Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

California Energy Consultant Service

Founded 1981 • With Angi since March 2009

4.9

(102) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9380 ORANGEVALE AVE

Orangevale, CA 95662

Description

California Energy Consultant Service is one of the largest door and window replacement companies in Sacramento, CA. We cater to all your needs and concerns by offering you superior quality windows and doors. Choose the best from our wide selection of Sacramento windows, doors and siding to give your existing residential or commercial space a new and improved look. Our foundation is based on honesty, integrity, and the commitment to a job worthy of repeat business and referrals. We strive to serve all our clients with the finest quality replacement doors, windows and siding. At California Energy Consultant Service, we understand your requirements and guarantee 100% customer satisfaction. By installing our stylish and ergonomically viable windows and doors, you can drastically improve the appearance of your home or office. We take pride in being the best window replacement company in Sacramento, helping you to increase your property value and save money on your energy costs. Here at California Energy Consultant Service, we have been providing outstanding products and services to the Sacramento area for nearly 30 years. Our highly skilled professional staff is dedicated to matching the right products to your needs, and making sure that the job is done on time and on budget. We are highly committed to helping our customers get the best possible services so that they get value for their hard-earned money. It is our firm belief that our customers are our most important assets, and that’s why we look forward to building a long-term relationship with you. We are proud to say that our client base is full of referrals and repeat business. For years, we have consistently maintained an excellent reputation in the Sacramento door and window replacement industry, and we continue to deliver highly dependable products and services. California Energy Consultant Service - Address: 11367 Trade Center Dr Ste 115, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 Tel: (916) 852-8132...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/04/2019


Melisa G.

Excellent experience with this company. They lent us a portable air conditioner while we waited for our new air conditioner to be installed. They helped us with financing the new system. All the service employees were helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. They even came out to help us after the office was closed. I fully recommend their company.

Description of Work
We needed a new air conditioning system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/30/2017


Sarah M.

All in all, very happy with Gary the sales manager and the installation team, Gary is a great guy! They were quick t to respond and come out for an estimate, we got a total of three estimates. Once we committed to Gary and ordered, the window and door were ready before time promised and the install team was efficient and professional. In retrospect, the window/door quality are good, even above average...but at one time, we were thinking of a very expensive, maybe wood frame, but those prices were triple+ the amount we paid. So in reality, what we received and price paid through this company, we got a great job done and above average quality product. Yes, we would highly recommend and use them again!

Description of Work
Installed one window and one sliding glass door, retrofit method.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/22/2017


Deanne P.

They were on time, explained everything and got the whole job done in one day. One of the latches on the new window was not working right and they contacted the window manufacturer who then made an appointment with us to replace it with another one. They also cleaned up really well after they were done, and they provided an excellent warranty for the future should we have any problems. They were also our cheapest bid.

Description of Work
Needed 15 new windows and frames in our house.

Category picture framing, replacement windows

2.0

04/17/2017


BJ F.

We solicited an estimate based on good reviews and a good word from our realtor. We had already redone the front of the house with wood windows to maintain the look and feel of an older house. For the back end, and less visible part of the house, we wanted to use vinyl. When Gary, the Sales Rep, heard what we wanted, he stated that we couldn't do it because Sacramento would not issue a permit for vinyl windows on an older house in the city. He indicated that fiberglass or wood were our only options. This seemed odd because there is a lot of construction in East Sac, both new and remodels, using vinyl windows. Ultimately, we went with another firm that saw no problem with getting a permit. The crew showed up today to start the new install, with permit in hand. I assume the Sales Rep was either uninformed or trying to up-sell us for a bigger commission (fiberglass runs about $600 more per window). I called the President of the firm to share my observations. He listened but transitioned to talk about how great a guy the Sales Rep is. He doesn't even work for the money, just loves servicing his customers. OK, fine. My lesson and advice: Always get multiple bids!

Description of Work
Replace 12-15 wood sash windows, with vinyl windows, in a 95 year old East Sacramento house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/20/2016


Mark S.

The company was very responsive and professional. The representative made a mistake in the window count (29 windows needed replacement but 28 were delivered) and he gave me the extra window at no cost. The installers did a great job, but broke an item in my home. The company committed to make things whole. I was very satisfied with the professionalism, workmanship, and quality of the product.

Description of Work
Needed installation of twenty-nine Simonton replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

04/08/2016


Randall G.

I researched replacement windows before hand so as to be as knowledgeable as a consumer can be. Our windows were each 92" x 77" (over sized). We had numerous replacement window companies out for bids. ALL said the window companies they represented could not build the windows we wanted due to their large size. Then we called CECS. Lance, the rep they sent out (in the past he owned his own window co), took measurements and made a few phone calls and said it could be done and at a fair price. He was very responsive to answering all our questions with all the right answers. He knows windows. What is really strange about this whole experience is some of the other replacement window companies who offered the same brand and model window as the ones we just had installed, said our windows couldn't be built. Lance knew who to call to get it done. Since the windows were so large, CECS sent out Brandon and Omar, their 2 lead installers, for our job . They had them installed in a few hours and everything went perfectly. They answered all our questions politely and left the job immaculate. Really great Service ! My wife and I love our new windows and what a picturesque view CECS has given us.

Description of Work
Installed two replacement picture windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/17/2016


Marily G.

The job looks beautiful we are so pleased with the quality of windows that we received although they were a bit pricey they were well worth the money we paid. The house feels safer we cant hear any outdoor noise an overall amazing transformation. The workers cleaned everything up and Omar was great very polite however Roger could work on his customer service skills and communicate better. I felt he was not answering my questions and concerns clearly so I called Gary the sales Rep who talked to Roger. Once Gary spoke to Roger he decided to explain what he was doing. our blinds were not put back in their original position and couple were left off something I plan on working out with CECS just have not had the time. Other then those two glitches I would recommend them to friends and family because the quality of windows and the workmanship shows we love the new windows and door!!!

Description of Work
Replaced windows on the entire home 18 windows one french door.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for the review! And the generous ratings you have given us! Please give our office a call at 916-852-8132 and ask for Phil Isaacs the owner. He would like to Thank you for your business and see what he can do to remedy the challenge on the blinds :)
5.0

02/06/2016


kRISTIE L.

I used to own a solar screen company in Las Vegas and needless to say I was picky on what company I would give my business to. I researched for a year and had 5 bids. CECS wasn't the highest bid and they weren't the lowest. The salesmen was Gary and was one of the most pleasant sales people I've ever dealt with in my life. I know from being in the window business that the installers are the most important part of the job. The two gentlemen that did the install were top notch from start to finish. I had a vacuum out to clean up after but the guys beat me to the punch. Cleanest work guys I've ever seen. Don't even bother shopping anywhere else because I did the shopping for you. The Windows and doors are perfect and way beyond my expectations. Again don't waste your time shopping. By the way this company has a showroom and the office staff is incredible to. Love this company.

Description of Work
Installed 7 windows and a patio sliding glass doors

Category replacement windows, doors

4.0

11/08/2015


Dru D.

Could, and should have been better. Subcontractors: HVAC--Placer Heating and Air Insulation--Gold Star Windows--mostly in-house. Lessons learned: 1. Put everything in writing--no verbals or phone call contractual or post-contractual agreements. Use email for documentation after the contract is signed. 2. Hold back final monies until all work is done. 3. Do not rush the work or allow the contractor to rush the work. 4. If it's in the contract, insist on it and withhold payment until it's done. 5. All parts are the contractor's responsibility. 6. Inspect all work before the next phase, distribute a punch list, and don't approve and/or pay until you are satisfied. 7. Ignore suggestions that faulty equipment is due to the customer's lack of understanding. Contact the manufacturer if something doesn't seem right. 8. Insist on good quality finish work. 9. Insist that all materials be as specified in the contract or standard (check the standards when in doubt). 10. Be wary of companies that subcontract HVAC. 11. Make sure all work is permitted; read permits carefully; flag errors. 12. Check model and serial numbers in contract with manufacturer's website to ensure the grade/series you are paying for is physically the same. July 7-9 Contract was signed on June 25, 2015. Work started July 7 and continued for three days total. Old HVAC equipment was removed, ducts removed, some insulation removed, new HVAC equipment installed, new thermostat installed. Insulation removal said to be complete. Problems: ?Subcontractors both stated that insulation was completely removed when it was not (twice). ?HVAC sub and contractor implied homeowner was incapable of operating new wifi thermostat. Three wifi thermostats malfunctioned, leading homeowner to contact manufacturer's rep to resolve the problem. They advised another thermostat that did not read the wall temperature rather than the air temperature. ?Apprentice attempted to obtain side work replacing air registers. ?HVAC sub tried to get homeowner to buy control parts for whole house fan installation. ?HVAC sub dragged feet and stalled on doing contractual work on water heater. Homeowner had verbal agreement with contractor's sales rep to install in two steps; contractor denied agreement. Homeowner removed it from contract by mutual agreement. ?New intake return cutout cut beyond boundary into ceiling. July 15 Windows installed 8am to 3pm More insulation removed. Problems: ?Wrong windows ordered; only two could be installed. July 22 Punch list and connect whole house fan to controls Problems: ?Whole house fan motor burned out on install; wired incorrectly. ?Ceiling fixture not reinstalled properly. July 27 Remaining windows and patio door installed. More insulation removed. Problems: Window trim not caulked on outside. Some trim cuts not even with other pieces. Windows not cleaned after install. One piece of original trim recycled instead of replaced. Homeowner paid contractor paid about 2/3 of the contractual amount. The rest held until all work completed. through end of July, August, September Punch list work completed on windows, HVAC. Thermostat replaced. Whole fan wired correctly to dedicated circuit. Whole house fan hanging location shifting to optimum location. Duct work straightened. Damper installed on one duct to balance air. Insulation was blown 8/27/15. Problems: ?Heat pump cycling on for 30 seconds accompanied by buzzing noise that gets louder. ?Whole house fan not permitted. ?HVAC sub scheduled to work but did not show up; on another day, sub called several times but never showed Test out, code inspection Test out performed 9/15/15, Code inspection 9/22/15 and re-inspected for whole house fan permit failure on 9/30/15. Problems: ?Test out failed on air leakage. Did not meet SMUD HPP specifications. Rebate not available. Contractor offers to refund the difference. ?HVAC and window work passed inspection, but whole house fan was never permitted. Contractor pulled the permit, provided hard copy, inspector reinspected on 9/30/15. SMUD rebate preparation Contractor prepares JRT (job reporting template) for SMUD HPP and sends to homeowner for review. (9/18) Contractor prepares SMUD rebate application for homeowner (9/24) Problems: Some calculations incorrect on the JRT. Contractor resolved. Some rebates changed in the four months the contract work spanned. Contractor made up differences. Final Payment Homeowner made final payment on 9/30/15. SMUD rebate receipt Homeowner receives rebate check from SMUD on 11/5/15. Problems: Total $150 short of JRT. Inquiries with SMUD revealed that contractor revised JRT after last version was sent to homeowner. The latest JRT did not include the whole house fan in the project. Homeowner not informed. SMUD made arrangements to rebate the whole house fan. Takeaways: Sales rep made a good professional, technical, and personal impression without hard sell or scare tactics. One issue with verbal agreement. Scheduler at the contractor very responsive, efficient, and flexible. HVAC sub skilled, but sometimes unreliable and choice of apprentices unwise--made a bad impression of the company. Window snafu annoying. Too much homeowner time spent on this contract: over ten days of visits, two no-shows, two code inspections, one test out. Too many emails to count. Final rebate prep never shared with homeowner. Test out failed air leakage test.

Description of Work
SMUD Home Performance Program (HPP) project work: 1. Replaced heat pump and coil, thermostat 2. Replaced insulation, air sealed. 3. Installed owner-provided Quiet Cool whole house fan. 4. Installed nail-fin construction windows--4 XX, 2 single hung, 1 patio door 5. Installed ductwork.

Category handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, water heater repair, replacement windows, air duct cleaning, ceiling fans, doors, energy audit, patios

5.0

08/24/2015


NANCY G.

Had great contact and responses from project manager Gary Lee, felt taken care of. he and co. spent time with my questions and concerns and always did right. The windows are wonderful, get complements; i definitely note the difference in insulation -temperature and sound. wish i had done sooner. felt the workmen were quality and well supervised. Most seem not to be subbed , except the sider , and he appeared very careful and competent. Good jobs all around.

Description of Work
new windows and patio doors, one side siding replacement

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

5.0

05/07/2015


Micheal B.

The sales experience was very good, he was very personable, provided a reasonable estimate, and then allowed us time to get financing, without repeated calls. Honored the price quoted, though the time from quote to purchase was almost 2 months. Installation was smooth, and went without drama, but the clean up, was not as good as the rest of the experience, I still have plastic remnants in my driveway, and we found glass from when they removed a window and must have broken it, all around one side of the house. The main issue is this is very near the hot tub pad, and we walk through that area with bare feet. One other item, is one of the installers seems to be bit heavy handed with the new windows, our screen door seems to have a bit of an out of round wheel, due to carelessness setting it down just before installation. More care needs to be taken with the new equipment, we have to live with it for a long time. Overall, I am very happy with the look, and installation of our windows, and would use them again for other products they sell. I trust their sales, and will go back to them for additional items for our home.

Description of Work
Replaced, Aluminum dual pane windows where all of the seals have failed, with 34 Simonton windows in our 2 story home.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

04/16/2015


Carole M.

Went with company based on previous reviews and the fact that they are on the PGE contractor list. Originally met with Lance for estimate and potential needs. Had an energy assessment through an outside vendor which showed my house wasn't as leaky as I thought it would be. Turned out that windows were the biggest bang for my buck. Lance was very helpful. Got windows ordered and scheduled install pretty quickly thereafter. Roger was the primary installer. Had a small oops with one big window because apparently the measurement was either incorrect or transcribed wrong so that had to be reordered. Scheduler thought it would be an all day install but only took a couple of hours. They were very professional and friendly. I work from home and was on conference calls during the install. They were really pretty quiet overall. Cleaned up everything and the windows looked great. The other window was reordered. Roger came back a few weeks later and installed the final window. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replacement of 10 windows and a sliding glass door

Category replacement windows, doors, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feed back, we appreciate your business.
5.0

01/09/2015


Gayle S.

I called and Lance came out and measured and described what would happen and how long it would take. I had several other bids and to be honest while CECS was not the lowest Lance gave me the impression that they knew what they were doing. When the windows were ready to install they called me and set up an appointment. The day we picked was the big Sacramento rainstorm the crew showed up and Roger the crew chief advised me that it would not be a good idea to install the windows that day. So we rescheduled and the guys installed all the windows but again the rain showed up and they could not install the french doors. Success the next week sunny day and the french door went in. The very next day the guys showed up to plaster around the french doors. Lance even showed up to check everything out and to make sure I was a happy camper..I love the windows and I would recommend these guys to everyone I know.

Description of Work
They replaced 9 of my windows and the sliding patio door with french doors.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

10/30/2014


Eric W.

My project was huge and it took nearly 5 months to complete. As with any project there are bound to be issues and of course there were issues along the way. However Cal Energy were always very straight with me and resolved these issues in a timely manner. I would highly recommend this company to anyone needing windows, siding, or both. Their prices were lower than competitors and the products they recommend (Simonton Windows) are a great value!

Description of Work
CA energy removed all siding (it had significant damage) on my ~4500sq ft. home in El Dorado Hills. They then installed 50 windows and 4 exterior doors. Once that was complete they installed smooth stucco which gave my home a completely new look.

Category siding, replacement windows, stucco, doors

5.0

10/17/2014


ronald G.

We were really impressed with the installers (Shawn and Mitch). Both installers were very professional, cheerful, courteous, and prompt, if they were not able to make their scheduled time, we were given a call as to when to expect them. NOTE 2000 The same California Energy Consultant Service's Installed dual pane windows for our entire home.

Description of Work
HVAC. Installed heat pump condenser. Removed attic installation, air sealed attic, sealed all vents, installed new ducts, returns, reinsulate attic over ducts. R49.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, replacement windows, air duct cleaning, energy audit

5.0

10/08/2014


John A.

CECS was very prompt in giving me a fair and complete estimate on the replacement of all the windows in my 25-year-old home. A neighbor had used them this summer and was extremely happy, so I asked for an estimate. After accepting their bid they did all the proper paperwork, permitting, etc that was necessary and placed the order for my project. After only a couple of weeks they called to schedule the installation. On installation day their crew of 3 arrived, explained in detail what would happen that day and the following day, and proceeded to do the work. The representative from the company also came over to check on the installation and my satisfaction. When finished they cleaned and vacuumed inside and out and explained how to operate the new windows. They were efficient, polite, and professional in every respect and I would not hesitate to work with them again. I highly recommend CECS.

Description of Work
CECS replaced all the windows in my home with new, energy-efficient, and up-to-date ones.

Category replacement windows

5.0

10/08/2014


Grace Z.

I should begin this review by stating I don?t normally write reviews. I believe good service should be a given; however ever so often a company goes so far above and beyond that I feel the need to tell others. That has happened with CECS. My wife and I bought our home in November of 2013, and immediately realized it needed some help. It was so cold in the bedrooms that we purchased space heaters for night. Apparently when our house was built in 1958 insulation in the walls was an upgrade, and we had none. Plus, the siding was deteriorating, and the drafts were terrible. Fast forward a couple months, and my wife and I were walking through the Sacramento home show. We met Bryan Gore from Cal Energy Consultant Service, who was engaging and knowledgeable with all aspects of home improvement. During our meeting with Bryan, he told us about the Energy Upgrade California program, which provides rebates for energy upgrades performed on your home. Bryan thoroughly explained the testing processes, and told us we would be an ideal candidate for the program due to the age/condition of our home. When we had the initial test-in, I knew the results would be bad. How bad, however, was a little shocking. Our AC ducts were leaking at almost 65%, and the air infiltration was through the roof. After the test, we sat down with Bryan again to discuss the options for our house. He explained that we would see the biggest gains from installing new AC ducts, air-sealing the attic, blowing in new attic insulation, and installing insulation when we re-sided the house. I have to admit, I was a little hesitant at first. The costs were fairly high, and I was concerned with the idea of using sub-contractors. To me, sub-contractor often means sub-standard. However, that couldn't have been further from the truth. The HVAC contractor, the insulation guy, and the siding team were all extremely knowledgeable, professional, and willing to work with me on timing due to other projects I was working on around the house. Now that the work is done, I honestly can?t believe the changes in my home. We installed a whole house fan with the other upgrades, and it is amazing how little we turn on the AC. Earlier in the summer the AC would be on by 10am. Now we will often not use the AC until 2 or later. In fact, we had no AC usage for the last two weeks in September. In Sacramento. We had the test-out performed, and our building leakage dropped from 3400 CFMs to 1875, and the HVAC duct leakage dropped from 64% to 5%. Plus, we received rebates from SMUD and PG&E to cover almost 25% of the cost! I can?t thank CECS, Bryan Gore, and all of their sub-contractors enough!

Description of Work
Performed an energy audit, replaced siding, installed insulation in walls, replaced ducting, blew new insulation into attic.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, siding, replacement windows, ceiling fans, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for posting this review! Your feedback is very valuable to us, I will pass this positive feedback onto Bryan. He will be excited to hear how pleased you were with the project!
5.0

09/29/2014


Mark L.

This relationship started with new energy efficient windows in 2010. We had another company install half of our downstairs windows. Nice job but expensive which is why we are converting in phases. When we were ready to complete the rest of the downstairs windows in 2012, we met Sales Manager Gary Lee from California Energy Consultant Services (CECS) at the energy Expo at Cal-Expo. Gary not only quoted a better price, he scheduled and completed the same product windows in less time and a good savings to us. This year we wanted to be pro-active and replace our 25 year old HVAC system before this summers heat and drought. In March we travelled down into Sacramento Counties SMUD Energy Seminars and were glad to see Gary at the CECS booth. We made an appointment for the next week where we talked and signed a contract that day. He walked us through the equipment options and outlined the PG&E rebates for us in Placer County. CECS was very informative throughout the entire process. Jamie (Office Manager) kept the schedule and paperwork up to date and was the true lynchpin throughout. HVAC Contractor Sean and technician Mitch were the most courteous and professional workers we have ever had in our home. Their attention to minor details and explanations of what they were doing and why during the entire install process were gladly answered and their work attitude couldn't have been better. Their superior duct sealing helped us get additional points for a higher than quoted PG&E rebate. The install had some minor setbacks but Phil Isaacs (CECS Owner) stepped up to the plate and solved them all. His co-ordination and mini-meetings and conferences with equipment representatives and industry installers solved what could have been a major loud sound issue that turned out was not their fault. He and all of his staff took our concerns as their own and have been a pleasure to work with. I heartily recommend CECS for any window upgrade or HVAC refit or install. They will be the company we will call when we are ready to complete our upstairs windows for maximum efficiency. CESC bends over backwards to go the extra mile to do the job right. Thanks to them all. And take the time to discuss dog rescue and fishing with Gary. He delivered us some fresh caught Alaska salmon after returning from his recent fishing vacation. Thanks again, Mark and Margaret

Description of Work
INSTALL new HVAC system and tankless water heater system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, energy audit

5.0

09/11/2014


Judith M.

Provider uses outside personnel to install windows. While the window installer was very personable, his caulking skills were way below par, creating a mess around the windows. I emailed Bob, RHS Construction, (window installer's employer) but he did not respond. After sending in an evaluation to Ca Energy Consultant Svc I received a phone call from Phil, the owner. I had emailed pictures of the windows and he readily agreed that some work needed to be done to correct the situation. I can't say enough good things about Phil, who insisted that the job needed to be done right, even though it wasn't his company that installed the windows.. He arranged with RHS Construction, the installer, to have someone come out to try to fix the problem and I must say that the person who was sent was very professional and with Phil's suggestions he was able to turn the situation around. Phil then followed up with me to make sure that I was happy with the work done. We are now very satisfied with the appearance of our windows and extremely impressed with Phil, his ethics and excellent customer service.

Description of Work
Purchased 4 single hung windows to replace stationary windows and also purchased a piece of glass to replace stationary glass that had leaked.

Category replacement windows, energy audit

5.0

08/28/2014


Carmen P.

Gary, the sales manager, is a very swell guy. He lives and breathes customer service. He is truly an asset to the company. Part of the service is for Gary to come out after the installation is complete to answer any questions the home owner may have and to see that the customer is happy. This is a very nice service to provide. He came out after the installation and there were a few issues I pointed out to him - nicks on the vinyl patio door, chip on the frame for my shutters. These are being fixed. The installers were punctual and professional. It was a 3-member team and they worked quickly. In addition to what I already mentioned, the nicks and the chipped frame, there were a few other things. One, the installers didn't always make clean lines with the caulk. This made it difficult for the painters who painted the exterior of my home to know where to paint to. Also, the installers were to remove the iron security bars I had on my downstairs windows - bolts and all, so that the painters can easily reinstall them after they finished painting. They removed all of the bolts except for three on one window. This created an inconvenience for the painters, but they were able to remove the bolts. The windows look great and the reputation of the window manufacturer and the warranty they provide are excellent. CECS offers an excellent product and excellent customer service, and I would strongly recommend CECS to anyone.

Description of Work
install 11 windows and a patio door

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/06/2014


Henry & Julie L.

We were happy with them. They charged for the installation and the labor. They worked really well because we had a really tight time frame. They went out of their way to make it work for us and they did a good work as well. We haven't had any problems with the work that they did. The price seemed reasonable.

Description of Work
They replaced the kitchen window for us.

Category replacement windows

3.0

08/02/2014


Cinamon V.

Updated review: After I posted my original review, I received an apologetic call from the owner of the company. Apparently, they'd had a bad week. To be fair, they tried to make up for the mistake, so I'm upgrading from an "F" rating to a "C." Although they did send out a different sales rep and provided me with a bid, I did not end up hiring them to perform the work. Original review: Based on the excellent reviews here, I set up an appointment for a representative to come to my house and provide a bid to replace all the windows and a French door. The representative did not show up for the appointment. I called his number and got voicemail. I called the office, and they couldn't reach him, but said someone would contact me to reschedule. No one did. If this is the way they do business, I definitely would not hire them to do the job.

Description of Work
No show for appointment.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

While one of our sales consultants was on vacation, One of our other ones was in a horrific accident. He was in the hospital for three days with a broken leg and serious fractures to his arm requiring multiple surgeries. The sales manager is a little overwhelmed right now trying to run appointments that normally require 3 people. However there is no excuse to not at least call you back, and I am sorry that this fell throughout the cracks. As the owner I would be happy to visit your home and get you free estimate with a discount if you would like. Please call me at 916-223-1102
5.0

07/24/2014


Linda M.

From our initial meeting to discuss options to the completion of the project, everyone with whom we dealt at CECS was courteous. Each was well informed about the products they sell and our planned project. Upon completion, the installer even called us the next business day to ask whether we had any questions or issues. Would we use this company again? Yes, we definitely would go to CECS first.

Description of Work
We had a failed sliding door. A representative of CECS came to our home, showed us the potential doors. The CECS line of products was remarkable. Only more remarkable was the service, responsiveness, and quality of the work when our project was completed. Lance, the CECS rep, made every effort to address our questions and handled the entire project with professionalism.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

06/24/2014


Robin S.

I could not be happier with my new windows and glass sliding doors! Gary Lee and his entire crew were great from start to finish. I would highly recommend California Energy Consultant Service to anyone who might be thinking of putting new windows in their home. My home is over 30 years old and my old windows had seals go which made condensation form between the window panes. My home was using too much heat and AC to keep the correct temperature. Now that my windows are replaced, the house is tighter and my AC is not coming on as early in the day. My glass sliding doors slide so easily now. But most of all with my new "low E" glass I can see out of clear windows into my beautiful back yard. I am one happy customer! Gary Lee worked with me from the beginning telling me what I needed, what it would cost, and measuring everything for the new windows. The crew of three men who showed up at my home were wonderful. They were quiet, polite, and worked hard.

Description of Work
I had all new windows and glass sliding doors put in my entire home.

Category replacement windows, doors

4.0

06/21/2014


Gerald O.

I now realize that paying 700 per window was exorbitant. Other contractor was reluctant to bid based on water leak around three of the original windows. I wanted a contractor who had experience with siding, roofing, and exterior work in case the leak wasn't attributable to the window itself. Cal Energy provided an estimate, and I accepted the bid. I really wanted the water leak taken care of, with a warranty to back it up, which they provided. I understand that would drive the price up, but in retrospect, and based on what other contractors have told me, it was too high. I was told that a permit was required since replacing the three windows where the leak was located constituted a "remodel." The inspector later confirmed that was correct; but inexplicably they pulled a commercial permit instead of a residential one. Apparently Cal Energy was under the impression that my separate property half-plex was a single property, and thus multi-unit commercial duplex. Wrong. Inspector still passed it. Workers did a good job, no complaints there. On time and thorough. Finished product looks and functions great. There was one major rain after the installation, and no sign of water leak. Other than priming it, they wouldn't paint the trim that they installed around the exterior of the finished window frames, although the sales guy told me that in advance. Just seems like such a piddly thing; they had the scaffolding there and I had the paint and the brush.

Description of Work
Remove and replace 5 upstairs windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and for your encouraging words about our installation. I will be sure to pass that on to our installation staff. I just wanted to say that I agree with you that $700 per opening is a high price for a standard retro fit window. Our price for standard retro fit windows ranges from $400 - $600 per window depending on a few factors like the size and quantity of the order. We have volume discounts for larger projects and full homes, we charge a bit more if the home is a 2 story to cover ladder work. Your windows were for a 2 story dwelling, custom painted, 3 were new construction installation with new trim, and you had an existing leak. Many companies will not even want to get involved with pre- existing leaks by the way. So here is an approx. breakdown of why your windows cost more. Standard retro fit windows for a home like yours with just a few small to medium size windows on a 2 story typically would be in the ball park of $2,200 - $2,400. However add on a few hundred for new construction installation with new wood trim. The reason is new construction installation is roughly twice the work as a standard retro fit. Add on for high quality trim materials and fastener and that’s another $150 or so. Here’s where it gets tricky a factory painted lifetime warranty paint job on your window costs about $500 or more. It adds up really fast and sometimes even surprises me. I have been to the factory and believe me this is labor intensive practice as each component has to be masked of by hand. Also the paint is very high end designed to last a lifetime. Just ask around if this seems high. We have to cover ourselves with at least a few hundred dollars considering there were pre-existing leaks that we needed to track down, repair and guarantee. Call backs are very expensive and just one call back could cost much more than this. We acquired a permit which requires a runner and coordinating an inspection this a couple hundred dollars or more. Some companies do not bother with this even though it’s a requirement. We even have to do required paperwork for energy calculations like the CF-1R form since this is required paperwork for a permit. Bottom line if you felt that the price was to high maybe we need to work on our communication skills a little. We do appreciate your business and please feel free to contact me with any questions Thanks Phil Isaacs CECS President

    Other local Pros in your area

    JR Putman Plumbing, Heating and Air

    Award winning full service plumbing, heating and air conditioning. Providing exceptional service since 1981. Emergency service and replacement, maintenance, indoor air quality, duct cleaning, insulation ,plumbing and drain cleaning. Available 24 hours/7 days. Additional email - clientservices@jrputman.com.  

    Offers by JR Putman Plumbing, Heating and Air on Angi
    Angie's Choice

    Whether you have a large investment job, or a home remodel, or even just a room remodel Angie's Choice is here to help. Simply contact Angie's Choice (770)-885-9652 and we will be happy to provide you with an estimate. We are a service company providing capable, qualified contractors, and cleaners to perform our services. We backup our service with a One Year Written Warranty on contractors workmanship as well as Insurance. You can rest assured knowing the work was done well! Investment Properties Carpentry Plumbing Electrical Doors Windows Interior Walls Exterior Walls Cabinets Shelving Molding Baseboards Flooring Tiling Lighting Installation Maintenance Painting Sheetrock/Drywall Framing Ceilings.  

    Superior Window

    **SPECIAL ORDER WINDOWS AND DOORS IN 2-3 WEEKS** ***FAST TURNAROUND TIME*** We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Window and Door replacement services, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Offers by Superior Window on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Windows, Heating and A/C, Energy Assessments, Energy Audits, and Siding (including installation of James Hardie products)

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about California Energy Consultant Service

    How is California Energy Consultant Service overall rated?

    California Energy Consultant Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are California Energy Consultant Service open?

    California Energy Consultant Service is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does California Energy Consultant Service provide

    California Energy Consultant Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available

    Does California Energy Consultant Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, California Energy Consultant Service offers free project estimates.

    Does California Energy Consultant Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, California Energy Consultant Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does California Energy Consultant Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, California Energy Consultant Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by California Energy Consultant Service?

    Yes, California Energy Consultant Service offers warranties.

    What services does California Energy Consultant Service offer?

    California Energy Consultant Service offers the following services: Windows, Heating and A/C, Energy Assessments, Energy Audits, and Siding (including installation of James Hardie products)