Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr B The Chimney Sweep

Founded 1980 • With Angi since November 2004

4.9

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 452

Norwalk, CA 90651

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/10/2017


esther F.

Mr B was terrific! He did a super job and even gave us a lottery ticket. He's very personable and really knows his stuff!

Description of Work
We had our chimney swept, a spark arrester installed and brick repair done.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

06/02/2014


kim H.

It went very well. The gentleman was there on time and performed the cleaning and inspection. Everything checked out. He advised me to take care the first time using it. It suggested I use a Durflame log the first time I use it. After that i can begin using real wood. Good to know!! Very pleased with the whole experience.

Description of Work
Performed a complete inspection of my fireplace and chiminey. Cleaned and provided written report.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/26/2014


Debra C.

Answered my call within 15min and had cancellation same day. Absolutely would recommend.

Description of Work
Cleaned wood burning stove and chimney.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/07/2014


cliona M.

Mr. B was exaclty like the other reviewers said. Very nice guy. Explained what he was doing. Cleaned 20 years of black residue from my fireplace and didn't make any mess in my den. Climbed on my roof and installed the two chimney caps. As always, he gave me a Lottery ticket.

Description of Work
Cleaned a chimney that hadn't been cleaned for over 20 years and install two chimney caps on the roof.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

01/16/2014


Leigh-Ann Elizabeth N.

Excellent, professional service. Would definitely recommend and will call on him again for next year's cleaning! Great job!

Description of Work
.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

11/17/2013


John I.

I was contacted by a lady 1 week prior to the visit at which time I was told that the sweeper tech would be late coming out. I told her that I couldn't meet at any other time than 9AM on that day; I responded that we would need to reschedule. The lady stated well then he will just have to make time to come to my home anyway. I never heard from them again, they never called to say that they would be late. No contact was made nor has been made; since so I won't be calling on them ever. David

Description of Work
Services by Mr B The Chimney Sweep.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

07/17/2013


Selene K.

Brad showed up within the time range he gave me. I directed him to the chimney in our den and he took it from there. He clean up after himself and did not leave as much as a cinder behind. He explained everything that he did and made recommendations for our other chimney that will save us money when we have that one cleaned. Nice guy. Really knows his business. We'll use him again.

Description of Work
Brad cleaned one chimney and inspected it and another chimney. He also painted the inside of the fireplace with black paint at no extra charge. It looks great. Service and professionalism first rate. We will have him back to clean the other chimney soon.

Category chimney sweep, interior painters

5.0

05/16/2013


Jami P.

So glad I found Mr. B. I am always wary in hiring new people to work on our house, hence the reason for us NEVER once having a chimney sweep. Thanks to Angie's list and all the great reviews for Mr. B, we finally called him to come out and clean our chimney. Phone was answered immediately and appointment was scheduled. I was impressed with the low price, his great reviews and prompt appointment that I called back and added a second appointment for my mother to get her chimney done too. What better gift than to provide safety for your family. We both got ours done the same day with the same great results. Fast and clean and now we don't have to worry about our fireplaced being a fire hazard. Don't delay on this one - safety first. Call Mr. B. Oh! And after he did our chimney first and gave me a business card, I realized he did dryer vents too. I quickly called my mother and when Mr. B arrived there, she was able to add cleaning of her dryer vent at a very low cost. I'd highly recommend doing that too. You'll eliminate another source of fire hazards, and also it helps with your dryer energy.

Description of Work
chimney sweep

Category chimney sweep

5.0

05/13/2013


Caroline M.

Mr. B is a cheerful man who enjoys his job. Obsessively neat and clean, there were no tracks or ash left when he departed. All was cleaned and inspected, the outdoor ash door looks new, cracks in the chimney mortar were taken care of. He cut a new piece of metal for the clean out door as a standard door would not work with the gas line configuration. Overall it was more than I expected for the summer deal of $100.

Description of Work
Chimney crown, cap, flue and lining were all inspected and cleaned.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/06/2013


Janice F.

Services were performed as advertised and agreed. Mr. B was prompt and very friendly and warm. He is truly a professional and the TOP in his craft. We are very pleased.

Description of Work
The services performed were: minor repairs (if needed), scrub down the flue, fireplace box scrub, clean and oil damper, inspection report and a free lottery ticket (nice touch).

Category chimney sweep

2.0

12/19/2012


Zachery P.

Unfortunately, I did not have a good experience with this man, Mr. B. I originally called him out back in October for two things. First, to clean a fireplace and metal flue. Second, to repair and seal a leaky chimney cap. At first, his prices were reasonable. I told him that I could only cover the cleaning for now and I will have to call him at a later date for the chimney repair. So, he does the cleaning. After he's done, he comes to me with a chuckle and explains to me how the flue is old and falling apart and that the fireplace is not to code. He then asks for his check. I then inquired why he is telling me this now and not before he cleaned it. Why bother cleaning it when it needs to be replaced? Even though that was annoying, he gave a good price for the chimney repair. I called his secretary a couple of days ago and she had indicated that he is busy, but he can do it after the new year, no problem. I told her that was fine, no big rush. She scheduled a date. That evening I get a call from Mr. B. He says and quot;I have to turn down your job, too busyand quot;. He was not apologetic at all and very condescending, stating that I had lost my chance. Total jerk. Call someone else who is more professional.

Description of Work
Clean fireplace and metal chimney flue. He also provided a $250 quote to repair a leaky chimney cap.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/14/2012


Robert W.

This was actually the first time I hired a chimney sweeper and I'm glad I did, its something that needs to be done every so often to keep your fireplace working properly. Would definitely hire Mr B The Chimney Sweep again.

Description of Work
Completed chimney sweep and also performed basic maintenance. Punctual, professional, and great all around service. No mess was left and my chimney works better than ever.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/22/2012


Richard & Trisha R.

Mr B can't be anymore than 3 minutes down the road and I decided to post now and not wait until later. As so many have said already, he is great! Mr B (Brad) came in and laid down sheets so there wasn't a speck of dirt on our new carpet. We have indoor cats and he was cautious to make sure they stayed in. He proceeded to clean the chimney and inspect it. Thankfully, we got a good report and a cap, which we did not have. The whole procedure took a little over an hour. Since we use our fireplace quite a bit in the winter, Brad suggested that we get a stainless steel fireback to kick more heat out into the living room. That was a good recommendation I had not thought of. A fun little twist, when he gives you your invoice, he also gives you a lottery ticket. Great marketing idea. I may have to steal it for my own business. Brad is a fun, knowledgable and conscientious man. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Mr. B inspected and cleaned the chimney and put in a cap.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

09/06/2012


Diane S.

Mr. B came on time and went right to work. He was very neat, spreading drop cloths over the walkway in the living room and over the couch. He wore booties too. He made some suggestions, and educated me on the logs for the gas fireplace. They need replacing, but he put them back in a better configuration until I can buy new ones. He brushed out the chimney and vacuumed the walls and floor of the fireplace, as well as cleaning all the carbon off the logs. He put a new clamp on the flu and painted the walls of the fireplace with a high heat black paint. He was great to work with! I highly recommend him and will use him again.

Description of Work
Mr. B Cleaned the chimney out with a big brush and a vacuum. He fixed the clamp on the flu (?) and painted the inside of the fireplace.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

07/09/2012


Patricia V.

It was better than I could have hoped for - clean, professional, and friendly.

Description of Work
Mr B. arrived on time, having called about 30 minutes before to confirm. He was very professional and friendly. The work was done with no mess - he provided covers for the hearth and carpet. He checked the chimney and even replaced the spark guard which had been installed incorrectly years before. It was a pleasure doing business with him. I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for great service.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

05/14/2012


Lane C.

I called Mr B and requested a chimney cleaning. They showed up same day, on time. Brad was very friendly and very conscientious...he took care not to allow any soot to escape into house, took time to cover all floors, etc. Brad also took care of some minor repairs and came in under his original estimate! From start to finish, it was a great experience, and the free lotto ticket was a classic maneuver!

Description of Work
Brad performed a chimney sweep as well as some minor fireplace repair.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/11/2012


Alicia C.

Mr. B. arrived on time. He was very professional and friendly. Before coming inside the house, he put on his paper booties and covered the wooden floors to protect them before the cleaning. He informed me how long it was going to take and explained exactly what he was going to do and the price, which it was affordable. I was so satisfied with the work that I have told my friends and neighbors. He is amazing.

Description of Work
Mr. B. came to sweep the chimney but he made us aware that it was not needed. Instead he focused on putting a cover where the ashes go, painted the inside of the chimney, made and installed a chimney cap and fixed and painted the door trap to remove the ashes from the outside that had fallen off.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/08/2011


Ted B.

Perfect experience, very happy with service.

Description of Work
Included cleaning of chimney, new vent cap, and painting interior of fireplace. Completely satisfied.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

5.0

11/28/2011


Cheryl B.

He shared a lot of helpful information. He was very prompt, professional, and efficient. I will hire him in the future. I would recommend his services. He defiantly enjoys his job!

Description of Work
Mr B The Chimney sweep cleaned out my chimney. He vacuumed they chimney. He did some other repairs. He also fixed my broken grate.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

09/16/2011


Peter T.

I called Mr B and was able to schedule an appointment for a few days after. He showed up promptly and was very courteous. He placed sheets down on the floor from the front door to the fireplace to ensure everything was kept clean. He swept and inspected the chimney from the roof. He then cleaned out the firebox and replaced some of the missing mortar around the bricks. In the process he found that the flue was essentially stuck shut. We have always found it required a great deal of force to open and close. He spent a fair amount of time working to get the flue cleaned and oiled so that it now opens and shuts very easily. The firebox looks immaculate. Very good service for the price.

Description of Work
Mr B perfored a chimney sweep and inspection. He replaced some missing mortar in the firebox and cleaned and oiled the flue.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

08/16/2011


Lorraine D.

I am moving and will be renting out my house. I hadn't used the fireplace in close to 11 years, and it had old ashes in it from the previous homeowner. I called Mr. B yesterday, and he was able to schedule me in today! His price includes a full inspection and cleaning, and was MUCH less than another sweep I had called. Mr. B was on time, SUPER friendly, polite, very clean, and did a great job. After he left, I saw his card listed dryer vents. Darn! I wish I had him adjust the connection of my dryer's exhaust, too. Oh well. I will keep his name and number handy.

Description of Work
2-story chimney inspection and cleaning, and cleaning of firebox.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

08/07/2011


Aaron K.

Mr. B was great. The value was good and got a full report on the state of my chimney. I will definitely use him again as we use our fireplace.

Description of Work
Mr. B was great. He removed a very old spark arrestor, re-pasted loose bricks, swept the chimney and installed a new spark arrestor over the course of 2 hours on a Saturday.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

5.0

07/25/2011


ALAN B.

Mr B was on-time--a minute early, in fact. He clearly explained what he would be doing, and did so with a minimum of fuss. He was meticulous about keeping my home clean, and when he found that the chimney had a few cracks that needed sealing (as well as needing a chimney cap), he explained my options without pressuring me one way or the other. He was very pleasant to work with, and I would recommend him without hesitation. My only disappointment was that the lottery ticket he gave me did not win, but I suppose that's not his fault...

Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected our chimney. Installed a chimney cap, which we did not have before. Repaired cracks in crown using ChimneySeal product. Lubricated mechanism of metal fireplace curtain.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

5.0

04/20/2011


GLORIA C.

He was just great. I don't think he could have done a better job.

Description of Work
He cleaned the chimney and also installed and set up our gas logs kit.

Category chimney sweep, gas logs

5.0

02/07/2011


Emily K.

Bradley Kepford thoroughly cleaned my chimney and fireplace. The morning the work was scheduled he called first to reconfirm the time. He arrived right on time, was fast, efficient, immaculate, and cheerfully answered all my questions. He covered the carpet and sealed the fireplace around the vacuum hose so no ash escaped into the room during the job. Fireplace was scraped clean, and Mr. Kepford even cleaned the grate and patched some mortar at the back of the fireplace for no charge. After working on the roof he told me our chimney cap was old, obsolete and no longer legal (true - it came with our 1951 house). I took him up on his offer to replace it, which he did for $13 less than his normal fee, since he was already here. He also asked if I wanted the old TV antenna removed from the roof / chimney, and offered to do it for free! We hadn't used it for years, so of course I took him up on his offer. He not only removed the antenna, but cut it up and disposed of it. When he completed the chimney / fireplace work, Mr. Kepford then cleaned out the dryer vent from both ends. This job was also completed thoroughly and efficiently. Afterwards, he pointed out to me that he was not re-positioning the dryer back against the wall as far as before. A dryer repairman had apparently crimped the vent hose by pushing the dryer too close to the wall. Mr. Kepford does an outstanding job, and I highly recommend him to anyone who needs chimney work done or their dryer vent cleaned. I might also note that he is very personable, was careful not to leave the front door or the gate open so our dog might escape, and even gave me 2 lottery tickets as a "thank you" for using his services!

Description of Work
Swept chimney and cleaned fireplace ($99), installed new chimney cap ($86), cleaned dryer vent ($85).

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Anytime House Painting

    additional phones.. (888)-861-2300,(213)382-2300,(310)284-8771,(626)359-5000,(818)764-9114 fax#(213)3899796...Family business with 10 employees..no out sider subs.cost determine by the job.pro certified from home advisor,have a five star at home advisor. ** ask about angie's list special discount**  

    Angi Certified

    Bob Uzzo Painting Contractor

    Specializing in painting beach properties since 1989. We know what it takes with attention to proper preparation and using only premium paints and materials that will hold up against our unique environment here in the South Bay. Hermosa Beach Rotary Club's Businessman of the Year award! Please give me call @ 310 245-9499.  

    Angi Certified

    Jose's Painting

    Professional Interior & Exterior Painting. Quality work, low prices, and excellent references. Specializing in residential homes, buildings, apartment complexes, commercial/industrial buildings. Father and son company, over 40 years in business.Please call today my direct number at 323-251-5677. Can be reached at any time  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr B The Chimney Sweep

    How is Mr B The Chimney Sweep overall rated?

    Mr B The Chimney Sweep is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    Does Mr B The Chimney Sweep offer free estimates?

    No, Mr B The Chimney Sweep does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Mr B The Chimney Sweep offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mr B The Chimney Sweep does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Mr B The Chimney Sweep?

    No, Mr B The Chimney Sweep does not offer warranties.