Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & M Termite Control

Founded 1973 • With Angi since October 2005

4.9

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

159 N Whisman Rd

Mountain View, CA 94043

Description

J & M Termite Control was established by Jim in 1973. For more than 40 years, we have been in the business of providing quality termite inspection, eradication and repair services. J & M Termite Control is a family owned business and prides itself on shopping local for all of our products and materials. Our coverage area includes Alameda, Santa Clara and San Mateo counties. J & M spends very little on marketing, and instead relies upon our strong reputation and word of mouth: referrals from real estate agents, property managers, homeowners who are pleased with our performance....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/28/2020


George D.

We called J&M Termite Control when we found termites in our garage roof. They scheduled us for an appointment with Home Inspector Louis Bimbi. He examined our home inside and out, from top to bottom including the attic and crawl space. All his findings were marked on a map of the house. Using the map, Louis walked me around the house pointing out both major and minor problem areas, prioritizing what need to be done first, etc.. We also received a complete report of the inspection. Without this inspection, we would not have known where and when to begin repairs.

Description of Work
Home Inspection for repairs and potential termite tenting

Category home inspection

5.0

08/05/2019


Samir K.

Went well! Very prompt and fair. I had visible damage and needed wood repairs- I had an inspection, and repairs were suggested. The repairs were scheduled easily and the work was completed in a day, The whole team is really great! Thanks J+M

Description of Work
Area inspection/ carpentry work

Category contractors, pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review! We are glad we could help you. All our best, J&M Termite Control

5.0

11/09/2018


Anita L.

Louis came and inspected thoroughly. He knows construction well so could show me the problems found in a walk around the house and whether the problem was cosmetic or otherwise. He told me things I could do myself and what needed to be fixed by someone else, such as a minor roof repair. The report showed not only problems in an easy to understand manner but different priced options for fixing them.

Description of Work
check underside of house and exterior for termites

Category pest control, home inspection

Service Provider Response

I am so glad we were able to help you! Thank you for such a nice review.

5.0

08/24/2017


Kai Z.

What a pleasant interaction! From the first call, scheduling the inspection, to the time Louis left my house: Professional, friendly and honest! I'd wish more companies would offer service quality like J&M. Thank you! Kai

Description of Work
Termite inspection

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for such a nice review! We appreciate hearing such nice things, it makes us want to try even harder!

5.0

01/31/2017


KATHERINE C.

They are excellent but very high. They are like the premier service. I live in the San Francisco peninsula, and they are the premier termite company on the peninsula. They are very good but very high. I just flipped out because of the price. I thought somebody else who could do just as good a job but for less money. But they are very busy. I know they are busy all the time. I see their trucks all over the place. They were great. They need to lower their prices, but I don't have that kind of money. Everything is A except for the cost. I wouldn't use them again because of the cost, but they are a great company.

Description of Work
.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

I was attempting to look up this report and I am not finding it based on your address on your profile. I am sorry you feel this way but we are really competitive with our pricing being in a very expensive area to do business. But I would like to check out the report and take a look for quality control. If you could send the property address to me or report number would be best so the address doesn't have to be written. Thanks in advance, Scott

5.0

10/21/2015


VIJAYA R.

Louis did the inspection and he was thorough and detailed. Before he started the inspection, Louis explained me the process and how long it would take to complete the work. Louis was very efficient and did not waste any time. After each inspection he made notes and the affected area in his layout of the house. He explained me the issues/problems as completed each area. He checked for water leaks and for cracks in the plumbing/drainage. I had termite inspection done few years back and this current inspection was clearly outstanding. Louis helped to clean-up scraps of cardboard underneath the house and change the light bulb in the attic. These are not covered under normal inspection of the house. These extra service always impress the home owners!!! and is PLUS for J&M. I highly recommend J&M Termite Control and in particular Louis( if he is available) and I am sure others in the company are equally well qualified.

Description of Work
Complete inspection of the house including crawl space underneath the house and attic space for termites and any water damage.

Category pest control, home inspection

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and its nice to hear that you liked our service. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if there is anything we can do for you. Scott

5.0

01/19/2015


Donna C.

Very professional and thorough. Went with another contractor offering a different type treatment.

Description of Work
coupon purchased for a termite inspection

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review! It was a pleasure working with you and we really appreciate your business. If anything comes up in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. All Our Best, J&M Termite

4.0

10/09/2014


Rega W.

The inspection was done well in general. The inspector was courteous, pleasant, and helpful. Also seemed knowledgeable. However, I had to call to get the report. So though the inspector arrived punctually, the report did not. -- Also, the inspector's report listed large areas that were not inspected, because of access problems. I should have been notified of that problem before the inspector left rather than weeks later when the tardy report arrived in my view. -- Most importantly, I will avoid J&M when I sensibly can, since on a previous occasion when we hired them to do remediation, they drilled right into a water pipe and accepted no responsibility for the subsequent damage. That is not the behavior or a reputable contractor.

Description of Work
Inspected for termites

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Member, J&M will inspect all areas that are available to inspect at time of inspection and will notify in report if areas are not inspected and will come back if needed to inspect these areas. Our contract that is signed states that we are not responsible for pipes hidden below concrete, which is standard in our industry. The report states that this could happen and owners could hire metal detection firm to identify the pipes before our arrival. There is no way for us to know that the pipe is there and we use a metal detection drill stop device to help detect but sometimes the damage has been done by the time it shuts off. Both of these situations are rare but do happen in this industry and we do our best to take care of them. Management

5.0

09/18/2014


Avi R.

They were great! They provided me with exactly what I needed. I would absolutely consider hiring them again.

Description of Work
I purcahsed a $69 deal for a termite home inspection. They gave me a very detailed report about what's going on and what needs to be fixed.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review! It was a pleasure working with you and we really appreciate your business. If anything comes up in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. All Our Best, J&M Termite

3.0

08/15/2014


Keith E.

I called them in May and they said they were really busy for the next month and would call them back. I?m still waiting. If they can do it I?d be happy to have them do it.

Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal for $69 for a termite home inspection.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[Member Name], I sent an email to you concerning this situation and asking since I don't have your number for you to call in to schedule. Maybe the problem was I had a wrong email for you. I don't know what happened we don't usually set it up for us to call you back to schedule we could have just scheduled in advanced. Either way I would like to take care of this situation and apologize for the miscommunication. If you could with send me your number or call the office at 650-969-5556 and explain that this is a Angieslist big deal we can get you taken care of. Thanks Scott

5.0

06/13/2014


Scott B.

They were the least expensive. It probably turns out that you don't need to worry about termites.

Description of Work
I used J & M Termite Control for pest control services. They removed the termites.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks you so much taking time to write us a review. We value our customers and glad you liked our service. Best, Scott

4.0

06/06/2014


LEE T.

It went fine. It wasn’t expensive. Nothing in particular stands out. They were competent and did a good job. I was happy. Their professionalism was fine.

Description of Work
We used J & M Termite Control for pest control services. We had a carport that had some termite damage. They pulled out some beams and replaced them.

Category contractors, pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review! It was a pleasure working with you and we really appreciate your business. If anything comes up in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. All Our Best, J&M Termite

5.0

12/30/2012


John D.

Great estimator. Came out and did what I wanted them to do. Easy to work with.

Description of Work
Localized treatment of termite infestation.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi , Thanks for your review! It was a pleasure working with you and we really appreciate your business. If anything comes up in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. All Our Best, J&M Termite

5.0

10/08/2012


Kristin B.

The inspector was very courteous and well informed. He explained what he was looking for and what he found, and he discussed options with me. He suggested things that I could easily do myself to prevent future problems. He was not pushy about trying to me to do expensive work and was helpful in assessing what needed to be done first.

Description of Work
J &M sent an inspector to do a thorough inspection of my house and garage, including the difficult to access crawl space under my house.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi , Thank you for your kind review. It is nice to hear such positive feedback regarding our inspectors and we really value that our customers appreciate our "not-too-pushy" way of doing business. Thanks again, and we look forward to possibly working together in the future. Best, J&M Termite

5.0

08/28/2012


James C.

My inspector from J&M was Louis Bimbi. Louis spent a great deal of time examining my house inside and out. He took the time to answer all of my questions, and gave what seemed to me to be very knowledgeable answers. He also took the trouble to point out some problems with my house that had no relationship to termite issues. It was apparent that he had a very broad knowledge about how houses are constructed and how various household systems (heating, plumbing, electrical) function and how all of these things are related. In total, Louis provided over 3-1/2 hours of service. As the inspection was just performed today, I haven't received the written report yet. When I do, I'll update this evaluation. However, I can say that Louis found convincing evidence that I'll need to have whole-house tenting and fumigation. However, he said that although there was plenty of evidence that termites were present (in fact, we saw some living ones), his assessment was that there was no structural damage significant enough to require repair (repairs I had already done took care of that, he said). Louis did a detailed inspection of every room and accessible crawl space, and developed a diagram showing where he found evidence of termites. One of my biggest hesitations has related to the potential for adverse effects of whole-house fumigation on family health. Louis explained a great deal about how up-to-date fumigation technique, fumigation agents, and proper preparations work together to minimize any health risk. I think J&M is about as close as you can get to being free of conflicts of interest one might expect in dealing with termite service providers. I have no feeling that J&M is using inspection as a way to try to sell expensive treatment services to me. I think the focus is where it should be: on providing a thorough and informative inspection. The bottom line for me is that I feel very comfortable relying on Louis's inspection and recommendations, and I wouldn't hesitate to hire J&M again in the future. Yes, J&M has charged $280 for this inspection, but I feel I've gotten very good value for my dollar.

Description of Work
I hired J&M to perform a termite inspection and advise me on treatment and any other remediation options, based on the Angie's List ratings, information on the J&M website, and my previous experience with J&M from 1984 and 2001. By the way, J&M is a Diamond Certified service provider, which I think is a good indicator of the quality of work they do. Right now I'm at the first stage of taking on the termites: getting a thorough inspection. I expect to follow through with termite treatment, but I'll write another evaluation (or update this one) after that's done. It may be an evaluation of another service provider that J&M recommends, rather than J&M itself.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi , Thank you for your review & it's so rewarding to hear how helpful and thorough Louis' inspection was, and you valued our work. If anything comes up in the future, please do not hesitate to call us. Thanks again! Kindest Regards, J & M Termite

5.0

06/01/2012


Carol L.

I have worked with them for years and I have been extremely pleased with them and recommend them to clients all the time. They are very professional, always prompt, thorough and take the time to explain things they have found. They never gloss things over and give it to you straight. In particular there is one inspector there that I think is the best and his name is Jim Darley.

Description of Work
I have used J & M Termite Control in the process of my work, but not personally. I am a real estate agent.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review - We really enjoy working with you and your clients, and look forward to continuing working on projects in the future! All Our Best, J&M Termite

5.0

05/29/2012


Venkat R.

J & M Termite Control was very good and I would use their services again in the future.

Description of Work
They did our home termite inspection.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hello , Thanks for the review! If anything comes up in the future that we can be a help with, please give us a call. Best, J&M Termite

5.0

01/05/2012


Scott B.

It was a solid quote that covered quite a bit. It was very comprehensive. We chose to do all of their recommendations. When they got into the work, halfway through the project, it was about 2 times more extensive than they originally quoted. They still honored their original quote which was for about half the work. They showed us the damage. I thought that was incredible. The individual project price for debris removal was higher than expected, but the overall cost was fine.

Description of Work
We did have termite work done.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi , We appreciate your review & really enjoyed working with you. If anything comes up in the future that we can be a help with, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks Again, J&M Termite

5.0

10/29/2011


Donna G.

They were very willing to schedule the job to our needs and came exactly on time.

Description of Work
This was a small termite problem, but Franz Termite Control was very attentive. They tented the small structure and performed the contracted work 100%. They were very nice to work with.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review!

4.0

09/27/2011


Diane H.

We have worked with them over the years. They do a good job at reasonable price.

Description of Work
We used J & M Termite Control within the last two months for fumigation and other pest control services.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, We've enjoyed working with you over the years & really appreciate you taking the time to review us! Looking forward to any future projects that may come up. Thanks Again! J&M Termite

5.0

05/25/2011


k A.

The inspector was prompt and polite. He probed for tunnels in the surrounding area of the droppings from the drywood termites. There were no tunnels and the droppings were old. He went on to explain that these termites do little structural damage. We agreed that since it had been more than 25 years since the last inspection, it was time to do it again. He walked the property, inspected the shed and made sure the fence gates were closed after him. He also inspected each interior room and also went up into the attic. He even apologized for if he'd left any lights on. His verbal report indicated that there was no evidence of fresh infestation and he pointed out a few fungus areas and the loose rafters in the shed. He did recommend that we not wait another 25 years for another inspection! Based on this, I told him that I did not plan on pursuing this any farther. The written report was a little different. It did recommend a tenting of the house. It was probably necessary due to the presence of some termite droppings and that he couldn't access every square inch of framing. The report was clearly written but it got a B for quality because the labels on the diagram did not match the labels on the written report. The pricing was based on square footage. We have a 2500 sq foot house plus shed. I saved some money by writing a check on the spot. I would use them again without a doubt.

Description of Work
We discovered drywood termite droppings at two locations at our house. One was at the trim of a window in the front. The other was an old patio bench in the back of the house. Having been through the tenting process years ago (from the same company), we figured we had better have someone inspect our house to find out the true extent of the damage. I called and got an appointment very promptly.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your business and look forward to any possible work in the future. Thanks again! Kind Regards, J&M Termite

5.0

09/02/2010


Elizabeth C.

I am very pleased with J&M. I recommended them to all of my friends and would absolutely use them again. They were the first to respond to my inquiry (some other companies did not respond at all). They were professional, courteous, and prompt.

Description of Work
We had J&M do a full inspection of the house which cost an additional $250 (I believe). They arrived promptly and were very professional. They tell you the inspection takes approximately 1 hour. She was here for over 2. She got into all of the crawlspaces (areas the cable guy refused to enter). After the inspection was complete, they do a complete walk around with you and show you the damaged areas. They also draw a detailed map of your house and mark the damaged areas for your file. 2 days later, I was e-mailed the quote for both the tenting as well as repairs should I choose to have any of the termite damage repaired. I chose just to have the house tented. I filled out the paperwork, faxed it back, and set up a date to have the house tented. Within the quote, they give you instructions on preparing your house (remove all food products that aren't canned or sealed, medicines, remove plants, open all closets, drawers, etc). I suggest scheduling your tenting at least a couple of weeks out to allow yourself time to go through your whole house. The tenting crew arrived promptly on the date scheduled and we moved out. The tent goes up on day 1 and the fumigation begins, stays on all of day 2, and is removed day 3. All the windows are opened in the house and is allowed to air out for a few hours. I returned at 11am day 3 and the tent was already down and the house had already been airing since 8am. A notice is placed on the door indicating the house is safe to enter. There was no noticeable smell or residue. I washed my sheets and dishes just to be safe but had no worries otherwise. 1 tree that was too heavy to move off the back porch did die but that was easily replaced.

Category pest control, home inspection

Service Provider Response

I just wanted to reach out to you to thank you for this kind review. Its nice to know that our customers appreciate our work. Thank you for your business. Scott

5.0

08/05/2009


Pam L.

We had a full house inspection by another company and they told us that we had termites, so we called them and they said that they needed to do another inspection. They told us that it was bad on certain parts of the house and gave us an estimate, which we chose not to do. We scheduled a day and we had to be out of the house for 2 days. They tented the house for 24 hours and then came back and took it down and opened all the doors and took care of the problem for us. I felt that the price was average. They were really good and I have recommended them to other people.

Description of Work
We used J & M termite Control a year ago.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! Please don't hesitate if anything comes up in the future. Kindest Regards, J&M Termite

5.0

10/02/2008


Cheng T.

The inspector was pleasant and thorough. Had them treat for subterranean termites which involved drilling through brick, tile and concrete, and going into the crawl space as well as dry wood termites which involved tenting. The tenting was subcontracted and I had my choice. Overall, it went fine.

Description of Work
Treatment for dry wood and subterranean termites.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, It was great to work with you & we look forward to helping out on any future projects or jobs. Also, we wanted to thank you for your review - its really appreciated! All Our Best, J&M Termite

5.0

05/16/2007


DAVID S.

J&M did the inspection and then did the repair. They arrived promptly for both the inspection and on each day of repairs. The first batch of repair work took just under two days. During the repairs they discovered additional dry rot that was hidden, for which they had prepare a new estimate. Once I signed the contract for the new estimate, they came out to do the rest of the work a couple of days later. They used high quality materials, and caulked where appropriate to help prevent a recurrence of the dry rot. I'm very satisfied with the work and would use them again.

Description of Work
J&M repaired wood siding on my townhouse that had been damaged by dry rot. They also treated two small drywood termite infestations.

Category pest control, siding

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate it. Also, it was a great pleasure working with you. Please don't hesitate to cal in the future. Best, J&M Termite

    Other local Pros in your area

    Prime Renovation Homes

    ‏At Prime renovation homes, our core principle is reliability. We are a small and attentive team that specializes in assessing your vision and transforming it into an exceptional project that meets your needs. From design to architecture, to engineering and completion, we will work closely with you at every step of your project to ensure that the end result is outstanding, on time and on budget. With a collective 15 years of extensive home construction experience, we look forward to the opportunity of working with you in creating the home that you envision. Whether you’re an avid home remodeler or this will be your first home construction, our goal is to provide you with the best experience from beginning to end and we welcome you to contact us  

    Perretti Builders

    We are a General building contractor, specialized in Decks, multi level decks, hill side decks, arbors,, We are Gold Contractor for Timbertech decking Materials, and TREX , member of BBBureau, Building Trading Association, With our innovative design, high quality materials and unsurpassed attention to details, we can make your dream deck a reality. Our company builds above and beyond industry standards and manufacture's specifications  

    Palm Construction

    Palm Construction will send one of our 3D Design Experts to your home for an introductory session that includes your projects’ scope of work, specs, and dimension, followed by walk-through of different showrooms and material suppliers, getting you one step closer to your desired vision. Your project will be performed by our top professional crew members.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    PR 5223
    Trade License Authority
    Structural Pest Control Board
    Trade License Expiration
    02/11/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    General Construction, Pest control, Selling/buying home inspection, Bathroom repairs/remodel, Deck work, Preventitive termite treatments, Handyman

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & M Termite Control

    How is J & M Termite Control overall rated?

    J & M Termite Control is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & M Termite Control open?

    J & M Termite Control is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does J & M Termite Control provide

    J & M Termite Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does J & M Termite Control offer free estimates?

    Yes, J & M Termite Control offers free project estimates.

    Does J & M Termite Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J & M Termite Control offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J & M Termite Control offer a senior discount?

    Yes, J & M Termite Control offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J & M Termite Control?

    Yes, J & M Termite Control offers warranties.

    What services does J & M Termite Control offer?

    J & M Termite Control offers the following services: General Construction, Pest control, Selling/buying home inspection, Bathroom repairs/remodel, Deck work, Preventitive termite treatments, Handyman