Southland Heating and Air Conditioning

About

Founded 1997 • With Angi since April 2014

Choosing the right Heating and Air Conditioning Contractor is very important. Chances are you are going to make a substantial investment in your new HVAC system with which ever contractor you choose. There is nothing worse than investing a large amount of your hard earned money in a new system and winding up with a system that is noisy, inefficient, and does not perform properly. Or even worse, one that fails prematurely. Surprisingly enough most HVAC Contractors have no formal training. Untrained HVAC Contractors frequently do not size systems properly which could result in improper cooling, very high utility bills, and even systems that fail prematurely. Before you even consider a contractor make sure they are NATE Certified and Air Balance Certified. North American Technician Excellence is the Prestigious Certification of HVAC Competence. Using a NATE certified contractor is like using a surgeon that graduated Harvard Medical School with honors. Air Balance Certified contractors understand airflow which equates to efficiency and comfort in your home. To have a system designed properly a contractor has to understand air flow. At Southland we offer this high level of expertise. Yes, we are very good at what we do and there is no question about that. Our reviews and ratings prove that. Our installations are unparalleled with every system being designed specifically to the home. All options for a quality installation are included in every system we install. From basic systems, high efficiency systems, to specialized zoning we do it all. If you are searching for a knowledgeable contractor you have found one here. We offer extremely competitive pricing and expert design knowledge....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Attic Installation

+37 more images

New hybrid Heat Pump

New hybrid Heat Pump

HVAC Companies
This is a New Hybrid Heat Pump Conversion. This eliminates the need for installing a new emission controlled "Ultra Low Nox" gas furnace that is now required in LA County. You get the best of all of todays modern features, this includes variable speed indoor fan coil, variable speed outdoor heat pump, low profile and ultra quiet outdoor unit 54db's, and most exciting is the 17 SEER efficiency. This qualifies for some utility rebates and an AQMD $1500 LA county rebate (If you live in LA)
New hybrid Heat Pump project
New hybrid Heat Pump

HVAC Companies

Verified Reviews

4.8

(153) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

137

4

3

3

2

2

3

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (152)electrician (6)home inspection (2)
Showing 1-25 of 153 reviews
1.0

03/27/2022


Larry V.

At first they arranged and inspection quickly to do maintenance on an 11 month old HVAC System on the roof. I paid for the inspection. They inspected and showed me pictures as to how poorly it was installed. In fact, I knew it hadn't passed final inspection. They said the could reseat the unit and re-work the duct connectors from the unit for $2500. I agreed and signed a contract as they initially had been responsive, had great reviews and seemed to fully understand the issue. After sending in the signed contract I waited to hear from them regarding scheduling. Months went by and I realized they never reached out. I sent an email and no response. I got busy and then reached out to them again several months later. I spoke to someone in the office at about 8:30 AM. He said he understood my issue and would have the someone from the office call me back after they got in a 9. No one called. That was about 5 months ago. I've since sent at least two emails questioning what was going on. I don't like posting negative reviews. But as I am now searching for another company, I see their high rating and just couldn't let that go. I am wholly disappointed in this company.

Description of Work
Maintenance and Installation Repairs

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, home inspection

Cost $79

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2022

5.0

01/18/2022


Elizabeth P.

Very well. Easy to work with. They did a great job. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Remove the old furnace from the house. heating and cooling installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2022

5.0

11/15/2021


Ricky G.

Southland gave us the best quotes for our Heat/AC unit replace. They also told us about rebates from Los Angeles (other businesses we contacted did not mention this). Their crew were professional and worked hard. We especially appreciate the care of Nick and Elbert from Southland. The unit went up in a day and looks great (and works very well, too). We are grateful to Southland for the good experience and excellent customer service. Thank you!

Description of Work
New AC and Heating Unit

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

1.0

06/22/2021


Nadia G.

My initial consultation went well; the technician was professional and explained everything clearly to me. We determined that I needed an HVAC replacement. He sent me the quotes which were $12,000-$20,000 depending on whether I did one floor or two. Because of the significant investment, I asked a few questions about the pricing, and if the quote covered all cost such as any necessary permits. I didn't hear back from them, so I sent two additional follow-up emails; no one responded. I get that it's the beginning of summer and they are probably busy, but 3 emails over one month and no response at all??? I guess they don't need any additional business from anyone.

Description of Work
HVAC replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2021

5.0

11/12/2020


Harry C.

The work was superb, they send out 7 HVAC technicians and did the work for just 1 a day. The system works flawlessly and the project passed the city assessment.

Description of Work
They removed a old heating system and install a new integrated heating and AC system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $18,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2016

5.0

11/06/2020


Francoie R.

Pedro was fantastic, very thorough in his inspection, very courteous and pleasant. i will definitely recommend this company to my family and friends.

Description of Work
Wall heater inspection.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2020

5.0

10/07/2020


ME C.

Albert was very polite, helpful and showed me some easier ways to maintain my system. He also offered suggestions on how to best utilize the 2 systems we have to best advantage. I was notified when he would arrive (along with a photo), then an update (as he was early), and work was completed in a timely, efficient manner. I would definitely use Southland Heating again!

Description of Work
Check up/service of Mini-split system

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

5.0

09/01/2020


Gary H.

Efficient, knowledgeable and offered good information for future trouble shooting

Description of Work
Replaced AC capacitor and added a jumper wire to AC Fan motor.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2020

2.0

08/29/2020


Kevin C.

3 days after somebody came out to estimate.....still no estimate. Texted the sales person around 9 am asking about it. She said she was busy and would get to it "in a bit". 1 pm ... no estimate. Then called the office....she texted me saying that only she could get me the estimate and she would do it "in a bit". 6:40 pm now....still nothing. So a completed estimate is sitting around for 9 hrs with no way to get it to the customer. Got the estimate shortly after 6:40. 20% or so higher than the other 3 estimates (all from established authorized dealers for major manufacturers w city permitting included). Was also the only one to size it at 2.5 tons (vs 2 tons) for a new (2014) energy efficient (double pane windows throughout, well insulated) 1150 sq foot flat-roof home. My daughter said the estimator was in the house for around 5 minutes so the sizing difference is not due to thorough inspection or making Manual J load calculations.

Description of Work
Replace heat pump and fan coil

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Work Completed On 08/21/2020

5.0

07/08/2020


Michelle G.

Company was a pleasure to work with. From the initial contact with Johanna until the technician Michael concluded his service it was a professional pleasant experience. Charged $79 and spent about an hour servicing the unit. This rate was lower than competitors, so I anticipated add on charges, but that did not happen. Excellent service and I will have them service the unit annually.

Description of Work
Air conditioning maintenance

Category electrician

Cost $79

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

5.0

07/07/2020


Jessica H.

The process was smooth, the work was perfect, and the result is an amazingly cool house. They just earned a customer for life!

Description of Work
AC installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2020

5.0

05/26/2020


Treva M.

The service was very good, they were professional, on time, they did a good job with the installation.

Description of Work
They installed a mini flip HVAC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2020

5.0

04/30/2020


LINDA C.

Professional work. Found a problem that had not been identified during previous analysis by two other companies. Appreciated careful and comprehensive work

Description of Work
Replacement of compressor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review we pride ourselves on hiring great people.

5.0

04/24/2020


Mike A.

The fix went fine. Unfortunately, I may need a new system since mine is out of date

Description of Work
correct AC issue

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for the review. We hope the fix stays. let us know!

5.0

02/29/2020


Corey G.

Southland was incredible! They made the process so easy from start to finish. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
New furnace and A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2021

5.0

02/12/2020


Jerry M.

From beginning to end all of our interactions with Southland have been positive. Ray who initially consulted with us consistently responds quickly and is great to work with. The lead on our installation, Willie, was professional and efficient, managing a complex job to a timely completion. Follow up by office staff to complete necessary paperwork for rebates has been outstanding.

Description of Work
Complete Installation of Heating and Air Conditioning System

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2020

Service Provider Response

HI [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your kind words. I will pass this along to Ray and our installer Wille. Take care. Dave

5.0

10/27/2019


JENNIFER A.

they were amazing, on time & did a great job

Description of Work
cleaning mini split systems the blower wheel

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $575

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/26/2019

5.0

10/07/2019


Elizabeth B.

They investigated thoroughly and even called the manufacturer for insight into our problem.

Description of Work
Furnace repaur

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2019

5.0

10/06/2019


Francine H.

Excellent work. We especially like that ducting was suspended from the roof.

Description of Work
Relaxed furnace ducting

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2018

5.0

10/05/2019


Harmony L.

Robert was absolutely exceptional in every way! I called Southland Heating and Air Conditioning to get an estimate for a new HVAC system (my system is about 15 years old) and Robert not only provided a detailed explanation of the best way to upgrade, but he also spotted a problem with the wiring on my Nest Thermostat. A true professional! Highly recommended all around!! I will definitely be a repeat customer!

Description of Work
Estimate for new HVAC System

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

5.0

09/02/2019


Dennis S.

The entire Southland Heat and Air Conditioning team were professional and courteous. They were on time, and keep us informed. The worked was completed in the timeframe promised. Their follow up and follow-through is equally impressive.

Description of Work
Replacement of home heating and air conditioning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2019

5.0

08/15/2019


Bryan C.

Tech arrived on time was very knowledgeable of everything I asked him. As he discovered each problem he asked me how I would like to proceed with no pressure to do anything. After approving the work he not only went through all the maintenance and repairs performed he also took pictures and wrote up a detail report summarizing everything that was done and advised through the course of the appointment in writing and then emailed it to me so I had a record of everything done. In my opinion I’m not a easy person to please, but take care of me and u have me as a customer for life. Tech name was Christian and I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Cooling unit maintenance and Seal repair due to rain leaking

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2019