Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc.

Founded 1978 • With Angi since October 2004

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13526 Tobiasson Rd

Poway, CA 92064

Description

You will meet with the owner Dave Ryden, who has a BA in Landscape Design and 40 years of residential experience. He will be your estimator, designer and project manager and your partner in having an enjoyable and worry free experience landscaping your home. He thinks from the big picture, i.e. how could this concrete patio I'm providing maybe pose later problems for any future plantings, lighting, drainage, sprinkler access, etc. He is noted for listening well, providing the desired proposal and then delivering. He doesn't change prices once the contract is awarded unless work is added by the customer (which incidentially does occur in 75% of our jobs once people see us work). We will start and finish the project when we say. Much detail is considered before the bid is offered so there are a limited number of surprises once work starts. We are a small company and typically 1-2 jobs a day and we are there everyday once the jobs starts. We do not do gardening so we don't occasionally disappear to do our 'route'. We do almost all work with our own employees so full control of the job progress is in the our hands and not tied in with some subcontractors problems. The most skilled of processes (ie stamping concrete or fine carpentry) are done by highly skilled technicians employed as a one day occasion. This allows us to keep our operation costs low and the quality high. We do jobs from $300 and up to $150K. We are knowledeable about the latest advances in sprinkler nozzle design, low water planting and water conserving designs. 6 Employees. No Subs Used. Cost Is Determined By The Job....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/02/2017


Charles W.

We were pleased because we felt 'listened' to. Our ideas were improved on, and new ideas were offered.

Description of Work
Consult only for our front yard. We received a beautiful design (on the spot!), and many ideas that would work well for us.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/13/2015


Jane K.

Dave came up with some awesome ideas. Not just with the landscape design, but also adding outdoor rugs, pots, etc. We also utilized him to provide us with contractors to complete the work. All the vendors he recommended were great. Our job was completed ahead of schedule!

Description of Work
Provided Landscape Plans to improve the overall look of our yard.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/13/2014


john H.

They performed the job on time, as agreed and cleaned up after themselves so I couldn't tell they were ever there except for the new drains.

Description of Work
Provided drains for my side yard

Category landscaping

2.0

02/11/2014


Kenneth S.

Called Acacia Landscape Services of San Diego 06 February 2014 in order to obtain an estimate for work on my lot for lawn, irrigation, a free-standing wall, pavers, and drainage. A meeting at my residence was scheduled with Dave Ryden for Saturday morning, 08 February. The meet time came and Dave did not show up. An hour later I called Acacia and left a message on the answering machine. Within a few minutes Dave called back and related that his calendar did not show a meeting. I still wanted an estimate, so he agreed to come over and showed up about 20 minutes later. I gave Dave a sketch of the plan I desired and we began a tour of the lot. About 10 minutes into the tour our discussion stalled on our different approaches to handling surface drainage on the plan. His proposal for handling surface drainage for the pavers in the side yard did not coincide with the plan. He then stated he wouldn't be interested in taking the job and left.

Description of Work
Came to my house to provide an estimate for landscape/hardscape work.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Based on what the you said at the time, I assumed that you had accepted my sincere apology and explanation for missing the appointment, but judging from the grades, I wonder what was really going on. You had very strong opinions about the work and insisted that the drainage be performed your way. As a contractor with close to 40 yrs. of drainage experience, I'm always responsible for the effectiveness of the work I produce and am responsible for redoing the work if it should fail, no matter whose 'good idea' it was. I did not agree with your approach to do the project. Most people are interested in hiring someone like me for this type of project because they feel it would be best to have an expert do the project. Some people feel they know best so they do better hiring a laborer and managing the work themselves. Given you seemed more committed to doing what you thought was best versus what I thought, as the expert in the field, I said I wasn't interested, thanked you and left. I believe being professional includes being honest and upfront with people. I can only guess that you must have really wanted me to give you a quote but based on your opinion versus mine and when I turned down the project, you were offended.

4.0

01/08/2014


Debra S.

Dave is awesome! He has a vision and knows how to carry it out. I had to trust him a lot because I wasn't sure exactly what I wanted, except I didn't want grass! The end result is really pretty. His workers were always on time and cleaned up each night. Sometimes Dave was a little forgetful in things we discussed, but he always came through. His prices are rather high, but he has great expertise. Hopefully, the landscaping will look good for years to come and it will be worth it!

Description of Work
relandscaped backyard

Category landscaping

5.0

09/20/2013


douglas a B.

Great experience... start to finish. The sales representative, Jesus Herrera, was very personable and professional. He gave us estimates for two projects we were considering. Estimates were very reasonable. We elected to start with one project - a walkway in our back yard and there was no pressure to consider doing the other project at the same time. Jesus listened carefully as we described our needs and incorporated them in the design plan he recommended. Work started about 8 days later. Jesus arrived with the crew to layout the work, confirming the layout with me before having the crew begin work. The crew was very professional yet friendly. At the end of the first day, they left the work area neat and clean. Work was completed the next day - one day earlier than anticipated. The finished walkway looks great and, like the first day, the crew left the surrounding area in pristine condition. We will definitely contact Apollo for future projects and highly recommend them to anyone contemplating improvements involving interlocking pavers.

Description of Work
Installed interlocking paver walkway connecting patio to garden.

Category hardscaping

5.0

02/06/2013


JUSTIN C.

We had used Acacia Landscape for landscaping and irrigation work at our previous home, so when we needed to replace some valves and fix some sprinkler heads at our new home, we gave them a call for an estimate. Dave was quick to respond to our inquiry and was at our house within a couple of days to give an estimate. Once we committed to having the work done, his team was out quickly and made the repairs in a timely and professional manner. We have now used Acacia on numerus occasions and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to our friends.

Description of Work
Quality irrigation work

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

5.0

01/02/2013


Melinda M.

It went well. We had some challenges because the decomposed granite we received from the rock company was infected with a weed. Acacia came out and replaced the granite and replaced some of the plants they thought were infected at no cost. They were totally committed to my satisfaction with the end result.

Description of Work
Acacia Landscape designed and implemented a Zero-scape landscape in our small front yard. Their design incorporated excavating the existing grass lawn and replacing it with decomposed granite. They built in small rises so the front is not totally flat and installed one Midnight Mexican Sage, two Purple Fountain Grasses and three Mexican Feather Grasses along with 3 lovely rocks for interest. Kleinia is the ground cover on one corner. They also installed a stone balast column sculpture to anchor the front corner. Horsetail reeds were planted against a wooden wall we already had. Plus, they designed and installed lighting in the front which we did not have before. They installed an irrigation system for these drought tolerant plants and our water bill has decreased by 25%. I am thrilled with the results and our neighbors have thanked us for the "art" which is now our front lawn. They produced exactly what I wanted and I can't say enough good things about Acacia Landscape. Because our front is so unique, I wanted a mailbox to match. Acacia designed and is now creating a custom mailbox which will go with our desert, southwest design.

Category excavators, landscaping, irrigation systems, wrought iron, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

11/30/2012


Kathy M.

Dave Ryden and his team are truly professional from start to finish. They are there when they say they will be there. Work is done efficiently and professionally and they clean up great when they are done. Entire work crew is great to interact with!! From the design aspect, Dave listened to what I wanted and worked with me closely until we got it. He heard me and designed something even more beautiful than I imagined. He was ok when I needed little things done. He was not just interested in completing the project but in how the final results were going to meet our needs.Dave also listened to our budget needs and would discuss details before we jumped into the project. All plants and materials are the finest and he comes back and replaces all plants that don't endure the transplant process. You don't have to wait long for Dave and the team to address your concerns. They are all attentive and on top of meeting your specific concerns. Dave and the entire team work hard and we look forward to having them back to do the entire front yard!

Description of Work
Acacia landscaping poured decking around our new pool that perfectly matched existing 25 year old concrete, amazing and added tiles into old patio to draw new tile from pool over to patio. Dave designed an entire backyard landscape. Installed a drip system for entire back yard and pots to patio..Added lighting to our landscape design.

Category concrete repair, decks, landscaping, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

1.0

10/25/2012


chester K.

Dave came to our house over a month ago and said we needed to give him a week to draw up an estimate. Three weeks later he called and said he has been super busy, and that he was leaving for vacation but would call us the following Friday Oct 19th, still nothing and it is Thursday the 25th of Oct. I am very disappointed with the customer service that I have received. I would not recommend contacting this company.

Description of Work
The only services that were performed is a consultation, measurements, and an estimation of completion time for the proposal.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

What you failed to mention is that in our first meeting we agreed that I would develop a FREE design and price estimate for other work you wanted done to be performed by a General Contractor that I also worked with. That work included adding two bedrooms, laundry room and a 2-car garage - many hours worth of work. At our meeting we discussed that this work was important to do as a first step, due to drainage issues that might occur in the landscape once the remodel work was complete. So I proceeded to work on that design and estimate. When I called you, I told you I had finished drawings for the floor plan design and had done that estimate. To that, you simply said don't worry about that part of the job, I've already hired another company to do it and they have started that work. Given your disregard for the work I had done for you, at no charge, and your lack of keeping me informed of going a different direction with that part of your project, I felt it would not be a good fit to work together. So instead of continuing, I choose to drop the project at this point. I guess I figured you weren't that interested in working with me as well.

5.0

08/15/2012


Denise G.

Have used this company for various projects since 2002. Needed sizable amount of old landscape material replaced with gravel and a drain. Project started and completed on time.They did a great job coordinating work around other construction on site.Kept area very tidy during renovation. Very conscientious and knowledgable. Excellent results.

Description of Work
Update landscape.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

08/05/2012


Teresa H.

We have used Acacia before and found Dave very reliable. This time there were 2 issues with our yard irrigation system. On the first visit (actually the 2nd visit because he needed to order the unit) he replaced our old poorly functioning sprinkler time clock. After he did the installation, he very patiently explained to me how to set up the unit, and we programmed each station the way I wanted it. He set up a little chart so show the days and duration for each area of the yard, with instructions on how to change this later as needed. On the 3rd visit (after he got the sprinklers working again, it became obvious that one head was broken), he replaced one of the garden sprinkler risers that was broken. Dave is great about calling back the same day and being able to come out late in the day or on a Saturday. He can also work independently when we are not home which is really helpful for busy homeowners. The prices for labor and parts seem reasonable and he mails an invoice so we can pay later. I have found him to be a nice honest guy, very humble and easy to work with.

Description of Work
1. Replaced our old poorly functioning sprinkler time clock in garage.2. Replace broker sprinkler riser in yard.

Category irrigation systems

3.0

04/24/2012


Anna T.

ork

Description of Work
Acacia Landscape services gave me an estimate for some hardscape work around 2/1/12. I did ot use them as I thought it would be too costly. The work had no final estimate of cost, just per hour costs with details about travel time, breaks, and daily billing!. Kind of scared me off.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Some jobs are done on a contract basis where there is a specific amount set for the whole job. And some jobs that are more complicated are done on what's called 'Time and Material' to better manage the costs, which is beneficial to all. Sorry you didn't express any concerns you had at the time. We are very proud of the work we have done for close to 40 yrs. throughout San Diego and for how happy our customers are in the quality of our work, our customer service and delivering on their expectations. Most people let us know their concerns during the decision process. I'm confident we could have worked it out, if you had shared with us your concerns.

5.0

07/18/2011


Todd D.

Work was very well done and completed within the time estimated.

Description of Work
Installation of a drainage line and fill in of flower bed with concrete and slate pavers.

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

02/27/2011


Teresa H.

The work was completed efficiently and he was able to do it when we were not home. We mailed the check after the work was done and the invoice was left under the doormat. All of the sprinkler heads work a lot better now. The technician's name on the invoice is Sean.

Description of Work
Sprinkler head replacements, moving one valve from an area where posed a danger for someone to trip over it to a safer area closer to house

Category irrigation systems

5.0

01/04/2009


Teresa H.

Our irrigation system was having some obvious problems with broken sprinkler heads and evidence of leakage at the bottom of the driveway. I called Acacia Landscape and they called back the same day, and had an appointment available the next day. I needed early morning and Sean was able to come at 7:00 am sharp. Both my husband and I had to leave for work just a few minutes later, so I paid for 2 hours of work up front. The entire job took 3 hours and 20 minutes, so Sean left an invoice for the balance on our doorstep, which I paid by mailing in a check. The leaks are gone and the sprinklers work now. My husband did have to adjust several heads to stop the water from hitting windows and watering the patio, both overall I am very pleased with the job and the price. The invoice was very detailed regarding time spent and parts needed/costs for parts. I plan to call them again for any future work needed.

Description of Work
Repairs to sprinkler system.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

09/18/2007


BRENDA L.

He did a remarkable job and is actually the person that told me about Angie's List. He was extremely professional, and he knew what he was doing. He had a challenge, due to poor construction on an addition, and performed very well.

Description of Work
He put in a new outdoor drain system and paved along side of my 1,900 square foot home. The work took a week.

Category drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

07/21/2006


JOYCE M C.

Dave took a lot of time to draw up a plan and presented it to us. He did not charge us. He is responsive to our calls when we need anything. They were very helpful and knowledgeable. He is extremely honest. They also installed a small lawn in the back.

Description of Work
We needed to have drainage done that was extensive. They installed the irrigation system for us and solid piping for drainage.

Category irrigation systems, drain pipe

5.0

10/28/2004


DAVID S.

COMPANY WILLING TO GO BEYOND IMMEDIATE NEED TO CHECK OUT POTENTIAL ADDITIONAL PROBLEMS. PROVIDED ADVICE REGARDING TREE REMOVAL AND FENCE REPLACEMENT.

Description of Work
REPAIRED BROKEN SPRINKLERS, ADJUSTED NOZZLES AND LOCATED AND SEALED UNDERGROUND LEAK IN GARDEN.

Category irrigation systems

    Other local Pros in your area

    HomeTurf

    HomeTurf is an artificial turf installation company with over 13 years experience in the trade. We pride ourselves on our impeccable lawns and our dedication to a positive customer experience throughout our sales and construction process. We are licensed, bonded and insured. Our sales representatives and support personnel are extremely courteous and professional. We want to work to earn your confidence and exceed your expectations.  

    Offers by HomeTurf	 on Angi
    Accurate Grading and Demolition, Inc.

    We specialize in all phases of grading, excavation, walls, drainage, pavers, turf and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! We do everything in house and never subcontract out our services. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Spyglass Construction

    Spyglass Construction is your friendly, reliable, and trustworthy neighborhood general contractor. We believe in providing top notch work at an affordable price. We specialize in remodels both inside and outside your home. We treat every client like they are part of our family and it is our own personal home we are working on. Contact us to make your home improvement dreams a reality!  

    Offers by Spyglass Construction on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential Landscaping, Concrete, Lighting, Bar B Que's, Patios, Decks, Irrigation & Drainage.

    Services Not Offered

    WEEKLY GARDENING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc.

    How is Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. overall rated?

    Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. open?

    Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 7:30 AM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. provide

    Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc.?

    Yes, Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. offer?

    Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. offers the following services: Residential Landscaping, Concrete, Lighting, Bar B Que's, Patios, Decks, Irrigation & Drainage.

    Are there any services Acacia Landscape Services of SD, Inc. does not offer?

    WEEKLY GARDENING.