Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling

4.6

(160) Verified Reviews

Founded 1981 • With Angi since April 2005

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Licensed
Trade License Number
571196
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

227 W Carleton Ave

Orange, CA 92867

http://www.alansmithpools.com

Description

There’s A Reason Over 30,000 Families Have Trusted Alan Smith Pool Plastering Since 1981 We Always Insist On Doing Every Job Exactly Right. *No cheap sub standard cements, aggregates or pigments in our pool finishes *No sub-contracted, unqualified & inexperienced plastering finishers(We only have an “A” team) *Every job is run by a team of experts and has a dedicated project manager. *No inflated pricing, all estimates come from a company price list. Quality work at a fair price. What a concept! Yes you have dozens-maybe even hundreds of options- for resurfacing and remodeling your pool. And the question we get all the time is “why should we go with Alan Smith Pool Plastering?” To be up front with you, we’re not the cheapest contractor. We’re also not the fastest. If you are looking for fast and cheap, head down to the Home Depot or Lowe’s or call around to some of our competitors. That being said, our work is not exclusively for the rich and famous either. In fact, our typical customer has a 15,000 gallon pool, makes between $75,000-$100,000 in household income, and spends between $5,000-$15,000 with us on their pool and spa renovation.(yes several choose to upgrade and remodel their entire backyard with pavers, patio covers, masonry and outdoor lighting) In other words, we cater to people who can afford to do the job right the first time. People who want the job to outlast their lifetime, and we don’t want to save a few dollars by using cheap materials and labor instead of quality products and an experienced work force. Here’s what your really need to know. Our pool surface warranty is 10 YEARS because once we resurface your pool it is NOT coming off since we use advanced pool prepping technology that creates a high strength bond. Most of our jobs are from past customer and referrals from friends, neighbors and family-they like us enough to come back. We do a really good job-and we have since 1981. Call us to discuss your project....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(160) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

122

4

14

3

5

2

9

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

plastering (42)Pool Installers (33)hardscaping (14)Patios (2)pool cleaning (141)tile installation (33)masonry (13)concrete repair (11)patio enclosures (2)house painting (2)water heaters (2)stone & gravel (2)
Showing 1-10 of 160 reviews
1.0

03/02/2022


Jonathan S.

We hired Alan Smith Pools to redo our pool and pool deck in 2018. We used pavers for the deck material. 3 years later (within the 5year warranty period) we noticed OUR COPING DISINTEGRATING. This is occurring in random areas around the deck and not in any pattern or high traffic/splash areas (such as steps). It’s obviously poor quality materials. In addition our pavers are showing signs of degradation. We contacted Alan Smith Pools in August 2021. They sent someone out who agreed it was a problem. We then never heard anything else again. We contacted many times. Finally months later they said they would replace the most degraded coping pieces. Not acceptable to me. I want all of them replaced. 80% of them show some signs of degradation. Their COO Scott Raze came out and tried to blame our pool chemistry. We have a respected and professional pool man and he kept records which Caused Scott to have to find another cause. So next it was the domestic water. They tested that and it was fine. Then it was a drainage issue from 5 foot grassy knoll next to the pool deck that existed prior to the remodel….ludicrous. Finally, they said they’d meet with us with their material suppliers. That meeting hasn’t happened nor will they respond to us about it. Bottom line they are trying to do anything and find any excuse to not fix this issue. Now they won’t return calls or emails. They are the worst pool company you can pick. Attached are some photos. If you want to spend your money on masonry products that need to be replaced every 3 years then use Alan Smith Pools. If you want unprofessional people that won’t honor their warranties or stand behind their products snd installation, then use Alan Smith Pools.

Description of Work
Pool replaster with new paver pool deck.

Category ceramic tile,masonry,plastering,pool cleaners,hardscaping

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2018

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39645040

+3 More

5.0

09/30/2021


Oscar C.

He was very professional and on-time for the estimate appointment.

Description of Work
Pool remodeling.

Category swimming pools

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2021

5.0

09/22/2021


Kim C.

They did a great job. Our contractor was pushing mini pebble, we wanted plaster with quartz. Alan Smith was able to finish our job for us where our contractor fell through. Great communication and we love the color. Also had an option to add abalone. Did not do but would have looked great. They have so many options to choose from.

Description of Work
Pool plaster

Category plastering

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2020

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39487984
5.0

04/19/2021


Steve Z.

Alan Smith’s Pools did an excellent job. We had challenging structural issues, including the need for a complete spa wall replacement. The engineers knew exactly what to do. The result is amazing. My wife loves the blue pebble is finish. It truly looks like a brand new pool

Description of Work
Correct structural issues and refinish surface

Category ceramic tile,concrete repair,masonry,plastering

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2020

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39299635
5.0

04/19/2021


Steve Z.

Alan Smith’s Pools did an excellent job. We had challenging structural issues, including the need for a complete spa wall replacement. The engineers knew exactly what to do. The result is amazing. My wife loves the blue pebble is finish. It truly looks like a brand new pool.

Description of Work
Swimming Pool Repairs and Re-surfaced

Category ceramic tile,concrete repair,masonry,plastering,pool cleaners

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2021

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39366667
2.0

03/20/2021


pam W.

As of right now I would suggest looking at other pool companies. Our pool project has not been organized and the promised schedule of completion will not be met. The deadline is so important and stressed to ASP multiple times. I'm really hoping they turn things around and step up and deliver with their "NEW" timeline. Hoping to share a happy outcome and nice photos but at this point I would not recommend.

Description of Work
resurface pool and new tile

Category ceramic tile

Cost $33,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2021

5.0

03/18/2021


Jerry V.

They were very friendly and efficient! Excellent job

Description of Work
Replaster pool

Category ceramic tile,plastering

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2021

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39254502
5.0

03/12/2021


Marie S.

The process went PERFECT. The price was right and the timing was ahead of schedule. Chris did an amazing job making sure everything went well

Description of Work
Our pool needed some work done. New tile, new updated cement around the pool, etc.

Category ceramic tile,masonry

Cost $18,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2021

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39243710

+1 More

5.0

01/27/2021


Katerina C.

We had our pool and spa completely replastered in Spring 2020. It was great value for the money paid! The work was done within about a week or two. Everything went as planned. Great team and the team manager. Thank you!

Description of Work
Complete pool & spa replastering

Category ceramic tile,plastering,pool cleaners

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2020

5.0

01/13/2021


Mark S.

Very professional, knowledgeable and helpful company to work with. Excellent project management, quality and service. Pleasure to do business with.

Description of Work
Pool repair

Category masonry,pool cleaners

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2021

Services Offered

Pool Plastering, Resurfacing & Remodeling, Major Pool And Backyard Renovations Pool Design & Construction, Pool Tile & Coping Interlocking Pavers, Concrete, Travertine And Flagstone Decking Pool Equipment-Pumps, Filters, Heaters, Automation, Salt Systems, Alternative Sanitation Systems. Outdoor Living- Firepits, Outdoor Fire Places, Masonry, Landscape Lighting Rockwork-Rock Slides, Grottoes, Rock Features, Leak detections.

Services Not Offered

Pool Service or Small Repairs. Pool equipment repairs. Fiberglass refinishing. Vinyl pool liner replacements. We do not paint pools or spas. Reverse Osmosis.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
Senior Discount
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling

How is Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling overall rated?

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

What days are Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling open?

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling is open:

Monday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling provide

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

Does Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offer free estimates?

Yes, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers free project estimates.

Does Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Are warranties offered by Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling?

Yes, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers warranties.

What services does Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offer?

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers the following services: Pool Plastering, Resurfacing & Remodeling, Major Pool And Backyard Renovations Pool Design & Construction, Pool Tile & Coping Interlocking Pavers, Concrete, Travertine And Flagstone Decking Pool Equipment-Pumps, Filters, Heaters, Automation, Salt Systems, Alternative Sanitation Systems. Outdoor Living- Firepits, Outdoor Fire Places, Masonry, Landscape Lighting Rockwork-Rock Slides, Grottoes, Rock Features, Leak detections.

Are there any services Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling does not offer?

Pool Service or Small Repairs. Pool equipment repairs. Fiberglass refinishing. Vinyl pool liner replacements. We do not paint pools or spas. Reverse Osmosis.