need to call to make appointments in the future. Overall, I'm quite happy with the work, the professionalism, and the company and I would highly recommend them, especially because both technicians I've dealt with (I have used the company once before) did NOT try and upsell me parts or services that I did not need just to make higher sales for themselves. (This upselling is common with larger companies around here and we do not like this practice.)

Description of Work
My air conditioner stopped cooling. The technician quickly determined the problem and fixed it.

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2018

5.0

06/26/2018


Kerry M.

Drew Zeller was my technician who performed my first routine maintenance on my new system I purchased and had installed by RKM. Drew, who kept me informed throughout his inspection and testing, was extremely knowledgeable and courteous. He put his "booties" on before entering the house and was very careful moving his ladder to the upstairs where the air handler was located. He replaced my filters and showed me what they looked like compared to the new filters so that I knew replacement was necessary. My light didn't work in the attic and he went the extra mile by testing my switch to see if I was getting power. I asked him a number of questions concerning my older second unit and he gave me advice that was good to know. Also RKM reminded me of my appointment ahead of time and then called to let me know that Drew would be arriving in 30-45 minutes. Overall, I felt I received exceptional service from RKM as well as from Drew.

Description of Work
Routine Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2018

5.0

01/31/2018


Mark R.

Was able to work with my tenants and my nighttime work schedule. Did all communication via email since I sleep in the day.

Description of Work
Replaced heater and AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2018

5.0

01/23/2018


PATTY S.

No problems. Everything done as expected.

Description of Work
Heater tune up and cleaning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2017

5.0

12/26/2017


housam J.

Great.showed up on time..very thorough and recommended some future repairs.

Description of Work
Maintenance on my furnace and AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/26/2017

5.0

10/19/2017


Kerry M.

My A/C unit quit cooling after 16 years of flawless performance, I received quotes on the replacement and I chose RKM for their excellent reviews, the pricing they offered and the warranties. They scheduled the replacement in less than a week and completed their work in one day. Everyone I dealt with from the initial assessment to the installation crew were friendly, knowledgeable and respectful of our house. There was no sales pressure and all my questions were answered to my satisfaction. Matthew and Jason provided the utmost customer service as well as the other crew members. RKM exceeded my expectations.

Description of Work
Replace 5 ton A/C unit and central heating.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2017

5.0

10/12/2017


Brian C.

It went great, put a Mitsubishi unit in each room and put the outside fan system on the roof, out of the way of my back patio. Professional work and super friendly guys.

Description of Work
Robert installed a Mitsubishi mini split AC system in my attic less house, they did a fantastic job, they put a cooling and heating unit in each room and its so nice and cool. Living up here in Sun Valley the heat is scorching and Robert and Michael hooked me up with the HERO program. RKM is the best and they are honest, fair and professional.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2017

5.0

10/10/2017


Kathy H.

The technician Matthew Snyder was awesome. He was thorough and made sure that the vent was completely cleared out. Our line was complicated and had several turns, he didn't feel like the line was completely clear so he called another tech to come over and climb on our roof to clear the remainder from the top down. He left the area clean and put the dryer back in place. I would recommend using RKM.

Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $97

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2017

5.0

10/09/2017


Katie G.

Amazing. It's a family owned business who are quick to respond to any issues. They now come twice a year for a filter change and tune up. Highly reccomend

Description of Work
Wednesday morning our Ac went out and they tried to repair to reduce costs but were unable due to the age of the unit. We ended up replacing the unit minus the repair costs by Friday morning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2017

5.0

10/06/2017


Curt B.

Matthew went through several possible sources for the problem and was able to figure it out. One great thing about RKM is that they take pictures at important steps in the process and you get a PDF detailing all the steps that were taken and what the resolution was. I signed up for their 2 checkups a year plan. He also upgraded the capacitor module with a unit that would be more capable of withstanding the surge that comes from the capacitor. Can't say enough good things about them.

Description of Work
AC was intermittently turning off leaving the blower putting out hot air. He was able to diagnose the problem (needed a capacitor replaced). I've had this problem for a year but over the last year the problem got worse. I had a company come out a year ago and they came out three times before Matthew from RKM came out. The person from the other company wasn't able to fix it and turn around took days. We went 6 days without AC during the hottest week of the summer.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2017

5.0

10/06/2017


Curt B.

Matthew was able to find the problem where another company wasn't. It was a fairly tricky diagnosis. I'm in my 2nd yr of an annual maintenance contract which is well worth the price. Also, they document all aspects of their work by taking pictures and notes and you are sent a PDF of this. They have been to our house 3x over the last 2 years; I've been completely satisfied each time.

Description of Work
find duct leak

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2018

5.0

09/11/2017


Selina R.

Ok other problems going on with dryer so we replaced it.

Description of Work
Clean vent

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2017

1.0

07/27/2017


LEE L.

It was fine at first, but the AC started leaking when we use it. There's a company that we hired to do a job and while they are doing an inspection we found out that there's rust and mold all over.

Description of Work
The furnace was bad. They tried to repair it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2016

Service Provider Response

I see that we did come out your property the same day you called and inspected the system for you. As the technician explained we had only installed furnace/ heating system on Dec 16, 2015. It has been working for 2 years without any issue. The rusted coil and water issue is from your existing a