24 Kt Green

About

Founded 1971 • With Angi since June 2010

24 Kt Green is a full service landscaping company that specializes in residential landscape design and installation. With over 40 years in business, we are experts in design, planting, irrigation, lighting, water features, drainage, hardscaping and landscape clean-ups. With an extensive knowledge

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

EntranceSay hello with flowersRose Garden

Verified Reviews

4.9

(42) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

36

4

2

3

1

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (39)irrigation system (15)hardscaping (7)concrete repair (7)stone & gravel (6)landscape lighting (4)Patios (2)stamped concrete (2)drain pipe installation (2)masonry (2)concrete driveways (1)lawn care (16)
Showing 1-25 of 42 reviews
5.0

04/09/2022


Chloe G.

24K Green is AMAZING! Extremely fast, efficient and friendly! Tom is incredibly sweet and has a great team. Our backyard was completed in 3 days! We are so happy with the results, 24K Green went beyond our expectations. HIGHLY recommend!

Description of Work
New grass and Irrigation

Category landscaping

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2022

5.0

03/25/2022


Brady M.

Tom and his team brought my vision to reality. 24k green was the only landscaping company that listened to my ideas and did exactly what I wanted without changing a thing.

Description of Work
Backyard landscaping

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2021

Images

Review for 24 Kt Green - 24 Northam Ave, Newbury Park, CA - 39672748
5.0

11/15/2021


Marc B.

Simply the best! I rarely write reviews but feel compelled in this case to share my experience. Tom and his employees were nothing less than professional, responsible, and kind. From the initial consultation to the end of our project, Tom worked with us very closely to ensure our complete satisfaction. We re-landscaped our front and back yards, converting them from lawn to a drought resistant landscape, while meeting the criteria allowing us to receive a rebate from our water company. Tom has a great sense of vision, wide range of knowledge regarding suitable plants for our climate, and is remarkably easy to collaborate with. His respect towards his employees comes across clearly, as the workers were hard-working, clean, and organized throughout the project. The end result actually exceeded our expectations. Our neighbors and people in the community frequently tell us that our front yard is absolutely “stunning”. We could not be happier and truly enjoy our yards every single day. Cannot recommend Tom/24Kt Green enough!

Description of Work
Re-landscape Front and Back Yards

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2021

5.0

06/17/2021


Angie H.

Tom and his crew did a wonderful job. The end result was exactly what I wanted, and the process was painless. Tom really knows his stuff; and yet, he was always open to my questions and suggestions. The work was done on time, on budget, and professionally. Neighbors have since commented on how great our yard looks. I would definitely recommend 24KT Green and will be hiring them again myself when it is time to tackle our backyard.

Description of Work
My front yard needed to be re-landscaped and the sprinklers needed to be reworked to accommodate a more drought tolerant plan.

Category concrete repair, landscaping

Cost $6,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2021

5.0

12/24/2020


David W.

We cannot say enough positive things about 24 KT Green and their owner, Tom Hollow. From our initial consultation, Tom was pleasure to work with. He was always on-time for our appointments and once work commenced, he kept us up to date on the schedule. When an unforeseen problem occurred related to tree roots obstructing a yard drain, he clearly explained the problem, his recommended solution and, upon our approval, took care of the issue. I appreciated his collaborative approach to the landscape design. He laid out a wonderful garden plan which incorporated my preferences. He clearly listened to my ideas and vision. He also treats his workers with respect, and they were highly professional. They cleaned up the yard everyday before they left and they did not attempt to do "short cuts" to save time. They did the job right the first time. I look forward to continuing to use 24 KT Green as we upgrade our landscaping in the future. On a scale of 1-10, they were a 15.

Description of Work
Replace front and side yards with water conserving landscapes

Category landscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2020

5.0

11/14/2020


Erik H.

Wonderful work, we've been thrilled with the results over the last year. Tom was fantastic to work with. We wanted to gut our bushes and dead grass in the front yard, and a very overgrown garden in the back yard, and replace and expand our grass and add all new plants. We also needed some eroded sandstone removed as well as putting in new concrete where an old in-ground spa used to be, and remove an old patio cover. Tom made our vision even better and provided wonderful advice and recommendations. He and his crew worked fast - there was a lot of demo! They added new lawn irrigation lines where we expanded our grass, and converted the perimeter sprinklers to drip irrigation for the new plants. We absolutely love our new outdoor spaces and have received a lot of compliments. Thank you, Tom!

Description of Work
New landscaping in front and back yards

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

5.0

08/15/2020


Ken H.

Fantastic. Tom, put a real grass putting green in. As well as the rest of the yard. We are very happy with the workers, they told us 7 days and they finished in 6 days. Great work very professional. I would use them again, our back yard looks so good. Thank you for the great work. Ken Hughes

Description of Work
Sod in the back yard

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2020

Images

Review for 24 Kt Green - 24 Northam Ave, Newbury Park, CA - 38800675

+9 More

5.0

02/26/2020


Scott D.

Tom and his crew did a perfect job, we are THRILLED. The backyard is 1000% better, he created way more usable space than existed before. He did the job as promised and finished ahead of schedule. I would use 24 Kt Green again and again. Thanks Tom!

Description of Work
We needed to have our backyard resurfaced and landscaped, and we needed to update the lawn irrigation. The old DG surface was removed and replaced with a stamped concrete patio.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, masonry, hardscaping, stamped concrete, patios

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2020

5.0

11/27/2019


GLORIA F.

We shopped around quite a bit, looking for a reliable company to work with, and that was the hardest part! But Tom was first to respond, prompt for his appointments, and patiently walked us through what was happening and when. He took the time to describe the work and let us know up front where the problem areas may be. His crew was phenomenal to work with and very polite. The best part for us was Tom was our town neighbor which made us feel good about keeping the work and money local. We would definitely hire him again and urge you all to definitely give him a try!

Description of Work
Front yard landscaping

Category concrete repair, landscaping

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

5.0

09/15/2019


Alan B.

Very professional, timely and responsive. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Install landscape lighting.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2019

5.0

05/29/2018


Stuart B.

Tom and his team were exceptional. They were on time, did great work, and cleaned up nightly. They completed the job on time and met every need we had. He was patient and participative in decisions without telling us what to do. We would use him again and highly recommend him to others for hardscaoe and landscape needs Excellent work

Description of Work
Landscape backyard

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2018

5.0

02/17/2018


Thomas A.

Tom & crew were very professional & did a good job. Provided thorough description of job, plants, & maintenance. Provided design diagram.

Description of Work
Landscaping of Front Yard (plants, sod, sprinklers)

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2018

5.0

12/03/2017


JEFF M.

It went...perfect. My wife, who has been embarrassed to have people over because of our disgusting backyard has never been happier. Tom went over everything with us beforehand: the design, the time it would take, the plants he would put in, etc. And our backyard now is more beautiful than I could have imagined. Tom even followed up by coming over and giving us maintenance tips so our plants will last for years to come. The work was amazing and so was the care put into it. I couldn't give a higher recommendation to Tom, his workers, and his professionalism.

Description of Work
Our backyard had been a complete dirt mess for years and we finally decided to redo the whole thing. We have no vision as far as what needed to be done. So I went on Angie's list just to look at their list of landscape people. 24 Kt Green was the first I saw. So I called Tom Hollow, the owner. He came over, gave me a rough idea of what he wanted to do. His estimate came in below what I imagined and we gave him the green light.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, stamped concrete

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2017

Images

Review for 24 Kt Green - 24 Northam Ave, Newbury Park, CA - 36634838

+2 More

5.0

06/10/2015


Catherine H.

We moved into our house a year ago and had spent this past year figuring out how to re-landscape a large slope area where most of the plants were dead. We were concerned about erosion & mudslides but also didn't want to use a lot of water for the new landscaping. I worried that any drought tolerant plants would be "desert like" as I really don't like that look. We wanted a more tropical look as it matches the house. I met with several landscapers but Tom stood out due to his experience, knowledge, and the sense that he was really addressing our concerns and meeting our budget. My husband and I were impressed with his extensive knowledge of plants and we now have a gorgeous slope that looks green, colorful and not like it will only require once a week watering! Tom was on the job site everyday making sure all was going to plan although I thought his workers were extremely professional, hardworking and neat. Despite all the debris that had to be removed from the slope and all the dirt and plants that had to be brought in, they kept our sidewalks and pool clean. Tom really took ownership of the project to make sure all the sprinklers were getting where they needed to be. We would definitely recommend Tom and would hire him again.

Description of Work
Landscaped our entire slope and planted trees along a side wall for privacy. Removed dead/dying ground cover, trees, & shrubs. Installed drought tolerant trees, plants, roses, citrus trees, & ground cover. Buried sprinkler pipes & converted sprinkler system with more efficient, water saving rotary nozzles.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Cost $6,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2015

5.0

06/02/2015


John D.

Fabulous. Tom knows his stuff yet isn't pushy; to the contrary, he worked with us, hearing what we liked and what we didn't. And he stayed within budget. Started the job earlier than anticipated; finished on time. Super nice and friendly. His work is top notch, and he truly cares about the quality AND the customer; very communicative, no surprises anywhere. Would use him again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
24 Kt Green evaluated current landscaping; recommended colorful, low maintenance replacement plants and bushes; and did the work (removal of existing stuff, installation of new plants and ground coverings, repair/adjust sprinklers, etc.); and provided post-installation support.

Category landscaping

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2015

5.0

04/03/2015


Martin W.

It was a great experience. Tom, the owner, was onsite almost every day to check progress and to direct his guys. The crew worked very hard and did a great job. They were also very courteous and diligent about cleaning up after themselves at the end of every day. We are definitely going to use them for our upcoming front yard project! I would have no hesitation recommending 24ktGreen

Description of Work
Landscape of back yard including installing 150ft of hedging, rockery, gravel, succulents and drip irrigation

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/03/2015

5.0

02/03/2015


Diane G.

We'd been in our home 25 years and done very little exterior home improvement during that time. We decided we'd reach a point where we wanted to give our home an overhaul to fully enjoy it since our children are now grown. We met with several contractors but knew we'd met our landscaper in Tom Hollow of 24Kt Green. His relaxed and open demeanor put us immediately at ease. He is exceedingly knowledgeable about his field and clearly has a great deal of passion for his work -which is what convinced us to trust him to transform our yard. Tom followed up with us a week after that first meeting with detailed plans for our front and back yards based on what we'd told him we wanted and how much we wished to spend.. His proposal came in close to our budget and included everything we'd asked for and more. He gave us a timeline and estimated a 6-week project from start to finish. From there, we literally saw our exterior change from rundown 70s ranch house to contemporary star-of-our-block in six short weeks! Tom's crew showed up every day and worked hard. From demo to drainage installation, cement pouring & stamping, planting beds, ground cover, patio cover, new driveway, stone walkway, outdoor lighting, and scene-stealing, spectacular rock waterfall... Everything was designed and completed with utmost care and professionalism. Tom was on-site daily, checking in on progress and to answer questions and offer advice. He also met with us off-site several times to assist us in choosing natural stone for our front walkway as well as ledgestone for our front-yard planters and pillars. The results??? Well, we are experiencing something for the first time as home-owners and that is having neighbors who walk past our house and stop to compliment how beautiful it looks. We find ourselves doing lots of double-takes too; we still can't believe how great our home looks. We love hearing the water in our waterfall during the day and enjoying a glass of wine around the firepit at night. Thanks to Tom, our home makes a great impression in the front and provides a functional and beautiful backdrop for entertaining and enjoyment in back. Yes, this was a big investment - but well worth every penny we spent! One last but not insignificant point is that we have a room in our garage that most people don't realize is there from outside the house. There were many times that we were in that room and could hear Tom talking to his crew - yet he didn't know we could hear him. We were impressed, time and again, by the respectful and patient way he interacted with his employees. We believe how people treat others when no one is looking/listening is a true sign of character, and for that reason we believe Tom's is stellar. It gave us great confidence in his integrity as a person and a professional. We feel fortunate to have worked with him and to give him our unqualified recommendation to anyone looking for landscape work.

Description of Work
Designed & planned a complete re-landscaping of our front & backyards, including: - New hardscapes (patio, front entryway, driveway) - Patio overhang - backyard conversion to drought-tolerant (no grass) plantings - firepit - trellised sitting area - spectacular backyard natural-rock water feature - outdoor lighting - addition of ledgestone on pillars and planters to enhance house's curb appeal - installation of new drainage system and sprinklers

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $65,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2014

5.0

12/07/2014


Shelley B.

I don't know where to start to praise the work of this amazing landscaper. The results completely exceeded our expectations. Tom was a pleasure to work with---he was clear, thorough and so knowledgeable about plants, design and care. The project took about ten days, less than the anticipated two weeks and the workers were always on time and hard working throughout the very warm days. Tom helped us decide on the plants and the design that we wanted all the time keeping the cost to our budget. So much more went into this project that I can't describe it all here, so I am posting some pictures that will hopefully show off what beautiful results we got. In addition to receiving this gorgeous landscape, we applied for a large turf removal rebate from the SoCal Water Smart. And Tom gave us all the information on the care and feeding of our beautiful new backyard.

Description of Work
Totally transformed our backyard lawn into a beautiful drought-resistant landscape.

Category landscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2014

Images

Review for 24 Kt Green - 24 Northam Ave, Newbury Park, CA - 9648338

+4 More

5.0

07/16/2014


James K.

We called 24K Green because we wanted sprinklers in our back yard and more added in our front yard. Tom came out, measured and gave us an estimate. We were impressed with his knowledge and professionalism so we hired him for the job. He and his crew arrived on time and immediately set to work. I was impressed with how well they were coordinated, they?ve obviously worked many jobs together. The job was completed that day, ahead of schedule. Before leaving Tom showed me how to program the easy to use sprinkler controller. We won?t hesitate to call 24K Green for any future landscape projects.

Description of Work
Installed sprinklers in back and front yard

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2014

3.0

07/16/2014


Jennifer L.

Set appotinment for estimate. I took the day off to meet, but they did not show, and have not returned my calls.

Description of Work
Set appotinment for estimate. I took the day off to meet, but they did not show, and have not returned my calls.

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 07/10/2014

1.0

05/14/2014


Nancy L.

After describing desired work and receiving Tom's input for design ideas I never received a written quote. Very disappointed.

Description of Work
Very responsive when scheduling appointment

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 04/01/2014

5.0

04/02/2014


Jan R.

Tom and his crew arrived early on the agreed date and finished the install the next day. The crew was hardworking and professional. Tom Hollow has readily answered all of my follow-up questions and promptly fixed one area of concern re timers. Our lawn is beautiful! Tom's was not the lowest quote I received, but the scope of work he described impressed me as thorough and the cost fit the job. I will definitely call Tom Hollow at 24kt Green for other landscape projects.

Description of Work
Installed sod and sprinklers with auto timer.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems