Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Berkeley Roof Services - Westco

Founded 1980 • With Angi since August 2006

4.8

(46) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2700 E 7th St

Oakland, CA 94601

Description

20 employees. Occasionally uses subs for plumbing and electrical work, etc. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. Additional contact: Joe Cunliffe. 510-648-9253. May contact through email.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/29/2017


Hope D.

Westco was amazing. their bid came in thousands lower than two other bids we received. they were effecient, professional and very happy workers...actually singing on the job! the forman checked in often and kept me up to date on the progress and procedures. they replaced several pieces of rotten wood around the edges of the roof as well. replaced some broken supports under the roof also. we were living inn the house at the time and all went very smoothly and all was cleaned up when done. highly recommend.

Description of Work
replaced a very worn roof on our very old house.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

04/21/2017


John B.

Excellent job. Crew came as scheduled and did excellent work. I'd gladly use their services again.

Description of Work
Replacement of part of roof, resealing vents through roof.

Category roofing

5.0

01/31/2017


Jane B.

Workers came on time and finished in one day. Co-ordinated well with contractor.

Description of Work
Replace subfloor on deck that was leaking; install new gutter

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

03/10/2015


Ling H.

They did a very good job. I finally realized that the project manager is the owner and he came here before we started, he explained the procedure and after it was finished, he came here to inspect if everything was done very well. The inspection just passed very smoothly. I was impressed. The pricing is reasonable.

Description of Work
We used Berkley Roof Company. They changed the whole roof and a gutter for us.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

12/30/2014


michele E.

What a great experience! Berkeley Roofing provided excellent service from beginning to end. Joe provided the most thorough and inclusive bid of the 4 I received. He included important venting which the other contractors did not even mention. The crew arrived on time and work incredibly hard while on the site. They cleaned up everything at the end of each day. They started on December 22nd and finished December 24. Ironically just as the rain started! Because it was raining they could not do the very last task of painting the vents and pipes. They said they would be back later to do it. I figured I'd see them the next week and was fine with that. Amazingly a worker showed up ON CHRISTMAS DAY! I was touched that they wanted to complete this job before starting their next one. Highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
Complete home roof replacement.

Category roofing

5.0

12/08/2014


Greg M.

Comprehensive and professional estimate provided by Miles Walker. Responsible and professional installation and supervision by Moreno. One of the best construction foreman I've ever known, and I used to build hospitals. Longer than necessary response time to correct minor manufacturer issue with the new skylight. The crew worked together seamlessly, safely and in a timely manner. The finished job looks great. We've had plenty of rain since and no leaks. Hooray! I would definitely hire these guys again.

Description of Work
Roof Exposure. If rain, or inclement weather develops or is forecast during the re-roofing process, the work will be postponed. If rain develops when the roof is already exposed, we will install tarpaulins or other temporary roof covering membranes to protect any vulnerable areas. SCOPE OF WORK: Installation of a new roofing assembly. SPECIFICATIONS: Remove all of the existing roofing materials. Secure the work site as needed to facilitate the safe delivery and removal of roofing materials. Install tarpaulins and /or plywood as needed and where appropriate to protect any vulnerable sidewalls, windows or garden areas. Safely remove all of the existing roofing materials and transport the debris away from the premises. We will dispose of the accumulated debris appropriately and in accordance with local environmental regulations. Special notes regarding roof removal. During the roof removal process small amounts of roofing debris can fall into the attic, crawl space, or living space below. Removal of this debris and interior work of any kind is not included in this proposal unless specifically described. We recommend covering or sealing vulnerable areas before work begins. The re-roofing process can cause slight movements and vibrations in the building structure. This movement can exacerbate existing unsound conditions such as hairline cracks in old drywall plaster etc. While we do try to minimize this problem, there is no way to fully guarantee that it will not happen. Please note that we do not accept responsibility for this type of interior damage. If dry rot, termite damage, or other problems are uncovered, you will be notified and informed of any costs associated with repairing the problem areas. Alternatively you may elect to repair the damaged areas yourself. If requested, Berkeley Roof Services perform repair work/ carpentry on a time ($75.00/hr.) and materials basis. Install a new composition shingle roofing assembly. Install a base sheet consisting of a layer of G.A.F. Tiger Paw synthetic roofing felt. We will apply the underlayment shingle fashion and at the manufacturers recommended exposure and seam overlap. This moisture control system is twice as effective at shedding water compared to standard synthetic felts and has seven time greater tear strength than traditional #30 asphalt felt. Reinforce all valleys with an additional application of roofing felt. Install a mineral surfaced [GAF “Pro-Start”] starter strip at the eaves and secure it in place prior to the application of the first course of shingles. Working from the eaves up, install the new composition shingles and secure them in place with the appropriate roofing nails and at the manufacturer’s specified exposure. Install the manufacturer’s recommended hip and ridge shingles at a similar exposure to the field shingles. We will install these shingles with the hidden nailing technique. Install new flashings at the roof-to-wall abutments and integrate them into the new roofing assembly. The ‘step’ and/or ‘L’ flashings will be installed behind the existing wood siding. Install pre-painted galvanized metal edge flashings at all eaves and rake edges. Replace all plumbing, vent and pipe flashings with similar units and integrate them into the new roofing system. Roof Venting. Install continuous ridge vents along the main ridges to provide system venting in conjunction with six (6) pre-painted O’Hagin type eyebrow roof vents. We will place these eyebrow vents for maximum effectiveness with minimal visual impact. Skylight. Inspect, clean, re-install the existing skylight and integrate it into the new roofing assembly. Chimney. Fabricate and install new-galvanized saddle & apron chimney flashings and integrate them into the new roofing assembly. Embed counter-flashings into the chimneys and secure them in place. Install a modified bitumen ‘cricket’ behind the chimney to protect the vulnerable area. Option I: Install new gutter screens. Supply and install new gutter screens and integrate them into the existing gutter system. Option II: Eye hooks. Supply and install new eyelets to secure the shade cloth. General. Thoroughly clean the existing gutters and apply Gutter Seal compound at all joints, miters and end caps. Deoxidize, prime and paint all exposed metal flashings. Perform a full and thorough visual roof inspection Inspect the site and ensure that it is clean and all roofing debris has been removed. Berkeley Roof Services is proud to offer a contractors guarantee on all new and complete roofing systems for a period of ten (10) years. The roofing materials are subject to the warrantee specifications supplied by the manufacturer. Removal of the existing roofing materials and installation of a composition shingle roofing assembly with a manufacturer’s limited lifetime warranty… Option I: Install new gutter screens: Option II: Install new eyelets…………………………………………….$ Note: Eaves rot was discovered during the site visit, sheathing replacement is to be expected, with a projected cost of………………………………………..$ Berkeley Roof Services is fully insured and holds all the appropriate state and city contracting and business licenses. Copies of certificates of liability insurance and workers compensation insurance will be provided to you at your request.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair, skylights

5.0

10/01/2014


Barbara T.

it went well. The supervisor was on site, and easy to contact by phone or email. It's an old house, and they were able to work with its irregularities.

Description of Work
replaced roof, added insulation, replaced the gutters with screens. added at least one vent.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

03/12/2014


Dorothea R.

The job went smoothly and they cleaned up afterwards. It didn't rain for several months, but when it finally did, no leaks, no problems, and they called to make sure everything was good. They were also flexible when my final payment was delayed by a few days due to unforeseen circumstances. I am very pleased with the roof and with the service.

Description of Work
Complete re-roof including all new gutters, roof on tool shed and installation of skylight.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

5.0

09/30/2013


PETER P.

Quick response very through good detailed quote explained with options. Showed up a little late on first day but did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Replace tar & gravel roof

Category roofing

5.0

03/03/2013


ALLYSON H.

After getting four estimates to replace my roof, I chose Berkeley Roof Services - Westco based on reviews of former clients,price (which was in the middle of the pack), and details included in their bid. There was a weather-related delay in starting the job; however once the crew started working, the new roof was on in four days. The work crew was punctual and very good about daily clean up. All in all, it was a positive experience.

Description of Work
Replaced old tar and gravel roof with new shingle roof.

Category roofing

1.0

05/11/2012


virginia V.

See above, did not show for our appointment and did not bother to phone and say he wasn't coming. Basically, a flake.

Description of Work
Made an appointment with Alex to come out and look at our roof and give us an estimate for replacing it. He never showed up. I waited an hour and then called the company phone number, busy signal. Called again, same busy signal. Sent an email asking what was going on. A day later I received a phone call from Alex saying, very breezily, sorry he couldn't make it out here, did I want to reschedule. I said that I was not comfortable rescheduling, but in truth, I would not be comfortable doing any sort of business with someone who is a no show and doesn't even bother to call until a full 24 hours later. Does he think I have nothing better to do then wait around for him? Really, does not inspire confidence and I would not do business with this outfit.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Waiting around for someone who doesn’t show up is annoying, and to not receive a prompt apology and explanation is - as your posting demonstrates - absolutely infuriating. On behalf of my company I apologize again whole heartedly. I can make no excuses for this behavior, it is totally unacceptable. You are however entitled to an explanation. I of course bear the responsibility. As I mentioned to you on the phone, I am the estimator for our company and during a short trip I entrusted my duties to our trainee - Alex, who clearly was not ready to take full charge of customer service along with his regular office duties. The specifics of what happened are a case of mixed-up dates, misplaced files and a wrongly transposed telephone number. When he did manage to contact you the following day, he was under the impression that you had already received his message of the day before. Over the past 30-years we have worked hard to build what we believe is a well-deserved reputation for producing a high quality product with integrity and respect, and in so doing, earning the respect of our many clients. It is for this reason that that your experience with us is particularly painful and embarrassing. Once again, I offer you a sincere apology and our deepest regrets. Joe Cunliffe
4.0

04/08/2012


Jeremy W.

Joe Cunliffe is the estimator and business face that we dealt with. He has a pleasing and friendly manner, was punctual, and explained his approach to the project. Berkeley Roof Services came in in the middle of the three estimated we got. The crew showed up on time, were friendly and polite, and worked very hard. The project took longer than originally estimated -- the original estimate was for 3.5 - 4 days, but I think it wound up being something like 6 working days or so (with a day or two in the middle when it rained). This wasn't a problem for us, and I suspect that it's pretty common on roofing jobs. The work quality was good, and it's gone through two winters now, so I think the proof is in the pudding there. The only complaint that I have about the work was that the demolition of the previous roof showered little bits of asphalt all around our house. For about 6 months, we were tracking little black dots into our house, until the rain and wind moved all of that away or washed it down into the soil. So if I were to hire them again (and I probably would), I would just emphasize that I really want more tidiness.

Description of Work
Removed existing composite roof, installed new composite reflective roof.

Category roofing

5.0

12/09/2011


William P.

They did a good job. I chose them because they were rated highly on Angie’s List. I spent $16,000, and I got a 5% discount because I am a member of Angie’s List. All my expectations were met. I would rate them highly and would use them again if I had another job to do.

Description of Work
I used Berkeley Roof Services - Westco to put a new roof on my house and garage. They had to put some venting in.

Category roofing

5.0

11/22/2011


Donald C.

They were terrific and the guy who came had to come out twice. They were great. I wasn’t there and I didn’t talk to them but my husband did. I was in the kitchen and I heard it all and I was impressed with them. They were really amazing and you could tell why they have such a good reputation. They give you all the details of exactly what they were going to do. We have 2 different types of roof on our house and he told us how you handle one of them and how you handle the flat roof part. They really go into detail and they tell you what they are doing and sounded as if they know what they are doing. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Berkeley Roof Services – Westco for roofing three weeks ago.

Category roofing

5.0

10/16/2011


Karen L.

Went fine but it wasn't a big job. We called, they came out, gave us an online estimate and replaced gutter.

Description of Work
A tree fell and broke off the gutter to our house. They came out quickly and replaced it.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

07/16/2011


sheila U.

Prior to closing on our new home we asked Westco to come inspect etc the roof during the window of inspection contingency. To make a long story short they not only stood behind their warranty but frankly went above and beyond...Have no doubt that when they say they stand behind their work they mean it!!!

Description of Work
We inherited a relationship with Westco when we (recently) purchased a home that has a flat roof installed by them....

Category roofing

4.0

04/20/2011


Arthur C.

Overall the visit went well. The guy who gave us the estimate did a good job.

Description of Work
I used the services of Berkeley Roof Services for putting a new roof. I last used them about a year ago.

Category roofing

5.0

09/25/2010


Claudia C.

From the very first encounter (with the estimator), it was a very good experience. The estimator listened to my needs and concerns. He spent 45 minutes with me explaining the methods, materials, and design of the proposed roof. He warned me that some dust & grit would unavoidably come through the ceiling (I don't have an attic, and the wood plank ceiling is right under the roof). That gave me the opportunity to cover my furniture, etc. with sheets & tarps and minimized cleanup for me. The work was done in 3 days, and the crew cleaned up very well each day. It hasn't been a hot summer, but the energy efficiency of the roof has definitely helped keep my house noticeably cooler. I got 2 other estimates before choosing Berkeley Roof Services (BRS). The first had a very nice & helpful estimator, but the roof he proposed had a lower level of energy efficiency than I wanted. That bid was proportionately less than BRS's. The third estimate I got was for the exact same thing as BRS proposed, but $2,000 more expensive. Plus, I thought the estimator was a jerk. He didn't listen to me, talked about himself a lot, and seemed disdainful of some of the questions I asked. The ONLY negative with BRS had to do with the foreman of the roofing crew. He was nice to deal with, obviously knew what he was doing, and the job was done very punctually. However, the first day of the job I was supposed to wait for him to go over the particulars. He was more than an hour and a half late, and he didn't call to let me know. I called BRS after waiting an hour, and when he called back he said he was about 45 minutes away. I should NOT have had to call him, he should have called me to let me know. After the bulk of the job was completed, there was a very small area on the siding that needed to be painted to cover some putty. It was probably about a 15 minute job. I provided the needed paint. It took weeks, with me calling twice to find out when he would be there, to get it done. The touch-up was completed, though, and I was happy with the result. This aspect of the job was the only less than wonderful part of the project and would not make me hesitate to work with BRS again. Considering the exceptional work and the rest of the experience, however, Berkeley Roof Services was GREAT. I've recommended them to 3 friends and a friend of a friend. I wouldn't have done that if I hadn't had a fantastic experience with BRS.

Description of Work
New energy-efficient roof, gutters, and downspouts installed. The roof consists of nailable polyiso insulation, 1x2" (or maybe 2x2"...I don't remember offhand) wood strips to provide an air gap, plywood and asphalt shingles, with a ridge vent. The gutters and downspouts are extruded aluminum and are seamless. The skylight was reinstalled to accommodate the higher roofline.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

5.0

09/10/2010


Paula D.

It all went seamlessly. They answered all of my (many!) questions, Got the work done in the specified time, did a geat job cleaning up afterwards. They fit our relatively small job in between larger jobs, as the rains were soon coming. I'd strongly recommend them.

Description of Work
They removed and replaced the old leaking portion of our roof above the foyer/closed front porch of our house. They replaced the flashings around all the pipes, vents, chimney, at front and back gutters. They also installed new abutment and "L" flashings They installed a new (30-year warranty 'three-tab' style) composition single roofing assembly with all the appropriate layers, roofing nails, manufactures specified exposure, etc..

Category roofing

5.0

06/16/2010


Paul K.

It went well, again, it is probably worth your while to really inspect the roof prior yourself, ideally with someone that is knowledgeable. There are some things you might want to talk to them in advance about. They do a good job, provide the right pitch roof jacks etc, but like any company, they need to keep to a schedule and so things planed in advance, will work out better.

Description of Work
tore off the earlier shingles, provided all the underlayment, and flashing etc, laid on new roof, did a nice job. Probably could have been a bit cleaner, but it isn't a particularly easy job to be clean at. You should lay plastic in the attic. probably were a bit overcautious in caulking around the chimney cricket, but better than under caulking. They also did my neighbors at the same time and I think I got a bit better job. They should have advised him that his roof was sagging and arrainged to "sister in" a couple of rafters in that spot. All in all, a good job. Nice clean edges, all the roof jacks replaced and painted.

Category roofing

4.0

06/11/2010


Michael M.

I spent around $5000. I was very happy with them. I would recommend them to others. I don?t have any complaints with them. They were a little expensive, but they were very meticulous. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I have used Berkeley Roof Services – Westco. They replaced a portion of the roof, a couple of months ago.

Category roofing

5.0

05/20/2010


Zoe Ann H.

Berkeley Roof Services was great, Joe Cunliffe, came out and gave recommnedations about repairing a leak, vs. installing a new roof. The estimates for both services arrived promptly and after a few estimates, Berkeley Roof Services was the best price for a new roof. We set up a day for installation, had a sample board dropped off the pick out the color. We had to reschedule the installation due to a rainy weekend, by one day. The crew that did the installation was great, took 2 1/2 days instead of 1, but the crew was prompt, nice and really cleaned up the mess. We're thrilled with the new roof and would highly recommend!

Description of Work
Removed 3 layers of old roof and installed a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

04/19/2010


ROGER G.

I had 10 bids for the job. I analyzed them and decided to use this company based on their ability to do the work well, their punctuality, their professionalism, their willingness to talk about things and to accommodate my needs. They were the best. I felt confident that they could do the job because they understood it. They told me that they could do the job in two phases as I didn?t have the essential amount of money to do the job at once. They were able to develop a program such that the job was done in two phases. They were easy to work with; they were professional. They were punctual and insightful. They did all the things that I think a contractor should do. Their price wasn?t the cheapest, but from the value point of view, they were excellent. I referred them to a friend of mine for roofing job at his home. I will have them back to do the second phase of the job shortly.

Description of Work
I used Berkeley Roof Services West for roofing, six months ago.

Category roofing

5.0

01/15/2010


Brent L.

It was expensive because this gutter is 40 feet about the ground with a straight fall down; they had to do a lot of work to stay safe. They were very good and I enjoyed working with them because they were diligent and they did what they promised. All of the bids I received were similar in price so I went with Westco because I had used them before with success.

Description of Work
Westco repaired a gutter that was rotted out and leaking into my house. They also sealed where the water was coming in.

Category gutter repair

5.0

01/15/2010


Brent L.

There was one hiccup in the project which was not their fault: there was a freak rain storm after they tore off the roof. As soon as they realized what was happening, which was early on a Sunday morning, they were rushing out here putting tarps on right away. They also offered to repaint the house and everything else for the water damage; I did not need to have them do that but they were very professional with the whole incident. The roof is difficult to access but it still looks in perfect condition after all of these years. I have used them since then for gutter repair as well.

Description of Work
Westco replaced my entire roof and installed skylights.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kazakoff Inc

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Painting and Remodeling services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your estimate today! Areas of expertise include: Painting Exterior, Interior, Bathroom and Kitchen remodel, Cabinet painting, security camera system installation, tile, and floor replacement  

    Angi Certified

    William Handyman Service

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    One Stop Plastering Inc.

    Servicing Northern California for over 25 years. We do it all from stucco to plastering. Visit www.onestopplastering.com or call at 415-464-9400.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial re-roofing, gutter work & roof inspections.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Berkeley Roof Services - Westco

    How is Berkeley Roof Services - Westco overall rated?

    Berkeley Roof Services - Westco is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Berkeley Roof Services - Westco open?

    Berkeley Roof Services - Westco is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Berkeley Roof Services - Westco provide

    Berkeley Roof Services - Westco accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offer free estimates?

    Yes, Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offers free project estimates.

    Does Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offer a senior discount?

    No, Berkeley Roof Services - Westco does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Berkeley Roof Services - Westco?

    Yes, Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offers warranties.

    What services does Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offer?

    Berkeley Roof Services - Westco offers the following services: Residential & commercial re-roofing, gutter work & roof inspections.