CertaPro Painters of Silicon Valley - Palo Alto

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since December 2009

We're your locally owned and operated, full-service painting contractors. Residential or commercial, interior or exterior - we're committed to providing the highest quality work, best value and most professional painting services in Santa Clara County. Here's what you can expect when you contact us

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(153) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

135

4

14

3

3

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

house painting (124)interior painting (63)pressure washing (7)wallpaper removal (2)drywall (2)epoxy flooring (1)
Showing 1-25 of 153 reviews
5.0

12/17/2022


Lee L.

Prompt, courteous, knowledgeable, friendly, professional, quality, and fair price -- everything you want for a painting job!

Description of Work
2 bedrooms and kitchen painted; wall paper removed.

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review! We appreciate knowing you’re happy with our overall services.
5.0

03/29/2019


Cindy H.

Could not have gone better. Please keep in mind that I was contacting companies about this job from Portland Oregon area while working as a teacher. That means I could only communicate intermittently at best. After initial contact, Jose promptly provided a written, thorough estimate within 24 hours. He said he would be at the house for measuring at 2:00 on Thursday, and he was there are 2:00 on Thursday. We signed with Certa Pro because the bid was reasonable, and they could start the following Wednesday and be done by Friday. And they were. Jose needed to coordinate everything with my cousin who lives in the area. Pedro and Salvador did a fantastic job. The ceiling and walls look awesome. Jose even recommended the colors we ended up using! Easy to work with, professional, and meet their commitments. I recommend Certa Pro without reservations.

Description of Work
Completely painting the interior of our old family home on a VERY short deadline. Removed wallpaper, fixed cracks and holes in walls and ceilings, removed drapes/curtains and blinds. They are coming back to paint the baseboards after the flooring is finished.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the great feedback. Glad all worked out especially with you being out of town. Looking forward to working with you again!
5.0

06/22/2018


Frank S.

CertaPro came and did a bid on painting my southern wall last summer. I almost chose them but picked the lowest bid instead. Bad mistake! The lowest bidder (Innovation Painting) totally flaked out on me and kept pushing the job back and eventually just stopped taking my calls. I should have called CertaPro back right away, but it was winter and raining so I let things slide until this summer. I emailed my contact at CertaPro and asked if he wanted to do a re-bid on the job. I also contacted another painter. I didn't hear from my CertaPro contact and figured he didn't want to waste any more of his time with me, and signed a contract with another company. But I was wrong. It turned out that my contact no longer worked with the company, and his emails were being forwarded to the bosses, Steve and Norie Bonbright, who did answer my email and would have been happy to do a re-bid. But it was too late. I had already signed a contract with the other company. Through no fault of their own, CertaPro didn't get the job. But through it all they were polite, professional, and helpful. They even gave me tips on getting the most attractive finish on the job. My house is big, and eventually I'm going to need to paint the other three walls. When I do, CertaPro will be the first company I call.

Description of Work
Painting my south wall

Category house painters

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great summary of your experience with us so far. We look forward to actually winning your bid one of these days and working on the rest of your home when you're ready. Really appreciate the positive review. All the Best - Norie and Steve
5.0

05/31/2018


Albert M.

Outstanding work, performed on time and within budget. The team that CertaPro sent out were great to work with. Will surely hire again.

Description of Work
Entire inside Apartment and outside Laundry Room

Category house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2018

5.0

02/05/2018


Chris S.

Great job, the team did a good job in prepping the surfaces, sealing & then painting - good pricing, would recommend & use again

Description of Work
Painting the outside of the house

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2018

4.0

08/31/2017


Carol S.

No problems. Guys were considerate cleaned up each day. No paint spilled. Last day they vacuumed floors my house interior had not been painted in years, now it looks new. I am really pleased.

Description of Work
Baseboards,molding,doors, five rooms and two bath rooms.

Category interior painters

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2017

5.0

06/23/2017


John D.

I'm very pleased with the results. Communication and attention to detail was very good. The bid price was about half of another more "white glove" service. I probably could have got it done for less, but this service is very professional and the entire experience gave me great confidence in their work.

Description of Work
Exterior painting, two story house.

Category house painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2017

5.0

04/12/2017


Eric J.

Certapro did an excellent job. Color consultant was very helpful, communication was excellent throughout, punctual, and great quality work. Very happy with the whole job.

Description of Work
exterior paint on residence

Category pressure washing, house painters

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2017

5.0

03/08/2017


Susan F.

I was very pleased with them. They completed the job on time. They were neat and tidy about their work. They sealed any holes in the walls in an excellent manner. They fulfilled their job completely. On time, punctual, neat and clean, all the expectations one would have in paying a lot of money for a paint job. The price was in the ball park as anyone else, competitive.

Description of Work
CertaPro painted the interior of my rental home.

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2016

5.0

02/27/2017


Jason M.

Great! Did a great job and on time!

Description of Work
Painted multiple times in multiple locations and did a great job!

Category house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2014

4.0

01/16/2017


Joseph M.

They completely scraped, sanded, and repainted the side of my house--which is basically two stories high.

Description of Work
They originally painted the exterior of our house a few years ago. One side of our house--the one getting the most sun--was chipping and peeling after a couple of years. I called them and explained that the work was under warranty and could they come out and give it a look.

Category house painters

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2017

5.0

12/16/2015


David M.

So easy. Quality is amazing. Crew was punctual and clean. They came when they said and finished when they said. We will definitely use them for our future painting tasks.

Description of Work
Painted 3 rooms

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2015

Service Provider Response

Wonderful to hear that you had a great experience with your crew. We appreciate your business.
4.0

09/16/2015


Margaret C.

Dan Ford provided prompt and detailed estimates for the job. We had several revisions to the scope that he incorporated into the estimates. We appreciated the line-item detail and pricing so that we could see the effect of scope changes. Once the job started, the foreman consulted with us to make sure that he understood the scope detail and checked back with the office when there were questions. The basic painting team consisted of two painters. A third painter was present part of the time, but he came and went frequently, and never seemed to complete anything. He was more disruptive than productive. The other painters had to finish his work and clean up his messes, which caused the job to run over schedule. On the whole, the two key team members worked professionally. They covered furniture and cabinets, tried to preserve pathways and areas for us to inhabit while they worked around us, and cleaned up at the end of each work day. Painting was generally of good quality. We found a number of spots that had been missed or not done well, and places where the crew left sawdust on the floor after sanding. They were responsive when we called these items to their attention and fixed them immediately. Our main issue is that our paint choices were not communicated between the color consultant, office, and paint crew, resulting in the wrong color paint being purchased and applied to one of the rooms. By the time we discovered the mistake, several hours of time had been wasted, and the job was held up while the foreman got the right paint. We were partially responsible for the color error, but it might have been prevented if the crew had been given the list of paints by the office to begin with. The job ran over schedule by a day, and the painting quality and neatness declined at the end as the crew rushed to finish.

Description of Work
Painted interior of 2-story townhouse - 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living/dining, kitchen, laundry room, stairs and hallways. Included spray-painting ceilings and brush-painting walls, window casings, doors and baseboards. Provided a color consultant to help in selecting colors.

Category interior painters

Cost $7,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2015

5.0

08/28/2015


William L.

There were two painters, Santiago and Elmer, and they were great. They were prompt, worked well together, cleaned up every day, courteous and let us know exactly what they were doing every step of the way. They moved the furniture and the electronic and we were very confident in their ability to do this. We recommend them highly and would have them return again in the future withour hestation if we need more work done.

Description of Work
Painted bedroom, bath, hall, living room/dining room and kitchen Some paper removal.

Category wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2015

5.0

07/31/2015


WILLIAM B.

I contacted Dan Ford who is the franchise owner. Dan was very responsive and contacted me immediately. Dan came to the house to look at the project, discuss what I wanted done, and provided me a packet of information regarding the company, CertaPro's policies, warranties, and services. I explained that I wanted the exterior of my house painted, as well as painting a new garage door I had ordered and also staining my front door and some kitchen cabinets. Dan and I spoke about the timing for the project which fit well with my schedule. I requested a quote for the job which Dan provided. CertaPro was not the least expensive proposal I received, but I was very impressed with their professional conduct, explanations, and responsiveness. In addition, they were one of the few companies which were capable of doing the type of quality staining work I wanted. Dan emailed me a contract to sign based on what we discussed doing and what CertaPro was obligated to perform which after some review and a few minor changes in language and clarification, I accepted. CertaPro also offers a free hour of color consultation with a contract. My wife and I had already decided on the exterior colors for the house, but we me with the color consultant to listen to any additional advice. This was the one area of disappointment with the project as the color consultant was slow to communicate with us until right before the project and did not communicate our desires back to Dan and Henry. I contacted Dan about my disappointment in this regard but acknowledged that my experience might not be typical and given that everything was taken care of by Henry, no harm, no foul. I requested one of Dan's project leaders - Henry - to lead my project based on extensive positive comments from other clients. Henry and his assistant Greg, lived up to their reputation! Henry and his crew are fabulous. Henry and Greg arrived promptly at or around 8am every day. They understood what my contract obligated them to do and they were extremely efficient in doing their jobs and listening to me at every turn. The CertaPro team began by power washing the house; then scraped off the paint where required, caulked and puttied where it was needed; put a full prime coat on the entire house; put a full final coat on the entire house, and then inspected the house (and asked me to do the same), for any areas that might need final touch up. Henry and his team came prepared with all the tools required. Henry and Greg, took every precaution to tape windows, lay down paint covers to protect sidewalks, patios etc., and cleaned up every day. Henry made sure every day that I inspected the work and approved of the completed effort. The payment schedule called for several payments: a first payment after the power wash and prep; a second payment after the primer coat; and a final payment after the completion of the project. I could not be more pleased with the final results. Henry is the consummate professional and was courteous, and a real pro. The old adage is you get what you pay for. CertaPro was in my estimation a great value and a great product. If you want a professional company look no further than CertaPro!!

Description of Work
CertaPro painted the exterior of my house, including a new garage door, stained my front door, and stained several kitchen cabinets.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2015

Service Provider Response

Great to hear you had such a good experience with us! We appreciate your business and will be sure to pass on your comments to Henry.
5.0

06/30/2015


Dennis W.

Badly needed a new exterior paint job on the house - peeling paint, stucco cracks, and some damaged wood. CertaPro spent about 5 days painting the house and gutters. They spent about half the time prepping, sanding, and patching the wood and stucco prior to painting to make everything seem as new as possible after painting. All windows and doors were sealed prior to power washing. They were pretty meticulous in everything and primed all rusty and exposed nails - even on the gutters. They do a primer coat and a paint coat but added an extra coat on certain areas if they thought it needed it. They have a color consultant (free) that is included in their pricing to help you pick colors. We still weren't sure between a couple of colors so the painter put a sample of each color on the walls on the first day. That was very helpful since the actual paint colors always looks different from the color chips at the paint store. The painter explained what they did and shouldn't/couldn't do with some repairs, addressed our concerns and questions, and even corrected some "handyman" type issues. By the time they finished, the house looked almost good as new. CertaPro did an excellent, high quality job. BTW, the estimator spent a lot more time with me the other painting estimators, explaining what they do for the price and that was what convinced us to using CertaPro. They weren't the cheapest on price but after seeing all the work they did, I think they were probably the best value. They did everything they said they would and more than I expected. I would recommend them highly and applaud the quality and customer service attitude I got from all their employees.

Description of Work
Power washed, patched, repaired, and painted exterior of single story house.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2015

5.0

06/24/2015


Carlos C.

The staff did an outstanding job. This is a company of great professionalism and do work of very high quality.

Description of Work
Painting of interior baseboards

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2015

5.0

05/27/2015


Staci B.

Their price wasn't the lowest, but I was happy with their work.

Description of Work
I hired them for exterior painting.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2014

5.0

05/19/2015


George Z.

Started work on schedule. Workers cleaned up at end of each day. Crew was professional and offered suggestions that were accepted by us. When home was done our neighbors stopped by and commented on how good our home looked.

Description of Work
Power washed exterior of home, prepared siding for painting, put prime coat on wood siding, and 2 final coats of paint.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Cost $5,225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2014

5.0

01/06/2015


ANDREW L.

My house had not been painted since I purchased it 20 years ago. Rodrigo and Israel did a very thorough prep job and applied a full coat of tinted primer and a finish coat. The only issue we had was that my paint upgrade (to Sherwin Williams Superpaint) somehow got lost in the communication. I noticed the cans of A100 and asked Rodrigo about the Superpaint. He was very honest and they ended up putting another coat (of Superpaint) on for no extra charge. The house looks great, and everyone I worked with at CertaPro was top notch. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Exterior Prep and Paint

Category house painters

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2014

Service Provider Response

Great to hear that you had such a positive experience with all of the CertaPro staff. We appreciate your business!
5.0

12/12/2014


Caitie F.

Dan and his team were very professional and responsive. Dan also referred me to a contractor for dryrot repair and he came out that same day. Everything was coordinated and the repair work and painting started quickly and was completed on time and with great results! I will use CertaPro again in the future to do our interior painting.

Description of Work
painted exterior trim and shutters on two level home

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2014

Service Provider Response

So glad to hear you are happy with the coordination efforts of the CertaPro staff as well as the quality of the work completed. We appreciate your business.
5.0

11/25/2014


Michael W.

Dan did a great job at explaining how we can try painting just the affected walls to see how good the match is before going with a more drastic approach of painting the whole room. The crew that came out made sure that the shade matched the existing paint and worked hard to match and finish in a timely fashion. Really appreciate the timeliness, cleanliness, and flexibility of the work crew. The end-to-end experience of the initial consultation to the office fitting our job in between another job and the actual painting was great. Much appreciated for a job well done!

Description of Work
repainted walls from a re-pipe we had done earlier in the month

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2014

Service Provider Response

Great to hear you had an easy experience with us.
5.0

11/10/2014


Bill T.

Exceptional service from start to finish. Professional and friendly crew. Very high quality work. Completed work on time. I would highly recommend CertaPro. The house looks great!

Description of Work
Exterior house painting -stucco, wood trim and redwood deck

Category house painters

Cost $7,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2014