Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SOLARGEM

Founded 1992 • With Angi since June 2011

5.0

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11010 Arrow Route #105

Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

Description

SolarGem is a family owned and operated business that prides itself on the quality of our work and personalized service. Our reputation as detail oriented, thorough, turnkey operation precedes us. Let us show you how affordable solar can be!!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/22/2018


jo P.

Our experience with SolarGem, was excellent from start to finish. First of all, you always deal with Joe, the owner, so you don't get passed from person to person. Joe is straightforward, explains in detail what he has to offer, and doesn't pressure a sale. Before giving a quote, he did a detailed examination of what the job would entail, and then stuck to the price. The price was lower than the other company we got a bid from. He and his crew were always polite, punctual and neat, the work was completed in a timely manner. There was attention to details like placing the solar line below a row of bricks in our patio and carefully replacing the bricks rather than doing something easier but uglier. In fact, Joe ended up finishing the brickwork himself. He took care of everything with the city; we didn't have to bother with the city at all. The best part is the pudding. The proof's in the pudding. We've had our system for around 6 months; and we are on track to produce the amount of power that Joe estimated and that will totally cover our electric need. Solar Gem has great reviews. I'm always skeptical of reviews, but our experience completely matches those great reviews. Could not recommend SolarGem more highly. In evaluating the cost of the project, keep in mind that it was a difficult job, up on top of a steep hill so that the typical equipment couldn't be used, drilling into granite boulders to place the 49 panels.

Description of Work
We wanted total solar coverage for our large house, and we wanted a ground installation. We got 49 panels.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/25/2018


Gene M.

Everything was great from the start to the end of the service. Joe Johnson was very accommodating and amazing to work with. The solar panels were less than the other companies that gave us estimates. I highly recommend this company .

Description of Work
Installing solar panels

Category solar panels

5.0

08/04/2017


Vicki B.

We cannot emphasize enough just how great it was to work with Joe and Solargem. When dealing with Solargem you are almost always dealing with the owner, Joe Johnson. He has his crew and they are great guys who do stellar work. But the hard yardage is always done by Joe. Need to know your system options? That's Joe. Need to know financing options? That's Joe. Need to know the schedule or have something crazy that has come up in the process? You're going to deal with Joe. It's great to not have to deal with calling an office and waiting for someone to get back to you. It's always Joe, all the time. Joe is accommodating and patient when working with you. We had a situation come about where we were supposed to have our installation done in January of 2017, but a small flood in our basement forced us to push things back. When it came time to do the installation, Joe honoured his previously quote price and told us that with recent price reductions we would be able to get an extra two solar panels for the same price. We were happily shocked to get such good news as he could have easily not informed us of that and pocketed the difference. Our installation was up against a hard time clock though as the net metering rules were changing on 1 July. So it was essential to get our installation installed, inspected, and released by 30 June. Joe worked tirelessly to get this accomplished, coordinating with our roofing contractor to get everything done in a timely manner. Joe and his crew never showed any signs of stress or exasperation with the timeline in regard to dealing with us. The work was impeccable. The crew worked quickly and efficiently. We were able to meet all of the timelines with a few days to spare and thus able to get grandfathered in under the Net Metering I terms. We had a small delay in getting the system energized, but that had to do with the new service panel that was also being installed and an issue with getting Eidson out to move power from the old panel to the new panel. There was nothing Joe and Solargem could do for that. We've already produced over a megawatt of power and it's so nice to look at our stats and see another 60-70 kWh every day. We literally could not recommend Joe and Solargem more highly. Absolutely fabulous to work with. Oh, and the most important thing. We bid this job out to five different solar contractors. Joe was the smallest group to bid, but also gave us the most competitive bid by a factor of almost 25% for the size of system we were installing (11.6 kW) and it was 50% less than two of the bids. He uses great panels, not some el cheapo models, and we used 325W Panasonic panels for the job. One last note, the price of the system with this review includes our new roof. It is included here because Joe arranged for the financing of the entire system. Seriously, just amazing to work with.

Description of Work
Solar panel installation

Category electrician,solar panels

5.0

03/25/2017


richard M.

Joe and his crew of diligent professional workers completed my 18 panel ground mount system with City permits and inspections quickly and efficiently. Great people to work with and I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
18 Panel Ground-mount Solar panel system

Category electrician,solar panels

5.0

01/31/2017


Jose N.

They came in early and left when finished.

Description of Work
Solar panels were installed and the price was less than the other two companies that gave us estimates.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/30/2017


Ann H.

No problems, excellent company. Joe is a honest, reliable person. It was a pleasure to do business with them.

Description of Work
Solar panels on my roof.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/25/2017


PAUL A.

Solar Gem is my go... to company for complete home solar system. Initial meeting was very detailed... easy to follow with all questions and concerns answered. All scheduled appointments and scheduled installation services were conducted on time. Joe Johnson and staff were always available to contact.... they provided a very professional service from start to finish. Highly recommended and now saving lots of $$ on electrical services.

Description of Work
Installation of Solar System on my home.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/24/2017


Rod C.

SolarGem and Joe Johnson exceeded my expectations in all aspects of the project. After conducting in depth research into solar panels and the companies that install them, I decided on SolarGem. Our family has been using the solar system for a little over 6 months. Every month I am so grateful with our decision. Thank you Joe and SolarGem!!!

Description of Work
I was ready for a Solar Power System.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/20/2017


Ira L.

Perfect!!!!! We did a lot of research and selected SOLARGEM. We have recommended SOLARGEM many times because of the value, quality of work but also the time and the interest to answer our many questions. We also wanted only American Made panels and SOLARGEM met our request, completed installation of 45 panels and on time. Competitors would either not commit or offer American Made panels and their interest seemed to be more about a sale We requested an advance copy of the contract so we could have our Family Attorney review and his comment was, this is excellent, I should arrange a quote with SOLARGEM for our home also. SOLARGEM met and exceeded all of our request and expectations. Excellent Company!

Description of Work
Installation of our solar system

Category electrician,solar panels

5.0

01/19/2017


Jeffrey A.

Excellent. they installed a system on a previous house that I owned and because of their professionalism and the great quality of work I went with them again to install a system on my new house. And once gain they were very professional and did great work. I would highly recommend them to anyone considering going solar. They even replaced my roof prior to installing the system on my new house and that work was very outstanding as well.

Description of Work
A rooftop solar system installed on my house.

Category solar panels

    Other local Pros in your area

    Affordable Electric Service

    Owner operated. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charge. Charges do apply for 24 hr emergency service.  

    Crown Cap Roofing

    Proudly serving Southern California residents with more than 40 plus years in the roofing industry. We pride ourselves with the initiative to listen to our customers wants and needs and we build trust from the very beginning. We’ll never ask our customers to pay anything up front and in most cases our customer pays until the job is completed. No matter the size of your roofing project, we’ll be happy to make you part of our roofing family. Our promise to you is that we’ll never be undersold. If you present us an estimate from a license competitor, we will beat it. Our financing service provides many opportunities for homeowners, even with low credit scores. Getting a new roof has never been easier!  

    American Solar Electric

    We are a full service electrical company offering a variety of electrical services including: Service Panel Upgrades, Circuit Upgrades, Re-wiring, EV Charger and other services. call for a free estimate. Is solar right for you? We conduct a detailed energy assessment report to find out how much electricity you need. We evaluate your electric bill usage and billing history to size your solar system. Then discuss with you if solar is the right solution to meet your energy needs. Then configure a solar installation for your home. Call us for a free estimate. Is Your Electrical Panel Solar Ready? We evaluate your electric service panel and let you know if it is ready for solar panels. With the information gathered from the energy assessment report and service panel evaluation. We let you know if your service panel needs to be upgraded for new loads like EV Chargers, Solar Panels or other new loads. Call us for a free estimate. Does your Electric Service panel give you problems? With today's new loads such as EV Chargers, Air Conditioning Units, Extra Computer Loads, New Washer and Dryer or just new appliances kick off your circuit breakers? Then it's time to change your main service electrical panel. Or is your panel older than 25 years and causes you problems? Than its time to upgrade your service panel. Call us for a free estimate? CALIFORNIA STATE LICENSE CONTRACTOR Our company is a California State License Contractor. Don't let an unlicensed company install your solar system. Our company has the engineering design, installation expertise and state license to install a solar system that helps you achieve energy and cost efficiency and environmental sustainability. We can also upgrade your outdated service panel and upgrade to a new high capacity load center. call us for a free estimate. (CSLB No. 983679) We are located in West Covina, California.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SolarGem is a family owned and operated business that prides itself on the quality of our work and personalized service. Our reputation as a detail oriented, thorough, turnkey operation precedes us. Let us show you how affordable solar can be!! We provide solar panels system design, sales & installation. All work done in-house, no sub-contractors

    Services Not Offered

    solar pool heating, solar domestic hot water heating

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SOLARGEM

    How is SOLARGEM overall rated?

    SOLARGEM is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are SOLARGEM open?

    SOLARGEM is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does SOLARGEM provide

    SOLARGEM accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does SOLARGEM offer free estimates?

    Yes, SOLARGEM offers free project estimates.

    Does SOLARGEM offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SOLARGEM offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SOLARGEM offer a senior discount?

    No, SOLARGEM does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by SOLARGEM?

    Yes, SOLARGEM offers warranties.

    What services does SOLARGEM offer?

    SOLARGEM offers the following services: SolarGem is a family owned and operated business that prides itself on the quality of our work and personalized service. Our reputation as a detail oriented, thorough, turnkey operation precedes us. Let us show you how affordable solar can be!! We provide solar panels system design, sales & installation. All work done in-house, no sub-contractors

    Are there any services SOLARGEM does not offer?

    solar pool heating, solar domestic hot water heating