Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Redmond's Lock & Security

Founded 1978 • With Angi since September 2008

4.8

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2213 Artesia Blvd

Redondo Beach, CA 90278

Description

We are a family owned business that began over 35 years ago. We have many happy residential as well as commercial clients that have been serviced by us over the past decades.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Barbara C.
4.0
10/05/2015
The job was perfect. He was professional, polite & punctual. I just thought it was expensive for what took about 30 mins.
Description of Work
Rekeyed 3 locks
Category
locksmith
Constantine S.
4.0
09/04/2015
unknown
Category
locksmith
carolyn H.
4.0
08/19/2015
I had problem with the timing and he gave me some pointers.
Description of Work
Home camera and lock service.
Category
home security systems
Doreen E.
5.0
12/05/2014
.
Description of Work
Replaced non-working door lock hardware.
Category
locksmith
Keith U.
5.0
11/10/2014
Response to call for help was within a couple hours with the door lock set repaired quickly and in working order. Very satisfied with the friendly and quick service, would call Redmond's again without hesitation if needed.
Description of Work
Repaired old Westlock jammed doorlock.
Category
locksmith
katrina M.
5.0
10/22/2013
When called, the person was very professional on the phone and appeared eager to do business for me. Arrangements were made for same day service. The employee called to confirm he was on the way and arrived on time. He examined the locks, made his recommendations and went to work. I needed a battery on the back door for the emergency alarm do he went next door to purchase. The service was performed to my satisfaction.
Description of Work
Changed the locks on front and back door of business.
Category
locksmith
Samuel T.
5.0
09/11/2013
Just got the keys to our new place, and first on the to-do list was to re-key and possibly change out the hardware for new, as we didn't like in particular the brass finish. Initial consultation with Dave on site and gave me his opinion and estimated prices on swapping out all new door locks and lever. The original door lock on the entrance door is old style, but in good working order and recommend to retain it and just re-key. Even changing out the finish trim was going to be a project in itself - and didn't try to upsell to get it done. As for the garage access door, that was an easier swap. Originally he was going to supply, but he suggested that I go purchase the lockset deadbolt, for it would be cheaper for me to get at HomeDepot vs him to get it shipped and the timeframe. Which was no sweat off my back. Able to purchase the lever lock set I wanted and made the apt for next day to install and re-key. George came the next day and it was a seamless process and I also got to learn a few things about locksmith 101. Very professional and knowledgeable locksmith. Overall A experience, maybe you pay a little more but supporting local business and people who care about the community. Will use again for future project and highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installed the hardware I provided to the access door to the garage and re-key entrance door and garage access door to our new home.
Category
locksmith
Patrick W.
5.0
09/04/2013
When I called and explained the work that I needed done, and that I found them through Angie's List, I was told that someone would be at my home within two to three hours. I had told them that I would be home all day. George showed up about an hour after I had called them, and after confirming the work that I wanted done he asked me if the key blanks that he had on the truck would work for the extra keys that I wanted. I requested the more expensive Baldwin keys. He made a phone call to the shop to have the Baldwin blanks delivered instead of me having to stop by the locksmith shop at a later time to get the desired keys made. I had agreed to stop by the shop, however George worked to make this entire job happen while he was at my home. George was neat, quick, and precise. He made sure that there was no mess left behind, even with the sawdust that was produced from drilling the holes in the front door for the new dead-bolt lock. Before he drilled for the new lock he consulted with me as to the placement and answered my questions about operation. After the job was complete, George had me inspect his work. Everything worked perfectly; no slop or binding with any of the locks or keys. George presaented an itemized bill which had a 10% discount on it for being an Angie's List member. Thank you Redmond's Lock & Security for a professional job.
Description of Work
Rekeyed three locks on my front and back doors, installed a new dead-bolt lock on the front door, and provided six new keys.
Category
locksmith
Craig L.
5.0
08/26/2013
I called REDMOND'S late Friday afternoon to change all the locks on my newly purchased home in Lomita. The technician arrived within 30 minutes and had everything changed within an hour. I couldn't have asked for more efficient service! The price was so reasonable, that I can't even remember the amount they charged me and I can't find the emailed receipt.
Description of Work
New keys and locks throughout the house.
Category
locksmith
Richard G.
5.0
08/15/2013
I didn't realize Redmond's was on AL. I have used them over the last few months getting house locks keyed and copies made for family members. Made the mistake of going to a big box initially for copies - what a waist of time. These are the only folks. Will use from hear on out. Oh, I planned to drop off the locks and they said no problem and did it while I waited. Great old time locksmith with excellent customer service.
Description of Work
Master keyed house locks, duplicated keys, rekeyed several locks.
Category
locksmith
SHERI K.
5.0
07/24/2013
Friendly and courteous on the phone. Prompt and professional at the job site.
Description of Work
Re-keyed locks and provided keys
Category
locksmith
erob C.
5.0
05/05/2013
Based on Angie's List reviews I called to make an appointment. Barbara, who answered the phone, is upbeat, friendly, and a can-do person said she could have someone out in 1 1/2 hours. The two men, Dave and Greg, arrived with the same can-do attitude Barbara had. I had lost the key to the front door and I needed two other door locks re-keyed. They got right to work, made me extra keys and made suggestions for making some of the keys dual keys for the three locks. They were clean and neat which is very much appreciated. Really great service! They are the absolute best!!!
Description of Work
Redmond Lock and Key Service is very professional and knowledgeable, two things I value in having work done. They knew exactly what to do, made suggestions, including the use of one key for three different locks and then having a separate key for a gate lock. All things I had no knowledge that could be done and all things that require less keys for me to carry or lose. I would strongly recommend them for any lock and key service.
Category
locksmith
Vijay J.
4.0
01/22/2013
Dave and his associates visited a couple of times before the actual job per our request to make sure we had the right hardware and made good suggestions to change some of it. On the day of service, however, they were late by almost half a day. Once he showed up, he did well. We will use their service if and when we need it and recommend them to anyone else who needs a locksmith.
Description of Work
We had planned on changing all the locks in the house we had just moved in. It was a fairly big and expensive project and it took several trips to Lowes to get the right hardware. It was almost impossible to get all the locks (entry and deadbolt) keyed alike without rekeying. We finally opted for three sets of keys. We decided to use Schlage locks that we felt were of the highest quality. People at Lowes were very cooperative and helpful. It is best to buy your own locks and have a professional, reputable locksmith install them. We dont' think it is a good idea to have the locksmith bring his own hardware as you never know much about the reputation, quality and support for what they install.
Category
locksmith
Timothy K.
5.0
12/27/2012
He was quick professional and polite.
Description of Work
The serviceman from Redmond's lock picked a lock on my security gate (for which I did not have a key) and replaced it with a new lock. It took him about 15 minutes to do the labor.
Category
locksmith
NORMAN M.
5.0
12/21/2012
I was referred to them by a locksmith I previously used that was retired. They were punctual, clean and neat.
Description of Work
I installed a new lockset on the front door. They rekeyed the 5 other locks in the house to match the new lock.
Category
locksmith
Richard G.
5.0
11/30/2012
I needed an entry lock keyed to match an existing and 10 additional keys made and some others duplicated. I used Redmond's because of Angie's list. When I called Redmond's they suggested I pick up a lock at a hardware store and bring it to them. They said it would be cheaper for me. I dropped the locks off one day, because I was not in a rush and they had 2-3 people waiting for service, and picked them up the next day. Everything works great.. I will be back. Thanks
Description of Work
I had a new lock keyed to an existing, extra keys made for that and other duplicates made.
Category
locksmith
Beth D.
2.0
06/19/2012
Had Redmond rekey seven locks for my house a few months ago; price was in line with competition (10$/lock), but service was poor: promised to have the lot done in one hour, and when I returned I was told that "other business" had walked in and my job had been pushed to the end of the line. Not having a choice I waited another 45 minutes while my locks were rekeyed in the spare moments when the female (owner?) of the store was not serving other customers. That earned the place a "C-" in my rating.Today I needed one more lock rekeyed: figured I already had seen the worse, and might as well have all the locks worked by the same outfit.My request was attended by a gentleman who did the whole rekeying in less than 5 minutes (one lock: 5 minutes; seven locks: 105 minutes? it does not compute). At time to pay the same female owner demanded 1$12. When I remarked that the price was higher than it had been a few months before, she said that the cost of the lock pins (a few pennies each) had gone up, and she had been given a raise (she owns the place!), and thank you very much.I paid, but I do not know anyone who can demand a 20% pay/price increase in five months. Do you?I feel sorry for the employees, who in my two visits have been responsive and attentive, but the bottom line is that she lost a customer today, and I would never recommend this locksmith to anyone (well maybe I will send my worse enemy there).
Description of Work
rekeyed one lock for entry door
Category
locksmith
Karl H.
5.0
10/28/2011
The company was very helpful and a joy to work with. I thought I needed to have some locks changed. I called and spoke with office manager. She was delightfully friendly, and we had a nice conversation. A couple of days later, her son Dave (?) the owner showed up. By this time I found that I didn't need to have the work done after all. I offered to pay him for his trouble, but he very graciously and generously declined. I highly recommend the company, based on the extent of my experience with them. Apart from the very personable touch they bring, the price I was quoted was about half of what I have paid elsewhere.
Description of Work
I called because I thought I needed to have some locks re-keyed.
Category
locksmith
Clay B.
5.0
08/10/2011
The overall experience was great, I would recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Dave was great, came out and changed out 4 doors/locks in about an hour. He also fixed a door jam that had been installed improperly free of charge.
Category
locksmith
Sarah S.
5.0
07/01/2011
The locksmith arrived on time and was very polite. He examined all the locks and determined that only one (the one most used by the previous homeowners) needed totally replaced. He re-keyed all the other locks in the house to use the same key, and gave us plenty of extra keys.
Description of Work
Redmond's re-keyed our new house so that all the doors opened with the same key. Each of the three doors had two locks. They gave us 4 keys.
Category
locksmith
Ruth S.
5.0
03/11/2011
I called Redmond's Lock & Key Service and explained what we needed. Barbara, the person who took the call, asked me to email her a few pictures of the door and she described what views they needed. I sent the pictures and within five minutes received a call from David Redmond. He explained how he would equip the door with an outside lock, told me the approximate cost, and offered to come over in an hour. He arrived on schedule and spent about an hour performing the work. He seemed friendly, honest and professional. I would definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
We have a vinyl sliding French patio door between the bedroom and the deck. We needed an outside lock on the door so that we can access and lock our home from this door during an upcoming remodel of the main part of our house.
Category
locksmith
Kim G.
5.0
10/30/2010
It was a quick, professional job and the locksmith was very helpful and pleasant during the service call. I would not hesitate to call this company any time I needed this type of work done in my house. It is a family owned business that still beleives in great customer service. I highly recommend them to all.
Description of Work
Purchased a new home and needed to have the locks re-keyed. We had two door locks changed so they could all use the same key, and got 3 copies of the new keys.
Category
locksmith
RISE S.
5.0
07/13/2010
It was done in ten minutes. He is fast. He made that bathroom baby proof at the same time. We had a latch in there, it wouldn't have been safe because he has dementia. They are good and prompt. If it is not an emergency it might take them a couple of days but they get the job done.
Description of Work
It was an emergency. My Father's caregiver got stuck in a bathroom. They installed a safe lock so my dad couldn't lock himself in the bathroom. It is a knob lock but any caregiver can unlock it.
Category
locksmith
MARIANN F.
5.0
07/09/2010
Found Redmond's Lock and Key on Angie's list and phoned them because of their proximity to my rental. SURPRISE!!! - From the moment I phoned them their customer service, cooperation and enthusiasm was awesome (and unexpected). We determined the price and the time for them to do the work. They were early and the well groomed, mannerly service man was waiting for me when I arrived at the rental. He did his work quickly and accurately (yea, the keys worked in the locks the first time I tried them!) Great company to do business with!!!
Description of Work
Re-keyed three locks at a rental house.
Category
locksmith
RENE M.
5.0
09/24/2008
They are very responsive and they provide an excellent service.
Description of Work
We own an office building that is master keyed. Redmond's installs new locks, they can change the master keys. They also provide any number of keys to individuals that are needed.
Category
locksmith

    Other local Pros in your area

    Locksmith at your Door

    Locksmith at your Door is a 24/7 locksmith service that offers emergency, residential, commercial and auto services within Southern California. Our technicians are experienced, knowledgeable, and professional and can help you with any of your locksmith needs. We specialize in lock rekey, lock replacement and installation, car or house lockout, eviction, opening safes or vaults and much more. We will be pleased to assist you just give us a call today to schedule one of our technicians to come assist you with any of your locksmith needs. 562-552-2024  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    ADT

    ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Barak Lock & Security

    Friendly, reliable full-service security firm and locksmith that has been serving Los Angeles area residents and businesses since 2003.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Safes: sales, installation, service, repair Locks and hardware: sales, installation, service, repair Doors: special ordered, installation Keys: house, apt., cars, specialty keys Security: consultation and estimates, We perform services for commercial and residental, Estimates are free, Master keying systems available, those not listed, just ask about.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Redmond's Lock & Security

    How is Redmond's Lock & Security overall rated?

    Redmond's Lock & Security is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Redmond's Lock & Security open?

    Redmond's Lock & Security is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Redmond's Lock & Security provide

    Redmond's Lock & Security accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Redmond's Lock & Security offer free estimates?

    Yes, Redmond's Lock & Security offers free project estimates.

    Does Redmond's Lock & Security offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Redmond's Lock & Security does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Redmond's Lock & Security offer a senior discount?

    No, Redmond's Lock & Security does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Redmond's Lock & Security offer emergency services?

    Yes, Redmond's Lock & Security offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Redmond's Lock & Security?

    Yes, Redmond's Lock & Security offers warranties.

    What services does Redmond's Lock & Security offer?

    Redmond's Lock & Security offers the following services: Safes: sales, installation, service, repair Locks and hardware: sales, installation, service, repair Doors: special ordered, installation Keys: house, apt., cars, specialty keys Security: consultation and estimates, We perform services for commercial and residental, Estimates are free, Master keying systems available, those not listed, just ask about.