Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Better Choice Painting

Founded 2007 • With Angi since April 2010

4.4

(540) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11366 Amalgam Way Ste K

Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

Description

A Better Choice Painting is fully licensed & insured including workmans comp (Ca.Lic.#901423). We provide interior & exterior painting for residential and commercial properties. For a full list of our services and to view our current specials please visit our website at www.abetterchoicepainting.com!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

03/05/2016


Melanie I.

I purchased an "Angie's List" Special. They eventually did the painting. This was after 6 months of phone calls not being returned, and emails not being answered, and, believe it or not, Angie's List customer service trying to help. When they finally came to paint, the work was very professional, and except for a few "swipes" on windows that I did not see on the final walkthrough, the house is beautiful. They had offered to come back if I found anything, but frankly I did not want to hassle with the office and their scheduling issues again. Eddie and Tim arrived on time, were very courteous and personable. If they were with a different company I would hire them again. I gave the company a D because of all the frustration caused with the non-communication.

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of my house and trim.

Category house painters, interior painters

4.0

01/26/2016


Leatha H.

It was good. They kept rescheduling and rescheduling and then the rain came in. They couldn't work and they rescheduled again. I just had to buy my own paint. They were good. I would let them know that they do good at what they do but they will reschedule several times before they get the work done. I would use them but I would have to be patient.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for A Better Choice Painting. They painted the exterior.

Category house painters

3.0

01/13/2016


Carl V.

During the process of removing the acoustic ceiling they took down all the ceiling fixtures. When they put them back they were in the wrong place. A ceiling fan was not reinstalled at all and a bathroom fixture put in its place with no fixture now in the bathroom. this should have been a clue that something was wrong. I contacted the provider but failed to get a call back. Now I have to hire an electrician to complete the job correctly.

Description of Work
remove acoustic ceilings

Category ceiling fans, interior painters

1.0

12/08/2015


Janice Lavergne M.

How did it cost $50,000? Instead of curb appeal, my home looks like crap. Angie's List gets an F too. Angies List provides the website calendar for scheduling the work. It looks like they will get right on your job within two weeks. That is Deception! On the scheduled date, Better Choice Painting sends a message that "my back is hurt". Rescheduling takes two more weeks. This is just past Angie's list 30 day window but the contractor is still acting as if they intend to perform. This routine is repeated until August and a "representative arrives for an estimate". WHAT ESTIMATE? I had the Big Deal to get the 1,500 sq ft single story stucco home painted for $1,500 as long as I provide the paint. I have on hand $1,200 of top quality exterior paint by a major manufacturer. The representative, aka the wife, left saying she would respond with a "quote". She now had two cell phone numbers and 3 emails to contact my family. But Hey, what am I missing? What is the BIG DEAL if you get a QUOTE after you pay cash for it? Still, I have already invested $2,700 so I continue to nag for the "Quote" so we have a starting point. In September, after no response except "look in your spam". I called Angies List. Out of 252 email messages soliciting, Angies List sent 3 regarding my BIG DEAL issue and these were not highlighted in any way. Their solution is to keep my $1,500 and let me spend it on something else I can paint with the huge buckets of green paint in the next 30 days. Really? My house was to be sold in Spring of 2016 looking great. Without the curb appeal of well painted home, it costs me $50,000.

Description of Work
How did it cost $50,000? Instead of curb appeal, my home looks like crap. Angie's List gets an F too. Angies List provides the website calendar for scheduling the work. It looks like they will get right on your job within two weeks. That is Deception! On the scheduled date, Better Choice Painting sends a message that "my back is hurt". Rescheduling takes two more weeks. This is just past Angie's list 30 day window but the contractor is still acting as if they intend to perform. This routine is repeated until August and a "representative arrives for an estimate". WHAT ESTIMATE? I had the Big Deal to get the 1,500 sq ft single story stucco home painted for $1,500 as long as I provide the paint. I have on hand $1,200 of top quality exterior paint by a major manufacturer. The representative, aka the wife, left saying she would respond with a "quote". She now had two cell phone numbers and 3 emails to contact my family. But Hey, what am I missing? What is the BIG DEAL if you get a QUOTE after you pay cash for it? Still, I have already invested $2,700 so I continue to nag for the "Quote" so we have a starting point. In September, after no response except "look in your spam". I called Angies List. Out of 252 email messages soliciting, Angies List sent 3 regarding my BIG DEAL issue and these were not highlighted in any way. Their solution is to keep my $1,500 and let me spend it on something else I can paint with the huge buckets of green paint in the next 30 days. Really? My house was to be sold in Spring of 2016 looking great. Without the curb appeal of well painted home, it costs me $50,000.

Category house painters, interior painters

2.0

10/18/2015


timothy K.

secured comparable estimates and found Angie's Big Deal wasn't such a big deal after all, especially considering Angie's recommended Big Deal Painter is a subscriber to their services and in my opinion a conflict of interest of Angie's List express representation that vendors are rated fairly and recommended based on their ratings.... In my opinion, if an advertiser is paying Angie's money, Angie's will recommended them or allow them to offer a Big Deal.

Description of Work
weaseled out of Angie's Big Deal with the fine print, adding a thousand extra for items and services other painters consider standard.

Category interior painters

4.0

10/13/2015


Kathy H.

It was okay. I had a problem with them. But, they fixed it. They tried to charge more. But, I didn't pay it. The first guy that came put a coat on but missed a bunch of spots. It was really a sloppy job. When I called him back and said, "Just look at this." He goes, "Well, it will cost you another $50 for us to go over it again." I said, "That's crazy." So, I called the company and complained. Then another guy came out and fixed all the problems and didn't charge me anything else.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal from them. It was $79 for one large room of interior painting.

Category interior painters

2.0

09/30/2015


Ellen A.

I have called several times before actually hearing from them. The email says A Better Choice Painting however the email states something else. They came out and did a walk around and never got back with me about an estimate. They just need to be a lot more responsive.

Description of Work
Painting- Exterior

Category house painters

5.0

09/15/2015


shellie B.

Great customer service and communication. Beautiful job!

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

1.0

09/13/2015


Diana C S.

IT DIDN'T! THEY CONTACTED US TWICE, LAST TIME THEY ADVISED THEY WERE WORKING ON A BIG COMMERCIAL JOB. THE LAST TIME WE HEARD FROM THEM WAS 8/24/15. I HAVE EMAILED THEM 4 TIMES AND CALLED THREE TRYING TO GET THEM TO COME OUT AND PAINT THE INSIDE OF MY HOUSE! THEY DON'T EVEN HAVE THE DECENCY TO CALL US BACK! THIS IS NO WAY TO RUN A BUSINESS, AND NOT SURE WHY ANGIE'S LIST, ALLOWS COMPANIES LIKE THIS TO BE ON THEIR SITE. WE WANT OUR MONEY BACK SO I CAN HIRE SOMEONE ELSE!

Description of Work
NOTHING.

Category interior painters

4.0

09/03/2015


carol C.

The power wash and clean-up were both very perfunctory. Many garden plants are speckled with paint. That said, the price was very reasonable and the house has been painted. Considering the hasty prep that was done, I only hope the paint job lasts a few years.

Description of Work
Painted our 1800 sq ft house and trim. We provided the paint.

Category pressure washing, interior painters

5.0

08/05/2015


Thomas R.

Great company. They took the time and did the work, and when on the last day they wanted to make sure the job got done the whole crew showed up to finish the job. House looks amazing, money well spent.

Description of Work
This company went above and beyond. They quoted me on some extras that my house needed: covered patio, front door and side door. But the staff was professional and they did a great job.

Category interior painters

5.0

08/04/2015


Eugene M.

Guys did a great job as promised. Took advantage of a $999 special; an additional $300 for extra exterior door painting. Approximately $1000 in paint necessary but we chose top quality paint in lieu of having Better Choice select paint. House was power washed and some trim replaced prior to painting. Some delays due to the high temperatures we experienced that pushed out the job a couple of times.

Description of Work
Power wash and paint house exterior and trim.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

1.0

08/03/2015


linda B.

There were 3 gentleman who came out to do the work. They did not use any drop cloths or anything in the hallway and it made a terrible mess. The work in one bedroom was so bad I had them come out and do it over. During the work a cap to one of my fire alarms was removed and lost. They were supposed to come out this morning to replace it and they did not show up. I have called them 6 times today and left messages, and they have not replied.

Description of Work
Acoustic Popcorn Ceiling Removal and Re-Texturing and paid extra to have the ceilings painted.

Category drywall

4.0

08/03/2015


Timothy A.

They did a very good job. The house looks beautiful. They even performed all of the work in 1 day! A couple of things to keep in mind when using this provider. The deals they offer on Angie's List are excellent. However, there are extra costs that can add up, such as painting a detached garage even if the total square footage is under the allowance of the deal. I got a very fair price for everything, but that is important to keep in mind when considering whether to purchase a deal. Second, they are a mom and pop operation and it can be a challenge sometimes to get a hold of them or stick on schedule. It can be difficult to get them on the line on occasion. I've used them 3 times, and the work has been rescheduled at least once each time. Make sure you have some flexibility when considering whether to purchase a deal through them. They do excellent work when they get out there!

Description of Work
Painted exterior of house, including garage, garage door and 2 exterior doors.

Category house painters

3.0

07/20/2015


Sara R.

When they came out it was quick and they did a great job. However they are not responsive when you call. I was worried about the process because this was my first experience having the exterior painted. I called and emailed asking several time for someone to call me and I only got email responses. It was very frustrating for me and it made me wonder if these guys just didn't take off with my money.

Description of Work
Paint the exterior house.

Category house painters

4.0

07/20/2015


Don F.

The office communicated well. The workers were very good. Mostly it's just the geographic aspect. The workers had an hour and a half commute each way on a good day.

Description of Work
Prep. And paint

Category interior painters

5.0

07/15/2015


Muir A.

They were fast and efficient, and did a good job preparing the house, and cleaning up afterwards. The ceiling looks much better with the new texture!

Description of Work
Removed popcorn ceiling, and re-textured.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

06/26/2015


Cheryl W.

I am very happy with the results overall.

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of my home.

Category house painters, interior painters

1.0

06/23/2015


Nancy B.

It had to be rescheduled because I had to leave town. It is a husband and wife. She came out and took measurements. She said that she would take the measurements back to her husband and I haven't heard from them since. I called them four times and left messages and they haven't called back. She told me that they take it down to the drywall and it would cost extra to get it re-textured. The deal was to remove the popcorn ceiling, re-texture, and remove the debris. She said that it would like a regular flat ceiling. I got a little bit back from Angie's List. I made the mistake of not calling Angie's List sooner. I waited too long. The price would have been good with the deal. I would never use them for anything.

Description of Work
A Better Choice Painting was supposed to remove my popcorn ceiling and re-texture

Category drywall, asbestos removal

4.0

06/17/2015


Maxine M.

Courteous and took away all debris.

Description of Work
Removed acoustic ceiling in two rooms.

Category drywall

5.0

06/15/2015


joan W.

Great job. Kept to schedule.

Description of Work
Prep and painted house exterior

Category house painters

5.0

06/14/2015


Edwin B.

The crew came out a few days before painting to pressure wash our house. They returned and started taping and preparing for paint. They completed all necessary small repairs to the house prior to paint. We gave them the paint colors and they went and bought the paint for us. They extended the deal they received on the paint to us. They completed all the work per agreement. They did a great job and they were very pleasant to work with. We had no troubles at all. They are very busy people so the communication wasn't always on time, but; when it came down to it they did what they said they would do and our house looks like a brand new house! We are very happy with the work they performed. Thanks

Description of Work
Pressure Wash House. Prepare House for Paint. Paint House and Trim Work.

Category pressure washing, house painters

1.0

06/12/2015


Linda H.

I finally got my house painted after being scheduled and rescheduled several times, always at request of Alexis/Dominique, sometimes as late as the day before arrival date scheduled. Power wash was done approx. 2 weeks before they finally showed up to paint. The 1st day they (Eddie and Christian) showed up to start job went great, they taped and covered everything, scraped and patched and painted back of house. The second day started great, but deteriorated after noon. They painted the utility boxes, they oversprayed green paint on the trim which is brown I specifically asked them not to paint gutters and down spouts as they are new, but they got oversprayed as well. They did a sloppy job on the side door, and the stain to the front door was not done. About 3:00 pm Eddie approached me and demanded a check for $670.00 (and change) per his phone instructions from Alexis/Dominique Hartley. I told them the job was not completed, they said the front door would be completed when Matt Hartley returned from out of state, as he did all the stain work. I asked them to cover the oversprays with brown paint, which they did reluctantly. I found a bucket of paint with a brush and a roller sitting in the paint on my front porch after they left. I have not been contacted by the company since. This does not surprise me considering that demand for a check right then and there. I will not use these people again, nor will I recommend them.

Description of Work
Painted exterior of house. I had contracted for side door and stain on front door as well.

Category pressure washing, house painters

5.0

06/04/2015


david V.

Yes! The entire experience was excellent from the initial meeting - When Dominique came out and gave me a professional estimate and took time to explain details of the contractual agreement. So I knew what I would get and not get - no dissapointments. Matt and his professional crew came to the job on time and explained every step of the process and even gave me homeowner "money saving tips" to protect my investment. If I didn't understand something he was happy to explain it for me. The guys did a good clean up job upon completion and took the waste materials away with them instead of filling my trash can!

Description of Work
Paint exterior of home per agreement

Category interior painters

1.0

06/04/2015


Gayle K.

They showed up late, and started the job 30 minutes later after arriving, and then left to get gasoline for an hour. This was only a 2 hour job, so they spent a very limited amount of time actually working. They told me that they sent me an email with when they would complete it, but I never received it (junk mail included). They never called to cancel appointments that they had rescheduled. They refused to finish the power washing job, and then they refused to start the additional $999 paint job which was pre-paid. This is the only bad experience I've had with Angie's List, and I am extemley unimpresed and dissapointed with A Better Choice Painting

Description of Work
I bought 2 big deals with the provider. One was for power-washing and one was for interior painting.

Category pressure washing, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    2Spec. Creations LLCA

    All around outdoor carpentry from creating outdoor decks, porches and structures to fencing, Siding, roof leaks, and furniture.  

    Pittman Painting Solutions Inc.

    **Call us today for a FREE ESTIMATE!** With over 20 years of experience, rest assured that Pittman Painting Solutions will be the only Painting Contractor you want to work with for your current or future jobs. Our attention to detail, professional customer service, and overall quality craftsmanship will turn your home or business into a fresh, exciting space for you to relax after a long day, or show off to your clients. We offer Interior or Exterior Painting for Commercial or Residential services, so no job is too big or too small! Call us today, we'd love to talk to you about your project!  

    GSP Construction Inc

    We specialize in cabinet painting, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, exterior painting, dry rot repair, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    $50
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior & exterior painting, epoxy floor coatings, drywall, acoustic ceiling removal, wallpaper removal, cabinets staining, deck & fence staining

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Better Choice Painting

    How is A Better Choice Painting overall rated?

    A Better Choice Painting is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Better Choice Painting open?

    A Better Choice Painting is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A Better Choice Painting provide

    A Better Choice Painting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A Better Choice Painting offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Better Choice Painting offers free project estimates.

    Does A Better Choice Painting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A Better Choice Painting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Better Choice Painting offer a senior discount?

    No, A Better Choice Painting does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A Better Choice Painting offer emergency services?

    Yes, A Better Choice Painting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A Better Choice Painting?

    Yes, A Better Choice Painting offers warranties.

    What services does A Better Choice Painting offer?

    A Better Choice Painting offers the following services: Interior & exterior painting, epoxy floor coatings, drywall, acoustic ceiling removal, wallpaper removal, cabinets staining, deck & fence staining

    Are there any services A Better Choice Painting does not offer?

    Ask for details