Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gruett Tree Company Inc

Founded 1982 • With Angi since December 2009

4.7

(58) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 12375

Orange, CA 92859

Description

Gruett Tree Company is an Orange County tree service that has been serving the tree care needs of our Orange County and Southern California residential, commercial and municipal clientele since 1982. Our family-owned and operated professional tree care and tree trimming business is fully licensed,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/11/2018


Patricia S.

When I called them about the tree that had fallen because of strong winds, they responded quickly, assessed the situation, determined the tree would be stable until work could be scheduled during normal hours. They scheduled the work for all 4 trees within 2 days, promptly provided the requested insurance certificates. They also did me a HUGE other favor on terms/conditions to get the work started sooner rather than later. Their workers arrived on time, did the job in less than 5 hours and removal/clean-up was complete. I am very satisfied with the service, price was fair, would use them again and highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Remove 1 large fallen tree and 3 large standing trees

Category tree service

5.0

01/03/2018


Susan B.

Gruett was here on time, trimmed the trees professionally and cleaned up.

Description of Work
All of our many trees needed their annual trimming.

Category tree service

5.0

09/18/2017


Stephen D.

Was very pleased with their detailed analysis and the time the arborist took to explain each tree condition and options. While we were saddened about the beautiful pepper trees, the explanations for removal made sense and would save property damage when (not if) these deseased trees fall over. Crew was extremely knowledgeable, professional, kept commitments exactly over the course of three weeks. Was really a premiere vendor to work with.

Description of Work
Initially, an analysis of all our trees. As a result of the analysis, the removal of four very large and dying pepper trees. Removal included poisening and grinding of stumps.

Category tree service

5.0

03/22/2017


JANE G.

The tree is very old so I have only had certified arborist trim it. It's very big. It's now looking like it's 40 years old. Something like that you can't just have a gardener take care of. You have to know for sure. I can't have somebody trimming my tree with something that maybe they trimmed another tree that had a disease or something. A lot of people don't understand that again, just looking to cheapen things out. They trimmed it and it's taller than my house. It looks like a twin tree. The trunk is divided. It's really neat looking. When I first moved here I was thinking about taking it out so I have grown to love it. I have a dwarf apple and they pruned it for me for the first time in years. It'll produce better. It's old and been here for probably 35 years. they are bonded, insured and licensed. Everything that they cut down gets taken away. SO its not like it gets bundled and gets put in your trash. It's way too much. Especially with my olive tree alone. I do it not because I really want to, I really like the tree when its full and it shades my house. But for the health of the tree and age of the tree, when it's really windy I worry about people who have not trimmed their trees. Do you want a branch falling on your car or a person? These are the thing that I would not like to spend the money but you have to do that. It's a responsibility. I used them two years ago and I have used a couple of different vendors to cut the tree, but I was very happy with what they did. They also told me that my particular tree, sometimes I get a hummingbird nest in it and if there is any kind of nest in a tree an arborist will not cut it. I think by law they are not supposed to. You have to be careful in the spring because that is when all the birds are building nests. SO you have to get in there and make sure it gets trimmed in a timely fashion. Some trees they don't build nests in. I'd like to spend less money, but I don't think it's possible. They were supposed to come out on Tuesday and they had somebody else they had to see in the morning or afternoon and they would try to be at my house at 1. I called at 1:30 and asked if they were coming and they said they had a snag and would have to reschedule the next day. They said they would be here at 10 and were here at 9, which didn't matter. With some labor unless you are the first stop you don't have a guarantee when they will be at your house. It's a question of did they time it right, did they have some problem with their equipment that failed, or something. Luckily I work from home and I am semi-retired so it was just a question of being prepared for them regardless of when they were coming. They had a job and they did the job. They took care of the plants that I had. I moved a lot of things that were in pots so that they didn't have to worry about then. It worked out fine.

Description of Work
I have a very old olive tree and they trimmed it back so that I don't have any rats that decide to hop onto my roof and find a way to get into my attic because they did do that a few years ago.

Category tree service

5.0

03/22/2017


JANE G.

The price was pretty consistent. They didn't do my second tree. Regardless I have used them and they are little bit lower than another company. I just decided to use them. I asked if they could lower the price and they said they couldn't. So I said let's just get it done. I look for people that I don't have to call them back and say what is this my tree is leaning or dying. I don't want to go there. I am not getting up there and trimming the tree. This thing is big.

Description of Work
Tree trimming.

Category tree service

5.0

09/16/2016


Connie G.

I think they do a good job. I'm not there when they do the work, my tenants are, and I haven't had any complaints from my tenants as far as picking up everything after themselves which is the main concern about hauling off all the cuttings and the trims. I haven't heard that they broken anything because they do caution us to remove anything that can be damaged if they are working. I used them and I'll call them back in a couple of years. They come when they say they're going to come. They're very organized, persistent about sending the estimate, sending the invoice, good follow through, especially I'm working from over the phone. They're not the cheapest but I think for the service that I get for what the price is, I think it's really good. I think it's a good price. When I talked to them over the phone, their office, they got the follow through, so that's important to me.

Description of Work
I have used Gruett Tree Service. I use them every two years because every two years I have several trees that need to be cut back and trimmed.

Category tree service

5.0

04/11/2016


Michelle W.

Extremely prompt and professional. All guys, six in total, were professional, friendly and worked fast. First, they showed up ten minutes prior to scheduled time, which was great and was greeted by Victor, the lead man. We walked the property and discussed the work to be done on each of the trees. They started quickly and worked in pairs. They even made sure that there were no branches in the common area or my neighbors yards from the work they were doing. Work was completed in approximately an hour and a half. They cleaned up everything and left my yard in top-notch condition. Was extremely pleased with the entire crew -- they were each friendly and worked hard!! Will definitely be using Gruett for future tree work when needed! Could not have been happier!!! Thank you!!!!!

Description of Work
Trimming and shaping of 5 trees; Removal of 4 trees.

Category tree service

5.0

03/31/2015


James H.

Top notch service. They've always been on time and bring a good-sized crew. They are careful to move my potted plants and furniture away from the "debris zone" before they start work. I was really surprised that when they were finished trimming the trees, they actually cleaned my pool and emptied the skimmer baskets before they left, due to some of the sawdust getting in the pool. I have always been very happy with their service.

Description of Work
Trimmed two queen palms

Category tree service

5.0

03/09/2015


Tom B.

I like pruning my trees myself. But getting rid of what I cut off is a lot more work than I want to do. After I did my part I called Gruett. They came out on Wednesday and gave me a price for their work. They came out and did their work on the following Monday. I made a big loose pile of the stuff by the curb. It was about 25 feet long, 3 feet high, and 3 feet wide.

Description of Work
They cleaned up a large brush pile of stuff I cut from my trees.

Category tree service

1.0

02/27/2015


julia C.

initial estimator came to the house and said "they would not bother the nest even if I asked them to" and the lead site manager was shown the nest on the day the worked was to be preformed. He was asked not to cut down the nest. When all was said and done there is no longer a hawks nest or limbs around the area. I called the company and all they could say was they would see who the site manager was and most hawks " come back every year because that is their home" (not that they could do anything about it now) but they were still supposed to call back. no response since November 2014.

Description of Work
The estimator and lead site manager did NOT PROTECT our resident hawk and family, they cut out the nest and destroyed the branches that they might of used to come back this year.

Category tree service

5.0

12/11/2014


Mark A.

We were happy with the job they did in clearing a specific area. We had no problems, and the workers cleaned up nicely afterwards. We had a positive experience, and will welcome their bids on future work.

Description of Work
cleared a specific area

Category lawn service

5.0

11/16/2014


GRACE M.

the crew was great. They were on time, cheerful, hard working. They got the job done very rapidly and to my complete satisfaction. They were extremely careful not to damage anything and to drop any foliage in my next door neighbor's yard. They were extremely competent and explained when my strawberry tree would probably next need to be pruned.

Description of Work
Removed a very large, overgrown tree and removed the stump, pruned a medium sized tree, removed unwanted shrubs, cleaned up.

Category lawn service, tree service

5.0

08/21/2014


Irene P.

BEAUTIFUL job trimming a very hue overgrown ash tree that we love so much. It was overhanding two neighbors' yards. Another drying ash tree needed cleaning up. The trees looked great afterward. I was really impressed especially with the huge tree, how little apparent it was that so much had been removed to get our tree out of the neighbors' yards. I am writing this review over 2 years later, and the trees do not show the signs of stress you often seen when imprudent pruning has taken place a year or two ago. They both have retained the shape and health that Gruett gave them that day. WELL worth the money.

Description of Work
Trimmed two ash trees

Category tree service

5.0

07/14/2014


Donna D.

Provider was very professional. Responded timely with an estimate and performed the work with efficiency. I was very impressed with their crew that removed the tree. It was a fairly large tree and we did have the stump shaved to the ground but not removed. That did cost extra but it was reasonable. The crew was very careful no to damage the tile we have on the patio while removing the tree. After performing the removal they cleaned up everything. I would recommend this company again. They are a little higher in cost than the other company I have used in the past but the other company took way too long to schedule my job. I would use Gruett again.

Description of Work
Provider removed a large tree from our patio in a townhome we own as rental property.

Category tree service

4.0

07/07/2014


Heather M.

Getting the bid was frustrating however, the work itself was excellent. They are well shaped and I will have them again to maintain the trees. They also did an excellent job cleaning up.

Description of Work
Trim trees front and back yard which had never been done professionally for 13 years.

Category tree service

5.0

06/30/2014


Thomas G.

They were good. They were neat, clean and quick. Their pricing is about average. It's not great, it's not bad, it's about what everybody else charges.

Description of Work
We used Gruett Tree Company. We had some bushes in the back that needed trimming back.

Category lawn service

3.0

06/26/2014


Patrick M.

They were okay. Nothing really stood out that I liked about them.

Description of Work
They pulled out a portion of a tree stump.

Category tree service

5.0

06/18/2014


Brian S.

They were great, across the board. They were really good. They were good enough to take photos of my peach tree and send them to their consulting arborist, who looked at it in detail and came up with a plan of exactly which branches to cut. They did a really professional job. They customized the cut to where the shade of the tree fell, to maximize fruit production. They didn't charge extra for all that, they just did it. They called me and talked to me about it.

Description of Work
They helped me give proper care for a peach tree.

Category tree service

4.0

02/27/2014


Gary E.

They rescheduled the appointment twice. Once for the estimate and once for the actual appointment. It was very smooth otherwise. They did a good job with clean up and the shape of the trees is better.

Description of Work
They pruned back six fruit trees. The work took one hour and 15 minutes for a team to complete.

Category tree service

5.0

10/21/2013


Simon T.

Gruett was knowledgeable and patient, actually advising us to delay the service until the weather cooled. When they contacted us to set the service up they were easy to work with, showed up on time and did a solid job of thinning the trees without endangering their health. They kept the shape of the trees intact and cleaned up thoroughly when they were done. They were very professional and I'm happy to recommend their work.

Description of Work
Thinned three large trees in the back yard

Category tree service

1.0

10/06/2013


Ilyes N.

No work was performed but the person on the phone was not helpful at all.

Description of Work
Not helpful at all

Category tree service

5.0

08/19/2013


Klint W.

I had an urgent request for pod trimming on 5 queen palms in my back yard because they all blossomed at the same time and the mess was causing my pool guy to threaten to quit. I called Gruett first thing Monday morning. They used goofle maps to get an arial view of my back yard & the palms, provided the quote within an hour and told me they could do the job that afternoon. I appoved the quote, they immediately emailed a confirmation of the appointment and copy of their insurance. They did agreat job, cleaned up all the mess. I will definitely use them again!!

Description of Work
Trimmed pods off of 5 large Queen Palms in my back yard.

Category tree service

1.0

06/09/2013


Ted J.

They were no shows at the appointment that we made. Unfortunately, we were meeting at a rental property and I had to drive 60 miles up and back. We even confirmed the appointment the day before.

Description of Work
We wanted an estimate for tree trimming services.

Category tree service

5.0

05/23/2013


FIROZA D.

Victor was the foreman on the job and the crew worked very well on the project. They were on time, discussed my vision for the tree and paid special attention to our need to retain the sculptural quality of the tree trunk lines which is the hall mark of this tree in the yard. They trimmed and shaped the crown, thinning it as per their expertise and finishing it off as per my requirements. I will keep them on file for all future works of the nature.

Description of Work
Trim, Prune and Shape an overgrown Camphor Tree on our Front Lawn.

Category tree service

5.0

05/13/2013


Bruce C.

The crew arrived on time and we reviewed the details of the job. They trimmed the tree to improve its shape and appearance and provide clearance to the house and sidewalk. After the first pass I viewed the tree from different angles and asked them to trim more in some places, and they complied cheerfully. They removed the debris and left the yard clean.

Description of Work
Trimmed a Magnolia tree that is about 25 feet tall.

Category tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Go Future Greens

    We’ve got over 18 years of hands-on experience installing turf, putting greens, patios, walls, pavers, concrete (including stamping), firepits, walkways, irrigation systems, drains and landscape design for residential and commercial applications. We are licensed by the State of California (License # 960559 with C27-Landscaping and D61-Synthetic turf classifications). We are a family-owned business (Husband General contractor, Wife business manager, Son supervisor) and make it our mission provide Above and Beyond customer service and like we always say: “We are licensed, bonded, insured and can make anything happen – give us a chance to make you happy!”  

    Angi Certified

    Wilson O Landscaping

    A full service landscaping construction and design business. We do Hard Scape (custom concrete, color concrete, stamped concrete, patio covers, waterfalls, fountains, fireplaces, driveways/entry ways, fire pits, BBQ, pool decks/coping, block walls, wood gates, pavers, stucco, flagstone, tile, slate) & Soft Scape (complete landscaping, sprinkler systems, landscape lighting, trees, palms, plants, soil preparation, drainage system, artificial grass). Free Estimates - We are bonded & insured. License #631894  

    Angi Certified

    MonteVista Landscape

    MonteVista Landscape is a family own business with 15 full time employees. Residential Landscape design and implementation. Commercial design, implementation and commercial maintenance. Financing available. 365 day same as cash. 180 day same as cash. 90 day sames as cash. On approved credit void where prohibited. Exceptional service is priority.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial & residential tree services, tree health care, pruning, tree & stump removal. Green recycling. Landscape revitalization, landscape maintenance & firewood. 5% discount for all jobs over $250.00

    Services Not Offered

    Please Inquire

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gruett Tree Company Inc

    How is Gruett Tree Company Inc overall rated?

    Gruett Tree Company Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gruett Tree Company Inc open?

    Gruett Tree Company Inc is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Gruett Tree Company Inc provide

    Gruett Tree Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Gruett Tree Company Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Gruett Tree Company Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Gruett Tree Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Gruett Tree Company Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gruett Tree Company Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Gruett Tree Company Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Gruett Tree Company Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gruett Tree Company Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gruett Tree Company Inc?

    Yes, Gruett Tree Company Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Gruett Tree Company Inc offer?

    Gruett Tree Company Inc offers the following services: Commercial & residential tree services, tree health care, pruning, tree & stump removal. Green recycling. Landscape revitalization, landscape maintenance & firewood. 5% discount for all jobs over $250.00

    Are there any services Gruett Tree Company Inc does not offer?

    Please Inquire