Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co.

Founded 1994 • With Angi since October 2009

5.0

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

556 S. Fair Oaks Ave. #101-114

Pasadena, CA 91105

Description

I am an owner operator of my business. My career began as a young adult in the local union for ten years. I then started my business with the intent and goal in mind to provide perfect service. Twenty-three years later my goal is the same. I take my work very seriously and take great pride in performing my duties. The plain truth, is what you'll always get, never an exaggeration in order to pad the cost. My costs are based on time and material (no markup) and expenses and a small profit margin. You'll never be gouged, you'll only pay actual costs for actual work. I charge an initial cost of $55.00 for coming out to your place for new customers only. This charge, however, is discounted from your invoice on that initial visit for work completed. Yes, I do warranty my work. I make a determined effort, however, to get it right the first time. Coming back on warranty means I just lost half my profit if not more. I do use sub-contractors as needed for work related to the job but not plumbing necessarily....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

02/05/2018


Christine H.

Mr. Hicks was prompt and punctual in arriving on the day we agreed upon. He spent a couple of hours assessing my front and back yard irrigation systems. When he finished, he told me what the issues were. We agreed that he would draw up a diagram, then return to do the work that was necessary (we did not set a future date, but agreed that he would contact me). That part of his service was excellent and I appreciated his attention to detail. Unfortunately, he has not been back in touch with me to set a date to return and perform the work we agreed needed to be done. I realize that my job is probably a small one, but that doesn't make it less important to me. I am disappointed in Mr. Hicks' follow up and follow through, because I think he knows his business and is knowledgeable about irrigation systems, and I have had difficulty even finding someone who would come to my house and perform the audit that he did.

Description of Work
I needed a review and audit of my irrigation system.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

06/19/2017


Jie C.

Replaced the broken pipe.

Description of Work
The front yard leaking underground pipe.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/15/2016


Charles B.

The rain bird sprinkler had problems from dirt getting into the system. Hick Plumbing came back two times to make sure the whole irrigation system worked well. They did an excellent job and I would use them again.

Description of Work
I had a broken irrigation pipe in my front yard. Hicks Plumbing Technologies found the leak, fixed it.

Category irrigation systems

5.0

04/25/2015


Donald H.

Darrow is the third plumber we had to the house to deal with this problem. He first ruled out various problems he thought might be causing the stoppage, but it was none of these. Then he went into the attic and located the shower pipes and said that the elbows which connect the pipes in the attic with the shower were galvanized and the rest of the pipes were copper. When we remodeled the bathroom in 1994 this is what that contractor did. The galvanized elbow had rusted and was not only blocked, but had rusted right through the pipe and was beginning to leak. He replaced the elbow joints on both the hot and cold water pipes as they were both done this way. This process took him all day (see below) and now we have hot and COLD water in our shower. The difficulty with this procedure is that our attic is very difficult to negotiate in. One cannot stand up in it and the area where the shower pipes extend into the attic is very narrow where the roof joins the wall, and was blocked by a beam. He could not get a saw in there. So Darrow had to take out a facing board above the kitchen cupboards and work from that direction to get the leverage he needed, as well as return to the attic several times to carry out this procedure. After he replaced the facing board our painter (who was also working at the house) did some minor caulking and it looks fine now. The first plumber honestly said he did not do that kind of work, but we could try to flush it out. The second plumber lied about the pipes saying they were all galvanized and he would have to replace them. He also said the area was too narrow to work in so he would have to cut through the bathroom wall and would not repair it. How did he expect to get around several joists? He also wanted to charge us to replace the faucet, which works fine. Darrow really knows what he is doing and we very highly recommend him.

Description of Work
He unblocked the cold water in the master bathroom shower. It was down to a trickle only.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

03/28/2015


John S.

It has been really good pricing and good quality service. I chose to use them because of their reviews on Yelp. I found them on Yelp. What stood out was the professional and courteous nature of the person and just the fact that they are a local small business. I would tell a friend to expect that it is a sole operation so it can be a little bit busy. Scheduling can be somewhat challenging, but definitely, someone would follow-up and it is worth the wait. They are very knowledgeable.

Description of Work
I have used Hicks Plumbing. I have them do general plumbing service. They cleaned out a drain line and also installed a new drain.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

03/02/2014


Joycelyn B.

Mr. Hicks always arrives on time. His work is neat and thorough. He is always very professional.

Description of Work
I've used Mr. Hicks a few times. He installed a gas line for my dryer. He has replaced toilets and unstopped pipes. He has installed shower heads and fixed leaking fixtures.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/03/2013


STEVEN V.

Mr. Hicks was very professional. He removed the existing faucet and replaced it with a new faucet purchased by the customer at a local retailer. He arrived at the scheduled time and made quick work of the project. The price was reasonable and the installation was very good quality.

Description of Work
Replaced Kitchen faucet.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/09/2013


Tomy V.

Darrow arrived on time and worked efficiently through the bathrooms and kitchen, inspecting the drains, water heater, and washer appliance to provide a detail report on the potential problems to fix. He has a very honest approach in fixing the problems - offering money saving alternatives whenever possible. He also provided an accurate cost of his services upfront. I valued his input as he was able to explain his solutions in layman terms while displaying his expertise on the trade. He is up to date on the pros and cons with the newer technologies and I would trust him to do my plumbing remodeling in the near future.

Description of Work
We are purchasing a property in escrow and needed an estimate/inspection on the slow drains in the bathrooms. Darrow provided a detailed estimate/inspection of drains and water lines bathroom, kitchen, as well as the water heater. Upon request, he offered advice on how to go about remodeling the property that would be the most logical and cost-saving.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

05/24/2012


Ian M.

Mr. Darrow Hicks was on time, polite, professional, and knowledgable. He was willing to do work that other plumbers would not bother with and he took the job as seriously as he would have a larger more expensive bid. We contacted several plumbers and many didn't even bother to call back. Mr. Hicks contacted us right away and was in good communication throughout. His prices were fair and I felt he was honest and truly interested in doing a superior job. He did come in a little bit over estimate but that was due to some problems leveling our appliances which he did with great care and patience. In fact, it would have driven me crazy taking all the time he did to make sure the appliances were installed properly and he did it all with a friendly attitude-even after a rather unfortunate experience with some of the neighbors giving him a hassle about parking his truck. He let us know what needed fixing but didn't and quot;search out problemsand quot; just to make a quick buck. The time and effort he put in has made us confident that he deserves nothing but an and quot;Aand quot; rating. We have zero complaints with Hicks Plumbing. We would certainly hire him again in the future for any other plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Inspection of plumbing, replacement of dryer vent, installation and leveling of washer and dryer, fixed leak.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/20/2011


Janina L.

I learned of Hicks Plumbing through Jay at North Plumbing. Darrow is extremely professional. My 1929 Tudor had a mix of plumbing. Instead of installing copper, I went with PEX. Darrow and his crew were on time everyday. I thought it would take days and days to re-do the plumbing. They finished the plumbing in two days! The came at 8AM and left at 6 ish. He did a very clean job. Pipes look nice. No random stray pipes. The plumbers cleaned up each and everyday. Darrow was very conscientious of the holes he put in my walls to install the new pipe. My old house has new pipes and I can't thank Hicks plumbing enough for the work they did. I would definitely use him in the future. If anyone needs new pipes, Hicks Plumbing is the place.

Description of Work
replace galvanized iron pipes and some copper with new PEX pipes.

Category plumbing, drain pipe

    Other local Pros in your area

    A Team Plumbing Services Inc

    Plumbing company founded in 2017 with technicians who have been in plumbing for more than 20 years. We cover any plumbing issues that deal with water, gas, and sewer. Our goal is to help you with any and all plumbing issues you may be having. We are available 7 days a week for your convenience.  

    Automatic Sprinkler Controls Inc

    Commercial and residential, large or small projects welcome. Certified water manager, trained personnel. Phone support available for most irrigation controllers. Award wining.  

    Camacho Gardening Service

    I've been in business for about 15+ years. I recently moved to the City of Azusa. I offer a full array of landscape work including new landscape installation, landscape maintenance, commercial and residential. We do new irrigation installation and retrofits. I have 2 full time employees and 2 part time, I don not subcontract. I service the areas along the 210 fwy from La Canada to Claremont, and along the 10 fwy from Alhambra to Pomona. All other adjacent areas are welcome too. My cell phone is 626-260-6566 for you to call, text or email me with any questions you may have. I look forward to talking to you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sewer/drain cleaning repair & maintenance. All things plumbing service & repair. Irrigation service - time clock resetting and programing. Remodel residential and commercial, and new construction. Tank and tankless water heater, and all plumbing appliance and fixture installations. All things plumbing, consultations and advice.

    Services Not Offered

    If we don't do it we'll refer you to someone reputable who does.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co.

    How is Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. overall rated?

    Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. open?

    Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. provide

    Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offer free estimates?

    No, Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offer a senior discount?

    No, Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co.?

    Yes, Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offers warranties.

    What services does Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offer?

    Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. offers the following services: Sewer/drain cleaning repair & maintenance. All things plumbing service & repair. Irrigation service - time clock resetting and programing. Remodel residential and commercial, and new construction. Tank and tankless water heater, and all plumbing appliance and fixture installations. All things plumbing, consultations and advice.

    Are there any services Hicks Plumbing Technologies Co. does not offer?

    If we don't do it we'll refer you to someone reputable who does.