Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Water Heaters Only, Inc

Founded 1968 • With Angi since November 2004

4.8

(318) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3520 HAVEN AVE

Redwood City, CA 94063

Description

Water Heaters Only Inc is a full service water heater repair and replacement company. We offer same day service for water heater repairs and replacements. Our technicians arrive in vehicles stocked with water heaters and parts to solve your water heater problem (some exceptions apply). Water Heaters Only, Inc is known for dedication to customer satisfaction, a solid work ethic and quick service. Our technicians are continually factory trained in all aspects of water heating including tankless and energy efficient hybrid water heaters. Specializing in water heaters allows us to provide the lowest pricing and the highest quality service for any water heater problem. We guarantee the lowest prices and will beat any competitors onsite bid. Offering quick service, quality products and the lowest prices has earned us over 500,000 satisfied customers since 1968. Read our reviews and see for yourself why our customers rate us top notch. Water Heaters Only Inc is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and there is never an extra charge for night, weekend or Holiday service. Call now and speak with an expert for water heater advise or to schedule an appointment today....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

02/07/2022


Dan K.

Chris did a great job. Had a water heater in stock, so was able to complete the job the day he showed up for the estimate. Only 4 Stars, because he was 17% higher cost than competitor, but he was able to complete the job the same day.

Description of Work
Install 75 gal. gas water heater

Category appliance repair,water heater repair

5.0

02/11/2020


Coco S.

They were an A+ provider to work with, accommodated my schedule and their were quote was on the lower end of the quotes I received.

Description of Work
Replace an existing gas water heater located in a garage. Easy access.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We were happy to get you back in hot water at your convenience! Thank you for the opportunity to provide you with "A+" service and save you a little money at the same time! We value your business.
5.0

01/06/2020


Edmund P.

Great - the installer, Loni, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He arrived with everything he needed and was fast, thorough and did a very neat job.

Description of Work
Replace Water Heater

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased that you felt your experience with our wonderful technician Loni was "A" rated! Thank you for the feedback. We'd love to know if there is anything we could have done differently, in your view, to improve our responsiveness. We've worked very hard over the past 52 years to provide the best possible customer service, so If there's a particular reason for the B rating please let us know, as we strive to grow from your feedback.
5.0

01/16/2019


Betty F.

Discovered our problem on 1/14/19, called the company and had a new water heater delivered and installed by 3 pm on 1/15/19. Chris installed the new heater with new straps and new supports and explained how everything works. We could not be happier with him and the installation. This company is highly recommended for anyone needing a new water heater.

Description of Work
Hot water heater replaced

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to get you back in hot water quickly and to your complete satisfaction. We were very happy to provide you with "A" rated service. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

01/11/2019


Laurene S.

Loni did an excellent job. He was professional, on time, courteous and I'd use this company again.

Description of Work
We had our water heater changed out

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We're so glad that you were pleased with our wonderful technician Loni! He's a really great guy as well. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We appreciate your business and we're thrilled to know you felt our service was "A" rated!
5.0

11/09/2018


Joel F.

Excellent service. Technician Toa was friendly and professional. Would recommend using this company for future projects.

Description of Work
Water Heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate your kind feedback and recommendation. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

11/07/2018


Robert O.

Punctual and efficient. Employee didn't explain much, said they have a standard water heater they use and that's that. I'm ok with that. But others might want more information, to pick something out. I didn't feel like he was scamming me, it's just a standard price. I like that. Nothing unusual or odd additional fees to consider.

Description of Work
50 gallon water heater replaced and installed. Old water heater removed.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Your feedback is important to us, thank you. Yes, we do offer mostly one brand of water heater and this is mainly based on our 50 years of experience with using others. We provide the best possible quality parts, only, to our customers. Our work is always done to code so there can be more to consider in an installation than simply the cost of a water heater.
2.0

10/23/2018


Kathleen C.

So use these people if you want to pay top dollar for a water heater. I called them about getting our 50 gallon water heater replaced as it was leaking. The woman on the phone asked for the Model # of the leaking unit. She asked if the unit was outside or in the garage. I told her that the unit is in the garage. She said it would be between $1250 to $1450. Fortunately, I contacted another highly reviewed company who asked me to text them some pictures - which I did. An hour later they sent me a price - $1600 for a fifty gallon unit. Today when the Water Heaters Only guy showed up, he asked me if I wanted a 50 gallon or a 40 gallon unit. I said that probably a 40 gallon unit would be fine since it’s just my wife and I. He quoted a price of $1800!! I told him I already had received a price of $1600 for a fifty gallon unit (which he asked to see). When I showed him the estimate, he said he would lover his price to $1650. Thankfully, I had that $1600 estimate. In the end I had him install the unit despite the fact that this company uses a “bait and switch” approach as I just wanted hot water again. I will NEVER do business with them again.

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Oh no, we're truly sorry for the experience you felt you had with our company, as it is not an accurate representation of who we are. Please be assured that we absolutely do not bait and switch. Water Heaters Only, Inc. has been in business for over 50 years. Providing the best possible service, before, during and after your work has always been our policy. We value you as our customer and would like very much to resolve this matter. Someone from our company will be contacting you. We appreciate your patience and understanding.
5.0

09/19/2018


Bob S.

Great! Arrived as promised and job took less than I expected to complete. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Install a new re-circulation pump on the hot water line.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your confidence in our company to recommend us to others, that means a lot to us! We truly appreciate your valued feedback. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

08/29/2018


Daniel H.

Called them yesterday and Steve showed up this morning on time, took a look at our old water heater installation and provided a reasonable quote for replacing it with a brand new unit plus a couple related upgrades. He was carrying exactly the unit we wanted so he expertly replaced it in record time. Great experience. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replaced water heater

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

It was so nice of you to take the time to give us your great feedback. We're so glad that you were pleased with or service. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

07/23/2018


Raphael O.

Showed up on time. Completed work in a professional manner. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Replace 22 year old water heater.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Wow, congratulations on 22 years with your old water heater! That's amazing! We were happy to provide "A" rated service and get you back in hot water quickly. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

07/15/2018


James M.

Originally called to have 20 year old solar heated expansion water tank removed. However we realized the water heater was also 20 years old, well past its expected life span. We were give a quote of $2400 for a new tank, and to take both old tanks away. Was able to schedule for the next day, and took about 3 hours to complete. Professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

It was truly our pleasure to make heating water safe and up to code.for you. We hope you enjoy the added bonus of a much more efficient water heater, as well. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity.
4.0

07/04/2018


Donald M.

Good Service. Same day install on a Sunday. Doniel N. came early and did a great job. Only con was the price of the job. Very costly.

Description of Work
Water Heater Replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your feedback. It's probably been a while since your water heater has been replaces, so it's understandable that the cost now was a bit of a shock. As with everything prices have increased. Another thing that makes a difference is the necessity for work to fully bring the new installation up to code. Please be assured that you now have a safe reliable product that is warrantied and back by our 24/7/365 emergency phone service. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

06/25/2018


George L.

It took a day, but they arrived early and did an excellent job

Description of Work
Replaced a leaking water heater

Category appliance repair,plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We really work hard to make it out the same day, but sometimes due to circumstances beyond our control we are not able to make that happen. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

05/18/2018


Mike E.

Replaced my 20 year old water heater quickly with no fuss or mess. Appointment was made easily and truck came loaded with the right replacement just a few hours later. Loni did an excellent job, explained everything, and was very professional. Work included some earthquake upgrades. Excellent!

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased to provide you with "A" rated service. Thank you for placing your trust in our company.
5.0

04/09/2018


Kim M.

Very well. Loni did an excellent job. he was on time, courteous, and explained the work he was doing.

Description of Work
Remove old water heater and install new one

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time and thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

03/21/2018


April B.

We had the great displeasure of returning from vacation on a Saturday to find our hot water recirculator not working. We then had the great pleasure of talking with a very helpful young lady at Water Heaters Only, who scheduled an appointment, on the following Monday, for a technician to come out for a free assessment and estimate. On Monday we had the further great pleasure of working with the technician, Loni, who arrived on time (after we received a courtesy call from the office letting us know he was on his way). Loni was friendly, professional and knowledgeable, and, after examining our hot water heater and broken pump and asking some pertinent questions, he assessed the water heater was fine, but we did need a new recirculator pump. He gave us a written estimate, and explained why he chose the pump he was recommending, which I really appreciated. He also had a good suggestion for how we could easily set it up on a timer, if we wanted, and at a substantial savings. When I asked when we could schedule the work, he said he had a pump in his truck and was available to do the job immediately. I was so glad to not have to wait, since our water heater is at the opposite end of the house from the bathrooms, and we hated wasting all that water, waiting for it to get hot! Loni worked quickly and efficiently, and upon completion explained how the new/updated pump worked, and said to be sure to call if we had any questions or concerns. What started out as a major inconvenience, became a very pleasant experience overall, working with the office staff and with Loni. We highly recommend them and would definitely call again. Many thanks for the excellent service!

Description of Work
Replacement of hot water recirculator pump.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback , we truly appreciate it.
5.0

02/28/2018


Mark P.

Super experience in every way. I was so happy I did not try to install the water heater myself with limited knowledge and tools. I like to do everything myself around the house but this was an exception. Great service, great part and finished project looks and works great. Thanks.

Description of Work
Replace water heater

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to replace your water heater to code. We truly appreciated your business.
5.0

02/21/2018


khaled G.

Called Water Heaters Only to see if they would come out to inspect/repair a malfunctioning water heater (pilot light out and wouldn't come on). They explained their price for service, told me that my water heater was not a standard one that they install, and that depending on the problem, they may have to order the part and return to install it when it arrived. They also gave me the phone number to my water heater manufacturer in case I wanted to call them. I was able to call the manufacturer and they successfully walked me through the process of lighting the pilot light. While I did not use their services, I though it was very honest and professional of them to explain their process (and any limitations) and offer me the number to the manufacturer. I will certainly consider them when I need to get a new water heater.

Description of Work
Water heater service

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We were happy to provide you with "A" Rated service. Please keep us in mind in the future when you need your water heater replaced. Thank you for calling Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

02/04/2018


febin G.

Excellent knowledgeable technician.

Description of Work
I had a water heater leak and approached three big players in my area,Big Orange firm,Highly rated another firm and water heaters only. My heater was in a tight space and right next to furnace.The technician Mr.Peni from water heaters only comes in and had a look and he knows its bit tough to get the old heater out from the tight space but he gives me full confidence and comes in on time and gets the job done in 2 hours..Great Job and makes my life easier..I think Price wise its the best and seems like they quote only for the work. WIll definetly hire again for any issues with my new water heater.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We were very happy to provide you with "A" rated service. Thank you so much for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc. after first shopping around. Your feedback about our service was truly appreciated.
5.0

12/23/2017


clayton A.

Very prompt, communicated arrival time well, gave us a quote which was reasonable, and very well spoken. They replaced our water heater and thermal expansion unit with new straps very quickly. Threw away our old unit and was very very clean. Ask for Steve.

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We pleased that you were happy with our service. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

12/10/2017


JAY V.

They showed up promptly and assessed the water heater leak. We discussed several options and decided the best choice was to replace with a new gas tank water heater. A nearby supplier had one in stock. The old unit was removed and the new one installed in the same day. In fact, including travel time to the supplier, total time for the job was less than 3 hours.

Description of Work
Replace existing water heater

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate your business and feedback, thank you. We were happy to get you back in hot water again! Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.
5.0

10/31/2017


James E.

Arrived on time and completed the job within two hours.

Description of Work
Replaced a 40 gallon water heater in an interior enclosure

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate your business and feedback.
5.0

10/28/2017


Anthony T.

Dan showed up at 3 pm and evaluated the work and gave me a fair cost for the total job. Dan was very professional, explaining every step of the process. He is enthusiastic, tidy and as expected by his expertise, he performed an outstanding job. My wife and I were we happy when we finally had hot water for our showers since we left Mexico the previous day. Dan took away our broken water heater, cleaned up everything and left us with an excellent impression of a job well done by a professional. We would highly recommend Dan and Water Heaters Only.

Description of Work
The Friday night we returned from our vacation, we found our hot water heater was broken. On Saturday morning, I called around and checked Angie's List. I contacted Water Heaters Only in Redwood City, CA. and spoke to Paul. After querying me as to the age of my broken water heater, he suggested a new water heater be installed. All work has to pass Palo City inspections, be earthquake proofed, and other safety measures be installed. I agreed to have work done with Water Heaters Only and he gave me a verbal estimate. A plumbing professional will be at my home between 2 pm and 6 pm.

Category appliance repair,plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We're so pleased that you are happy with Dan's work. We truly appreciate the feedback. and your business. Thank you for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc. and for your confidence in our company to recommend us to others.
5.0

09/06/2017


Jan M.

Great, came on time, replaced water heater with good quality brand, priced competitively

Description of Work
replaced leaking water heater

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We were so pleased to have provided you our Five Star service! Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Water Heaters Only, Inc.

    Other local Pros in your area

    EJ Plumbing

    Turn to EJ Plumbing for all of your Santa Clara plumbing needs. The family owned company has established itself with a great reputation thanks to the hard work of the talented plumbing experts as well as the endless list of positive reviews from valued customers. With low prices and specials, it’s no wonder that the team of dedicated technicians is the highest rated plumbing company in the area. They have received accreditation from the Better Business Bureau, a prestigious international organization that recognizes businesses for their hard work, knowledge, and memorable customer service. In addition to their numerous recognitions, the team also offers same-day emergency services for your convenience, safety, and comfort. For a satisfying plumbing service in Santa Clara and the surrounding areas, reach out to the professionals at EJ Plumbing.  

    Offers by EJ Plumbing on Angi
    Better Water Heaters

    We started Better Water Heaters to provide fair pricing and quality service to the customers seeking water heater service or replacement. The truth is, most companies overcharge because they know you need hot water immediately and will probably pay a lot to get it quick. My typical customer is one who has price shopped the competition and have decided most companies either charge way too much or are hard to pin down to a firm price. We understand. You simply need a water heater and don’t want to deal with a sleazy salesman…you want to talk to a plumber….so give us a call and we’ll talk. At Better Water Heaters we do something quite rare in the plumbing business- install water heaters for a fair price. We grow our business one satisfied customer at a time; we don’t take advantage of a plumbing emergency and charge unreasonably. Your referral is important to us that is why we always will work to insure your complete satisfaction. We’re a small company and we keep our overhead low, because of this we don’t need to charge unreasonably. Of course we are licensed, bonded and insured and are very experienced at water heater installation and repair. We are experts in convention water heater repair and replacement, Tankless water heater installation, and other plumbing issues. We are the only water heater installation company in northern California that has earned the prestigious DIAMOND CERTIFICATION. We are also member of the Better Business Bureau. Our advertised prices include a quality water heater, basic installation and disposal of your old unit; Extra parts and labor required to do the job right, are additional. Call us for all your water heating needs. Estimates are always free and we never charge extra for nights, weekends, or holidays.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    ADL PLUMBING

    Plumbing experience for 38 years. Based in San Francisco, California. Services include; Water heater installation & Removal, etc.  

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    374573
    Trade License Locale
    California
    Trade License Authority
    California Contractors State License Board
    Trade License Expiration
    05/31/2023
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Water Heater Installation, Repair & Replacement, Tankless Water Heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    General plumbing, Drain or sewer service. We specialize in water heaters.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Water Heaters Only, Inc

    How is Water Heaters Only, Inc overall rated?

    Water Heaters Only, Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Water Heaters Only, Inc open?

    Water Heaters Only, Inc is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day
    Monday: Open All Day
    Tuesday: Open All Day
    Wednesday: Open All Day
    Thursday: Open All Day
    Friday: Open All Day
    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Water Heaters Only, Inc provide

    Water Heaters Only, Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Water Heaters Only, Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Water Heaters Only, Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Water Heaters Only, Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Water Heaters Only, Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Water Heaters Only, Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Water Heaters Only, Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Water Heaters Only, Inc?

    Yes, Water Heaters Only, Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Water Heaters Only, Inc offer?

    Water Heaters Only, Inc offers the following services: Water Heater Installation, Repair & Replacement, Tankless Water Heaters.

    Are there any services Water Heaters Only, Inc does not offer?

    General plumbing, Drain or sewer service. We specialize in water heaters.