Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING

Founded 1997 • With Angi since October 2005

3-4 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. NO SERVICE CHARGES.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(195) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 195 reviews
sayoko E.
2.0
05/01/2020
Very Lousy Job and over priced, Never Again!
Description of Work
Brush Clearance, Tree Trimming
Category
custom cabinets
Beth S.
1.0
07/12/2019
This guy is almost impossible to get ahold of. Extremely hard to make contact with, after he finally finished our initial job our surprise bill was $1000 over our bid because he used a different bender board and his sod vendor charged him extra (???). Once the weekly service started (3 weeks after we thought they would start) they were terrible. Spent about 10 to 15 minutes tops, never trimmed one bush (unless I told them too and even then did a terrible job), didn’t trim around any sprinklers do they could not pop up and water so I have dead spots in my new grass, sliced into several of my tree trunks with the edger (one of our trees has already died), never raked debris just blew into our bushes and grass clippings into our pool. When I attempted to contact him again of course I was ignored for a week. When I finally got through he said he would come by that day after 11 to discuss the sprinklers, dead tree etc but he never showed or called. I hired someone else immediately. Overpriced, poor quality and unreliable I would never use again and would not recommend.
Description of Work
Fix sprinklers, install drip line, install new sod, weekly service
Category
lawn service
Earl R.
3.0
02/23/2019
Never received an estimated statement nor an invoice for job completed.
Description of Work
Replace exterior drain pipes
Category
drain pipe
Lloyd C.
5.0
09/07/2018
Luis and his entire team are a pleasure to work with. Between his knowledge and having all the right tools, a good team, and fair pricing, I not only highly recommend this company, but look forward working with them for years to come. They take pride in their work, and followed through without fail, very professional and extremely accomodating. Any other potential clients may feel free to contact me directly with any questions or concerns, it is my pleasure to recommend them.
Description of Work
Hardscape, landscape, sprinkler work, advice.
Category
landscaping
Sally B.
5.0
05/15/2018
The service worked out fine. He was clean. He did everything completely fine. The price looks okay.
Description of Work
He came to install a timer.
Category
irrigation systems
V H.
1.0
05/02/2017
Over the years, Luis has done almost $20,000 of work for me, including pergolas, removal of grass, and sprinkler repair. The recent work was very disappointing. I have called, texted, left messages and spoken with Luis regarding the sprinkler head in the front yard that is spraying water against my house when the drip system is turned on There is also a misaligned connection that is leaking. It also doesn't appear that all areas were included in the drip system - I had requested an additional 6 areas where I wanted to have small plants. Luis had said it wasn't necessary to turn on the drip system for a period of time since the ground was still damp, so I did not discover these problems until I attempted to use the system several days after the original work was done. A number of times Luis said he would show up to see what the problem is, including today - over one month since the original work was completed. He never showed up. Additionally, some of the trimming originally discussed was passed on to the weekly gardners - a one month service is provided free of charge for Angie's list members. I explained what work needed to be completed the first time they arrived. They spent exactly 15 minutes on my yard each week. Leaves were blown into my side yard instead of being picked up. Four bushes that were trimmed (unevenly), had branches left on the ground. Other trimming that Luis said they would finish was not touched. Unfortunately, they did cut back branches from a bush that I did not want trimmed. I finally told them not to return because of their sloppy work. On the plus side, so far the sod is successfully growing. I am, however, disappointed that Luis has been non-responsive to the problems that should have been obvious to the person who installed the drip system.
Description of Work
Sod installed and mulch in back yard, along with removal of oleander, tree stump and trimming of bushes and ivy. Drip irrigation system in front yard.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch
Karen N.
5.0
04/15/2017
All I can say is each house has a different gardener and one of the neighbors asked me who we used and he is now using them. So, we highly referred him to them and they are happy with him. They were looking for a gardener and because they didn't like the one they had and I think they had came in touch with a couple and settled with ours and he likes them and it's working out. He usually comes pretty promptly around 7 or 7:30 and they are here for about a half a hour. He does our house and the house about 2 houses down and they are gone in 40 minutes maybe.
Description of Work
He does lawn and yard work.
Category
lawn service
Karen N.
5.0
04/15/2017
We have been using him for years and he is very very good. He usually charges $85 a month. I haven't had any problems. If you ask them to do something specific and they just do it with no questions asked and he takes really good care of our lawn. He knows when to do the fertilizing and when to seed and everything. He just bills us extra for that. I don't think it can improve anymore than it has.
Description of Work
He does our gardening every week. He comes every Thursday. He mows the lawn, takes the weeds out, trims the flowers, and whatever. He just does everything.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Jeannette Y.
5.0
02/26/2017
The project went great. Luis and his crew took up an old concrete driveway that was worn thread bare and replaced it with pavers that wrap around and extend in front of the new backyard deck. In addition he created an interesting crushed concrete path around 6 fruit trees that he planted in the back yard. On the outside of the path he planted drought tolerate blooming plants. So I replaced a boring square with a delightful fruit orchard! Each of the fruit trees has a light next to it that comes on in the evening that adds a special touch. One of my main complaints about the back yard was that it is surrounded by unsightly cinder block. Luis planted vines that will adhere to the cinder block and cover it completely in a short time. Luis also added a faucet to to the backyard and put in a new sprinkler system front and back. In addition, he leveled my front yard and re-lanscaped that as well with drought tolerate blooming plants and less grass and also an interesting crushed concrete path. I am beyond pleased!! I would definitely hire Ruvalcabo landscaping again and I fully recommend them.
Description of Work
I purchased a home in late September of 2016. As part of an addition to the new house I added a deck off the back. However the deck looked out over a extremely boring, small, not very well attended square, back yard. I interviewed a few landscapers, but their ideas were either not interesting or they just didn't get back to me. When Luis came out, he listened to what I had in mind, he had quite a few ideas of his own and he started within a week.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping
Dawn H.
5.0
02/09/2017
Luis and his crew are fantastic! A+ We could not be any happier with the work done and service offered. Total professional on every level. We have found our landscaping company!
Description of Work
We have an area behind our house that floods when it rains. We needed a French drain installed. We needed 4 area drains. We also decided to remove shrubbery and a small tree.
Category
landscaping
Marcie L.
5.0
01/31/2017
Everything was done professionally and as expected. He was very knowledgeable, had good ideas and was also willing to incorporate my requests. His work was done in a timely manner, within budget, and with a great crew. They were prompt, pleasant, and easy to work with. I was so pleased with the final outcome, that I have hired him to provide on-going maintenance of my property. He is reliable and seems to enjoy what he does. He has done more than I expected.
Description of Work
Turf removal and landscaping to comply with DWP abatement program. Luis removed my front lawn and extensive parkway turf and replaced the areas with drought resistant plants and drip systems. He also built a pathway and tree well with broken concrete. He knew what the DWP requirements were for the project and met them easily.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
WILLIAM D.
5.0
01/12/2017
It went great. The crew dug up the old line until more problems were found (e.g. roots, collapsed pipe, etc.). The pipe was then replaced with stronger ABS pipe and glued together so roots can't get in. They also added a clean-out. All this was done in 3 days and before the big rains hit. We are having them back to do the rest of the landscape drain line.
Description of Work
We just purchased a new home and the landscape drains had clearly not been maintained over the past 25 years. The rain gutters into the drains were back up, as were the landscape drains. Roto-rooter was unsuccessful in clearing the drainage. Luis and his crew came out and tracked down the problem. Roots and completely block at least 25 feet of the main landscape drain pipe to the street.
Category
landscaping, drain pipe
Steven G.
2.0
03/20/2015
He installed 3 valves in July 2014. In November I noticed that one of the connections was leaking. He used a metal piece between two PVC pieces which he should not have done. He said I gave him the piece, but every pipe and connector I gave min to install was PVC. I don't know where he got the metal piece he used. I tried to seal the connection multiple times without success. I called him in December, he said that we would come out and repair it. I called him many times in January and February, he kept giving me dates that he would come out but he never showed up. When I spoke to him in early March he said he was not going to repair it, but would refund my money,$150.00, I called him many times to this date and he says the money is on the way, but it never came. He doesn't stand behind his work or his word.
Description of Work
install sprinkler valves
Category
irrigation systems
Lidia A.
3.0
01/26/2015
He's trustworthy and the job was good.
Description of Work
I used Luis Ruvalcaba Landscaping for a lawn clean up.
Category
lawn service
Andrea P.
5.0
12/31/2014
He was very quick in doing the job and he gave a lot of suggestions. The quality was good too.
Description of Work
I have used Luis Ruvalcaba Landscaping. He built a large fence for us and a patio.
Category
fencing, patios
Vatche K.
5.0
11/05/2014
In trying to take advantage of the rebate offered by the local utility company, I contacted several service providers in the LA area. One never returned by calls, one showed up and never called back to provide an estimate, and one gave an outrageous price. When Luis showed up, he was on time, did his calculations and gave a price that fit my budget. He kept in touch and would answer my calls, text messages and emails, every time. He completed the job in a timely manner and the finished product exceeded my expectations. He had all the necessary equipment and tools for the job and brought with him a very friendly and professional crew. He did a lot of extra work that I did not expect and I highly recommend his services and would be happy to provide a reference. My wife and I love our new landscape.
Description of Work
Re-landscaped my front yard with California friendly landscape by totally eliminating grass.
Category
landscaping
Sarah B.
5.0
10/24/2014
Luis and his crew and fantastic. They keep the yard healthy and fertilize if they see that anything is in trouble. They work fast and consistently come on the same day. Very professional!
Description of Work
Luis comes out every week to landscape and take care of our back yard.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
JOSE L.
4.0
10/21/2014
The guys that work for him are great and does a fast and good job. Whenever, we need an extra work to be done, they are there willingly to do it.
Description of Work
Luis Ruvalcaba provides weekly gardening service to our residence as well as another house that we own for rental
Category
landscaping
Hugh H.
5.0
10/20/2014
He is on time and he gets the work done.
Description of Work
We use Luis Ruvalcaba Landscaping for landscaping. We use them weekly.
Category
landscaping
Wing C.
5.0
10/14/2014
Luis and his guys did a great job. The new sprinklers worked great and the system was easy to use. His guys kept the yard neat.
Description of Work
Installed new sprinkler lines and system. Seeded a long neglected lawn. Weekly maintenance.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Karen N.
5.0
10/06/2014
Very good. When asked to perform any extra tasks within their scope of work, they respond well. They always seem willing to accept our request.
Description of Work
General lawn and garden maintenance.
Category
landscaping
Matthew P.
1.0
09/30/2014
Never received a response through the List or the phone number or email I gave as alternate contacts. I can't comment on the quality of work or price because I wouldn't know. Company has good reviews on those which is why I chose to contact them. Would have liked to give my business to a local company but more than a month waiting for a response....time to move on and find someone else.
Description of Work
Emailed through Angie's List looking for residential landscaping and sprinkler installation as well as monthly maintenance service.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Zachary F.
5.0
09/19/2014
Luis's crew is punctual, considerate and thorough. My yard is big?about 1/4 acre?but also pretty low-maintenance?I don't water the grass, and have lots of xeriscape?so the whole job takes them about an hour.
Description of Work
Weekly yard maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Mary Ann D.
4.0
08/11/2014
Very nice company. Satisfactory work.
Description of Work
They trim bushes and blow the leaves
Category
lawn service
Celeste R.
3.0
06/30/2014
I've upgraded the responsiveness. I finally wrote Luis a letter and I saw a dramatic change the next time his men were there. Their work has improved, so we'll see if they continue to focus a little more.
Description of Work
My last gardener disappeared off the face of the earth, so I hired Luis and his crew to keep my front yard looking good. Weed, mow, whatever else needed to be done. They do an adequate job. I've got some plants starting to grow where they shouldn't and I'm not happy that they haven't gotten rid of them. They also haven't been loosening up the soil around my roses. I'm not home when they come to request they pull the invading plants or loosen the soil, and when I tried to call Luis about it - his mailbox was full. Maybe they're too busy or maybe they figure for $60, it's not worth extra effort. The longer I've had them, the less they're doing. My front yard still looks presentable, but I think I will be looking around very soon.
Category
landscaping

Other local Pros in your area

Aerations Plus

Since 1994, Aerations Plus has been serving Southern California residents with top-notch sprinkler repair and irrigation system installation services for residential and commercial properties. Our team of technicians undergoes thorough background checks to ensure the safety of our customers, and we are dedicated to building long-lasting relationships with them through high quality work and exceptional service. Our mission is to be the go-to provider for all your lawn care needs, and to consistently exceed your expectations. Contact Aerations Plus today to learn more about the different irrigation systems available and to schedule a free lawn assessment. With our Water Wise program, our technicians will also conduct regular inspections to make sure your system is functioning properly and not wasting water, helping you conserve resources and save money.  

Angi Certified

Automatic Sprinkler Controls Inc

Commercial and residential, large or small projects welcome. Certified water manager, trained personnel. Phone support available for most irrigation controllers. Award wining.  

Angi Certified

Keystone Remodeling Inc

We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

18036 Vanowen St.

RESEDA, CA 91335

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING offers free project estimates.

No, LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING does not offer a senior discount.

No, LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING does not offer warranties.

LUIS RUVALCABA LANDSCAPING offers the following services: Full service landscaping company