Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Stanford Painting

About

Founded 1988 • With Angi since February 2005

For residential exteriors, residential interiors, or commercial properties, Stanford Painting is your best choice for top quality painting. As one of the only lead-safe certified and Diamond Certified companies in the Bay Area, we provide a special combination of long and extensive experience. Clean and orderly job sites, extensive prep work, use of high quality, lead-safe materials, careful attention to every detail, responsive customer service; and work guaranteed with a 5-year warranty. Angie’s List members can receive up to 10 percent *seasonal discount* off of a job over $5,000.00. Coupon must be presented at time of estimate cannot be combined with other discounts. No subs. Charges an hourly rate. No travel charges. Lead-safe certified. Dept. of Health Services #S2596. License #602048....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+22 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(73) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

65

4

5

3

0

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

house painting (64)interior painting (19)woodworking (4)door installation (3)stucco (2)gutter repair (2)lighting (1)
Showing 1-25 of 73 reviews
5.0

01/22/2022


Sylvia S.

Went beyond outside of house to painting garden hose mounts attached to the house so they would not stand out, rehanging X-mas lights, repairing screens, rehanging door... Work was done with minimum disruption and everything was left nice and clean when the work was done.

Description of Work
outside painting

Category gutter repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/21/2022

5.0

05/19/2021


Chanda D.

Jay Furlong and his team did a fantastic job from start to finish. Jay does all the initial work of estimation, brainstorming color choices and explaining the process. He was very patient as I had some specific colors in mind and iterated some sample paints and swatches until I was satisfied. He even drove by a few houses when I provided a list of homes as an "example". His team/crew were pleasant, 100% on time, very careful about the plants and surroundings and diligent in their attention to detail. We have zero complaints and would hire Jay and team again if need arose.

Description of Work
We hired Stanford Painting for the exterior painting of our Eichler

Category house painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2021

4.0

09/30/2020


Joan K.

Stanford Painting (whom we’ve had do work for us for 20 years) provided a bid before the pandemic and we were on the verge of giving the green light. After the pandemic began, Stanford Painting instituted a minimum job cost of $5000...more than twice the bid. So, we’re disappointed in Stanford Painting and have gone elsewhere.

Description of Work
Several interior and exterior painting jobs

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $2,300

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2020

5.0

09/25/2020


Kevin J.

Made initial contact with Frank set the appointment, he arrived on time did a walkthrough he explained in detail what needed to be done. The old paint was lead base and Stanford is one of the lead certified company’s that can remove lead paint correctly. The men showed up on time daily wore protective equipment because of the lead in the paint. They scraped and sanded did a really nice prep job. About halfway through Adam from Stanford came and went over the color scheme for the new paint. By the end of the week all painting was completed. The house looks Awesome! , Will definitely hire again. The crew did an awesome job even the clean up was great.

Description of Work
Exterior house painting.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2020

5.0

08/29/2020


Park C.

The job went very smoothly. The crew came on the date planned and finished as scheduled. At the end, my wife and I both walked around the house but couldn't find any place that needed help. Finally, the crew did a good job cleaning up afterwards.

Description of Work
Painting entire exterior of 2-story, 2600 sq ft house

Category house painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2020

5.0

07/08/2020


Kathleen T.

This was the first time I'd used Stanford Painting, and I would not hesitate to call them again in the future. All the people I dealt with were pleasant, responsive, and very competent. The crew did a great job on prep work, and the resulting paint job looks beautiful!

Description of Work
Exterior house painting

Category woodworking, house painters

Cost $12,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

5.0

06/18/2020


Eric N.

This is the second time I have used Stanford Painting, and in both cases I was very happy with the results. They charged a fair price and the service and quality of the work was top notch. This time I they painted the trim on the our house. In some cases it needed scraping and even repair. They did all that and did an excellent job of painting. The crew was very professional, did not get any paint on areas they shouldn't have, and cleaned up every day. There was a full crew every day so that the job was finished quickly. I highly recommend Stanford Painting.

Description of Work
We had the trim on our house painted

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

5.0

06/02/2020


Dan M.

Exactly as we wanted it. They did a great first rate job.

Description of Work
Painted the entire outside of the house plus front facing fence and rail fence. Stripped and refinished the front door which looks fantastic.

Category stucco, house painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2020

Images

Review for Stanford Painting - 2330 Old Middlefield Ave, Mountain View, CA - 38611050

+1 More

2.0

12/03/2019


Felipe L.

Received reply after initial request but then never heard from the estimator after two calls within a span of a week.

Description of Work
Paint exterior for two houses

Category house painters

Work Completed On 12/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication on our end. Due to some recent projects and the holidays we were unable to get back to you as quickly as we would've liked and sincerely apologize for letting your estimate fall through the cracks! If you're willing to give us the opportunity, we'd love to come out and give you a reasonable estimate. I'll give you our general manager's direct line (instead of our business voicemail) so you'll have the ability to hear back from us as soon as possible. Feel free to reach out to Frank at (650) 464-3717 and happy holidays! Best, The Stanford Painting team
5.0

10/01/2019


Ryan C.

Jay, Adam and their crew were fantastic. Jay came for the initial consult and walk though and was kind, clearly knowledgeable, patient, and friendly. The initial quote was given within 24h, and work started about 1.5 weeks later-just amazing. Adam checked in frequently with me and the crew and welcomed questions and concerns. He also tolerated a last minute paint color change with a smile and a "no problem" :). The crew was courteous, friendly, and cleaned up everyday. They also welcomed our 1.5y puppy with enthusiasm and with the understanding they needed to keep gates closed etc. It was never a problem. High recommend Stanford Painting for all your painting needs. We will be hiring them again soon to do our interior work.

Description of Work
Exterior House Painting

Category house painters

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Andrew & Carol M.

Excellent work. Crew was polite, careful and respected work time laws. We had rotten wood that was discovered after quote was prepared. Additional cost was reasonable.

Description of Work
Painting

Category woodworking, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Ciprian C.

The work was done professionally and on time. I will trust Stanford Painting again with re-painting the exterior of my home.

Description of Work
Painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2017

5.0

09/17/2019


Eleanor H.

Very pleased with communicationm process and quality. On-site crew leader went over and above what I expected, doing a couple of small repairs, and returned after work was done to remove a paint stain from upholstered chair.

Description of Work
Painting

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Ellyn D.

Our house looks fantastic! We were beyond impressed with their level of service. They kept us updated on the progress and timeline always gave plenty of notice if they needed something from us. The crew was friendly and very professional, cleaning up every evening. They even hooked up all irrigation to our plants when they finished the project!

Description of Work
Painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Vicki K.

Stanford Painting did a fabulous job painting the exterior of our house. Extremely easy to work with and never even noticed they were there. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Joan H.

Communication was easy and accurate. On time and on schedule. Good job!

Description of Work
Painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


JENNIFER U.

Excellent work, very knowledgable and professional.

Description of Work
Painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2019

5.0

05/15/2018


mike R.

Great work. Very thorough, tidy, and punctual.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2018

5.0

03/16/2017


ROBERT D.

I probably would have hired them. I think they quoted me $5500. It was for exterior painting. They didn't do any work.

Description of Work
Stanford Painting quoted an exterior painting job for me.

Category house painters

Cost $5,500

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/16/2017

4.0

02/15/2017


Peggy H.

Their responsiveness was very good.

Description of Work
We just had our house painted by them. They did exterior painting.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2017

5.0

10/01/2016


David H.

The crew conducted themselves in a professional manner. They came promptly and completed the job in a timely fashion. They ensured that prep was done completely before painting. The finished job looks absolutely great. The price was fair and value received was very good.

Description of Work
Repainting single story house with redwood siding and outbuilding, restain wooden benches and deck.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2016

5.0

08/05/2015


Marilyn M.

Very thorough preparation. The plaster on some of the walls was flaking off. The trim had been previously painted by another painter who put latex over oil. The latex was not adhering well so the trim all had to be sanded down. Other painting companies sometimes have cheaper bids but they only prime and apply one coat and offer a one or two year warranty. Stanford does a primer plus two coats and has a 5 year warranty. This is the 3rd time I've hired Stanford Painting and will do so again.

Description of Work
Prepped and painted bathroom, hall and one bedroom

Category house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2015

5.0

08/04/2014


Robert B.

Stanford Painting did an excellent job. Jorge, the team leader, was excellent and provided a high quality, attention to detail, professional job.

Description of Work
Painted the whole house including many true divided light windows and doors

Category house painters