Thor McAndrew Construction

Founded 1998 • With Angi since July 2008

Thor McAndrew Construction is a family owned and operated business since 1998. We pride ourselves in providing prompt and couteous service to all of our customers. We are licensed and insured and provide free estimates.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageBefore

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
742776
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(80) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

76

4

2

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price
4.8
Professionalism
5.0
Punctuality
5.0
Quality
5.0
Responsiveness
5.0

Read reviews by category

drywall (76)plastering (11)interior painting (5)insulation (5)water damage restoration (3)floor cleaning (1)home remodeling (1)
Showing 1-25 of 80 reviews
Sandra J.
5.0
04/26/2023
It went great. They were very professional but yet friendly. They were on time and very neat and thorough and cleaned up after themselves. Before starting they advised us about our plumbing problem that needed to be done first. We were glad to fix the problem before it became more serious. We would use them again and refer.
Description of Work
Drywall patches
Category
drywall
Cost
$650
Hire Again?
Yes
JOHN A.
5.0
01/19/2023
We are so happy with the quality of work and service we received. They were prompt, very clean, and provided the best customer experience we have had in quite some time. Highly recommend !!!!!!!!
Description of Work
DRYWALL REPAIR
Category
drywall
Hire Again?
Yes
Ebenezer D.
5.0
01/19/2023
We are very satisfied with the job of Thor Mcandrew. We highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Drywall
Category
drywall
Hire Again?
Yes
Ray J.
5.0
06/06/2022
Very professional team, they came out and did an amazing job. They were very clean and organized, HIGHLY recommend this company if anyone needs drywall repair work done. Thank you so much guys!
Description of Work
Dry wall removal and repair.
Category
drywall, insulation
Cost
$1,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Mark U.
5.0
01/15/2021
Where do I start? These guys are absolutely amazing. Truly pros at what they do. The quality of work is the best I've seen yet. They were extremely accommodating while working within the schedule. Their pricing was more than fair, considering the level of work they performed. They were courteous when the job was completed by cleaning up after themselves. They never missed an appointment, always showing up when they promised, and on time. No drama when it came to adding additional fees that went beyond the agreed scope of the project. Would I recommend them- absolutely! I'm keeping Thor McAndrew Construction on my list of GO-TO guys for any future drywall work. Thank you for a job well done! Mark, Walnut, California
Description of Work
Re-Drywall entire living room
Category
drywall
Cost
$10,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Todd M.
5.0
11/20/2020
The Thor Team was very professional, expedient and efficient. I would highly recommend them to anybody looking for interior drywall work.
Description of Work
fresh drywall and texture in a small room
Category
drywall
Hire Again?
Yes
Mike O.
5.0
11/13/2020
Excellent. We are so very pleased with the repairs. These gentlemen were very professional. Kept everything clean as they worked and did an amazing job in matching the knockdown on the finished walls. Work completed on time. I highly recommend this company to everyone!!
Description of Work
Drywall repairs on 3 walls and ceiling.
Category
drywall
Cost
$950
Hire Again?
Yes
Anthony S.
5.0
06/13/2020
It went well. It was completed over three partial days since they had to spray for mold and allow to dry. They kept me updated as to the progress and were punctual and friendly. This is the second job that they have done at the house and I am very pleased with their work! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to my family and friends!
Description of Work
Replace drywall in bedroom due to water damage from leaking roof.
Category
drywall, insulation, water damage restoration
Cost
$3,300
Hire Again?
Yes
nilo S.
5.0
07/18/2019
He was punctual with the appointment . He wrote the proposal right away very professional The project did not go thru because something came up . But he was very polite n understanding on my questions. I would ask him for another proposal and call him again if I have a drywall job to be done
Description of Work
Drywall ceiling
Category
drywall
Cost
$3,400
Hire Again?
Yes
Kathryn L.
5.0
03/22/2019
Beautiful job. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Drywall for living room and dinner room.
Category
drywall
Hire Again?
Yes
ann G.
5.0
01/10/2019
perfect. very nice, responsible, punctual, and did great work.
Description of Work
drywalled part of a wall
Category
drywall, insulation, plastering
Cost
$550
Hire Again?
Yes
Michael B.
5.0
08/29/2017
The guys were on time, friendly, clean, and did excellent work. I highly recommend and would definitely call them again. I only wish they painted & hung doors so the job could have been completed all at one time. But the work they did do was spot on.
Description of Work
Rebuild a closet, repair wall & ceiling damaged by water.
Category
drywall, insulation
Hire Again?
Yes
William R.
5.0
07/31/2017
Other than the color (for which we'll have a painter come in later) you can't even tell where the hole was. They worked quick & clean.
Description of Work
We had a slab leak in our office/bedroom that needed to be re-routed, so the plumbing company had to cut two holes in the drywall to fix the leak by bypassing it. This left two big holes in the walls. Cody and his crew came in, fixed the drywall and matched the texture perfectly.
Category
drywall
Cost
$700
Hire Again?
Yes
William S.
3.0
07/24/2017
Moving on too the kitchen they refused to give a bid and exclude he portion of the job related to the beam they falsely claimed was a hazard. Again, I would never endanger my family. The electrical job was done by two Highly rated Angie's List electricians with 30 year experience each and I even offer then the receipt. There was no reason not to bid other than they knew their bid would be too high. I say this because they did not claim to be to busy and the kitchen in relatively small needing only 5 drywall boards 1/2" thick on the ceiling, and 7 drywall/greenwood boards on the walls. They were informed that I used to sell 120+ homes a year for 6 straight years before contracting Lupus and neurological diseases. I told them I would be getting back into business and selling about 1 property a week by 2018. In my opinion, they knew I know what a fair price was and since they could not offer reasonable/fair prices they did not want to quote me for just the kitchen. My business is counter-cyclical with the economy meaning i have more business during economic downturns. If a company is only offering higher than retail pricing during high contractor demand and not planing for the several recessions to com during out lifetime they will be one of those contractors that starve and beg for work during recessions because they did not built loyal repeat business from flippers and renovators. I'm sure int he short run they are feeling rich and buying bigger housed and nicer cars now with no though to the future and their home values will crash at the exact same time their business does. They do not have a business plan for this contingency. Not giving a bid and wasting my time shows a lack of professionalism with gave them a D rating in this category. ( I received a good bid for all the work, including the beam patch from a highly rated contractor for $1625. and look forward to giving him huge amounts of business in the future.) I have o guess Thor would be twice as much because they are to scared to say. I really do wish Cody Andrew's boss would come over a second look today or early tomorrow as I am hiring a contractor or this job by then
Description of Work
Drywall Entire kitchen. Drywall two large patches in Living Room and Family Room. Cody McAndrew declined my business or even to make an offer. He declined ostensibly because he felt i was hiding unsafe work from a home inspector. I explained to him that besides the 2 2" x12" boards, the 2 x 4" added and 2' x 6" added that I would be adding two additional 2" x 12" and two additional 2"x6". Given that 3.5 of the 2" x 12" were cut into by a crazy contractor who lied about his credentials in the end the original 2" x 12 were turned into 2" x 6". I have added 4 full 2" x 12" are added, as will as three 2" x 6", 1 2"x4". Now it has four 2" x 12" as originally there + four 2" x 12" that have 6" remaining, three 2" x 12", and one 2" x 4". All together it has twice the support of as it originally had. It is safe or my family which we have no attention of ever selling and I am confident no one wold be in danger. I believe the job was realty turned down because they knew their bid would be too high. The idea that what has being done is unsafe if a red herring. I therefor rated then a C at best, because I feel they were afraid to price it.
Category
drywall
Cost
$3,250
Chris H.
5.0
05/10/2017
Absolutely great. Cody and Eric, the two brothers who operate the company, were awesome from the very beginning when I called to get an estimate. Here's how it went beginning to end: 1) Phone call - answered and set appointment for estimate (same day) 2) Appointment for Estimate - on time and professional 3) Scheduled Job for 8:00am - arrived at 7:55am 4) Prep work - masked off and draped all work areas 5) The Job - Great, you would never know I had 18 holes in my walls/ceilings! 6) Clean up - Thorough and complete...like they were never here I probably shouldn't say this in a public form, but I had small 2 areas that were not quoted on during the estimate and the fixed them for free (don't tell them I shared that!). These guys did a great job, I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
I had an electrician put recessed lights in two rooms. To do this they made about 18 holes in the ceilings and walls. The electrician does not do drywall repair so I needed to hire an experience drywall company to do the job.
Category
drywall
Cost
$735
Hire Again?
Yes
Margaret P.
5.0
04/16/2017
I was happy with the work performed; would hire again.
Description of Work
repair cracks in ceiling and walls, remove popcorn from upstairs ceilings
Category
drywall
Hire Again?
Yes
Nicholas L.
5.0
11/04/2016
These guys are the best. They were very responsive, and we set an appointment for them to come look at the job. They gave us a quote, and stated they were able to start the work within our requested time frame. They took two days to apply four coats of plaster to the ceiling, including sanding/finishing, as well as fixing all of the wall cracks. Extremely polite and detail-oriented, I believe they executed the work like it was their own house. The ceiling turned out perfectly smooth, it looks like it was original. We are going to have them come back in the future for additional work - at this point I would not even consider hiring anyone else, the quality of the work is truly artisan quality.
Description of Work
We recently purchased a 1926 craftsman farmhouse. Lath and plaster walls throughout. After we did some structural repairs to the ceiling in the large living/dining room area, the ceiling plaster was in poor shape do to previous acoustic texture applied (which we scraped off ourselves), as well as exposed metal lath, and cracks in the wall plaster caused by the shifting of weight when the structural repairs were made. We hired Thor McAndrew construction to repair all cracks in the walls and ceiling, and smooth out the ceiling to a flat texture to match the existing plaster wall texture.
Category
drywall, plastering
Cost
$2,400
Hire Again?
Yes
Jerry N.
5.0
08/09/2016
They were prompt, very professional and efficient. The work was done quickly and now it is hard to tell the old from the new. Perfect match on the texture coat. They did such a good job I recommended them to my sister for some patch work she needs. Thanks guys!!
Description of Work
Hanging drywall to finish some renovation work, and finish it to match existing textured walls.
Category
drywall
Cost
$1,400
Hire Again?
Yes
Tonya D.
5.0
07/19/2016
These guys are awesome! They responded to my message in a timely manner, came and did an estimate on the same day and the work was completed the following day. The brothers are very friendly, did excellent work and cleaned up nicely. I highly recommend Thor McAndrew Construction for your drywall needs.
Description of Work
Drywall and texture new ceiling in laundry room, take old mirrors down and fix wall from an old bar area, and fix small hole made by doorknob in bathroom.
Category
drywall
Cost
$600
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you are happy with the work that we did in your home. We wish you the best of luck and hope all goes well for you in your new venture. Thanks again
clifford M.
5.0
01/16/2016
Great people to work with. Friendly and professional. They did a great job.
Description of Work
Framed an opening and put up drywall. Installed french doors. Removed a window and replaced it with drywall.
Category
drywall
Cost
$2,300
Hire Again?
Yes
Debra A.
5.0
07/01/2015
While others had turned away from this difficult job, the people from Thor McAndrew were positive and thoughtful about the repair and the timeline. They arrived on time, were very professional and our ceiling looks beautiful. I would highly recommend them and be happy to use their services again.
Description of Work
The peak of the ceiling of our three story home had damage from a roof leak and the tape for the drywall and parts of the drywall were damaged.
Category
drywall, water damage restoration
Cost
$670
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the review we really appreciate it. We are glad that you are happy with the work that we did in your home. We are happy that we had the proper equipment to handle this job for you. We hope you have a great time on vacation and if you ever need anything else please don't hesitate to call. Thanks
Jared K.
5.0
04/26/2015
From the initial call, Erik and Cody were fantastic. Came out for a same-day estimate, completed the work true to their pricing. Extremely nice, honest, professional gentlemen that did a fantastic job. I'd highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Re-plastered walls in bathroom, included a couple holes worn by moisture and one that was door-sized down-to-the-studs.
Category
drywall, plastering
Cost
$700
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving us a review, we appreciate it. We are glad that you are happy with the work that we completed in your home. Hopefully finishing the renovation to your bathroom will go just as smoothly as the work that we did. If you ever need anything else we would be more then happy to help you out. Thanks
bryan C.
5.0
04/24/2015
These guys were very punctual and honest about their evaluation of my concerns.
Description of Work
Gave an estimate and advised to go a different direction
Category
drywall
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate it. We hope that you were able to get that done without any problems and that you were able to sell your property. If you need anything else or have any drywall work in your new home please don't hesitate to call. Thanks
Donald R.
5.0
03/26/2015
Arrived on time. Work was done quickly and cleanly. End result was excellent.
Description of Work
Repaired damaged kitchen ceiling.
Category
drywall, remodeling
Cost
$475
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review we really appreciate it. We are glad that you are happy with the work that we did in your home. If you ever need anything else please just let us know. Thanks again.
Roberta W.
5.0
03/11/2015
Erik & Cody must make their father proud. They conduct themselves in a highly professional way and their work is outstanding. When you can't tell a repair was done, that is a sign of an experienced professional. Wouldn't hesitate to use them again. They reconstructed the bathroom wall framing and drywall in order to install 2 medicine cabinets, repaired the back side of the bathroom wall that had also been damaged, repaired a large drywall hole and assorted small holes in a room being readied for painting.
Description of Work
Repaired another drywaller's poor workmanship, related to preparing a wall for new medicine cabinets, and completed some patchwork in another room.
Category
drywall, interior painters
Cost
$500
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us a review we really appreciate it. We are happy that we were able to support the wall the way it should have been and that you are happy with the work that we did in your home. Our dad is very proud of us and I will definetly tell him you said that. Thanks so much

Phone

Address

780 E Francis Suite K

Ontario, CA 91761

Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Website

http://www.thordrywall.com

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Drywall installation & repair, room additions, entertainment center, plumber damage, water damage, architectural designs, texture to match existing, orange peel, acoustic, knock down, garage make overs, electrician damage & interior plaster repair, commercial services include: metal stud framing, break rooms, tenant improvement, demolition, demising walls & architectural designs.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Thor McAndrew Construction is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Thor McAndrew Construction is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thor McAndrew Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Thor McAndrew Construction offers free project estimates.

No, Thor McAndrew Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Thor McAndrew Construction does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Thor McAndrew Construction offers warranties.

Thor McAndrew Construction offers the following services: Drywall installation & repair, room additions, entertainment center, plumber damage, water damage, architectural designs, texture to match existing, orange peel, acoustic, knock down, garage make overs, electrician damage & interior plaster repair, commercial services include: metal stud framing, break rooms, tenant improvement, demolition, demising walls & architectural designs.