Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hughes Construction

Founded 2007 • With Angi since July 2009

4.9

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2525 Victor Ave Po Box 494985

Redding, CA 96002

Description

Hughes Construction is a remarkable construction and remodeling firm, serving Northern California since 2007. Our projects have been recognized locally and statewide. We work with the areas’s finest Architects and Interior Designers. We are a licensed, bonded, and insured company that specializes

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/23/2018


Aaron H.

When looking for a custom home builder in the Redding area I came across Hughes Construction. The one thing that made me call him was other reviews on how well Shane communicates. I can say that I have had a great experience with Shane and that of all the subs that I have contacted for my custom home Shane was the best communicator of them all. It’s nice to have a contractor that wants your business enough that they keep you up to date with where they are in the bidding process. If anyone reading this is having problems staying in the loop with their contractor I suggest you call Hughes construction. You won’t be disappointed.

Description of Work
Custom home construction

Category remodeling, woodworking

5.0

11/18/2017


Kristen G.

LOVE the finished product. Shane was easy to work with and Josh did a stellar job! Thank you guys!

Description of Work
We had a water leak and it turned into an entire kitchen remodel.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

08/19/2017


Michele S.

Hughes Construction did an AMAZING job. Out of ALL the local contractors I contacted they were the only ones who were honest, competent, courteous and followed through. They knew exactly how to fix it and now I dont have to worry about mold or water damage when the rain arrives. And when they were done, they washed all the windows too! The other contractors left me high and dry. Their prices are fair and they are trustworthy. I plan to hire them again when it's time to do the whole house remodel. Thank you Hughes Construction!

Description of Work
I have a sunroom attached to my living room that was starting to leak in several places. It was particularly tricky to fix due to its location and difficulty accessing it outside.

Category remodeling

5.0

01/31/2017


Mike O.

I was very please with their accuracy and skill level. The crew was very professional and worked like a well oiled machine. Yes, there was one critical error, but their correction was dead on prefect and I received exactly what I wanted.

Description of Work
Backyard covered patio and cement pad.

Category concrete repair, remodeling, siding, woodworking

5.0

09/08/2016


Alan D.

A very professional contractor and crew. Work performed as described, on time and excellent quality with finished product. Will use again for any of our future needs!

Description of Work
Repaired major water damage to home interior, including drywall, flooring, paint, carpet and padding, doors, base boards, trim and insulation.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, remodeling, water damage restoration, home builders, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

07/28/2016


Howard L.

Description of Work
.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

06/28/2016


Barbara P.

Category contractors, remodeling, water damage restoration, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

06/22/2016


Karyn P.

Description of Work
Awesome!!!!!! Nice, polite, listen to what we wanted and made it happen. They are still working on our house.

Category fencing

5.0

04/01/2016


Pam M.

Great loved the result

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen,dining

Category countertops, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/22/2015


William H.

Had five contractors bid, two did not get back to me. Hughes came back in the middle, but in talking with them they were very professional and I got a positive feeling about them so we decided to go with them. It was a major remodel including tearing off the roof of half the house. We were impressed how they made sure that we were the least inconvienced as possible; things like water and electricity were back on each day before they left. Each day the also did a clean-up, and as my wife is OCD about cleanliness it made the process much more bareable. (We stayed at home the whole time.) Change orders were done with no problem and also without inflating the price of the change order as we have experienced in the past. Shane made suggestions along the way which also helped us end up with a better than expected result. My wife and I appreciated the coniuned communication throughout the process, we were kept posted all along the way. They had a great combination of being friendly, yet were always very professional and their work showed it. I would, and have already, recommend Hughes Construction without hesitation!

Description of Work
Remodeled house, addition/livingroom/kitchen/bathroom/dining room

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/15/2015


Liang W.

There were cracks in the cement after the old carpet was taken out. It's worrisome because it might be structural, so Hughes was called and he came over right at the time of our appointment and gave the quote. The repair was right on schedule.

Description of Work
fix cement cracks

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/06/2015


Virginia M.

Hughes Const was referred to me by another contractor (prior to joining Angie's List today). Shane Hughes contacted me within a day of the referral and arrangements were made for him to come to my home and inspect the job. The job entailed repairing the skirting around my home which had been damaged by squirrels. The squirrels had eaten through some soft boards and then torn up some of the vents. The damage was also caused by not having storm gutters on the roof. I had just had the storm gutters installed so wanted to continue the improvements by having the skirting repaired and repainted. Shane examined the damage and carefully answered all my questions. He gave me an estimate of the cost which I felt was very reasonable. We talked about schedules. I explained that I would be out of town during the next week, but would not mind if he wanted to complete the work while I was away. As it turned out, his crew was available during my absence. He called me the night before as we had discussed and let me know that they would be at my home the next morning. When I returned it was so wonderful to pull in my driveway and see that the repairs were completed and the skirting looked so fabulous! I was very pleased. Mr. Hughes left the bill for the work with my son. It was exactly the amount that he had said it would be. I do not like construction surprises. I am so pleased that this repair work was done timely and for exactly the amount as contracted for. NO SURPRISES!!

Description of Work
Really, really well

Category insulation, siding, foundation repair

5.0

04/08/2015


albert B.

The repair went very well. Shane and Dave were professional, courteous, knowledgeable. The work they had to do was outside repair work, under the house etc. They climbed under the house, stayed during a cloud burst and hail storm, got soaking wet working under a cutter that could do handle all of the rain coming down. The only thing we did to help them was offer something hot to drink. We expected them to come the next day after the rain cleared up, but they stayed and worked until they were to wet to deal with it. This is an awesome company and plan to use them again in the near future. GREAT service and work!!!!!

Description of Work
Repaired termite damage on the foundation of our home.

Category pest control, foundation repair

5.0

02/24/2015


Lindsay K.

It went well, he worked directly with my insurance company, was onsite all the time, always available by phone, text or email.

Description of Work
Worked with my insurance company to complete a new construction home that was lost due to fire. House was a total loss, including foundation. New slab was poured and house was built.

Category concrete repair, water damage restoration, home builders

5.0

01/10/2015


Terrie S.

We moved out to avoid the construction. It took 2 months. We picked out flooring, paint, granite with the help of an interior designer. We used local shops for paint, floor covering, tile, lighting. Shane had the flooring out, counter tops and the doors off the first week. He was there when other services came. He came back several times to complete details (hang shelf and light fixture that arrived late).

Description of Work
We had the interior of our 2200 sq. ft. house updated-new flooring, painting, doors removed and repainted, repainted and new hardware for all cabinets, countertops, bathroom updates.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors

5.0

10/14/2014


Terrie S.

6 weeks of work, probably would have gone faster if I had picked out and ordered a few things sooner (lights, blinds, hardware). Shane is a hard worker and he uses quality subs. He was good at keeping me in my budget.

Description of Work
25 year old house remodel: removal of old, painting, electrical replacement, flooring, appliances, countertops, outside rotten wood board replacements. He coordinated tile worker, painters, electrical, floor guys. Checked walls behind showers for water damage and leaks.

Category contractors, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, interior painters

2.0

06/05/2014


Linda C.

Description of Work
Never returned my three phone calls

Category ceramic tile, fencing

1.0

11/14/2013


Mary H.

My call was never returned.

Description of Work
They didn't do anything. I called and left a message saying I was interested in a new fence.

Category fencing

5.0

08/02/2012


Terrie S.

I was pleased with the service. They are honest. I believe for the price you get what you pay for.

Description of Work
I used Hughes Construction for a small job.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/18/2012


terry T.

The experience was absolutely awesome. He was outstanding.

Description of Work
He adjusted my fence so that my dogs couldn't get out. He also made sure the supports would last a long time.

Category fencing

5.0

01/04/2011


Terrie S.

He is wonderful. He is honest and a hard worker.

Description of Work
We used Hughes Construction to totally remodel an old house.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/22/2010


terry T.

Shane called me back right away. He was working on another fencing job, so he couldn't power wash and stain my fence right away, but he knew I needed the belly bands along the back and east side immediately. He came right over, measured, and installed them the next day. And the fence is for .3 acres - and the back is up a hill, so it was a Lot of work! They look so good, it looks as if they are part of the fence design, and my dogs are safe. He stayed in contact with my as he finished the job before mine, and then started my fence. The power wash was amazing - the fence looked new, instead of a year old. Then, I had asked him to pick a color close to my neighbors, so we could coordinate. When he couldn't find just the right match, he went and talked to my neighbor, and bought the exact same stain. Our neighborhood looks So good! In addition, I was having the fence stained, and my neighbors had approved, but then, before Shane started, they had some concern about their trees near the fence. Normally, Shane covers the shrubbery just fine, but he could tell what would make the neighbors Most comfortable, and with my approval, Hand Painted the section of the fence next to their new trees! Wow. What great customer service, and got me off on the right foot with my new neighbors! Also, my neighbors were concerned about my dogs getting under their side of the fence, so Shane went and got more material, and installed those great belly bands on the west side of my fence, too. Shane then filled the holes in my tile with grout - Wow! again. He always leaves a place better than when he found it. He even checked an electrical outlet I was wondering about, and a cabinet door. I would recommend Shane Hughes - Hughes Construction - to anyone looking for exceptional, professional work with Outstanding Customer Service!

Description of Work
I had four services performed. First, Shane installed belly bands, which are boards that go at the bottom of my installed fence to cover the gaps that my dogs could have wiggled through. Second, Shane power washed and stained my fence. Third, Shane filled the holes in the tile in my kitchen with grout. (These tiles are "tumbled", where it's the style to have big holes as if someone attacked the tile. The really big holes bothered me, so I had them filled with grout.)

Category ceramic tile, fencing, pressure washing

5.0

07/25/2009


Terrie S.

Shane put in the fence. Neighbors stopped while he was working to get his card. Others had cheaper fencemen and they are now have flimsy fences, while ours is sturdy and well built. The property was kept clean and neat afterwards. Shane is a nice guy and a hard worker. Good work ethic and trustworthy.

Description of Work
Shane put in our side fence. This year (7-2009) we had him refinish our front door and install a new lock/handle. We will hire him again to do other handywork inside (install Wainscoting inside) and outside (refinish deck).

Category fencing, handyman service, locksmith, pressure washing, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    ID pressure washing

    Call us today for all your gutter cleaning and pressure washing needs!  

    Dan's Painting

    Customer satisfaction is what determines our success, which is why we take a hands-on approach. When interacting with Dan's Painting, you will notice that we are particularly focused on quality work, timely completion, competitive pricing, and integrity in all our business dealings. We combine knowledge with our extensive practical experience to ensure a specialized approach for your any of your painting needs. Contact us today we look forward to adding you to our long and growing list of happy customers!  

    EXCEED PAINTING

    At Exceed Painting , our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our team is committed to meeting those needs. We welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service. No job is too big or too small for our experienced team. Call today for a quote  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodels & New Construction. Fencing, Finish Carpentry, Framing, Painting, Tile Work.

    Services Not Offered

    Carpet & vinyl installation. Flooring sales.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hughes Construction

    How is Hughes Construction overall rated?

    Hughes Construction is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hughes Construction open?

    Hughes Construction is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does Hughes Construction provide

    Hughes Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Hughes Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hughes Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Hughes Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hughes Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hughes Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Hughes Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Hughes Construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, Hughes Construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Hughes Construction?

    Yes, Hughes Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Hughes Construction offer?

    Hughes Construction offers the following services: Remodels & New Construction. Fencing, Finish Carpentry, Framing, Painting, Tile Work.

    Are there any services Hughes Construction does not offer?

    Carpet & vinyl installation. Flooring sales.