Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hurray Construction

Founded 1999 • With Angi since July 2009

4.8

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1768 Leimert Blvd

Oakland, CA 94602

Description

My company has been in business since 1999 and my reputation speaks for itself. My main projects have been kitchen and bathroom remodeling in the city of San Francisco, although some projects include seismic retro fitting, decks, and additions. All rough and finish work. My main goal is to get

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

07/20/2015


Laura J.

Description of Work
I waited a week for a reply to my original inquiry outlining the work needing to be done and never heard back. Because this person lives in my neighborhood, I was very interested in hiring them. My experience is that the way a contractor treats you before they have the job is the best you can expect, so perhaps I dodged a bullet here.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]- I want to apologize to you. My wife and I were away on a trip for her birthday, so I didn't see your inquiry. Regardless, I know it's frustrating when you reach out to someone and don't hear back. For future vacations, I'll make sure to update my voicemail/email to reflect when I'll be away. I wish you all the best and thank you for the feedback.
5.0

02/04/2015


anga L.

Description of Work
Tom was a pleasure to work with for our first major renovation as first time homeowners. Our bathroom sub-floor was rotted so we did a complete bathroom gut job. Tom was always very responsive and he worked VERY hard to complete our bathroom in 5-6 weeks. He was great at educating my husband and I regarding the process and products used to assure a topnotch remodel. The main reason we went with Tom over all of our other bids was that we really felt we could trust him to have full access to our home for weeks on end for this renovation. We definitely made the right choice in hiring Tom and would hire him again for any further projects.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

09/21/2014


Jared S.

We ended up not going forward with the work because we decided to sell the house, but Tom was by far the most responsive, most professional, and all around, the best consultant who we dealt with. Had we gone forward with the work, we would have definitely selected him.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for a master suite that we were planning for our lower level.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/21/2014


Donna H.

Thomas was a pleasure to work with. The job proved more complicated than I anticipated. Joists had to be shaved and most of plywood sub-flooring replaced. Thomas arrived when he said he would, worked hard, and finished when he said he would. His work work was top notch and hardwood installers had no problems with the sub-floor in the area (most of a dining room) that Thomas reworked. I strongly recommend him.

Description of Work
Evened out sub-flooring in anticipation of hardwood installation.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/08/2014


kristie G.

They communicate very well and explain any issues well. They are on time and were under the quote. The work they do is beautiful.

Description of Work
Handyman work and updated my bathroom

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

02/27/2012


James S.

I recently decided to finish the remodel of a small bathroom. I had previously removed the existing flooring and vanity/sink. I replaced the flooring with granite tiles and purchased a complete vanity kit with vessel sink. I did the work myself as it was fairly easy and straight forward. I did not touch the bathtub, which had a basic gray tile surround, or tub fixtures. I was afraid the job would be too difficult for me, and I didn't have the money to hire someone else to do the work. That was back in 2007. The bathroom remained the same until December 2011. I researched several companies here on Angie's List and ended up going with Hurray Construction. I found Tom to be very easy going and professional. He listened very carefully to me when I explained the scope of the work. I wanted him to remove the existing tile and tub fixtures and install new ceramic tile with a glass accent boarder as well as install a fairly complex tub spout / shower head / hand shower combo fixture. I also asked that he create a shower niche. During our initial consultation Tom mentioned that one of his specialties is tile work, including niches. After he left, I felt very good about our consult. The next day I received the estimate. I thought it was very fair and reasonable. I decided to go with Tom, because I felt he best understood my taste and what I ultimately wanted to have, and I felt confident his tile work would be the best. Tom arrived promptly every day. The total job took about 5 days. Depending on what was needed on each day, he either came alone or with a helper. He always cleaned up after himself before leaving each day. He explained to me the schedule and he kept to that schedule. When he started doing the plumbing work for the new fixtures, Tom discovered the existing plumbing and framing that surrounded it was a problem. The existing framing was located in a spot that made it nearly impossible to fit the new plumbing required, since the new fixtures were much more complicated than the old. He worked very hard to make sure it all fit. He even called the company that manufactured the fixtures to make sure he was installing it correctly. In the end he determined the drawings provided by the company were wrong. It was at that time that I realized I made the right decision to go with him. Later when he started the tile work, he asked me for my opinion on several design options. When it came time for the niche, I told him I'd like it to be entirely done with the glass accent tile, but I was concerned I didn't buy enough. Well, somehow he made it work. He was very precise when it came to laying out the tile. He mitered the corners to make sure the niche looked just right. I've done tile work before, but Tom thought of things I never would have. He did an excellent job. At one point in the remodel, I asked if he would install a new bathroom fan. That ended up requiring some framing. He did charge me a little extra to do that work, but I think it was well worth it in the end. After Tom was done, I hired another company to resurface my bathtub and another company to install a glass shower door. After everything was done, I was so pleased with the results. Tom is very cool. He has good design aesthetics. He's completely reliable, and he does what he says he'll do. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Partial bathroom remodel: Demolition of existing tub surround and bathtub fixtures Installation of new bathtub fixtures - including making changes to the existing plumbing to accommodate the new fixtures Installation of ceramic tile with glass accent border and shower niche Installation of new exhaust fan to replace old fan Patching, caulking, cleanup

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/14/2012


Brendan B.

The overall experience was great. I called around and got three bids. Thomas was competitively price and seems much more professional than the other contractors. He was able to start in two days, he started on time, and finished on time. He really did a wonderful job and was methodical in every detail. He also didn't mind our dog following him around which was an added bonus. I would definitely recommend Thomas for your tile needs.

Description of Work
Thomas installed a mosaic backplash in our kitchen and it turned out beautiful! Thomas was very professional, punctual, and competitively priced. I really appreciated his attention to detail and I will definitly use him again for our next tile project.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

10/06/2011


James M.

Thomas Hurray came out two days after I contacted him. He gave me an estimate later that same day. He then came out to complete the work within a short time period. I was so pleased with the quality of his work and his professional approach. He is a very nice guy, and does great work in a timely manner. And he was also the lowest bid. He has now given me a bid on another project amd I have hired him to do the job. He plans to complete it very soon. I highly recomment him.

Description of Work
Thomas Hurray performed dryrot repairs, stucco work, and remodeling changes at my home at a very reasonable and fair price. His work came in much lower than the other estimates that I got. He was punctual, even working on a Sunday to complete the work in a timely manner. He was very professional and he cleaned up completely when the work was completed. I am planning to use him again very soon for another project that he gave me an estimate for. Again, his bid came in lower than the others and he will be able to complete that work very soon which is great. I highly recommend him for my experience and plan to write another review when he completes the next project. Great guy. .

Category remodeling, woodworking, stucco

5.0

07/26/2011


john W.

Tom is an outstanding general contractor. He was always on time, professional, and did an extraordinary job of meeting our needs even during the holidays. He's the kind of guy who calls you on his way home at night to make sure that you're ok with how the job looks when you come home, even in the middle of the job. He took on every task with good cheer and an open mind, even though we changed the job at multiple points along the way. Although we have graded an A on quality, it should be noted that this is an A for a and quot;general contractorand quot; quality. Tom is not a carpenter or mason, so you get a different level of shelf quality than if you hire a master carpenter to build in shelves out of oak or such, or if you hire a master mason to build a glass brick wall. But given the scope and breadth of the project and that he did all of it himself, it's hard to give him anything less. You can spend more and achieve slightly more perfect results, but that would require hiring different people for each of the pieces. Hurray Construction is tough to beat if you want to hire in one place to do a complex job. We'd work with him again in a heartbeat, and in fact, we plan to do so.

Description of Work
Walled in a walk-in closet to become a baby nursery. Built a new closet on top of existing knee wall. Installed bathroom vanity (top and shelving unit, including marble cuts) Installed radiant heat mat and thermostat under master bath floor Installed marble tile in master bath Built glass block privacy wall in master bath. Built in shelving in three areas of house. Walled in existing door and framed and hung two new doors. Dealt with lots of weird angles and heights (loft with pillars)! Replaced blown outlets, moved outlets.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

4.0

08/27/2010


Sean G.

Easy to work with, prompt and timely. Clean and respectful.

Description of Work
Demoed a wall and rebuilt drywall/tape/mud. Demoed a tile kitchen. Hauled waste.

Category drywall, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

06/09/2010


Laurie Z.

Hurray Construction completed an extensive remodel of an existing bathroom for me. My existing bathroom was completely gutted and all of the old fixtures removed. The walls and ceiling taken down to the studs and the old tile floor removed. Structural work included moving one wall so we could make the bathroom a bit larger, adding new framing and supports to the ceiling/attic in order to accommodate new lighting and a fan, and also reinforcing the floor. The new finishes included beautifully installed and detailed tile work around the tub surround (with a custom built recessed soap dish) and a marble mosaic tile floor with an accent trim border. The new walls, new ceiling, new wood trim around the window and door, as well as the new baseboard, all completed with careful attention to detail. The new window, heat mat under the marble floor, the tub, toilet, sink, vanity, recessed medicine cabinet and all lights, switches, outlets, and other fixtures were all installed exactly as I wanted. Thomas Hurray was great to work with. His work was detailed and professional and he was helpful throughout the project with good ideas and suggestions whenever needed. He provided a clear and complete bid for the job very promptly and coordinated all of the work that was completed by his plumbers (new water lines, drains, and waste pipes, as well as a new water line from the street) and his electrician (new wiring, recessed lighting, ventilation fan, switches, outlets, gfi, etc.).

Description of Work
Full remodel of existing bathroom, including structural work.

Category ceramic tile, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, structural engineer, home remodeling

5.0

07/08/2009


Traci H.

It went great. He was happy to take a look at anything that wasn't working right in my home. I know they usually do bathroom and kitchen remodels and other bigger jobs, but I thought I'd start small and when I can have them do the bigger stuff for me shortly, and they were happy to give comments and work on it all.

Description of Work
Smallish several odd jobs: repaired some shelves and added several others; Repaired my pocket doors as well, patched walls and holes, changed doorknobs and found hardware that complimented, changed fixtures, and repaired tile (replaced some broken ones) and did some painting. Other small repairs/fixes as well.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Prime Renovation Homes

    ‏At Prime renovation homes, our core principle is reliability. We are a small and attentive team that specializes in assessing your vision and transforming it into an exceptional project that meets your needs. From design to architecture, to engineering and completion, we will work closely with you at every step of your project to ensure that the end result is outstanding, on time and on budget. With a collective 15 years of extensive home construction experience, we look forward to the opportunity of working with you in creating the home that you envision. Whether you’re an avid home remodeler or this will be your first home construction, our goal is to provide you with the best experience from beginning to end and we welcome you to contact us  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Highland Landscape

    Licensed since 1975, we're a company that pride ourselves on creative ideas and quality work. Our goal is to craft an environment that will improve our clients lifestyle.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Abella Tile Stone

    Here at Abella Tile Stone, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. We are experts in the high end installation of tile and stone for full bathroom remodels, shower pans,etc. We are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project. At this time we do not do repairs, regrouts, sealing or polishing. Contact us today for tile and stone installation needs. We look forward to earning your business.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Mostely Remodeling Kitchens, Baths, Additions, Decks, Windows, Door replacement, Plumbing, Electrical and whole house remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hurray Construction

    How is Hurray Construction overall rated?

    Hurray Construction is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hurray Construction open?

    Hurray Construction is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Hurray Construction provide

    Hurray Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Hurray Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hurray Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Hurray Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Hurray Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hurray Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Hurray Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Hurray Construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, Hurray Construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Hurray Construction?

    Yes, Hurray Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Hurray Construction offer?

    Hurray Construction offers the following services: Mostely Remodeling Kitchens, Baths, Additions, Decks, Windows, Door replacement, Plumbing, Electrical and whole house remodeling.