Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction

Founded 1993 • With Angi since March 2011

4.2

(111) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

850 42nd Ave # 501

Oakland, CA 94601

Description

Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction has more than 30 years of experienced in the field of construction. Serving the Northern California area. We are a group of skilled carpenters, plumbers, electricians, and craftsmen who are at the top of our trade. We have over 30 years of combined

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/27/2014


Jessica O.

Worst experience. I'm disappointed that you guys recommended them.

Description of Work
They couldn't do anything. They came out a couple times and didn't and wouldn't perform any of the tasks we had. Some times they said they didn't know what to do. Sometimes they said it wasn't covered. One time the man said the guy who was supposed to show up is drunk so they sent him.

Category handyman service

1.0

06/21/2014


Ellen M.

I called several times and talked to them about certain jobs I needed around the house. The man I spoke with was ignorant. I decided not to use them because I felt like they were saying it would take way too long to perform certain jobs. He also expected the home owner to take measurements, buy the product, etc.

Description of Work
I bought the Big Deal for $99 for three hours of handyman service.

Category handyman service

4.0

06/11/2014


Sudheer S.

Went very well, just that they charge u a lot for additional hours

Description of Work
Did Drywall repair and sealing(caulking) of bathtub

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service

1.0

04/04/2014


Julie P.

I responded to the offer but no one ever called me back. I couldn't believe it.

Description of Work
They never called me back. I finally notified Angie's List and my money was refunded.

Category handyman service

3.0

03/24/2014


kevin K.

It went fairly well. Only issues was that we had scheduled an early morning appt. for which i had to stay home from work only to receive a call that they were having to go to another job site and would be a couple hours late. Quality was good and workers were nice.

Description of Work
Wall hangings, ceiling fan installation and light fixtures.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, ceiling fans

5.0

03/19/2014


Mr. B.

Absolutely great! He really helped!

Description of Work
He came out to our office to put up an eyeglass rack.

Category woodworking

5.0

03/11/2014


Jeanne P.

I thought the service was great and I was pleased with the work.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for three hours of home repair. I enjoyed working with Carlyle and the contractor he hired. They hung a door for me. They had to fit it and mount it.

Category doors

5.0

02/15/2014


Ronald S.

Installation was done well. Installers were on time to the job, professional and courteous. I will use them again when I need help. Thanks, Ron Satter

Description of Work
Installed a new electric stovetop in kitchen.

Category handyman service

4.0

02/10/2014


elaine L.

We had difficulty scheduling a time for them to come out to do the service, since they were only available on Wednesdays to do work.

Description of Work
They did not come out and do the 3 hours of handman service for $99 that I had purchased a big deal for.

Category handyman service

4.0

01/23/2014


Renee F.

They did excellent. They were on time and professional.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $109 for Three Hours of Handyman Service

Category handyman service

2.0

01/08/2014


Jeffrey P.

My Old review is below and I wish I had waited until the first good rain before leaving it. At the first storm water came streaming in and has damaged my wall and base boards. I can only image the mold living in there now. I have attempted to contact Mr Fix-its several times over weeks and no one will call me back. I have left messages as well as spoke with receptionists and gotten no where. All of it caused by inadequate caulking. I'm so disappointed I don't have words. Do not use this company. If the work doesn't go smoothly or something is wrong after they leave, you're on your own. Fantastic! They we're personable and fun to work with and didn't mind me watching and trying to absorb some of their vast knowledge. They took the challenges in stride and kept me involved with the proposed solutions. The finished product is gorgeous and I have no concerns about its longevity. They succeeded where previous Contractors shied away and did it for a great price. Thank you so much!!

Description of Work
Installed an in-wall dog door.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/07/2014


Anne P.

He did the work promptly and expertly, even though he wasn't able to fix the antiquated window mechanism. I had a glitch in getting through to the front office, though nothing too frustrating. I would definitely use the service again, since I paid for three hours and he was done in 1.5. I'll just have to amass more work before calling again with such a deal!

Description of Work
The "handyman" arrived promptly and fixed a door off its hinges, hung a set of blinds and examined a window unit in need of repair.

Category handyman service

4.0

01/02/2014


Wendy B.

I didn't like that with 20 min left he wouldn't try to hang any pictures because it might take longer than 20 min and that was company policy. He said if it ran any longer he was supposed to charge for a full hour at full price. That seemed wrong.

Description of Work
An Angie 's big deal. The work was good, putting new cabinet pulls and fixing the dryer vent outlet.

Category remodeling

2.0

12/18/2013


Maria T.

He charged me a lot of money and he was lousy. The boss came over without any tools and he asked me for tools. Then I had a flood because he didn't do it right. I called them and they sent somebody else. That guy was good. The first guy, I guess he was the boss. He was lousy. In the end, it was okay. The end result was okay. The second guy did a good job. I wouldn't use them again. He just did a lousy job the first time. It was terrible. He didn't do it right. Within a month later, it broke. I had some water damage but I just swallowed it. I would not recommend them to anybody. I would not use them again.

Description of Work
I have used Mr. Fix it Handyman Services & Construction for under the sink to set off the machine for something. They had to dig a hole and connect the machine. I had a water machine that cleans the water.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

12/12/2013


Deirdre M.

The big deal was $99 for 3 hours of work. He came prepared and was able to go up into the attic and kept working on that until it worked properly.

Description of Work
I have purchased a big deal for Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction. He put in a cabinet for us and fixed couple of light fixtures for us. He also fixed a toilet.

Category electrician, plumbing

5.0

12/09/2013


patricia D.

It was good. He was very polite and knowledgeable. He told me exactly what I needed to get the job done so that was good. I think the price was fair.

Description of Work
I had some remodeling done by Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction. He just fit in a dryer outlet for my laundry room.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/05/2013


Lisa D.

It turned out very good. There were no additional charges beyond the big deal amount. I would recommend them. They came out the next day after I purchased the deal. They did the job in a timely manner. The gentleman seemed very knowledgeable in what he was doing. The deal was good.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction. They did some deck work for me.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

11/20/2013


Terry G.

"Handy" is the right description for this service. We had a bit of a complex situation to fit a 19" dishwasher into a 42" cabinet, but they figured it out with a creative and cost effective solution. Thanks!

Description of Work
Assist with the installation of dishwasher, replacing existing cabinetry.

Category handyman service

3.0

11/20/2013


Patricia D.

He came out, did a casual look over, took no measurements of doors that needed replacing. Made the job seem like no big deal and it actually required 3 doors being replaced and dry rot repair.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/15/2013


JUDY M.

Very professional and friendly. Showed up timely and did the work quickly and cleaned up after himself.

Description of Work
drilled hole and installed doorknob on exterior door (previously there was a dummy doorknob; hung toilet roll hanger; fixed gate latch on exterior gate; and replaced support on handrail on stairway and patched hole in wall from hanger.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/07/2013


David L.

I missed getting the required materials so that wasted some time. If that was not done, more work would have been completed.

Description of Work
Fix board in deck. Calk tub. Take down picture

Category handyman service, remodeling

3.0

10/28/2013


Cosette C.

A little frustrating. Was scheduled for between 9-10, showed at 10:30. Seemed quite surprised by the work, but maybe he hadn't done one before. Estimate was $120, and yes I realize that's an Estimate, but he started off telling me it would probably be about $200. I don't know if he really didn't want to do the job, if he was emerging on the conservative side, or if he thought I wouldn't know what the job entailed. Job finally done for $140. All in all, he did a nice job, making sure to caulk and frame the opening well. Just wish his attitude hadn't shown quite so much.

Description of Work
Installed cat door in exterior wall.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/27/2013


Yusuf A.

The rod was setup properly at that time but after putting in curtain, the height was off little bit. We will need to adjust the same. But otherwise we are happy with the service.

Description of Work
Service was provided curtain rod setup.

Category handyman service

2.0

10/23/2013


Robert L.

Work to be done was plumbing. Vendor sent a tradesman over on 10/07/13. Tradesman quoted time overage charges 31% higher than what I was told over the phone. This particular tradesman didn't have the necessary tools, nor, per his own evaluation, did he have the necessary expertise. He went to his truck, made a number of calls, informed me that "the company" would send over someone qualified, and simply drove away. I lost an entire day, I called the company which did not know of what had occurred. They arranged to have another tradesman come over the following day. He arrived, worked very hard, and did superb work. The second tradesman was excellent. A couple of days later, the company called me to inform me that the first tradesman no longer worked for them, and was trying to steal clients. All in all, I was satisfied, but the company must do a better job of vetting their sub-contractors/employees. All of my average ratings and the overall rating were Ds. The first technician earned all Fs, the second all As, and the "order taker" and corporate representative spoken to earned Cs at most. Three vouchers were allowed to be purchased on the website deal. I purchased three. They would honor only one

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from Mr Fix it Handyman Services and Construction.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

10/14/2013


Vincent M.

It went fine. Gordon and Terry really nice guys and overcame some obstacles to complete the job.

Description of Work
Installed two ceiling fans

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

    Other local Pros in your area

    Platinum Paving

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Attic Pros

    Attic Pros is your go-to attic insulation installation and rodent removal contractor in San Francisco Bay Area. We offer a wide range of services for rodent removal, attic cleaning, insulation replacement, and crawl space cleaning to meet all your needs. Our team is dedicated to providing you with the best possible customer service. Contact us today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Apex Window Cleaning, Inc.

    Apex window cleaning, Inc. is a business devoted to help the bay area keep a clear view  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Handyman including fencing, decks, dry rot, windows, doors, flooring, retain walls, concrete work, roofing, water damage, painting, drywall, texture, molding, stucco work, stairs & handicap ramp.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction

    How is Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction overall rated?

    Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction open?

    Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction provide

    Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction?

    Yes, Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offer?

    Mr Fix it Handyman Services & Construction offers the following services: Handyman including fencing, decks, dry rot, windows, doors, flooring, retain walls, concrete work, roofing, water damage, painting, drywall, texture, molding, stucco work, stairs & handicap ramp.