American Patio Masters

About

Founded 1984 • With Angi since July 2007

We carry a large selection brand products and materials, including Alumawood, vinyl, aluminum, glass, and steel. We design & build: Outdoor Patio Covers Gabled Eave Garden rooms, Sun rooms Straight Eave Patio Enclosures Walls Only Under an Existing Roof English Conservatories Carports / Room Enclosures...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

Alumawood Open Slat Patio Cover

+5 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(53) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

46

4

4

3

3

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

patio enclosures (48)awnings (20)Patios (17)decks & porches (8)lighting (4)electrician (3)ceiling fan installation (2)concrete repair (2)outdoor kitchens (1)
Showing 1-25 of 53 reviews
5.0

11/11/2017


Mike W.

Work commenced on time and was finished 1 day early. They were on time at the house and did a most professional demolition and installation. We would highly recommend this company to anyone in need of an excellent patio cover.

Description of Work
Replace wooden patio cover with aluma wood

Category sunrooms, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2017

5.0

06/08/2017


Jim K.

They were pretty good. I'm thinking of getting that one. The problem is we live in a homeowner's association and I didn't submit the bid in the day even though the contractor came out and told me that they did install patio covers in here. I talked to the property manager; he's in charge of the homeowner's association. He said he doesn't think they'll put a patio wood cover, aluminum wood cover in here but even though I think I've seen them. But I might try to do it again, and we're in the process of getting pavers in and we're running into a problem because we've got a gas line that we have to ... that's underneath the gas line from the house, and we've got to figure out what that is, and then we're going to put an oven out there so we've got to figure out how to get a plumber to install the sink line to the sewer, and then we have to figure out where to put it. I didn't have them do anything yet. They gave me a price of about $8000. I thought it'd be more. They came out right away. I was talking to the owner beforehand. I asked him if he would do a wood cover because I'd seen what we could get and he said they don't do wood covers because he takes a lot of wood covers down. He said the aluminum wood is better. I agree, he convinced me, but I don't know that the homeowner's association would go for it. It'd probably be better because we had a lattice at another place and we had not termites, but we had rot, wood rot on the bottom of it we had to get fixed.. They came out when they said they were going to come out. The owner didn't come out; somebody else came out. I would tell a friend to give them a call, but I would tell them that if you live in a homeowner's association you have to check with the board, because we didn't submit it yet because what happens is it's like a catch-22. When you submit it you have to do it within a few months or six months or something like that, so we don't know if we're going to do that and then if they said ok ...but what happens is that ... and then we're going to do pavers. We have just enough money to do one thing at a time, once this year. And what happens is we have wood patio covers we want to match ... we have a tile roof and we'll want to match that and that's like $20,000.

Description of Work
They gave a quote

Category awnings, patios

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2017

5.0

03/12/2017


Jeff F.

Installer Miguel and his assistant were extremely professional and a great pleasure to work with. They were efficient. One day knock down if old wood patio cover and three day complete construction of new cover. Job site clean each day when they left and immaculate when the job was over. Workmanship and final product was perfect. I recommend American Patio Masters to everyone. So easy to work with.

Description of Work
Demo'd old wood patio cover and installed new aluminum cover. Besides the patio cover, both solid and open 2" beams , they installed a ceiling fan, four lantern lights, four speakers and four recessed lights. All with hidden Integrated wiring within columns and beams.

Category patios

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]. So many people tell us what great work we do but never write about it. I really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Lynn
5.0

03/06/2016


Oded K.

I've emailed American Patio Masters photos and measurements to replace an old carport in bad shape. Lynn called me and we discussed details and expected cost ranges. We set an appointment so that he can see the site and write a proposal. He was very knowledgeable and experienced, provided helpful advise about carport and also about the fence which was not included and otherwise. I appreciated his professional no pressure approach and answering my questions. Pablo and his team showed up on schedule a few weeks later. They removed the old carport and installed the new aluminum carport with steel columns and beams. Pablo was well responsive to my questions and showing me was was being done. The work was done well and with no complications in 2.5 days, well within the scheduled time, and the place was left clean. Communication with everyone was excellent. They are very professional. We're very pleased with the experience and with the new carport.

Description of Work
Completely removed old aluminum & steel carport. Installed aluminum carport with steel beams and steel columns (some bolted, some in the ground with concrete).

Category sunrooms

Cost $7,430

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2016

5.0

02/08/2016


Jacki C.

Perfect! And shame on me for not doing a review sooner. No reason, just got busy with life! Everything is beautiful and would recommend! Very Pleased!

Description of Work
Install patio enclosure (2 walls and roof) over existing patio and lay cement, drains, etc.

Category sunrooms

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2015

3.0

07/28/2015


Leslie V.

Lynn did an estimate for a job and I found his price to be very, very high for the scope of work. I asked for the breakdown of materials and labor but he refused to disclose that information. He said he would email the quote but I've never received it. I'm sure he does good work and he was very nice but I don't trust that he would be fair when it comes to my costs.

Description of Work
Estimate for a job.

Category sunrooms

Cost $6,000

Work Completed On 06/30/2015

5.0

04/24/2015


Gerald J.

Perfect! Very, very happy with Lynn Taylor and his crew! He was very helpful and his crew finished the job in only a few hours. We are thrilled! Would highly recommend Lynn and his crew to anyone!

Description of Work
Installed beautiful patio cover.

Category awnings, sunrooms

Cost $3,125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2015

5.0

04/18/2015


Matthew P.

We worked with Lynn to provide a quote for vinyl, wood and alumna wood patio covers. Unfortunately Lynn was not able to match a price received from another contractor, but I would highly recommend his company. Lynn was punctual, able to meet late to accommodate my schedule and informative regarding the different options that you have to put in patio covers. He was also very helpful in providing information needed to get approval from my HOA. I wouldn't hesitate to call him again in the future if we have additional needs.

Description of Work
Quoted out Patio covers

Category awnings, sunrooms

Cost $10,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2015

5.0

03/11/2015


Dale G.

The owner , Lynn came out to quote the job at the end of October. My wife and I were impressed with his low pressure approach. Also, he noticed some things that a previous contractor didn't take into consideration that would need to be done because of the layout of our house. His knowledge and expertise were very evident when he discussed the nuts and bolts of the job with us (Also, his price was better than the previous estimate we got). He arranged a visit to the showroom/warehouse so that we could get a first hand look at the materials and the type of construction that would be done. We scheduled the job to start the third week in January. It was completed the first week of February. Pablo, Ricardo and crew did a great job. They were very professional and highly skilled at their jobs. As with any project, there are unexpected things that occur. Pablo was able to figure out how to work through all of them with relative ease. The finished room exceeded our original expectations. We couldn't be happier the way it turned out.

Description of Work
Tear down and haul away old walls and roof of 225 sq. ft. enclosed patio room. Rebuilt same size room around the existing ceramic tile floor.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2015

5.0

01/18/2015


Joyce R.

Lynn was very responsive and professional. He came out for a consultation and had a great book with samples of his previous work (and there was a lot). He was great at explaining the options and possibilities and provided great advice. He's very specialized and good at what he does. There was a bit of a hiccup when he called for an install date as we were out of the country. We ended up going with his proposed date, so it was great that he was accommodating and dealt well with my relatives that were present at the time. Some of the prep for electrical that he was not installing was not quite in the right place, but that was to be expected, I think. Lynn's crew did a great job with the demo of some significant existing structures and didn't increase the price (even when I offered) when the haul away and disposal turned out to be a lot more than he expected. The new structure was exactly as expected with some smart assumptions on Lynn's part. Everything was perfect and a great sight to come home to. The aluminum patio covers are certainly more expensive than wood, but they're also very nice, and very low maintenance. Lynn is a great guy to go with because he not only performed as expected, but also went the extra mile with follow up assistance. I put in some light fixtures and when one of them leaked, Lynn had no problem coming out for no charge to help troubleshoot. He's really a guy that stands by his work (even though I screwed it up. Lesson: have his guys put in the electrical).

Description of Work
Demolished existing patio cover/electric/4' block wall perimeter, hauled rubbish from existing enclosure. Installed new, larger alumawood patio cover with rails/covers for light fixture attachment.

Category sunrooms

Cost $4,680

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2014

5.0

10/01/2014


Vergie T.

The project went very well. The start date was suppose to be 09/14/2014. The old patio was taken down and hauled away on 8/27/2014. Concrete repair was completed the next day. The concrete had to cured for 10 days and the patio was completed in 2 days. They arrived on time, very courteous, professional and cleaned up everyday. Lynn and Pablo were very professional and polite. Lynn was impressive at the first meeting and he was there on time and informative. I ask Lynn if he would come back and go over it with my brother and without a question he agreed and came back on time to answer questions. When Lynn came back to write contract he was there on time. Work was done as stated on contract. Work was completed on 09/09/2014 several days before start day. The only snafu was I wanted different screens, and there was a delay in them coming in. No problem. I was kept appraised by the delay. All in all I was very happy with this job.

Description of Work
Repaired crack in concrete that had to been cut out and redone with rebar. Tore down old patio that was 35 to 38 years old and installed completely new.

Category sunrooms

Cost $11,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2014

4.0

09/22/2014


patrice L.

The crew was good but needed supervision. Lynn was a pleasure to work with. He really wanted us to be happy, and tried very hard to make sure we were. I would recommend him to my family and friends.

Description of Work
built a patio cover

Category sunrooms

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2014

5.0

09/19/2014


Sophia Y.

Lynn and his crew (Pablo & Ricardo) were such a pleasure to work with. From beginning to end, they were professionals. Lynn was almost always available when you called (granted I had his cell number) and if not, he usually called back the same day. There was a miscommunication about the door we ordered, and a mix up with the windows, but it was brought to our attention immediately and resolved quickly as well. Lynn came to our home several times (mind you, he's driving from North Hills and we're on opposite side of town in Pomona) and we went over the contract, the details, and for the walk through with his concrete crew. One time he even stayed as late as 9pm to accommodate my husband's work schedule and to go over all the final details. The same professionalism was carried out by his crew, lead by Pablo and Ricardo. Pablo was in charge of the sunroom structure and Ricardo was in charge of concrete and electrical. They were one of the best construction crews we have ever worked with; efficient, diligent, and communicative. They weren't afraid to answer our questions and when something went wrong, instead of hiding it from us, they were very upfront about it and assured us it would be fixed right away. When the factory provided different windows, Pablo pointed it out to us and asked which ones we wanted to go with and that he was going back to pick up uniform ones. We couldn't have known unless Pablo told us or until we saw them later on. When we had to put the sunroom's electrical on a different circuit breaker on our panel (about 40 ft away) and metal tubing had to be used because it was run externally, without us asking at all but because they knew we were aesthetically concerned about the silver tubing looking out of place, Ricardo had his crew paint the tube to match our house. The previous owner painted the house and never left any paint so we had no idea what color it was, but Ricardo's crew went and matched it! They did all of this without us asking and didn't charge a single penny for this additional work. They even left the remaining paint for us so we could touch up other areas or just have paint color reference for the future. There were a number of other little things they did that restored our faith in contractors (e.g. helping my 3 yo daughter put handprint in wet concrete, removing a very small section of bricks and pouring concrete over it, coming back to diagnose a leak in sunroom that we weren't able to duplicate to this day, etc). Lynn and his crew were exactly as how other reviewers described, the traditional contractor that honors his word and delivers as promised. We were hesitant in the beginning because Lynn's price was so competitive (more than $10k below other sunroom contractors we talked to), but we are so glad we did. To sum it up, if these people are not your ideal contractor and crew, then don't bother calling these guys and wasting their time!

Description of Work
- Build 19' x 24' sunroom with 2 inch walls and 4 inch roof and 2 swinging double doors. - Demo and redo concrete pad for sunroom.

Category concrete repair, remodeling, sunrooms

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2014

5.0

08/20/2014


Nue D.

I called Lyn and he came out to our house within a day or two. He was very polite and professional. We scheduled the installation for three weeks out. I received a phone call from the installers to confirm the date two days before and they showed up on time the morning of. They installed the patio cover in ONE day yes I said ONE day. It looks beautiful! We are so please with our patio cover and our experience with American Patio Masters that we would highly recommend them to everyone.

Description of Work
Installed alumna wood patio cover

Category sunrooms

Cost $4,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2014

5.0

06/30/2014


Gary M.

I had several companies come out and give me quotes on a patio cover. I never felt totally comfortable with any one of them so I went on Angie's list and found this company. Lynn came out and discussed our options - he was the first one that I felt comfortable with. He told me that he was currently very busy and gave me a start date of a month out. I was in no hurry so I agreed. Unfortunately when the time came I did not hear from him so a couple days after they were suppose to start I called. He apologized, took care of me and gave me a start date just a few days away. When they showed up, It turns out they did not have everything they needed as they were short a key piece so they came back the next day. They completed the entire project in just over a day. I was very impressed. I was expecting something a bit flimsy but the structure (Elitewood) is much stronger than I expected. I was hoping for some follow-up from Lynn to see how we liked it. I realized he is very very busy but it would have been a nice touch. All in all I am very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Installed Elitewood patio cover

Category patios

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2014

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed] Thank you for writing about us. I apologize for not coming back out there at the end of the job, but because I was there at the beginning when Pablo was laying out the job, I could see that, except for the factory shorting us the back ledger that day, there were going to be no issues on this project. Pablo and his brother have been building these covers for over 18 years and he takes a lot of pried in his work, so I new it was going to be built right. Please know if you ever need me for any reason I'm just a phone call away. It was a real pleasure working for you guys. Lynn
5.0

06/10/2014


Jonathan R.

The owner , Lynn was very helpful with absolutely no pressure. The installation took about a day and he even made a minor adjustment at no cost. The trellis/cover has held up very well and looks like real wood with zero maintenance.

Description of Work
Install patio trellis

Category sunrooms

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2012

5.0

06/03/2014


Tory C.

The owner Lynn came out to give us a quote. He was on time, very professional. He took his time explaining everything and gave us many options to choose from. He made the process very easy, he was great. Once we were ready for install Pablo called me to set up a time. Pablo and his team arrived on time, they worked hard for 3 days installing it. During the install Pablo made sure to double check the placement of the fans, and gave us options with the electrical switches. We couldn't be happier with the results, we went from not being able to use our back yard because of the heat, to now spending the majority of our time at home outside. I would highly recommend Lynn and his team, the quality of the work if fantastic. We have absolutely no complaints.

Description of Work
Alumawood solid patio cover 16x36 with 3 fans.

Category awnings, sunrooms, patios

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2014

5.0

06/02/2014


Adina N.

Beautiful work: no leaks when it rained, solid construction, excellent shade and light, and well done electrical wiring.

Description of Work
Installed an alumawood patio cover with translucent fiberglass cover, plus wired lighting into cover.

Category awnings, electrician, lighting, sunrooms, patios

Cost $5,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2014

5.0

05/26/2014


Jamey F.

Aside from some initial confusion about a start date, the actual installation went great. Pablo and his colleague arrived on time, communicated clearly, worked hard and diligently to install the awning and it looks great! They cleaned the work site area well, too. After having a bad fence experience with another contractor - we looked very thoroughly - square corners, right angles - everything looks terrific. Without hesitation, we would recommend them again.

Description of Work
Lynn and his team installed a new patio awning for a 16 x 12 patio.

Category awnings, sunrooms, patios

Cost $3,240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2014

5.0

04/12/2014


Susan H.

After being discouraged by other patio installers, I sent Lynn an e-mail to cancel our appointment. Lynn e-mailed me back telling me not to be discouraged. He said he would like to talk to me and see if he was able help. I sent Lynn the information on the size I wanted. We spoke on the phone and confirmed our weekday appointment. Lynn was on time, I took him to the backyard to see the area where I wanted the patio and described what I was thinking. Lynn immediately started throwing out ideas, two or three post designs, open or closed cover, basically anything I wanted he said he could probably make work. He sketched up two covers with a couple of options on each.My wife and I talked about it for the next few days and decided American Patio was the one to go with. I e-mailed Lynn and told him it's a go. Lynn stopped by the next day, drew up a formal sketch and hashed out the details. A week and a half later I got a call from one of his installers, Pablo. He said he would be by in the morning to install my patio. Pablo showed up on time with another worker. They worked non stop for 5-1/2 hours on probably the hottest day to date in 2014. Patio is perfect, a bit more then we wanted to spend but we got what we wanted for a good price. I would highly recommend American Patio Masters, I have no complaints.

Description of Work
Install Alumawood patio cover.

Category awnings, sunrooms

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2014

5.0

03/16/2014


Miro M.

Service went really well. Punctual, clean, excellent quality of work.

Description of Work
Replaced old wooden patio cover with Al patio cover

Category awnings

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2013

5.0

03/06/2014


Ben Z.

Did a really good job. He did what he said he was going to do. Did it very efficiently and quickly. They were very busy, came up in about 3 weeks, took one day to put up. One dent and came back out and replaced that part. I was very happy with them. Called them on phone when needed paint for touch ups and a guy brought a can out.

Description of Work
Put up a patio cover in back yard.

Category awnings, decks, sunrooms, patios

Cost $3,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2013