Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling

Founded 1981 • With Angi since April 2005

There’s A Reason Over 30,000 Families Have Trusted Alan Smith Pool Plastering Since 1981 We Always Insist On Doing Every Job Exactly Right. *No cheap sub standard cements, aggregates or pigments in our pool finishes *No sub-contracted, unqualified & inexperienced plastering finishers(We only have an “A” team) *Every job is run by a team of experts and has a dedicated project manager. *No inflated pricing, all estimates come from a company price list. Quality work at a fair price. What a concept! Yes you have dozens-maybe even hundreds of options- for resurfacing and remodeling your pool. And the question we get all the time is “why should we go with Alan Smith Pool Plastering?” To be up front with you, we’re not the cheapest contractor. We’re also not the fastest. If you are looking for fast and cheap, head down to the Home Depot or Lowe’s or call around to some of our competitors. That being said, our work is not exclusively for the rich and famous either. In fact, our typical customer has a 15,000 gallon pool, makes between $75,000-$100,000 in household income, and spends between $5,000-$15,000 with us on their pool and spa renovation.(yes several choose to upgrade and remodel their entire backyard with pavers, patio covers, masonry and outdoor lighting) In other words, we cater to people who can afford to do the job right the first time. People who want the job to outlast their lifetime, and we don’t want to save a few dollars by using cheap materials and labor instead of quality products and an experienced work force. Here’s what your really need to know. Our pool surface warranty is 10 YEARS because once we resurface your pool it is NOT coming off since we use advanced pool prepping technology that creates a high strength bond. Most of our jobs are from past customer and referrals from friends, neighbors and family-they like us enough to come back. We do a really good job-and we have since 1981. We DO NOT clean pools. Call us to discuss your project.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
571196
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(162) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

124

4

14

3

5

2

10

1

9

Rating Details

Price
4.4
Professionalism
4.7
Punctuality
4.6
Quality
4.8
Responsiveness
4.5

Read reviews by category

pool cleaning (142)plastering (42)Pool Installers (33)hardscaping (13)Patios (2)tile installation (33)masonry (12)concrete repair (11)
Showing 1-25 of 162 reviews
Tim D.
5.0
10/29/2022
We Love how our pool turned out !!!! All the specific stages and employees really know what they are doing and were fun to work with. Our project manager C.J. did a great job working with us the whole way.
Description of Work
Complete pool remodel with all new plumbing and Equpment
Category
pool cleaners
Cost
$50,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Linda V.
5.0
10/06/2022
Rarely am I moved enough to write a review about my personal experience with a company….. this is the exception and for compelling reasons. Over eight years ago, my husband and I hired Allen Smith Pools to resurface our pool and spa, install new water line and other tiles and additional miscellaneous work to completely rehab our then 18 year old pool. Their finish is warranted for 10 years. Recently, our spa developed a rather significant leak which was determined to be coming through a crack in the pebble aggregate finish installed 8 years ago. ASPs came out and epoxy patched the leak which successfully ended the water loss but was cosmetically unacceptable and which did not determine the cause of the crack. This past week, large crews, trucks, equipment and materials showed up at our home for many successive days and nearly the entire spa was demolished and rebuilt, including rebar tied in, plumbing fixed, new pebble finish (perfect match to 8 year old pool). During that process, it was determined that the crack was caused by sub-standard ORIGINAL construction practices. DESPITE THE CAUSE OF THE LEAK BEING DUE TO ORIGINAL CONSTRUCTION DEFICIENCIES, 18 YEARS before ASPs stepped foot on our property and by a different contractor, ASPs stood behind their warranty and fixed EVERYTHING, including, at no cost to us, replacing upwards of 30 tiles which were cracked and which had nothing to do with the spa finish crack. Rick Specht and Dario and Darren all worked together to solve this problem and ensure the warranty was honored. How often in today’s world of “bottom line” business does a company just do the right thing and then go above and beyond to boot? If any homeowner needs ANY pool or spa work done, cash a winning ticket and contact Alan Smith Pools. I’m still pinching myself.

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39900130Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39900130
Description of Work
Fix spa leak
Category
ceramic tile, pool cleaners
Hire Again?
Yes
Oscar C.
5.0
09/30/2021
He was very professional and on-time for the estimate appointment.
Description of Work
Pool remodeling.
Category
swimming pools
Hire Again?
Yes
Kim C.
5.0
09/22/2021
They did a great job. Our contractor was pushing mini pebble, we wanted plaster with quartz. Alan Smith was able to finish our job for us where our contractor fell through. Great communication and we love the color. Also had an option to add abalone. Did not do but would have looked great. They have so many options to choose from.

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39487984
Description of Work
Pool plaster
Category
plastering
Cost
$10,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Miguel L.
2.0
07/11/2021
I would receive simple responses to my concerns during the project but the in action of the solution never was simple. Every aspect of the job was delayed. I was told 3-4 weeks to completion. After 3.5 months I asked for my backyard back & they can finish in the winter. It would go WEEKS without any work being done nor updates. Billing was consistently inaccurate. I would be billed for things that were not ordered. Sub-contractors did not have accurate information on what WAS in the original contract. If I did not double check, certain things would not have been left out but and I was being billed for (ie copper wiring underneath decking). There seemed to be little effort in getting things done properly the first time around. Many aspects of the remodel had to be redone or touched up by the company's own recommendation. Sub-contractors caused significant damage to pre-existing turf. I was REIMBURSED half 6 months after having to find & pay for repairs with another specialty company.
Description of Work
Pool Remodel
Category
plastering
Cost
$45,000
Steve Z.
5.0
04/19/2021
Alan Smith’s Pools did an excellent job. We had challenging structural issues, including the need for a complete spa wall replacement. The engineers knew exactly what to do. The result is amazing. My wife loves the blue pebble is finish. It truly looks like a brand new pool.

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39366667
Description of Work
Swimming Pool Repairs and Re-surfaced
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, masonry, plastering, pool cleaners
Hire Again?
Yes
Steve Z.
5.0
04/19/2021
Alan Smith’s Pools did an excellent job. We had challenging structural issues, including the need for a complete spa wall replacement. The engineers knew exactly what to do. The result is amazing. My wife loves the blue pebble is finish. It truly looks like a brand new pool

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39299635
Description of Work
Correct structural issues and refinish surface
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, masonry, plastering
Cost
$25,000
Hire Again?
Yes
pam W.
2.0
03/20/2021
As of right now I would suggest looking at other pool companies. Our pool project has not been organized and the promised schedule of completion will not be met. The deadline is so important and stressed to ASP multiple times. I'm really hoping they turn things around and step up and deliver with their "NEW" timeline. Hoping to share a happy outcome and nice photos but at this point I would not recommend.
Description of Work
resurface pool and new tile
Category
ceramic tile
Cost
$33,000
Jerry V.
5.0
03/18/2021
They were very friendly and efficient! Excellent job

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39254502
Description of Work
Replaster pool
Category
ceramic tile, plastering
Hire Again?
Yes
Marie S.
5.0
03/12/2021
The process went PERFECT. The price was right and the timing was ahead of schedule. Chris did an amazing job making sure everything went well

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39243710Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 39243710
Description of Work
Our pool needed some work done. New tile, new updated cement around the pool, etc.
Category
ceramic tile, masonry
Cost
$18,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Katerina C.
5.0
01/27/2021
We had our pool and spa completely replastered in Spring 2020. It was great value for the money paid! The work was done within about a week or two. Everything went as planned. Great team and the team manager. Thank you!
Description of Work
Complete pool & spa replastering
Category
ceramic tile, plastering, pool cleaners
Cost
$12,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Mark S.
5.0
01/13/2021
Very professional, knowledgeable and helpful company to work with. Excellent project management, quality and service. Pleasure to do business with.
Description of Work
Pool repair
Category
masonry, pool cleaners
Hire Again?
Yes
Elizabeth L.
5.0
01/13/2021
We had our old 1969 style pool redone by Alan Smith Pools. We requested quotes from 3 companies and went with Alan Smith. Our sales rep - Chris - was the best. He came over when he said he would and he met us at the showroom to help pick out tile and go over the different types of plaster finishes and copings. There were several teams that came to our house to remove the old pool, install new plumbing, install a new Baja Shelf, do the coping and plastering and tile installation. Everyone on the teams were friendly and got along with our dogs. They cleaned up after themselves and did a great job. We received many comments from our friends and family this summer about how wonderful the pool looks. We love the new Baja Shelf. When a friend decided that he saw a rust spot in our pool and tried to fix it, he bleached out the pebble tech leaving an obvious white spot. Alan Smith Pools sent an employee over, no charge, and fixed the bleached out area. We didn't even have to drain the pool!
Description of Work
Remove old pool and update and install pebble tech plaster and tile
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, masonry, plastering, pool cleaners, swimming pools
Cost
$32,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Dan P.
1.0
12/16/2020
Called and never got a reply and don't want one. So please I don't need any threating calls from this guy.
Description of Work
Spa and pool repair
Category
pool cleaners
Ken G.
5.0
11/12/2020
They gave a good estimate and I could tell their service was great. Just went with a company at a lower price point.
Description of Work
Need to replaster an existing pool
Category
swimming pools
Hire Again?
Yes
Alberto S.
5.0
11/03/2020
Alan Smith pools service was great...they always should up on time, finished the job on the day they said they would, and most importantly was there to answer any and all questions my wife and I had...we will definitely recommend them to all of our friends and family...

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 38998877
Description of Work
Remodeled pool
Category
ceramic tile, swimming pools
Cost
$15,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Matt B.
5.0
10/31/2020
Quoted by three contractors for replastering. Alam Smith was the most professional contractor I have used so far. There were no surprises throughout the entire process. The sale person was knowledgeable, professional and provided advice based on steps within the process. We actually upgraded a couple steps/installations because we trusted in the process and people. I absolutely believe you get what you pay for and the quality of work was excellent! Since they have been around for a while, I know my warranty will stick.

Images

Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 38992295Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 38992295Review for Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling - 227 W Carleton Ave, Orange, CA - 38992295
Description of Work
Replaster, Tile and Slurry
Category
ceramic tile, swimming pools
Cost
$25,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Melvyn S.
5.0
04/24/2020
Excellent, prompt service with attention to detail by Patrick Jackson who was the project manager for prior major reconstruction and conversion of spa valves and associated controls. Note that we also converted the pool to salt water and added pebbletec on another occasion, again with AlanSmith and his staff. We also purchaseda new pool filter from company recommended by Patrick Jackson. We highly recommend Alan Smith Pool Remodeling.
Description of Work
Repair of spa valve and purchase and inatallation of new pool filter.
Category
pool cleaners
Hire Again?
Yes
Robert & Maria R.
5.0
10/29/2019
They came and did their job with pride my POOL is beautiful
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair
Category
ceramic tile, masonry, plastering, pool cleaners, pavers, gravel, swimming pools
Hire Again?
Yes
S. M.
5.0
10/29/2019
I work in the commercial real estate development business... and have an unforgiving eye for details. Without exception, the quality of their work and final product has to be the best in the business... Alan Smith Pools exceeded my expectations.
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair (Tile and Plaster)
Category
ceramic tile, plastering, pool cleaners
Cost
$20,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Adrienne G.
5.0
10/29/2019
Great! Work was done in a timely manner and my pool looks like new.
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair
Category
ceramic tile, plastering, pool cleaners
Cost
$8,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Sarah C.
5.0
10/29/2019
The team was great. Notified every morning by email who would be there and their scope of work. Everyone was courteous and respectful of my home (like double checking the pool gate was closed when they left for lunch or every day, I have a little one, very important!). They kept things clean as they went along and did a final clean at the end. One of the crew noticed some material got on the RV in the driveway somehow and went back to his truck, grabbed a rag and cleaned it up! Loved this company!!
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair
Category
pool cleaners
Cost
$17,000
Hire Again?
Yes
greg G.
5.0
10/29/2019
Great....very happy with the results.
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair
Category
plastering, pool cleaners
Cost
$3,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Roy B.
5.0
10/29/2019
Alan Smith is an Exceptional family pool building company. I had a 35 year old pool totally remodeled, including all new plumbing, electrical, plaster ( New plaster product called Wet Edge ), all new equipment / heater, pumps, etc. I recommend Alan Smith as a contractor with great integrity, and I'm sure you will be happy if you select Alan Smith as your contractor.
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, masonry, plastering, pool cleaners, hardscaping, patios, swimming pools
Cost
$65,000
Hire Again?
Yes
LaRue F.
5.0
10/29/2019
Generally everything proceeded well. They removed the old plaster and replaced it with a pebble finish re-plaster. It's a beautiful finish and is impressive to those who have viewed it.
Description of Work
Pool & Spa Service and Repair
Category
plastering, pool cleaners
Hire Again?
Yes

Phone

Address

227 W Carleton Ave

Orange, CA 92867

Monday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Website

http://www.alansmithpools.com

Other Information

Services offered

Pool & Spa Leak Detections, Pool Plastering, Resurfacing & Remodeling, Major Pool And Backyard Renovations Pool Design & Construction, Pool Tile & Coping Interlocking Pavers, Concrete, Travertine And Flagstone Decking Pool Equipment-Pumps, Filters, Heaters, Automation, Salt Systems, Alternative Sanitation Systems. Outdoor Living- Firepits, Outdoor Fire Places, Masonry, Landscape Lighting Rockwork-Rock Slides, Grottoes, Rock Features, Leak detections.

Services not offered

Pool Service or Small Repairs. Pool equipment repairs. Fiberglass refinishing. Vinyl pool liner replacements. We do not paint pools or spas.

Covid-19 update

We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available
Check

FAQ

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling is open:

Monday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 5:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check

Yes, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers free project estimates.

Yes, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers warranties.

Alan Smith Pool Plastering & Remodeling offers the following services: Pool & Spa Leak Detections, Pool Plastering, Resurfacing & Remodeling, Major Pool And Backyard Renovations Pool Design & Construction, Pool Tile & Coping Interlocking Pavers, Concrete, Travertine And Flagstone Decking Pool Equipment-Pumps, Filters, Heaters, Automation, Salt Systems, Alternative Sanitation Systems. Outdoor Living- Firepits, Outdoor Fire Places, Masonry, Landscape Lighting Rockwork-Rock Slides, Grottoes, Rock Features, Leak detections.

Pool Service or Small Repairs. Pool equipment repairs. Fiberglass refinishing. Vinyl pool liner replacements. We do not paint pools or spas.